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264 CMR 11.00: Standards of Practice and Ethics  

 

 

11.01:  Standards of Practice and Ethics 

 

(1) All real estate appraisers and trainees shall observe the standards of practice contained in the  

USPAPUniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP), as they are published, 

amended and interpreted by the ASB of the Appraisal Foundation, 1029 Vermont Avenue, NW, 

Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005 or www.Appraisalfoundation.org . 

 

(2) Each licensee shall disclose in writing to the Board any finding made against him or her made by a 

court, other state or federal agencies, or, where applicable, by a licensing board of another 

jurisdiction, within fifteen (15) days of said finding. This requirement shall not require disclosure 

of civil traffic offenses or dismissals of actions brought against the licensee. The provision of such 

disclosures shall be considered a condition of license renewal. 

 

All licenses/certified appraisers and appraisal trainees shall report to the Board in writing within thirty (30) 

days from the date of a court's findings with regard to any civil or criminal matter brought against 

the licensee or certificate holder, under the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, the 

United States, or any other jurisdiction. 

 

(3) It shall be the responsibility of all Licensees to notify the Board of any changes of address within 

fifteen (15) days of relocation.  Licensees who fail to so notify the Board may be subject to 

disciplinary action and are responsible for any failure to receive official Board correspondence, 

including renewal applications.(3) All licensed/certified real estate appraisers and appraisal 

trainees shall report to the Board in writing any disciplinary action taken against him or her by any 

professional licensure or regulatory authority of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts United 

States or any other jurisdiction within thirty (30) days of the authority's findings. 

 

(4) Every licensed or certified appraiser, appraisal trainee, applicant for licensure or certification, or 

appraiser in training is required to maintain and have available, for reference, a copy of the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice published by The Appraisal 

FoundationUSPAP. 

 

(5) Every licensed or certified appraiser, appraisal trainee, applicant for licensure or certification, or 

appraiser in training is required to maintain and have available for reference a current version of 

the license laws and rules and regulations of the Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers, 

MGL chapter 112 sections 173 through 195, and 264 CMR.  
 

(6) A Licensee shall respond within 10 days to a written communication from the Board or its 

designee and shall make available to the Board any relevant records with respect to an inquiry or 

complaint about the Licensee.  The 10-day period commences on the date the Board sends the 

communication to the Licensee’s last known address. This deadline may be extended by the Board 

or its designee with good cause.   

 

(7) A Licensee shall not be subject to a disciplinary action for issues related to a specific appraisal if, 

at the time the Licensee is first notified of a Board action, the Licensee would no longer be 

required to possess their work file for that specific appraisal in accordance with USPAP and 264 

CMR 6.04: Records Retention.  Notwithstanding this general rule, this provision shall not be 

deemed to prohibit the Board from investigating any matter, nor shall it prohibit the Board from 

taking action for matters that go beyond competency such as fraud, misrepresentations, or USPAP 

Ethics violations.   

 

(8) The Board may, after providing any hearing rights in accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A and 801 

CMR 1.00, et seq., take action against any licensed or unlicensed individual whose act or omission 
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subjects them to disciplinary action pursuant to M.G.L. c . 112, §189 and/or M.G.L. c. 112, §§61 

through 65A.   


