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In August of 2014, the amended reverse mortgage counseling requirement became 
effective to include a requirement for certain borrowers to undergo in person counseling.  
Previously, those taking out a reverse mortgage could receive counseling either on the 
phone or in person.    

Section 64 of Chapter 10 of the Acts of 2015 directed the Massachusetts Executive Office of 
Elder Affairs (EOEA), and the Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business 
Regulation to review the necessity and desirability of in-person and telephonic methods of 
reverse mortgage counseling to ensure proper protections for eligible seniors.  (M.G.L. c. 
167E, s. 7, 7A).   

The Acting Secretary of Elder Affairs and the Undersecretary of Consumer Affairs and 
Business Regulation held a public informational meeting at 1 Ashburton Place, Boston, on 
May 15, 2015. Those interested in testifying were asked to offer information relative to the 
necessity of in-person counseling requirements for borrowers seeking reverse mortgages.  
The reverse mortgage counseling review was to include, but was not limited to, the 
advisability and overall protections for seniors, availability, costs and convenience of 
counseling opportunities, and full compliance with all federal lending laws. 

Stakeholders were invited to submit written and electronic testimony. (Please see 
Attachment 1 for copies of written testimony received). 

I. ELDER DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION  

In Massachusetts and nationwide, the elder population is expanding at a greater rate than 
any other segment of the population.  The Baby Boomer generation – born between 1946 
and1964 – is turning 65 at the rate of 10,000 a day across the country.  Of that group, the 
fastest growing cohort is adults age 85 and older, which is expected to triple by 2040. 
People who reach the age of 65 are likely to live another 20 years.  As the aging population 
increases, more people will live beyond their retirement savings. In Massachusetts, life 
expectancy is 80.7 years.   Aging is often accompanied by chronic conditions that 
compromise mobility and independence.   Additionally, as people live longer, the incidence 
of Alzheimer’s Disease and other cognitive disorders increases.  Over the next ten years, the 
Alzheimer’s Association projects a 25% increase in dementia and related conditions.   

II. REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS- SOME BACKGROUND 

A reverse mortgage loan is a special type of mortgage loan for seniors (generally age 62 
and older) that pays a homeowner loan proceeds drawn from accumulated home equity. 
Unlike a traditional home equity loan or second mortgage loan, no repayment is required 
until the borrower(s) no longer use their home as their principal residence.  Interest on a 
conventional loan is calculated as simple interest while on a reverse mortgage the interest 
is calculated as compound interest. 
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Reverse mortgage loans were generally introduced in the market in 1989 with the U. S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) sponsored, FHA-insured, Home 
Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM).  The HECM is one of the most common types of 
reverse mortgage loans.  In Massachusetts, a term reverse mortgage product has been 
available since 1983 from various lenders across the state. 

The overwhelming majority of reverse mortgage loans made today are made under the 
HECM Program, administered by HUD.  The HECM is insured by the Federal Housing 
Administration (FHA).  The insurance guarantees that borrowers will be able to access 
their authorized loan funds in the future, subject to the terms of the loan, even if the loan 
balance exceeds the value of the home or if the lender experiences financial difficulty. 
Lenders are guaranteed that they will be repaid in full when the home is sold, regardless of 
the loan balance or home value at repayment.  Borrowers or their estates are not liable for 
loan balances that exceed the value of the home at repayment – FHA insurance covers this 
risk. 

Under the HECM program, counseling is mandatory and requires the use of an independent 
third-party counselor approved by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development.  See additional details herein relative to the HECM counseling protocol.    

As of April 27, 2015, HUD implemented a new financial assessment component which 
requires lenders to perform enhanced underwriting to ensure that borrowers can afford 
paying the taxes, insurance and other charges, and to maintain the property based on their 
financial position.  Lenders may require “set asides” for these charges in certain 
circumstances. 

Lenders in Massachusetts making HECM loans are required to comply with the provisions 
of the HUD HECM program as well as the more stringent state law requirements. 

