For Immediate Release - March 06, 2012

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Health Professions Announces Enforcement Action

The Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals announced today disciplinary action against the following individuals: 

Kerry Kneeland, Somerville

Kneeland, a Massachusetts Occupational Therapist Assistant, entered into a consent agreement admitting that she practiced as an OTA in Massachusetts while unlicensed by the Board from April 26, 2011, through Dec. 13, 2011. Kneeland agreed to pay a $250 fine. 

BethAnne Magnuson, Wilmington

Magnuson, a Massachusetts Occupational Therapist, entered into a consent agreement admitting that she practiced as an OT in Massachusetts while unlicensed by the Board from Aug. 15, 2011, through Dec. 15, 2011. Magnuson agreed to pay the Board a $250 fine. 

Myron Mentis, Framingham

Mentis, a Massachusetts Athletic Trainer, entered into a consent agreement admitting that he practiced as an AT in Massachusetts while unlicensed by the Board from Sept. 1, 2011 through Jan. 9, 2012. Mentis agreed to pay the Board a $250 fine. 

Katie Paterson, Portsmouth, N.H.

Paterson, a Massachusetts Occupational Therapist, entered into a consent agreement admitting that she practiced as an OT in Massachusetts while unlicensed by the Board on diverse dates in 2011. Paterson agreed to pay the Board a $200 fine. 

Allied health professionals are occupational therapists and assistants, athletic trainers, and physical therapists and assistants. The Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals evaluates the qualifications of applicants for licensure and grants licenses to those who qualify. It establishes rules and regulations to ensure the integrity and competence of licensees. The Board is the link between the consumer and the allied health professional and, as such, promotes the public health, welfare and safety.  The Board currently licenses approximately 20,535 individuals in the allied health profession.

Consumers are urged to visit the Division of Professional Licensure’s web site at www.mass.gov/dpl and select the “Check a Professional’s License” link to determine whether a professional with whom they may do business is licensed and in good standing.

Consumers who suspect fraud committed by Allied Health Professionals, chiropractors and other health care providers can report it anonymously through the DPL health care fraud tip-line at 617-727-4499. The tip-line is available 24-hours a day, seven-days a week. Callers are asked to provide as much detail as possible about the alleged fraud and the basis for the allegation.

The Division of Professional Licensure is a regulatory agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance and the integrity of the licensing process for approximately 365,000 licensees in trades and professions under the jurisdiction of 31 boards of registration