General Instructions

Please follow the instructions on this page to apply for one of the following types of Drinking Water Operator licenses issued by the Division of Professional Licensure’s (DPL) Board of Certification of Operators of Drinking Water Supply Facilities:

Creation of an ePLACE Account

In order to apply for your license online, you will first need to create an ePLACE account. For detailed instructions on creating an account, please consult DPL’s Creating an ePLACE Account webpage.

Application Fees

Please note that all applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee as part of the application process. The fees applicable to licenses issued by the Board of Certification of Operators of Drinking Water Supply Facilities are as follows:

ProfessionFee
Operator-in-Training$70.00
Operator   $70.00
Reciprocal Operator$70.00

In addition, please be aware that errors incurred during the payment process, whether online or by money order or personal check, may subject an applicant to an additional $23.00 fee. Applicants, if successfully licensed, may also purchase a Wall Certificate license for $27.00.

Licensing Benefits for Active Duty Military, Relocated Military Spouses, and Veterans

The Division of Professional Licensure (DPL) and the Board of Certification of Operators of Drinking Water Supply Facilities are pleased to offer licensing benefits to active duty members of the military, relocated military spouses, and veterans, pursuant to the Veterans’ Access, Livelihood, Opportunity and Resources Act (VALOR Act) and the new VALOR Act II, signed into law on April 4, 2014. These benefits include:

  • Credit for related military experience;
  • Extensions of the license renewal period;
  • Expedited license application processing; or
  • Waiver of certain licensing fees.

To apply for any of these licensing benefits, interested parties must self-identify as an active duty member of the military, military spouse, or veteran. To apply for these benefits or for more information, please visit www.mass.gov/dpl/valor.

Top


 

Operator-in-Training License Application

Instructions

Please review and complete the steps noted below to prior to starting and submitting your Operator in Training license application. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to Ann DeRuosi at 617-727-9951 or ann.m.deruosi@state.ma.us, or Wayne Thomas at 617-727-6388 or wayne.e.thomas@state.ma.us.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Prior to completing your application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 236 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR).  You may purchase an official copy of 236 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State’s office. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website. 

  1. Requirements to Apply
  • Before applying for an Operator in Training license, you must first pass the examination administered by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). Contact them for more information about the exam by calling 800-345-6559 or by visit their website.
  • Once you have received a Passing Score Report from AMP, you may proceed with your application.
  1. Submission of Supporting Documentation and Required Forms

The following documents may be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A recent 2” x 2” passport-style photo.
  • ABC Score Report administered by AMP, verifying passing score.
  • All applicants with greater than a High School Diploma, GED or Equivalent must submit proof of such education with this application. Candidates with a BS, AS or MS must submit a copy of their diploma or college transcript. All other degrees or non-degree college experience must include a copy of the transcript.
  • All applicants seeking a certificate for “Full” status must include a copy of their job description obtained directly from their employer or a letter from their supervisor detailing their duties and responsibilities. Candidates must include verification from their employer(s) of years of service and hours worked per week.
  • All applicants for Grade 2 or higher level exams must submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion issued by their training organization to demonstrate that the applicant has successfully completed the required training course(s) for the grade and classification of the license being applied for. The required training course(s) include the following:
    • VSS, D1, or T1: No training required.
    • D2, D3, or D4: Applicant must complete the Basic Distribution Training with a provider approved by the Board.
    • T2: Applicant must complete the Basic Treatment Training Course with a provider approved by the Board.
    • T3 or T4: Applicant must complete the Advanced Treatment Training Course with a provider approved by the Board.

Applicants may apply for a waiver from the training requirements if they meet criteria established by the Board. If an applicant has been granted a waiver, the applicant must submit a copy of the approved waiver.

  • Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement Form.
  • Signed Code of Ethics Agreement.
  1. Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $70.00.  This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process, either by check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments. 

Application Determinations

If all licensure requirements have been met, a notification will be sent by the Board to the applicant. If it is determined that your application does not meet the requirements, you will be notified in writing of this determination.

Application Questions

Questions regarding the application process should be directed to Ann DeRuosi at 617-727-9951 or ann.m.deruosi@state.ma.us, or Wayne Thomas at 617-727-6388 or wayne.e.thomas@state.ma.us.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

NOTICE: Please be aware that if you submit an application and it is determined by the Board that it is incomplete, or that you have failed to meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, the Board will provide you six months to complete your application or submit the information needed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements, which will be communicated to you in a written letter from the Board. After six months, if your application is still incomplete, or if you have still failed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, you will be issued a letter from the Board indicating that your application has been closed or denied. If your application is closed or denied, you will need to re-apply for licensure by submitting a complete application to the Board and by paying a new application fee.

Top


Operator License Application

Instructions

Please review and complete the steps noted below to prior to starting and submitting your Operator in Training license application. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to Ann DeRuosi at 617-727-9951 or ann.m.deruosi@state.ma.us, or Wayne Thomas at 617-727-6388 or wayne.e.thomas@state.ma.us.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Prior to completing your application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 236 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR).  You may purchase an official copy of 236 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State’s office. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website. 