III. REVERSE MORTGAGE MARKET AND VOLUME INFORMATION 

The reverse mortgage market is approximately 1% of the traditional mortgage market, 
according to industry reports (last year there were 1029 reverse mortgage loans made in 
the Commonwealth).  In terms of the total number of loans originated on a nationwide 
basis, the HECM reverse mortgage loans totaled for FY2014: 51,642 loans; FY2013: 60,091 
loans; FY2012: 54,822 loans.  

The table below depicts the volume of HECM loans originated for the first seven months of 
2015 on a Massachusetts and Nationwide basis. 
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HECM DATA 

 

HECM Endorsement Data 2015 

Month Massachusetts Nationwide 

January  77 4936 

February 66 4716 

March 67 4634 

April  87 4492 

May 59 4270 

June 81 5295 

July 98 5025 

 

Below is the data for HECMs originated in the Commonwealth for calendar years 2012, 2013, 2014, 
with the year 2014 broken down by month 

Year HECMs 

2012 971 

2013 1202 

2014 1029 
 

HECM Data by month for calendar year 2014 

Month Originations Month Originations 

January  81 July 66 

February 134 August 62 

March 138 September 77 

April 77 October 97 

May 88 November 57 

June 81 December 71 
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IV. MASSACHUSETTS REGULATORY OVERSIGHT OF REVERSE MORTGAGE 
LOANS  

In the Commonwealth, reverse mortgage loans must be made in accordance with programs 
which have been reviewed and approved by the Commissioner of Banks.  Reverse 
mortgage loan programs submitted to the Division for approval must meet the 
requirements of M.G.L. c. 167E, s. 7, 7A.  This provision applies to Massachusetts state-
chartered banks and all other mortgagees pursuant to M.G.L. c. 183, s. 67. Massachusetts 
state-chartered credit unions seeking to make reverse mortgage loans must request 
approval of a program meeting the parallel requirements set forth in M.G.L. c. 171, s. 65C, 
65C1/2.  

Lenders seeking to make reverse mortgage loans in the Commonwealth are subject to 
certain provisions under the regulatory jurisdiction of the Division of Banks (Division) and 
certain provisions relating to reverse mortgage counseling programs as approved under 
the jurisdiction of the EOEA. 

In addition, with respect to counseling requirements, Massachusetts law provides that a 
lender shall not make a reverse mortgage loan until it has received a notice, in writing, that 
the prospective borrower has completed a reverse mortgage counseling program which 
has been approved by the EOEA and which shall include instruction on reverse mortgage 
loans. The EOEA maintains a list of approved counseling programs on its website. There are 
currently nine counseling programs approved by the EOEA.  See Attachment 2 for the 
current list. 

Beginning August 1, 2014, certain borrowers or “mortgagors” were required to undergo 
counseling on an “in-person” basis.  These borrowers were those that had a gross income of 
less than 50% of the area median income and possess assets, excluding a primary 
residence, valued at less than $120,000. 

The law also provides that a reverse mortgage executed by a borrower who has not 
received counseling by a third party approved by the EOEA shall render the terms of the 
reverse mortgage unenforceable.  The lending industry has expressed concerns that given 
this language lenders are in effect being forced to request that most, if not all, prospective 
reverse mortgage applicants attend counseling on an in person basis. 

In addition to receiving an approval of its reverse mortgage loan program under the above 
statutory provisions, a lender must hold a valid mortgage lender license, or qualify for an 
exemption from licensing under G.L. c. 255E, §2, in order to make reverse mortgage loans. 

Entities intending to broker reverse mortgage loans must hold a valid mortgage broker 
license, or qualify for an exemption in the Commonwealth, and are limited to acting in the 
capacity of a broker for reverse mortgage programs offered by lenders which are approved 
by the Commissioner of Banks. Loan originators of reverse mortgage loans must be 
appropriately licensed pursuant to G. L. c. 255F, added by Chapter 206 of the Acts of 2007.  
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These programs must provide for certain borrower protections including: 

 Verification of receipt of the counseling certificate from each borrower, by a reverse 

mortgage counseling program approved by the Commonwealth’s EOEA. 

 Seven day "cooling off" period following a consumer's acceptance of a commitment, 

during which a consumer cannot be required to close or proceed with the loan 

transaction. 

