The Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers (" Board") today announced recent enforcement actions against the following licensees:
Nathan Killeffer, Weymouth:
The Board and Mr. Killeffer entered into a consent agreement in which Mr. Killeffer acknowledges that the Board believes it has sufficient evidence that his conduct would warrant disciplinary action. Killeffer admitted he signed the mandatory continuing education attestation and reporting form and had only completed seven hours of the requisite 45 hours. He will remain suspended until he pays the Board a fine of $1,000 and finishes continuing education requirements.
David Spacco, Fall River:
By order of default, the Board revoked Mr. Spacco's license. Spacco failed to answer the Board's repeated requests for a detailed explanation about a complaint that was filed with the Board.
Eileen Row, North Reading:
The Board and Eileen Row entered into a consent agreement in which Ms. Row acknowledges that the Board believes it has sufficient evidence to prove that her conduct would warrant disciplinary action. Row admitted that she prepared a real estate appraisal review that did not meet the standards of the Board. She agreed to pay a fine of $500 and attend class on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice within six months.
Timothy Carey, Swansea:
The Board and Mr. Carey entered into a consent agreement in which Mr. Carey acknowledges that the Board believes it has sufficient evidence to prove that his conduct would warrant disciplinary action. The Board suspended the license of Carey until he completes his continuing education classes. He also must pay a fine of $700. The suspension went into effect June 20, 2007.
Jonathan Ruffus, Hampton, NH:
The Board and Mr. Ruffus entered into a consent agreement in which Mr. Ruffus acknowledges that the Board could make findings that Ruffus was disciplined by the state of Maine for reasons substantially close to those of the Massachusetts Board. The Board fined Ruffus in the amount of $6,100 and also placed his license on probation for three and a half years. During the probationary period, Ruffus must complete sixty hours of Board-approved primary education in Basic and Advanced Appraisal.
Ronald Handverger, Framingham:
The Board placed the license of Mr. Handverger on probation effective May 31, 2007 for a period of eighteen months. He faced allegations of producing an appraisal report that was misleading and failed to comply with USPAP. Handverger also paid a fine of $1,500 and agreed to complete fifty hours of continuing education.
Ray Saburi, Salem, NH:
The Board accepted the voluntary surrender of Mr. Saburi's license for his failure to complete continuing education courses. The surrender went into effect on May 8, 2007.
Peter Vergados, Needham:
The Board fined Mr. Vergados $1,000 and ordered him to complete 30-hours of Board-approved educational courses in residential property inspection. The Board found that Vergados submitted an appraisal report in which he failed to properly complete the entire report.
Brian Markow, Hudson, NH:
The Board has fined Mr. Markow $1,000. Markow failed to respond to the Board investigator's letter and failed to provide the Board with proof that he completed a mandatory 15-hour USPAP course. In addition, he also failed to provide the Board with quarterly reports of his assignments since being ordered to do so. The Board extended Markow's probation an additional six months beginning on June 8, 2007.
James Cassell, Haverhill:
The Board and Mr. Cassell entered into a consent agreement in which Mr. Cassell acknowledges that the Board believes it has sufficient evidence that his conduct would warrant disciplinary action. Mr. Cassell was disciplined by the Maine Board of Registration for reasons substantially similar to those set forth in Massachusetts. He also failed to disclose this information to the Board. Mr. Cassell agreed to pay a fine of $1,500 and also have his license placed on probation for a period of six months beginning on June 4, 2007.
Consumers are urged to visit the Division of Professional Licensure's website and select the check a license option to determine whether a professional they are considering doing business with is licensed and in good standing.
The Division of Professional Licensure is a regulatory agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance and the integrity of the licensing process for approximately 330,000 licensees across 43 trades and professions under the jurisdiction of 30 boards of registration.