For Immediate Release - February 01, 2016

State Treasurer’s Office and Division of Banks Announce High School Grant Recipients of the Financial Literacy Education Innovation Fund

State Treasurer Deborah B. Goldberg and the Division of Banks announced today the recipients of the next round of Financial Education Innovation Fund grants, an initiative that provides capital to expand Credit for Life fairs in high schools across the Commonwealth. These awards are funded by a grant from the Division of Banks through settlements over alleged unlawful lending practices.

“These financial literacy grants will further support students as they learn to make informed financial decisions regarding career development and pursuing higher education,” said Treasurer Deb Goldberg. “I have been able to attend these ‘Credit for Life’ fairs and they are truly an impactful learning tool for many of our state’s young adults.”

Through an extensive application process that culminated this month, the Treasurer’s Office awarded 24 high schools across the Commonwealth nearly $60,000 in grant money to expand upon or establish these programs.

”These ‘Credit for Life’ fairs are designed to be an innovative and effective way for students to learn about making real world decisions when it comes to saving, spending, and budgeting their money based on a range of career choices and lifestyle decisions,” said John Chapman, Undersecretary of the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation, whose office includes the Division of Banks.

“I am pleased that we are able to support 24 high schools’ Credit for Life fairs this spring,” said David Cotney, Commissioner of Banks.  “Our hope is that more schools will consider organizing Credit for Life fairs and expand upon their existing event framework in the next school year.”

This is the second installment of these innovation grants, which were established as an ongoing effort to expand financial literacy, so schools will have the opportunity to apply during the next round of funding.

List of 2016 Grant Recipients:

  • Bristol-Plymouth Regional Technical School (Taunton)
  • Brockton High School (Brockton)
  • Cape Cod Regional Technical High School (Harwich)
  • Chicopee Comprehensive High School (Chicopee)
  • Chicopee High School (Chicopee)
  • Clinton High School (Clinton)
  • Duxbury High School (Duxbury)
  • Haverhill High School (Haverhill)
  • Holyoke High School (Holyoke)
  • Hudson High School (Hudson)
  • Marshfield High School (Marshfield)
  • Mt. Greylock Regional High School (Williamstown)
  • Newton North High School (Newton)
  • Northbridge High School (Northbridge)
  • Plymouth South High School (Plymouth)
  • Putnam Vocational Technical Academy (Springfield)
  • Salem High School (Salem)
  • South Shore Vocational Technical (Hanover)
  • Southwick-Tolland-Granville Regional High School (Southwick)  
  • St. Mary’s Catholic High School (Westfield)*  
  • Wahconah Regional High School (Dalton)
  • Westfield High School (Westfield)  
  • Westfield Technical Academy (Westfield)   
  • White Oak School (Westfield)*  
  • Whitman-Hanson Regional High School (Williamstown)

*In affiliation with the Westfield Public Schools’ grant proposal

The Division of Banks is an agency within the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation which oversees state-chartered banks and credit unions, check sellers, debt collectors, foreign transmittal agencies, and mortgage lenders and brokers. For more information visit the Division’s website at or contact the Division of Banks’ Consumer Hotline at 1-800-495-BANK (2265).