 Required plain language disclosures of specific mortgage loans terms. 

 No prepayment penalties or restrictions permitted. 

 Disclosure requirement and acknowledgment of contingencies which could force a 

sale of the property securing the loan. 

 Inclusion of a disclosure statement that a reverse mortgage loan has estate and tax 

planning consequences and may affect eligibility for government benefits and that 

applicants are advised to seek appropriate advice. 

V. COUNSELING AND CONSUMER PROTECTIONS UNDER FEDERAL HUD 
HECM COUNSELING PROTOCOL AND OTHER STATE LAWS 

HUD encourages face-to-face counseling, and certain states require face-to face counseling 
for all borrowers considering reverse mortgages.  Counselors who meet with clients face-
to-face may be better able to assess their clients’ needs and comprehension. 

A counselor who is unable to meet with a client face-to-face and who instead engages in 
telephone counseling must be particularly sensitive to the client’s engagement in the 
session and understanding of the topics covered. 
 

 Clients may receive telephone counseling unless such counseling is prohibited in 

their state. 

 Telephone counseling must not commence until the client has received HUD’s 

required handouts listed in HECM Protocol 7.B.1, and had adequate time to review 

the documents. 

 The client may receive the required HUD handouts from a lender or from HUD. If the 

lender provides the handouts, a copy of the handouts must be made available to the 

HECM counselor. 

Because the counselor may have difficulty gauging the client’s engagement in the 
counseling session, the counselor must prompt the client for questions, concerns or points 
of confusion during and after the counseling session. 
 
Other types of mutually-agreed upon formats are acceptable for counseling.  Such formats 
include any live electronic method of dialogue (e.g., Skype, webinar, WebEx, GoToMeeting, 
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etc.) where both the HECM counselor and client can speak to each other to ask questions 
and discuss the information being presented.  Clients may receive counseling in a mutually 
agreed upon format unless such counseling is prohibited in their state. 
 
This type of counseling must not commence until the client has received HUD’s required 
handouts listed in HECM Protocol 7.B.1, and had adequate time to review the documents. 
 
The client may receive the required HUD handouts from a lender or from HUD.  If the 
lender provides the handouts, a copy of the handouts must be made available to the HECM 
counselor. 
 
Reverse Mortgage Counseling Fees HECM Provisions  
 
Historically, HUD-funded counseling agencies provided counseling to prospective reverse 
mortgage borrowers free of charge.  In the 2011 budget cycle, funding for this program was 
cut.  As a consequence, many counseling agencies have begun charging prospective 
borrowers a fee.  HUD requires that the fee be “reasonable and customary,” and agencies 
must waive the fee for clients with incomes less than twice the poverty level.  Some 
counseling agencies assess this fee at time of counseling, while others will allow it to be 
paid at closing using loan proceeds. 
 
Agencies participating in HUD’s Housing Counseling Program are permitted to charge 
clients a fee for HECM counseling services if the fee 

 is reasonable and customary 

 does not create a financial hardship for the client 

 is commensurate with the level of services provided, and 

 meets all other HUD requirements as discussed in HECM Protocol 7.A.1. 

 

Note: Agencies may charge a higher fee for clients needing multiple, in home, or prolonged 
sessions; however, this higher fee may only cover the actual cost of the services, provided 
they are reasonable and customary. 
 
Agencies may not turn clients away or withhold the Counseling Certificate because of a 
client’s inability to pay. 
 
Lenders may not pay for counseling services directly or indirectly. 
 
Counseling agencies choosing to charge HECM fees should not collect a fee at the time of 
the counseling session from a client whose income is below 200 percent of the Federal 
Poverty level.  Agencies may charge these clients a HECM counseling fee at closing provided 
the client has been advised during the counseling session of the amount of the fee. 
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VI. SPECIFIC COUNSELING RELATED PROVISIONS IN OTHER STATE LAWS 

Minnesota allows only HUD-approved counselors domiciled in Minnesota to provide 
reverse mortgage counseling (MINN. STAT. § 47.58). 

North Carolina law establishes standards for counselor training and the banking 
commissioner maintains a state list of all persons who satisfy the counselor 
training requirements (N.C. GEN. STAT. § 53-269). 

