
     

      BOARD OF REGISTRATION OF MASSAGE THERAPY 

Instructions for Single Therapist Establishment Application 

1. If your establishment will have one and only one massage therapist, then this form, the single therapist 

establishment application, is the correct application form.  If your establishment will have more than one 

therapist, then the Multiple Therapist Establishment Application form is required instead.  

2. An application must be submitted for each physical location. Additionally, should you move your establishment 

after licensure by the Board of Registration of Massage Therapy (“Board”), a new application must be submitted 

because licenses are not transferable.  

3. You must read the regulations: 269 CMR 6.00 et. seq.  Go to: www.mass.gov/dpl/mt and select "statutes and 

regulations."  On the next page select "Rules and regulations governing massage therapists."  On the next page 

select "269 CMR 6.00: Facility Licensure." 

4. The online application must be completed and submitted by the Establishment Operator. 

5. If you answered “yes” to holding other professional licenses, a certificate of standing is required from every out-

of-state licensure jurisdiction. Certificates are required for all licensure statuses including lapsed, expired, etc. 

Contact that jurisdiction and have the document mailed to you for inclusion with your application. Please 

maintain the official statement(s) in the unopened, jurisdiction-sealed envelope(s) to accompany your 

application.  Mail directly to the Board: Board of Registration of Massage Therapy 1000 Washington St. 

Suite 710 Boston, MA 02118 (include your application record ID).  

6. You must list all offenses including OUI, DUI, and Operating after/with suspended license or registration.  

Dispositions of “continued without finding” (“CWOF”) or “admission to sufficiency of facts” must be reported.  

Do not include minor traffic offense(s). Please upload a separate statement to the Board. (attach statement in 

the “documents” section) 

7. Your application must include a floor plan (attach in the “documents” section).  

8. Notarized and signed CORI Acknowledgment Form for all signatories of this application. (see pages 8 & 9) 

(Attach in the “documents” section). 

9. If your establishment is required to carry worker’s comp insurance, you must provide a copy of the 

worker’s comp insurance policy declarations page that indicates the amount and effective date of coverage.  
The policy must reference the establishment.  The Board cannot make recommendations about insurers nor can 

the board provide advice on whether your establishment is required to carry worker’s comp insurance (Attach in 

the “documents” section). 

10. Online payment submission of $50.00 in U.S. funds made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

The fee is not refundable.  Please note that your application will not be processed without the correct fee.  The 

initial fee includes both application processing and your first license.   

11. (If sending by mail) Send complete application package to: Board of Massage Therapy, 1000 Washington 

Street, Suite 710: Establishment Licensure, Boston, MA, 02118-6100. See application on board’s website 

Single Therapist Application Form.    

12. Please allow 4 – 6 weeks for processing when all required documents have been received and approved by 
the board. If you have any additional questions, please contact the Board via e-mail: joann.termine@state.ma.us 

or by phone: (617) 727-3084. 

13. All new establishments will require a full inspection prior to licensure- All establishments must be ready for 

business when applications are submitted, in order for inspectors to conduct a full initial inspection. Inspectors 

will not conduct a full inspection during any construction or transition to a new location. Submission of 
incomplete application and/or an inspector’s inability to conduct a full inspection will delay the process for 

licensure of the establishment. Notification will be given prior to the initial inspection however, please work with 

the assigned inspector as exact inspection time nor date can be guaranteed in advanced. The establishment 

Operator or Compliance Officer must be present for initial inspections. Inspectors will only conduct (2) 

attempts for initial inspection. Failure after the 2nd attempt may result in denial of the application. 

http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/docs/dpl/boards/mt/mt-cori-permission-form.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/docs/dpl/boards/mt/single-therapist-massage-establishment-license-application.pdf

