For Immediate Release - June 25, 2012

State Board Approves College Loan Relief

Commonwealth Covenant Fund Provides $190,000 in Tuition Offset Grants

            Treasurer Steven Grossman today announced that the Commonwealth Covenant Fund’s (CCF) Board of Directors has approved 38 grants of $5000 apiece to help students who attended Massachusetts public colleges and universities pay down their college loans.  In accordance with the rules governing the Fund, all of these former students are now pursuing careers in the science, technology, education, or math – or STEM – fields.

            “The Commonwealth Covenant Fund helps ensure that top-notch talent that is educated in Massachusetts stays in Massachusetts,” said Grossman.  “This is critical to our continued leadership in the innovation economy, and it demonstrates that the Commonwealth is serious about investing in our economic future.”

            The CCF was established in 2007 to make college loan repayment grants targeted at individuals in the STEM fields.  To be considered for a grant, an individual must have graduated from a Massachusetts public institution of higher education, have graduated after December 1, 2007, and have worked in a STEM profession in Massachusetts for at least one year.  A cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 is also required of applicants.

            The CCF Board, which was recently reconstituted by Treasurer Grossman, includes community-oriented individuals, many with a background in education.  At its most recent meeting last week, the Board discussed its mission and goals for the future, as well as the potential of raising private funds to supplement the public appropriation that it presently uses to make these grants.

            A full list of CCF grant recipients, along with the communities in which they reside, is attached.


CCF Grant Recipients

Amesbury -     Matthew Jacques

Blanford -       Kimberly Adamson

Braintree -       Andrea Colucci

Brighton -        Michael Deluga

Brighton -        Adam Butler

Chelmsford -   Erin Roark

Dedham -        John Sailhammer

Dracut -           Joel Chabeaux

Dunstable -      Christopher Kertyzak

Everett -          Michael Lozzi

Fairhaven -      Nichole Pitts

Fitchburg -      John Miklus

Florence -        Seth Jackson

Framingham -  Brenda Limos Silva

Hadley -          Tristyn Buck

Hopedale -      Steven Mazzarelli

Hyde Park -     Sedley Henry

Lowell -           Mark Atwood

Lowell –          Brian Pena

Lowell -           William Baafi

Lowell -           Kinina Kun

Malden -          John Walumbe

Marlborough - Harold Tinney

Medfield -       Meenakshi Chivukula

Medford -       Ashley Pickering

Pittsfield -       Kimberly Kelly

Saugus -          Amy Rodriguez

Springfield -    Justin McKennon

Tewksbury -    Amanda Kleschinsky

Westford -       Lindsay Meyler

Whitinsville -   Barbara Rymeski

Whitinsville -   Andrew Sutton

Winthrop -       Stephen Dalton

Worcester -      William Callahan

Worcester -      Veronica Clark

Worcester -      Roger Gyebi

Worcester -      Mark Hollis

Wrenthan –     Andrew Holmes