Under West Virginia law, the banking commissioner must refer consumers 
to independent counseling services (W. VA. CODE § 47-24-7). 

A. Counselor Compensation 

At least three states (Arizona, California, and Louisiana) statutorily address reverse 
mortgage counselors’ compensation. 

Under Arizona and California laws, a reverse mortgage counselor may not be 
compensated, directly or indirectly, by a party (1) involved in originating or 
servicing the reverse mortgage or (2) selling financial or insurance products such as 
annuities, investments, or long-term care insurance (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 6-1702 and 
CAL. CIVIL CODE § 1923.2(j)). 

Louisiana law prohibits a lender from paying a counseling service fee without first 
informing a prospective borrower, in writing, that there may be a conflict of interest (LA. 
REV. STAT. § 6:1102(A)(2)). 

B. Borrower Choice 

A few states specify that lenders provide prospective borrowers with a list with a minimum 
number of reverse mortgage counselors to choose from.  Specifically: 

1. Arizona - at least five counseling agencies, including at least two that are 
authorized to provide counseling by telephone (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 6-
1703(A)(1), 

2. Louisiana - at least five nonprofit counseling agencies (LA. REV. STAT. § 
6:1102(A)(1)), 

3. California - at least 10 HUD-approved counseling agencies (CAL. CIVIL 
CODE § 1923.2(j)), 

4. Minnesota – at least three independent housing counseling agencies 
(MINN. STAT. § 47.58), and 
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5. Rhode Island – at least three independent authorized counseling agencies in 
the state (R.I. GEN. LAWS § 34-25.1-9(c)). 

Many states expressly prohibit a lender from executing a reverse mortgage without 
first receiving certification that the applicant received the required counseling.  A 
few states specify a required time frame for counseling and whether it should occur 
in-person or on the telephone. 

Under Arizona law, reverse mortgage counseling must occur within six months 
before the final and complete application (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 6-1703(A)(2)). 

In California, before a lender may accept a final and complete reverse mortgage 
application, a prospective borrower must receive counseling in-person, unless the 
borrower certifies that he or she elected to receive counseling in a different manner (Cal. 
Civil Code § 1923.2(k)). 

Under Rhode Island law, at least three business days before the closing of the loan, the 
lender must receive an original counseling certificate, signed and dated by both the 
borrower and counselor.  The loan must close within 180 days after the prospective 
borrower signs the counseling certificate.  The law requires in-person counseling unless 
the prospective borrower cannot or chooses not to travel to a counseling agency or cannot 
be visited at home.  In such a case, telephone counseling is allowed but only by agencies 
authorized by the Department of Elderly Affairs to conduct telephone counseling (R.I. GEN. 
LAWS § 34-25.1-9). 

Vermont law requires the lender to obtain certification, from the counselor, that the 
borrower received in-person face-to-face counseling, before accepting a reverse mortgage 
application.  If the borrower chooses not to travel to a counseling agency or cannot be 
visited at home, the law allows telephone counseling by agencies authorized by the 
Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities, and Health Care Administration (VT. STAT. 
tit. 8 § 10702). 

C. Counseling Certification and Waiver 

Most states expressly require a (1) written attestation by the reverse mortgage 
applicant that the lender provided information regarding the advisability and 
availability of independent information and counseling services or (2) 
certification by the counseling agency that the prospective borrower received the 
required counseling. 

Hawaii and Vermont specify the information that must be included in the counseling 
certificate (e.g., the date counseling occurred and the borrower’s and counselor’s 
names, addresses, and signatures).  Both states require the holder of the reverse 
mortgage to keep the certificate throughout the term of the reverse mortgage loan 
(HAWAII REV. STAT. § 506-10(a) and VT. STAT. tit. 8 § 10702). 
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Colorado law prohibits a lender from making a reverse mortgage loan unless the 
applicant attests, in writing, that counseling was either received or waived 
(COLO. REV. STAT. § 11-38-111). 

