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APPLICATION  FOR  A   PARTNERSHIP   LICENSE  
 
 

 
CPAs that form a Partnership to practice  public accounting within the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts, must apply for a Partnership license.  The CPAs must hold a current  
CPA..   For information on Non-CPA owners, see informational sheet included with this 
application package.   The Rules and Regulations (252 CMR) and Statute (M.G.L. c. 
112, § 87A-E½) are available at www.state.ma.us/reg/boards/pa.  
 
 
Application for registration to practice as a CPA Partnership shall be made upon the 
Registration Affidavit by a managing partner of a Partnership who meets the Board’s 
requirements.  Registration will not be granted until all of the following items are 
completed and forwarded to the Board.     
 
A) Completed Partnership Registration Affidavit; 
B) Registration fee: $351.00,- check/money order payable to the Comm. of 

Massachusetts; 
C)  Photocopy of CPAs current license(s); 
D) If applicable, for information on Non-CPA owner(s) of Licensed CPA Firms, see 

informational sheet included with this application. 
 
For information on acceptable Firm Names, including using the designation “and 
Associates,” or “and Company”, please see Board Rules and Regulations 252 CMR, 
3.05 (4) (b) Firm Names.  Available at www.state.ma.us/reg/boards/pa  
  
 
 
 
 
PARTNERSHIP Affidavit Form 2010 
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 PARTNERSHIP   REGISTRATION  AFFIDAVIT    
 
 
 
Partnership Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 

No.  City/Town   State   Zip Code 
 
Phone Number: _________________________ Federal ID #_____________________________ 
 
 
List the names of all partners, include license number, expiration date and license type  
NAME    LICENSE # EXPIRATION   

DATE 
LICENSE TYPE 

    
    
    
    
    
    
    
If you need more space continue on a separate page. 
 
Date Partnership established    _________________________________ 
 
I agree that the Partnership will abide by statute M.G.L. c. 112, § 87A-E½ and the rules 252 CMR 
and will report to the Board in writing any changes in partners or any other company change within 
thirty (30) days of the change.  I attest that all statements made herein are truthful and are made 
under the pains and penalties of perjury.    
 
 
_________________________________________  ________________________ 
CPA Partner’s Signature and Title      Date 
 
 
The following items must be included with completed Partnership Registration Affidavit  
__ Registration fee:   $351.00, -check/money order payable to the Comm. of Massachusetts  
___ Photocopy of all partners’ current licenses 
___ Firms with Non-CPA owners include statement  



NON-CPA OWNERSHIP OF LICENSED CPA FIRMS 
 
Per recent amendments to M.G.L. c. 112, § 87B½, CPA firms (business corporations (BC), partnerships, LLPs 
and LLCs) will be allowed to become licensed and admit non-CPAs as shareholders (and officers and directors), 
partners or members (managers) provided that the following conditions exist: 
 
1. That a simple majority of the ownership of the firm in terms of financial interests and voting rights 

(control) of the firm belong to holders of a CPA certificate and current license.   
2. All non-CPAs must be natural persons and actively involved in providing professional services for the 

licensed entity or its affiliated entities.   
3. The managing partner or agent of the firm must be a licensed CPA.   
4. Non-CPA owners do not hold themselves out to the public as CPAs or sign reports on financial 

statements. 
5. The firm and its entire ownership, including non-CPA owners must comply with all other requirements 

of 252 CMR (available at www.state.ma.us/reg/boards/pa).    
 
In order to become licensed as a CPA firm (with two or more CPA owners), the managing partner will complete 
the registration affidavit of the entity along with information regarding non-CPA owner(s) and their non-CPA 
licenses, if applicable.  In addition, the managing partner must include a written statement with each non-
CPA(s) individual’s name(s), the date of admission as a shareholder, partner or member and the managing 
partner must also certify in this letter to the Board that each non-CPA partner:  

 
1. Has not been convicted of a felony or any other crime, an element of which is dishonesty or fraud, 

under the laws of any state of the United States or of any other jurisdiction if the acts committed 
would constitute a crime under the laws of the Commonwealth; and 

2. If applicable, (a) has not had any individual professional or vocational license or the right to practice 
a profession or vocation revoked or suspended for reasons other than nonpayment of dues or fees, 
or (b) does not have a pending disciplinary investigation, or (c) has not been denied reinstatement by 
a licensing agency of any state or the United States, or of any other jurisdiction; and 

3. Has not been in violation of any rule or regulation regarding character or conduct adopted in 252 
CMR; and 

4. Has not failed to timely file a report of the conditions set forth above as required by subparagraph 4 
of M.G.L. c. 112, §87B½ (available at www.state.ma.us/reg/boards/pa). 

 
At that point, the firm could become licensed utilizing one or all of the licensed CPAs names (two or more CPA 
owners) and include the designation “and Company” or “and Associates” if they choose.  These firms can also 
utilize Certified Public Accountants or CPAs in the firm name.  The Board will not allow CPA firms to use 
fictitious names or the names of any non-CPA in the firm name.   
 
For all CPAs who wish to register the CPA firm with non-CPA owners and only one licensed CPA owner, the 
Board will only allow a business corporation to use the CPA shareholders’ name in the name of the firm.  The 
Board will only allow the CPA’s name and the designation  “and Company” or “and Associates” if the firm 
maintains at least one other CPA as a full-time employee.  For partnerships, LLCs and LLPs with one CPA owner 
of majority interest and one or more non-CPA owners of minority interest, these entities must also have at least 
one full-time CPA as an employee to use designations as above.  Each of these entities can only designate 
themselves as Certified Public Accountant or use CPA in the firm name (example, G. Washington, CPA Inc. or 
LLC or LLP; G. Washington, Inc, Certified Public Accountant).  Otherwise, the CPA owner has to verify that there 
is at least one CPA employee at registration of the firm (and at all times in the future) in order to use the 
designation as a firm of CPAs.   
 
 
 


