General Instructions

Please follow the instructions on this page to apply for one of the following types of architecture licenses issued by the Division of Professional Licensure’s (DPL) Board of Registration of Architects:

By clicking on the hyperlinks above, you will be automatically directed to the specific application instructions applicable to that license type. Prior to beginning your application please review the information immediately below that is applicable to all licenses issued by the Board of Registration of Architects.

Creation of an ePLACE Account

In order to apply for your license online, you will first need to create an ePLACE account. For detailed instructions on creating an account, please consult DPL’s Creating an ePLACE Account webpage.

Application Fees

Please note that all applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee as part of the application process. The fees applicable to licenses issued by the Board of Registration of Architects are as follows:

ProfessionFee
Architect Initial Licensure$135.00 (if approved, a licensee fee of $125 will be assessed)
Architect Reinstatement$113.00 (if approved, a licensee fee of $307 will be assessed)
Architect Reciprocity$365.00 (includes the licensee fee and a wall certificate)
Architect Emeritus$27.00 (includes the license fee and a wall certificate)

Licensing Benefits for Active Duty Military, Relocated Military Spouses, and Veterans

The Division of Professional Licensure (DPL) and the Board of Registration of Architects are pleased to offer licensing benefits to active duty members of the military, relocated military spouses, and veterans, pursuant to the Veterans’ Access, Livelihood, Opportunity and Resources Act (VALOR Act) and the new VALOR Act II, signed into law on April 4, 2014. These benefits include:

  • Credit for related military experience
  • Extensions of the license renewal period
  • Expedited licensing processing
  • Waiver of certain licensing fees

To apply for any of these licensing benefits, interested parties must self-identify as an active duty member of the military, military spouse, or veteran. To apply for these benefits or for more information, please visit www.mass.gov/dpl/valor.

 

 


 

Architect Initial Licensure Application

General Instructions

Please review and complete the steps noted below prior to starting and submitting your Architect Initial Licensure Application. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to the Board at (617) 727-3229.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from the Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Prior to completing the application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 231 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR). You may purchase an official copy of 231 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website.

  1. Apply to take the Licensing Examination

Prior to completing an application or contacting the Board, all applicants are required to contact the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) for Intern Development Program (IDP) approval. An NCARB file will be needed to complete your application. The applicant must also pass the Architect Registration Examination (ARE), which is a series of tests administered by NCARB. Once the applicant has passed all the AREs and completed the IDP, NCARB approves the applicant for a license. To learn more information about NCARB and their application process, please visit their website at http://www.ncarb.org/.

  1. Creation of an ePLACE Account

In order to apply for your license online, you will first need to create an ePLACE account. For detailed instructions on creating an account, please consult DPL’s Creating an ePLACE Account webpage.

  1. Required Documents

The following documents are required to be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A 2”x2” passport style photo
  1. Non-Refundable Application Fee

As previously noted, all applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $135.00. This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process with either a check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.

Application Determinations

The Board will not advise individuals as to their eligibility for licensure until a complete application with all supporting documentation has been reviewed. Licensure eligibility can only be determined through the application process.

Please direct any questions regarding the application process to the Board’s office. Please consult DPL’s Contact Information page for information on contacting the Board office.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

Top


 

Architect License Reinstatement Application

General Instructions

Please review the Board’s Reinstatement Policy for Lapsed or Expired Architectural Licenses outlined below, prior to starting and submitting your Architect Reinstatement Application. Please note that the Board does not offer an Inactive status for Architect licenses. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to the Board at (617) 727-3229.

Creation of an ePLACE Account

In order to apply for your license online, you will first need to create an ePLACE account. For detailed instructions on creating an account, please consult DPL’s Creating an ePLACE Account webpage.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from the Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

License Expired Within the Last Three (3) Years

Applicants that previously held a license that expired within the last three (3) years must:

  • Pay a reinstatement fee. These fees are capped at the cost of license renewal for two licensing cycles, plus one late fee. The Board will notify you of the fee applicable to your situation.
  • Complete a renewal using the online system.
  • Provide proof of completion of continuing education units, detailed in the Board’s regulations at 231 CMR 3.06, for the last two years.

License Expired More Than Three (3) Years Ago

Applicants that previously held a license that expired more than three (3) years ago must:

  • Submit a completed application and pay a non-refundable reinstatement fee of $113.00. This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process with either a check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.
  • Submit to the Board graphic evidence of three (3) current projects whose scope is appropriate to the scope of the project for which the registrant desires to be licensed.
  • Submit to the Board three (3) reference letters from each of the clients whose projects are being presented.
  • The requirement to submit three (3) current projects and three (3) corresponding reference letters may be waived upon submission of a current NCARB certificate; if this applies to you, you must request NCARB send your certificate to the Board office.
  • Provide the Board a brief written history of your practice since your license expired.
  • Provide proof of completion of continuing education units, detailed in the Board’s regulations at 231 CMR 3.06, for the last two years.

