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IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 
 
TO:  Massachusetts Licensed Cosmetology/Aesthetic/Manicuring Schools 
 
FROM: Board of Registration of Cosmetology 
 
DATE:  January 11, 2012 
 
RE:  IMPORTANT CHANGES TO BOARD-APPROVED CURRICULUMS 
 
 

The Board of Registration of Cosmetology (“Board”) has been reviewing its rules, regulations, and 
other standards used for the approval of cosmetology/aesthetic/manicuring licensure programs in 
Massachusetts.  Over the years, the Board has allowed schools to teach initial licensing courses which 
exceed the minimum number of hours required for licensure in Massachusetts.  In the course of its review, 
the Board would like to ensure that there is a reasonable relationship between the length of these “expanded” 
programs and the entry level requirements for the cosmetology/aesthetic/manicuring profession.  Further, 
though Board regulations mandate that students may take their state Board examination upon achieving the 
minimum hours required in the regulations (even if not completing an “expanded” program), many students 
are confused or are not aware that they may do so.  Therefore, per the Board’s authority under Massachusetts 
Law (M.G.L. c. 112, s. 87BB) and regulations (240 CMR 4.04 and 5.07), please be aware of the following:   

 
Effective May 1, 2012, Board approval for all basic licensure courses exceeding the minimum hours 

required for licensure shall expire.  Basic licensure courses retaining Board approval have the following 
hours:  Cosmetologist/Operator – 1000 hours, Aesthetician – 300 hours, and Manicurist – 100 hours.  
Students with signed enrollment agreements prior to May 1, 2012 may continue previously approved 
expanded courses after May 1, 2012 until their completion, however no new students may be enrolled after 
that date.   

 
To eliminate confusion, all schools with affected courses must provide students in courses that 

will be ending with the attached informational memo immediately for existing students (or upon 
enrollment in the case of new students through the end of April, 2012).  Please have all students sign and 
date this form and keep it on file for review in any future Board inspections.   

 
Schools are reminded that, per 240 CMR 6.00, the Board can and will approve advanced school 

licenses which allow the teaching of advanced courses for licensees.  Therefore, any school providing an 
“expanded” basic licensure program may, with a new license/restructuring, continue to offer advanced 
courses.   
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IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 
 
TO: Students Enrolled in “Expanded” Basic Programs at Licensed 

Cosmetology/Aesthetic/Manicuring Schools 
 
FROM: Board of Registration of Cosmetology 
 
DATE:  January 11, 2012 
 
RE: HOW IMPORTANT CHANGES TO BOARD-APPROVED  

CURRICULUMS AFFECT YOU 
 
 

You are getting this notice because you are enrolled in an expanded version of a basic course for 
licensure in a branch of cosmetology (cosmetology includes aesthetics and manicuring).  Effective May 1, 
2012, the Board will no longer approve basic courses which exceed the minimum number of hours needed 
for licensure.   

 
As an enrolled student, this change does NOT affect you.  You are still able to complete the course 

you enrolled in regardless of when it finishes, and you may be expected to adhere to any agreements you 
have made with your school (such as for tuition payments).  Advanced programs WILL be available in the 
future, just not as part of a basic licensure course.  Please be reminded that, per regulations, you are able 
to take your State Board Exam as soon as you finish the MINIMUM number of hours required for 
licensure (Cosmetologist/Operator – 1000 hours, Aesthetician – 300 hours, and Manicurist – 100 
hours).  You do not need to finish the expanded portion of your courses to be allowed to take the 
examination.  The Board requests you acknowledge this notice and return a signed copy to your school.   

 
 
 

________________________________________________  ________________ 
  Signature        Date 


