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Moped? Scooter?Limited Use?’

Know the Difference as New Rules Take Effect

On July 31, new regulations take effect regarding
two- to three-wheeled motorized vehicles which
includes a new classification of “limited use” vehicles
that require a license plate, title, insurance and
inspection.

If you're in the market for a new moped or motorized
cycle, make sure you know the details of the engine
size and speed of the vehicle you want to buy to
determine if it can be registered and operated on
Massachusetts roadways. Also, make sure what you buy
meets your needs in terms of speed and parking ability.

A moped must have an automatic transmission, an
engine capacity that doesn’t exceed 50 cc and can
not go faster than 30 miles an hour. A moped needs
a registration sticker from the Registry of Motor
Vehicles to operate on the roads, and can be parked
on a sidewalk.

A two- or three-wheeled cycle that goes faster than
40 miles an hour can be registered as a motorcycle.
An operator needs a motorcycle license to operate,
and the motorcycle must meet federal safety
certification for a motorcycle, be titled, insured,
inspected and registered with a motorcycle plate.

The new law that takes effect July 31 includes
an additional category of two- to three-wheeled
vehicles, called “limited use” vehicles. These vehicles
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can go faster than 30 mph and reach a top speed

of 40 miles an hour. Unlike mopeds, these vehicles
need to meet federal safety certification, be titled,
inspected, insured and registered with the RMV
which now has a distinctive plate for limited use
vehicles. An operator of a limited use vehicle must
have a driver’s license unless it is federally certified as
a motorcycle, then a motorcycle license or permit is
required.

In most instances plated vehicles cannot be parked
on sidewalks. However, municipalities have the
authority to set local parking regulations and many
communities are considering exempting limited use
vehicles from that restriction.

The Registry of Motor Vehicles announced in July
that moped operators whose vehicles now meet
limited-use requirements will be required to insure,
title, register and inspect their vehicles when their
current moped registration expires.

As you shop for a new two- or three-wheeled vehicle
make sure you know what features and benefits you
want from the vehicle, and whether the vehicle’s
specifications meet the requirements for registration
and operation on Massachusetts roads. Working with
a knowledgeable dealer who can outline the details
for you clearly can help you make the right decision
for this important purchase.
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