Please note that applicants in this category may be required to appear before the Board for a personal interview.

License Expired for More than Ten (10) Years

Applicants that previously held a license that expired more than 10 years ago must:

  • Re-take the current Architect Registration Examination (ARE) examination (computer examination).
  • Submit a completed application and pay a non-refundable application fee of $113.00. This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process with either a check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.
  • Submit to the Board graphic evidence of three (3) current projects whose scope is appropriate to the scope of the project for which the registrant desires to be licensed.
  • Submit to the Board three (3) reference letters from each of the clients whose projects are being presented.
  • Provide the Board a brief written history of your practice since your license expired.
  • Provide proof of completion of continuing education units, detailed in the Board’s regulations at 231 CMR 3.06, for the last two years.

Please note that applicants in this category may be required to appear before the Board for a personal interview. The requirement to submit three (3) current projects and three (3) corresponding reference letters may be waived upon submission of a current NCARB certificate; if this applies to you, you must request NCARB send your certificate to the Board office.

Application Determinations

The Board will not advise individuals as to their eligibility for licensure until a complete application with all supporting documentation has been reviewed. Licensure eligibility can only be determined through the application process.

Please direct any questions regarding the application process to the Board’s office. Please consult DPL’s Contact Information page for information on contacting the Board office.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

Top


 

Architect License Reciprocity Application

General Instructions

Please review the Board’s rules for Reciprocity for Architectural Licenses, outlined below, prior to starting and submitting your Architect License Reciprocity application. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to the Board at (617) 727-3229.

Creation of an ePLACE Account

In order to apply for your license online, you will first need to create an ePLACE account. For detailed instructions on creating an account, please consult DPL’s Creating an ePLACE Account webpage.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from the Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

Specific Instructions

  1. Non-Refundable Application Fee

As previously noted, all applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $365.00. This includes a license application fee of $338.00 and a Wall Certificate fee of $27.00. The total application fee can be paid online at the end of the application process with either a check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.

  1. Required Documents

The following documents are required to be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A 2”x2” passport style photo.

The following documents must be e-mailed to the Board by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB):

  • NCARB certificate – Applicants should submit their request and authorization to transmit either:
    • Online at www.ncarb.org with a credit card; or
    • By mail. If applying by mail, please complete and return the Authorization for Transmittal of Council Record Form 182 for Massachusetts to NCARB, along with a check made payable to NCARB in the amount of $400.00 or a current credit card number, and mail them too:

NCARB Transmittals Department
1801 K Street, NW Suite 700
Washington, DC 20006

Application Determinations

The Board will not advise individuals as to their eligibility for licensure until a complete application with all supporting documentation has been reviewed. Licensure eligibility can only be determined through the application process.

Please direct any questions regarding the application process to the Board’s office. Please consult DPL’s Contact Information page for information on contacting the Board office.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

Top


 

Architect Emeritus Application

General Instructions

Please review and complete the steps noted below prior to starting and submitting your Architect Emeritus Application. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to the Board at (617) 727-3229. Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from the Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

In order to apply for your license online, you will first need to create an ePLACE account. For detailed instructions on creating an account, please consult DPL’s Creating an ePLACE Account webpage.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

Finally, please be aware that in order to obtain an Architect Emeritus license you will be required to relinquish your current license to practice architecture. You may not practice architecture as an Architect Emeritus.

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Prior to completing the application review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 231 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR). You may purchase an official copy of 231 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website.

  1. Review G.L. c. 112, § 60A-60N

As stated in G.L. c. 112, §§ 60A-60N, the Board may grant a certificate of registration as an architect emeritus to an architect who has retired from the active practice of architecture in the Commonwealth. Individuals holding an architect emeritus registration shall not engage or hold him or herself out as engaging in the practice of architecture, and shall be exempt from continuing education requirements.

An architect emeritus who later seeks reinstatement as an architect shall apply to the Board in writing of the status change and thereafter complete all required education and other Board requirements. Please refer to the Architect Reinstatement Application instructions above for information on this process.

  1. Non-Refundable Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $27.00. This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process with either a check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.

Application Determinations

The Board will not advise individuals as to their eligibility for licensure until a complete application with all supporting documentation has been reviewed. Licensure eligibility can only be determined through the application process.

Please direct any questions regarding the application process to the Board’s office. Please consult DPL’s Contact Information page for information on contacting the Board office.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

Top