• MCSW commissioners
  • The Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW) is comprised of 19 volunteer commissioners, all of whom are appointed by one of the four appointing authorities: five are appointed by Governor Deval Patrick, four by Senate President Therese Murray, four by House Speaker Robert DeLeo, and six by the Massachusetts Caucus of Women Legislators.  The Commissioners are sworn in by the Secretary of State or another authorized designee. The body of commissioners is composed of women from diverse racial, sexual, socio-economic and religious backgrounds, representing counties and municipalities from across the state. Their commitment to improving the status of women in society is evident within their professional endeavors, and their contributions to MCSW stand true to its underlying mission.

    Below are the names of the 2013-2014 commissioners, with links to their biographies which highlight some of their notable work within and outside of MCSW.  Learn more about how to become appointed as a commissioner.

    We are also looking for young, active, and motivated students to be a part of our internship program (spring, summer, and fall sessions).  Learn more information about internship opportunities through MCSW.