Martin Benison has been the Comptroller of the Commonwealth since 1999.  As Comptroller, Martin Benison has  played a leadership role in upgrading the Commonwealth legacy Human Resource, Payroll and Financial Management Applications to an entirely web based architecture. This project, completed on time and within budget, has positioned the Commonwealth to stay current with these products as they evolve in the future. Prior to being appointed Comptroller in 1999, Mr. Benison served as Deputy Comptroller for 6 years where he managed the accounting and financial reporting operations of the Commonwealth. In addition to these accomplishments, Mr. Benison led an innovative campaign to maximize non-tax revenues through the use of contingent fee revenue maximization consultants and debt collectors.

Mr. Benison is Past President of the National Association of State Comptrollers (NASC) and serves on the Executive Committee of the National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers (NASACT). He is a public member of the Professional Ethics Executive Committee of the American Institute of Certified Public Accounts (AICPA). He also serves on Suffolk University’s Accounting Business Advisory Board and is the former chair of the Customer Advisory Board for the United State Treasury’s ASAP payment system. He is a Certified Government Financial Manager, the Association of Government Accountants and a member of the Government Finance Officers Association. Mr. Benison published essays on learning organizations in "Essays on Leadership", copyright 2001, NASACT in association with Ridenbaugh Press; on large scale IT projects in "A Guide to Cross Boundary Collaboration", copyright 2003, NECCC in association with Ridenbaugh Press; and on leadership techniques in "Leadership Secrets of Government Financial Officials", copyright 2005 Association Government Accountants and NASACT in association with Ridenbaugh Press.

Mr. Benison holds a B.A. in Economics from Boston College and a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government.