For Immediate Release - June 22, 2004

State Board Takes Action on Chiropractors

The Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure today announced recent actions taken by the state's Board of Registration of Chiropractors ("Board") against two licensees.

Deborah Mager, D.C. of Beverly agreed to a six-month license suspension and probation for an additional 30 months stemming from allegations of improper billing and documentation for treatment as well as negligent practice. The alleged improper billing and documentation resulted from 60 treatments Mager performed in a 15-month period on a patient who claimed injury in two automobile accidents within a month. The negligent practice was based on a complaint by a patient that she was allegedly burned while being treated in Mager's office. Mager's license was suspended as of June 2, 2004.

In a separate Board action, Mark Pasciak, D.C. of Clinton agreed to have his license placed on probation for eighteen months. Pasciak is alleged to have failed to maintain adequate clinical documentation for several patients. Under the terms of the probation, Pasicak must complete 75 hours of continuing education in addition to the required continuing education courses mandated to renew his license. Pasciak is also required to be monitored by a duly registered chiropractor who will serve as Pasciak's clinical and administrative consultant during the probationary period. Pasciak's license was placed on probation as of April 26, 2004.

Consumers are encouraged to exercise their rights and continually visit the Division's website at www.mass.gov/reg and select the "check a license" option to determine whether a professional is licensed and in good standing before doing business with him/her.

The Division of Professional Licensure is an agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring the integrity of the licensure process for 43 trades and professions regulated by 29 boards of registration, the continual updating of licenses for approximately 330,000 licensees and the maintenance of databases related to licensing, enforcement, and revenue collection. In fiscal year 2003, the Division of Professional Licensure imposed record levels of professional discipline, including 949 disciplinary actions, over $27,000 in fines and more than $50,000 in refunds for consumers.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
E-Mail: consumer@state.ma.us Privacy Policy
Disclaimer
Consumer Hotline:617-973-8787
888-283-3757
(toll free, in MA only)

Administrative Issues:

Phone: 617-973-8700
FAX: 617-973-8798