By the Division of Professional Licensure



What are the requirements to become a licensed plumber or gas fitter?

To become a licensed Journeyman Plumber: (248 CMR 11.02 (1) (b) 1.)Every applicant for a journeyman plumber's license shall have worked for not less than 8,500 clock hours as a licensed apprentice working under the direct supervision of a Massachusetts licensed master plumber or under the direct supervision Massachusetts licensed journeyman plumber who is in the employ of a master plumber in accordance with M.G.L. c. 142, § 3, before being eligible to take the examination. He or she must also have completed not less than 550 hours plumbing theory.

To become a licensed Journeyman Gasfitter: {248 CMR 11.02 (3) (b) 1.}Every applicant for a journeyman gasfitter's license shall have worked for not less than 5,100 clock hours as a licensed apprentice working under the direct supervision of a Massachusetts licensed master gas fitter or journeyman gas fitter who is in the employ of a master gas fitter in accordance with M.G.L. c. 142, § 3, before being eligible to take the examination. He or she must also have completed not less than 330 hours gas fitting theory.

To become a licensed Undiluted Liquefied Petroleum Gas Installer: {248 CMR 11:02 (5) (b) 1.}Every applicant for a undiluted liquefied petroleum gas installer's license shall have worked not less than 3,400 clock hours as over a period of no less than two years specifically in the discipline of undiluted liquefied petroleum gas installations working under the supervision of a Commonwealth of Massachusetts licensed undiluted liquefied petroleum gas fitting installer licensed in accordance with M.G.L. c. 142, § 3. He or she must also have completed not less than 220 clock hours of undiluted liquefied petroleum gas educational theory.

To become a licensed Limited Undiluted Liquefied Petroleum Gas Installer: {248 CMR 11:02 (6) (a) (b)}

Every applicant for a limited undiluted liquefied petroleum gas installer's license shall furnish documentary proof satisfactory to the Board of having a minimum of 1,700 clock hours of work experience in construction and familiarity with construction sites including supervised observation of and experience with the installation, connecting and relocating of portable construction type undiluted liquefied petroleum gas cylinders and vessels associated with temporary construction equipment prior to being issued a license in accordance with M.G.L. c. 142, § 3.

Out State or International Jurisdiction Licensee Equivalency and Waivers: {248 CMR 11.02(7)(a), (b), (c)}

Please go to Statutes and Regulations - 248 CMR 11.00 website.

Top


How do I obtain an examination application for an exam?

For information on Plumbing and Gas Fitting Examinations, please contact the PSI - Tel. 1-800-733-9267 or go to www.psiexams.com.

Top


When are examinations scheduled?

Examinations are scheduled Monday through Saturday. Once you are accepted into an examination you will need to contact PSI for the dates and times.

Top


Where are examinations held?

Examination locations are listed on the PSI examination Candidate Information Bulletin.

Top


When does the Board meet and where are the Board meetings held?

Board Meetings are held on the first Wednesday and last Wednesday of the month at the Division of Professional Licensure starting at 9:00 a.m. For driving directions please go to the calendar section of the Board's website .

Both meetings are subject to change in venue.

Top


Where do I obtain a code book?

The plumbing code and modifications to NFPA 54 and 58 can be obtained from the State Book Store, Room 116 State House - Tel. 617-727-2834 - Note: The National Fuel Gas Codes, NFPA 54-2002 edition and NFPA 58-2001 edition can be obtained through the NFPA office located in Quincy, MA - Tel 1-617-770-3000.

FOR ALL THE FOLLOWING CALL 617-727-9952

Top


How does a manufacturer go about getting a product accepted in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts?

Initial Acceptance Applications require a fee for each ten models.

Extensions of Original Acceptances require a fee for each ten models. Extension Applications, in most cases, will be processed in the office and will not require a manufacturer's representative to be present at a Board meeting.

You can download both applications from the Applications and Forms section our website.

Top


Where can I find plumbing and gas applications and forms?

You can download applications and forms here .

Top