What is In My Insurance Policy Parts 6 - 8



6. Compulsory Coverage

There are several types of compulsory insurance that you are required to purchase under Massachusetts law. These coverages are:

Bodily Injury to Others protects you against legal liability for the accidental injury or death of others (but not your passengers) caused by the operation of your car, but only if the accident occurs in Massachusetts. You will be covered up to a basic limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000
per accident.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays up to $8,000 for medical expenses, replacement services and 75% of any lost wages. PIP will pay these expenses to you or anyone you let drive your car, anyone living in your household, passengers and pedestrians, no matter who causes the accident.

Bodily Injury Caused by Uninsured Auto protects you, anyone you let drive your car, household members and
passengers (unless covered by another Massachusetts policy with similar coverage) against losses caused by an uninsured or unidentified ("hit and run") driver. A minimum limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident is required.

Property Damage pays for damage to another person's property when you, a household member or another authorized driver cause an accident. A minimum limit of $5,000 is required.


7. Optional Coverage

Compulsory insurance is the minimum amount of coverage required by state law. Accidents can often result in damage that exceeds these limits. Depending on your individual needs, you may wish to purchase increased limits on these coverages or additional types of coverages such as those listed below. You should consult with an agent or other insurance professional for help in determining what types and how much coverage you need.

Examples of optional coverages that companies may offer are as follows:

  • Coverage for bodily injury to others outside of Massachusetts
  • Coverage for guest passengers in your car
  • Increased limits for bodily injury to others
  • Increased limits for bodily injury caused by an uninsured or underinsured auto
  • Coverage for medical payments beyond the mandatory PIP coverage
  • Collision coverage that pays for damage to your car no matter who causes the accident.
  • Comprehensive coverage that pays for damage to your car caused by events such as fire, theft or vandalism
  • Multiple deductible options for Collision and Comprehensive
  • Coverage for substitute transportation while your car is being repaired from a collision or comprehensive claim
  • Coverage for towing and labor when your car breaks down
  • Accident forgiveness
  • Roadside assistance
  • Auto loan/lease coverage
  • Pet coverage

Each of these coverages is subject to important limitations and exclusions. Agents and companies must inform you in simple language of your coverage options when you apply for an automobile insurance policy, or at any time upon your request if you already have a policy.


8. Mandatory Offer

Insurers and agents must offer you the option of purchasing the following amounts of coverage:

  • Bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist coverage up to $35,000 per person/$80,000 per accident
  • Personal injury protection benefits up to $8,000 per person/per accident
  • Property damage liability up to $5,000 per accident
  • Comprehensive and Collision coverage subject to a deductible of $500 must be offered unless you have an excessive history of claims
  • Medical payments insurance of at least $5,000