The State Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals announced today disciplinary action against the following licensees.
Jessica Harriman, Tewksbury:
The Board disciplined physical therapist Jessica Harriman by placing her license under probation for a period of 24 months. During probation, Harriman's practice will be monitored by another physical therapist with supervisory experience, who shall issue quarterly reports on Harriman's practice to the Board. In addition, Harriman must complete three continuing education courses.
The Board and Harriman entered into a consent agreement whereby Harriman admitted that she failed to adequately document patient status and any change in the program being provided by a physical therapist assistant on a timely basis, that she failed to maintain adequate records, that she failed to adequately supervise supportive personnel, that she failed to cooperate with the Board, that she was convicted of a criminal offense and engaged in dishonesty related to the practice of physical therapy, and that she failed to comply with laws and regulations governing physical therapy.
Beth Ann Huberdeau, Atkinson, N.H.:
Huberdeau entered into a consent agreement whereby she agreed to pay the Board a $250 fine. The agreement resolved allegations that Huberdeau practiced as an occupational therapy assistant for about five months when her license had expired.
Kennedy Brothers Physical Therapy, Boston:
Kennedy Brothers Physical Therapy, located on Boylston Street in Boston, was recently disciplined by the Board. The facility's license was assessed a $1,000 fine. The Board found in connection with a complaint that Kennedy Brothers failed to possess a facility license in January 2008, as required by Title 259 of the Code of Massachusetts Regulations, Section 6.02(1) and Chapter 112 of Massachusetts General Law, Section 23 M 1/2.
Kennedy Brothers acknowledged in a consent agreement that its failure to comply with licensure requirements warranted disciplinary action pursuant to 259 CMR 6.07 and MGL 61 through 65. Kennedy Brothers Physical Therapy obtained the necessary licensure during the winter of 2009.
John Kennedy, Boston:
Kennedy, a Massachusetts Physical Therapist with a clinic on Boylston Street in Boston, recently was disciplined by the Board. Kennedy's license was placed on monitored probation for three months, during which time he must complete six hours of continuing education in physical therapy documentation and/or billing.
In addition, Kennedy was assessed a $200 fine. In a consent agreement, Kennedy admitted that he failed to assess and document the status of a patient in a timely and adequate manner in 2008.
He also admitted that his treatment records for the patient were illegible, incomplete and inadequate; and that he failed to release in a timely manner or make the records available following the patient's request. Kennedy admitted that he violated Title 259 of the Code of Massachusetts Regulations, Section 6.06.(1); Principles 8.1(B), 4.1(E), and 3 of the APTA Guide as adopted by the Board pursuant to 259 CMR 5.05(1); and Chapter 112 of Massachusetts General Law, Section 61.
Alexander Zeuli, Foxboro:
The Board placed Zeuli's license to practice as a physical therapist on probation for 13 months. The Board and Zeuli entered into a consent agreement whereby Zeuli admitted that on several occasions he altered another physical therapist's billing sheets in order to add billing charges that were not supported by that physical therapist's documentation. During his probationary period, Zeuli must complete successfully a minimum of nine continuing education hours. In addition, Zeuli must vacate the position of physical therapist compliance officer at Physical Therapy Health Service in Canton, Physical Therapy Health Service in Foxboro, Physical Therapy Health Connection in Norwood, and Physical Therapy Health Connection in Mansfield.
Nicole Palma, Mattapan:
Physical therapist assistant Palma was disciplined by the Board for failing to adequately or accurately document the details of supportive procedures or therapies administered to a patient while working at Boston Regional Therapy from June through August 2008.
Palma was ordered to serve a six-month term of monitored probation; to complete nine hours of continuing education in the subjects of documentation, billing and ethics; and to pay a $250 fine.
In a consent agreement, Palma admitted that the Board could conclude that her conduct violated Title 259 of the Code of Massachusetts Regulations, Sections 5.03 through 5.06; Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, Section 61(3); and Standards 3.1[G], 6.1, and 7 of the American Physical Therapy Guide for Professional Conduct of Physical Therapist Assistants.
Zinaida Levin, MD, PC, Canton:
Professional corporation Zinaida Levin, MD, PC, was assessed a civil administrative penalty of $500 by the Board. The corporation, through its representative, Dr. Zinaida Levin, admitted in a consent agreement that the Board could find that it violated Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, Section 23P for inappropriately advertising physical therapy services in September and October 2008.
Consumers are urged to visit the Division of Professional Licensure's website at http://license.reg.state.ma.us/loca/locaprof.asp to determine whether a professional they are considering doing business with is licensed and in good standing.
The Division of Professional Licensure is a regulatory agency within the Patrick-Murray Administration's Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance and the integrity of the licensing process for approximately 330,000 licensees across 43 trades and professions under the jurisdiction of 32 boards of registration .