The third edition of the Welcome Home Guide is designed to help you learn about the benefits you have earned from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, as well as some federal benefits. Topics covered include:
You can download the complete 31-page Welcome Home Guide, 3rd edition (PDF) or call 617-210-5480 to request a copy by mail.
How do I know if I'm a "veteran"?
For Massachusetts' benefits, you are a "veteran" if you received a discharge under honorable conditions and served for at least 90 days of regular active duty, one day of which was during wartime, or you served for 180 days during peacetime, and you received a discharge under honorable conditions. This does not include active duty for training days in the Guard or Reserve.
- For more information, see M.G.L. c.4 s.7 cl.43rd, as amended by c.116 of the Acts of 2004 at www.state.ma.us/legis/laws/mgl or go to www.mass.gov/veterans.
(Welcome Home Guide, 3rd edition, April 2010)