Massachusetts Board of Chiropractors Announces Enforcement Actions
BOSTON – The Board of Registration of Chiropractors today announced disciplinary action against the following individuals and businesses:
David A. Boyden, Chicopee
By final decision and order by default, the Board revoked Boyden’s chiropractic license. The Board found that Boyden practiced chiropractic with an expired license from April 1, 2011, until at least April 6, 2012. In addition, the Board found that Boyden did not respond to multiple inquiries and thus failed to cooperate with a Board investigation.
Damon Gangemi, Stoughton
The Board entered into a consent agreement with Gangemi, resolving allegations that he failed to maintain adequate and accurate written clinical records for a patient; that his treatment of the patient exceeded, in quality or amount, the documented and clinically reasonable chiropractic needs of the patient; and that he billed or caused to be billed for therapies, procedures or services that were not rendered as billed. Under the terms of the agreement, Gangemi agreed to serve an 18-month term of monitored probation, during which his chiropractic practice will be supervised by a Board-approved monitor, who will conduct complete and comprehensive clinical and administrative reviews every 90 days. In addition, Gangemi agreed to pay a $500 fine and complete 12 additional hours of continuing education each year during the probation period.
Saro Chiropractic Health Center, Dracut
The Board entered into a consent agreement with Saro Chiropractic Health Center, resolving allegations that one of the facility’s employees failed to properly document each patient encounter in a professionally acceptable format during the treatment of at least one patient. As a result, the patient was billed or caused to be billed treatment or services that were inappropriate given the patient’s documented needs. Under the terms of the agreement, the facility agreed to undergo an audit and assessment by a Board-approved compliance auditor; serve a two-year term of monitored probation that will include, among other things, quarterly reviews by a Board-approved compliance monitor to ensure that the facility is operating in a manner consistent with Board authorities; and pay a $300 fine.
Veena Sinha, Allentown, Penn.
The Board entered into a consent agreement with Sinha, resolving allegations that she failed to complete the mandatory continuing education requirement necessary for the renewal of her license. Under the terms of the agreement, Sinha agreed to pay $200 fine and certified that she had completed her continuing education requirements for 2012.
Chiropractors provide health care services to consumers for musculoskeletal and neuromuscular conditions. They are concerned with improving and maintaining the integrity of the biomechanical systems of the body. The Board of Registration of Chiropractors regulates the practice of chiropractic in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and works to maintain high standards of practice and to protect the health and welfare of the public by establishing qualification requirements for licensure, reviewing applicant credentials, and administering licensing examinations. The Board also monitors the practice of its licensees to ensure compliance with state laws and the Board's rules and regulations.
The Board currently licenses approximately 2,087 individuals and facilities in the chiropractic profession. Consumers are urged to visit the Division of Professional Licensure’s web site at www.mass.gov/dpl and select the “Check a Professional’s License” link to determine whether a professional with whom they may do business is licensed and in good standing.
Consumers who suspect fraud committed by allied health professionals, chiropractors and other health care providers can report it anonymously through the DPL health care fraud tip-line at 617-727-4499. The tip-line is available 24-hours a day, seven-days a week. Callers are asked to provide as much detail as possible about the alleged fraud and the basis for the allegation.
The Division of Professional Licensure is a regulatory agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. The agency is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance and the integrity of the licensing process for more than 365,000 licensees in trades and professions under the jurisdiction of 31 boards of registration. DPL also licenses and regulates private occupational schools.
Consumers are urged to visit the DPL’s website at www.mass.gov/dpl and select the “Check a Professional’s License” link to determine whether a professional with whom they may do business is licensed and in good standing. Follow DPL on Twitter @MassDPL.