March 25, 2009

The Honorable Steven Panagiotakos
Chairman, Senate Committee on Ways and Means
State House, Room 212
Boston, MA 02133

The Honorable Charles A. Murphy
Chairman, House Committee on Ways and Means
State House, Room 243
Boston, MA 02133

Re: Notice of federal ARRA grant funds

Dear Chairman Panagiotakos and Chairman Murphy:

I am writing on behalf of the Governor to notify you that the Commonwealth will soon be receiving federal grant funds from various programs authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (the Act). As you know, the receipt and expenditure of these funds could not have been anticipated when the fiscal year 2009 general appropriation act was enacted in July 2009, because the present economic crisis and the resulting passage of the Act occurred later. While it is not clear that these funds are subject to G.L. c. 29, § 6B(e), we are nonetheless making this submission to keep you fully informed.

The enclosed spreadsheet xls format of    Federal grant funds notification: Spreadsheet  details the Act's federal expenditures and the estimated Massachusetts receipts. Some of these receipts may not come to state agencies, but we are including them for completeness. Furthermore, because our analysis of the Act and federal agency guidance for various programs is ongoing, it is possible that some information will change, and we will keep you informed if that occurs. As we continue to analyze and learn more about funds available to the Commonwealth, it is important to ensure that we do not forgo any funds due to notification time frames. Therefore, I wanted to send you this notice as soon as possible to keep you fully informed, and to ensure that the Commonwealth receives all federal funds which it is able to claim.

Please contact this office if we can provide further information or answer any questions. We look forward to continuing to work with you in this important effort.

Leslie A. Kirwan

The Honorable Kenneth J. Donnelly, Senate Chairman,
The Honorable Harold P. Naughton, Jr., House Chairman,
Joint Committee on Veterans and Federal Affairs
Martin Benison, Comptroller