Under New York law, in order to waive counseling, a reverse mortgage 
applicant must sign an affidavit indicating that although aware of the 
importance and availability of counseling, he or she chooses not to utilize the 
available services (N.Y. REAL PROP. LAW §§ 280(g) & 280-a(j)). 

VII. SUMMARY OF INFORMATIONAL MEETING WITH STAKEHOLDERS AND 
TESTIMONY RECEIVED 

Approximately 40 people attended the May 15th public information meeting, with 
testimony split between those who support in-person reverse mortgage counseling and 
those who believe people should have the option of either in-person or telephone reverse 
mortgage counseling.  Those in attendance and submitting testimony ranged from reverse 
mortgage counselors and consumer groups to mortgage companies and banks as well as a 
legislator and an attorney.   

Key Themes: 

 Insufficient counselors making for long wait times 

 Counselors not geographically dispersed enough to adequately cover the state 
creating hardships for seniors 

 Counseling agencies are not funded and as a result, cannot add additional 
counselors 

 Disagreement on importance of in person counseling in facilitating assessment 
of individual’s ability to understand and follow the session and ascertain the 
complexities of the reverse mortgage product  

 Importance of consumer preference in opting for in-person versus 
phone counseling  

 Industry’s perceived necessity of counseling all consumers when the law says 
individuals of only a certain income require counselingi 

 

One commenter suggested that due to the hardships imposed on seniors to undergo in-
person counseling, they requested an immediate suspension to the in-person counseling 
requirement be put in place, and a group of stakeholders be formed and given sufficient 
time to thoughtfully study all of the pertinent issues surrounding in-person reverse 
mortgage counseling.  Absent a change in the existing law, a suspension of the in-person 
counseling requirement would not be attainable. 
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VIII. CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS: 

In reviewing the complexities of reverse mortgages, the EOEA and the Office of Consumer 
Affairs and Business Regulation believe the implications of a reverse mortgage for low 
income borrowers underscores the need for in-person counseling. The information 
presented emphasizes the complexity of the terms and information surrounding this loan 
product and the need to ensure the consumer is protected.   

We believe that the requirement for in-person counseling provides an important protection 
to elders.  As the scope of this review is limited in nature and timeframe, the following 
recommendations are offered for consideration as potential means to address issues raised 
during this review: 

 Teleconferencing Option.  The Legislature may want to consider whether it may 
be appropriate to authorize the Division of Banks, in consultation with the EOEA, to 
define and develop a process to allow, in certain circumstances, a teleconferencing 
option, that would comply with the standards of an in-person counseling session.  
Until this or a comparable option is developed, the existing in-person requirement  
remains.  
 

 Additional Funding Sources.  In recognition of the funding challenges which exist 
for non-profit counseling agencies and to increase the number of available trained 
reverse mortgage counselors, it would be beneficial to explore and identify 
additional funding sources to add to the pool of trained counselors.  Under federal 
rules, lenders may not pay for counseling sessions either directly or indirectly. 
Additional funding for reverse mortgage counseling purposes would also 
reduce costs for low income borrowers for in-person counseling sessions. 
 

 Request Lenders’ Data. In conjunction with the Informational Hearing held to 
gather data and information for this review, stakeholders were requested to provide 
comments and related data on the percentage of reverse mortgage borrowers that 
fall within the income and asset threshold necessitating an in-person counseling 
session.  To date, specific information and data has not been submitted by 
stakeholder lenders.  If this data could be provided by lenders since August 2014, so 
that the actual numbers of borrowers eligible for in-person counseling can be 
determined, additional study in this area involving relevant stakeholders may be 
warranted in order to assess the number of counselors needed. 

  



Page | 13  
 

ATTACHMENT 1-TESTIMONY  
AND  

ATTACHMENT 2-REVERSE MORTGAGE COUNSELORS  
TO FOLLOW 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                             
i Subsequent to the public information meeting, the National Reverse Mortgage Lenders Association (NRMLA) 
filed a request for clarification with the Massachusetts Division of Banks as to what constitutes the area 
median income, as periodically determined by the U. S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development. The 
Division issued guidance in response to this request on September 25, 2015 which is posted on the Division’s 
website www.mass.gov/dob.  

http://www.mass.gov/dob
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