Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professionals Announces Enforcement Action
BOSTON - The Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals (“Board”) today announced disciplinary action against the following individuals and businesses:
Amy Kristin Baggeroer, Amesbury: The Board entered into a consent agreement with Baggeroer, resolving allegations that she engaged in unlicensed practice as an occupational therapist from 2011 to 2012. Under the terms of the agreement, Baggeroer paid a $250 fine.
Concord Spinal Rehab Center, Concord: The Board entered into a consent agreement with Concord Spinal Rehab Center, resolving allegations that services were provided at the facility by a non-owner when the facility was unlicensed. Under the terms of the agreement, the facility and its owner, Christopher Drummond, agreed to surrender the right to renew the facility’s Massachusetts Physical Therapy Facility license.
Maureen Madden, Pawtucket, RI: The Board entered into a consent agreement with Madden, resolving allegations that she engaged in unlicensed practice as a Physical Therapy assistant on one or more dates in March 2012. Under the terms of the agreement, Madden agreed to pay a $250 fine.
Danielle Monteiro, Winchester: The Board entered into a consent agreement with Monteiro, resolving allegations that she engaged in the unlicensed practice of athletic training from 2011 through 2012. Under the terms of the agreement, Monteiro agreed to pay a $300 fine.
Farrokh Najafi, Brighton: The Board entered into a consent agreement with Najafi, resolving allegations that Najafi failed to maintain adequate records for a patient in his care and that he failed to provide medical records to another patient after receiving a written request from that patient to do so. Under the terms of the agreement, Najafi’s license to practice physical therapy was suspended for three years. Following the completion of his terms of suspension, Najafi will be placed on probation for two years, during which time he must be monitored by another physical therapy who will submit quarterly reports to the Board. During his probation, Najafi may not engage in the solo practice of physical therapy. In addition, Najafi must pay a $500 fine before his suspension will be terminated, and he must complete sixteen additional hours of continuing education beyond any required hours needed to maintain licensure.
Roxbury Physical Therapy, Roxbury: The Board entered into a consent agreement with Roxbury Physical Therapy, resolving allegations the facility operated without a valid license. Under the terms of the agreement, the facility agreed to pay a $1,500 fine.
Walter Ward, Allston: By final decision and order, the Board revoked Ward’s license to practice as a physical therapist, as well as his right to renew his license. In the order, the Board found that he had been recently disciplined by the Virginia Board of Physical Therapy for inappropriate patient contact.
Allied health professionals are occupational therapists and assistants, athletic trainers, and physical therapists and assistants. The Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals evaluates the qualifications of applicants for licensure and grants licenses to those who qualify. It establishes rules and regulations to ensure the integrity and competence of licensees. The Board is the link between the consumer and the allied health professional and, as such, promotes public health, welfare and safety.
The Board currently licenses approximately 21,700 individuals and facilities in the allied health profession. Consumers who suspect fraud committed by allied health professionals, chiropractors, and other healthcare providers can report it anonymously through the Division of Professional Licensure’s (DPL) healthcare fraud tip line at 617-727-4499. The tip line is available 24-hours a day, seven-days a week. Callers are asked to provide as much detail as possible about the alleged fraud and the basis for the allegation.
DPL is a regulatory agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance and the integrity of the licensing process for more than 370,000 licensees in trades and professions under the jurisdiction of 31 boards of registration. DPL also licenses and regulates private occupational schools.
Consumers are urged to visit the DPL’s website at www.mass.gov/dpl and select the “Check a Professional’s License” link to determine whether a professional with whom they may do business is licensed and in good standing. Follow DPL on Twitter @MassDPL.