  1. Requirements to Apply
    1. Before applying for an Operator license, you must first pass the examination administered by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). Contact them for more information about the exam by calling 800-345-6559 or by visit their website.
    2. Once you have received a Passing Score Report from AMP, you may proceed with your application.
  2. Submission of Supporting Documentation and Required Forms

The following documents may be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A recent 2” x 2” passport-style photo.
  • ABC Score Report administered by AMP, verifying passing score.
  • All applicants with greater than a High School Diploma, GED or Equivalent must submit proof of such education with this application. Candidates with a BS, AS or MS must submit a copy of their diploma or college transcript. All other degrees or non-degree college experience must include a copy of the transcript.
  • All applicants seeking a certificate for “Full” status must include a copy of their job description obtained directly from their employer or a letter from their supervisor detailing their duties and responsibilities. Candidates must include verification from their employer(s) of years of service and hours worked per week.
  • All applicants for Grade 2 or higher level exams must submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion issued by their training organization to demonstrate that the applicant has successfully completed the required training course(s) for the grade and classification of the license being applied for. The required training course(s) include the following:
    • VSS, D1, or T1: No training required.
    • D2, D3, or D4: Applicant must complete the Basic Distribution Training with a provider approved by the Board.
    •  T2: Applicant must complete the Basic Treatment Training Course with a provider approved by the Board.
    • T3 or T4: Applicant must complete the Advanced Treatment Training Course with a provider approved by the Board.

Applicants may apply for a waiver from the training requirements if they meet criteria established by the Board. If an applicant has been granted a waiver, the applicant must submit a copy of the approved waiver.

  • Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement Form.
  • Signed Code of Ethics Agreement.
  1. Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $70.00.  This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process, either by check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments. 

Application Determinations

If all licensure requirements have been met, a notification will be sent by the Board to the applicant. If it is determined that your application does not meet the requirements, you will be notified in writing of this determination.

Application Questions

Questions regarding the application process should be directed to Ann DeRuosi at 617-727-9951 or ann.m.deruosi@state.ma.us, or Wayne Thomas at 617-727-6388 or wayne.e.thomas@state.ma.us.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

NOTICE: Please be aware that if you submit an application and it is determined by the Board that it is incomplete, or that you have failed to meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, the Board will provide you six months to complete your application or submit the information needed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements, which will be communicated to you in a written letter from the Board. After six months, if your application is still incomplete, or if you have still failed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, you will be issued a letter from the Board indicating that your application has been closed or denied. If your application is closed or denied, you will need to re-apply for licensure by submitting a complete application to the Board and by paying a new application fee.

Top


Reciprocal Operator License Application

Instructions

Please review and complete the steps noted below to prior to starting and submitting your Reciprocal Operator Application. Questions regarding the application process should be directed to Ann DeRuosi at 617-727-9951 or ann.m.deruosi@state.ma.us, or Wayne Thomas at 617-727-6388 or wayne.e.thomas@state.ma.us.

Please note that if you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download hard copies of the application from Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Prior to completing your application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 236 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR).  You may purchase an official copy of 236 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State’s office. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website. 

  1. Requirements to Apply
    1. Before applying for an Operator in Training license, you must first pass the examination administered by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). Contact them for more information about the exam by calling 800-345-6559 or by visit their website.
    2. Once you have received a Passing Score Report from AMP, you may proceed with your application.
  2. Submission of Supporting Documentation and Required Forms

The following documents may be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A recent 2” x 2” passport-style photo.
  • ABC Score Report administered by AMP, verifying passing score.
  • All applicants with greater than a High School Diploma, GED or Equivalent must submit proof of such education with this application. Candidates with a BS, AS or MS must submit a copy of their diploma or college transcript. All other degrees or non-degree college experience must include a copy of the transcript.
  • All applicants seeking a certificate for “Full” status must include a copy of their job description obtained directly from their employer or a letter from their supervisor detailing their duties and responsibilities. Candidates must include verification from their employer(s) of years of service and hours worked per week.
  • All applicants for Grade 2 or higher level exams must submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion issued by their training organization to demonstrate that the applicant has successfully completed the required training course(s) for the grade and classification of the license being applied for. The required training course(s) include the following:
    • VSS, D1, or T1: No training required.
    • D2, D3, or D4: Applicant must complete the Basic Distribution Training with a provider approved by the Board.
    • T2: Applicant must complete the Basic Treatment Training Course with a provider approved by the Board.
    • T3 or T4: Applicant must complete the Advanced Treatment Training Course with a provider approved by the Board.

Applicants may apply for a waiver from the training requirements if they meet criteria established by the Board. If an applicant has been granted a waiver, the applicant must submit a copy of the approved waiver.

  • Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement Form.
  • Signed Code of Ethics Agreement.
  1. Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $70.00.  This fee can be paid online at the end of the application process, either by check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments. 

Application Determinations

If all licensure requirements have been met, a notification will be sent by the Board to the applicant. If it is determined that your application does not meet the requirements, you will be notified in writing of this determination.

Application Questions

Questions regarding the application process should be directed to Ann DeRuosi at 617-727-9951 or ann.m.deruosi@state.ma.us, or Wayne Thomas at 617-727-6388 or wayne.e.thomas@state.ma.us.

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

NOTICE: Please be aware that if you submit an application and it is determined by the Board that it is incomplete, or that you have failed to meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, the Board will provide you six months to complete your application or submit the information needed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements, which will be communicated to you in a written letter from the Board. After six months, if your application is still incomplete, or if you have still failed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, you will be issued a letter from the Board indicating that your application has been closed or denied. If your application is closed or denied, you will need to re-apply for licensure by submitting a complete application to the Board and by paying a new application fee.

Top