For Immediate Release - March 06, 2012

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Barbers Announces Enforcement Action

The Board of Registration of Barbers announced today disciplinary action against the following individuals:

Eric O. Nieves, Holyoke

By Final Decision and Order by Default, the Board has revoked Nieves’s license to operate a barber shop in Massachusetts, and further assessed a $100 fine for practicing as a barber without a license at Now Who’s Next Barber Shop in Holyoke.

Juan DeJesus, Holyoke

By Final Decision and Order by Default, the Board assessed a $100 fine to DeJesus for practicing as a barber without a license at Now Who’s Next Barber Shop in Holyoke.

Ada Taveras, Worcester

By Final Decision and Order by Default, the Board has revoked Taveras’s license to operate a barber shop in Massachusetts, and further assessed a $200 fine. The Board found that Taveras was operating without a current barber shop license and was employing an unlicensed individual at University Barber Shop in Worcester.

Christopher N. Blake, Hyannis and West Yarmouth

By Final Decision and Order by Default, the Board has revoked Blake’s licenses to practice as a barber and operate a barber shop in Massachusetts, and further assessed a $300 fine. The Board found that Blake was practicing with a lapsed personal license and lapsed shop license at Blake’s Barber Shop in Hyannis. The Board also found that during an inspection of the barber shop, Blake exhibited unprofessional conduct towards Board Investigators. The Board found that Blake failed to appear at an investigative conference before the Board.

Christian Rojas, Jamaica Plain

The Board and Rojas have entered into an agreement under which was fined $250. Rojas admitted that he was found to be operating without a barber shop license during an inspection of his barber shop, Lisandro’s Barber Shop in Jamaica Plain.

Jorge Flores, Worcester

By Final Decision and Order by Default, the Board assessed a fine of $100 on Flores for practicing as a barber without a license at Worcester’s Finest barbershop in Worcester.

Tremyne Bray, Dorchester

By Final Decision and Order by Default, the Board revoked Bray’s license to operate a barber shop in Massachusetts, including the right to renew any lapsed license. The Board found that Bray was operating On Top Barber Shop in Dorchester with a lapsed license, that an individual with a lapsed license was working in the barber shop, and that an apprentice was working unsupervised.

Barber professionals work closely with the public and are regulated by the Board of Registration of Barbers. The Board also sets the curricula requirements and regulates the schools which train candidates for this occupation. The Board protects the health and safety of the public by maintaining high standards for the industry. The Board currently licenses approximately 6,242 barbers, shops, instructors and schools in the Commonwealth.

Consumers are urged to visit the Division of Professional Licensure’s website at www.mass.gov/dpl and select the “Check a Professional’s License” link to determine whether a professional with whom they may do business is licensed and in good standing.

The Division of Professional Licensure is a regulatory agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance and the integrity of the licensing process for approximately 365,000 licensees in trades and professions under the jurisdiction of 31 boards of registration.