• Regional Women’s Commissions

    Modeled after the MCSW, the eight unfunded county and regional women’s commissions were legislatively created to study and report on the status of women and girls in their geographical areas, and to provide permanent and effective voices for women and girls. Each county and regional commission reports their findings annually to MCSW and is supported by and engaged with the Commission on a regular basis.

    Massachuetts Map with Counties and City/Town Outlines

Call for Applications

The MCSW is seeking interested and qualified applicants for the Berkshire County, Cape Cod and Islands, and Essex County Commissions. Application links are available below. 

Berkshire County CSW docx format of Berkshire County CSW application

Cape Cod and Islands CSW doc format of Cape Cod and Islands CSW application

Essex County CSW docx format of Essex County CSW application

Applications are currently accepted on a rolling basis. Completed submissions may be emailed to mcsw@state.ma.us. Do not hesitate to contact the MCSW office with any questions.

Newly established, Hampden County & Hampshire-Franklin Commissions on the Status of Women and Girls

October 2016: The Hampden County Commission on the Status of Women and Girls represents all cities and towns in Hampden County including Agawam, Blandford, Brimfield, Chester, Chicopee, East Longmeadow, Granville, Hampden, Holland, Holyoke, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Monson, Montgomery, Palmer, Russell, Southwick, Springfield, Tolland, Wales, West Springfield, Westfield and Wilbraham.

January 2017: The Hampshire-Franklin Commission on the Status of Women represents all cities in and towns in Hampshire and Franklin Counties, including Amherst, Ashfield, Belchertown, Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Chesterfield, Colrain, Conway, Cummington, Deerfield, Easthampton, Erving, Gill, Goshen, Granby, Greenfield, Hadley, Hatfield, Hawley, Heath, Huntington, Leverett, Leyden, Middlefield, Monroe, Montague, New Salem, Northampton, Northfield, Orange, Pelham, Plainfield, Rowe, Shelburne, Shutesbury, South Hadley, Southampton, Sunderland, Ware, Warwick, Wendell, Westhampton, Whately, Williamsburg and Worthington.

Berkshire County Commission on the Status of Women

The Berkshire County Commission on the Status of Women represents all cities and towns in Berkshire County including Adams, Alford, Becket, Cheshire, Clarksburg, Dalton, Egremont, Florida, Great Barrington, Hancock, Hinsdale, Lanesborough, Lee, Lenox, Mount Washington, New Ashford, New Marlborough , North Adams, Otis, Peru, Pittsfield, Richmond, Sandisfield, Savoy, Stockbridge, West Stockbridge, Williamstown, and Windsor. 

Please visit the BCCSW Facebook page to learn more. 

Bristol County Commission on the Status of Women

The Bristol County Commission on the Status of Women represents all towns in Bristol County including Easton, Raynham, Mansfield, Norton, Attleboro, North Attleborough, Seekonk, Rehoboth, Swansea, Somerset, Dighton, Fall River, Westport, Dartmouth, New Bedford, Acushnet, Fairhaven, Freetown, Berkley, and Taunton.

Please visit the BCCSW Facebook page to learn more. 

MetroWest Commission on the Status of Women and Girls

The MetroWest Commission on the Status of Women represents the towns of Ashland, Bellingham, Dover, Framingham, Franklin, Holliston, Hopkinton, Hudson, Maynard, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Natick, Needham, Norfolk, Northborough, Norwood, Sherborn, Southborough, Stow, Sudbury, Walpole, Wayland, Wellesley, Westborough, Weston and Wrentham, and the city of Marlborough. 

Please visit the MWCSW Facebook page to learn more.

Cape and Islands Commission on the Status of Women

The Cape and Islands Commission on the Status of Women represents towns in all of Barnstable and Nantucket counties including Bourne, Sandwich, Falmouth, Mashpee, Buzzards Bay, Martha’s Vineyard, Nantucket, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Harwich, Chatham, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, and Provincetown. 

Please visit the CCICSW website for more information. 

Essex County Commission on the Status of Women

The Essex County Commission on the Status of Women represents all towns in Essex County including Saugus, Lynnfield, Lynn, Peabody, Swampscott, Salem, Marblehead, Danvers, Beverly, Middleton, Topsfield, Wenham, Hamilton, Manchester-by-the-sea, Essex, Gloucester, Rockport, Ipswich, Rowley, Newbury, Newburyport, Salisbury, Amesbury, Merrimac, West Newbury, Haverhill, Groveland, Georgetown, North Andover, Andover, Methuen, and Lawrence.

 Please visit the ECCSW website for more information.

Worcester County Commission on the Status of Women

The Worcester County Commission on the Status of Women represents all towns in Worcester County including Ashburnham, Athol, Auburn, Barre, Blackstone, Bolton, Boylston, Brookfield, Charlton, Clinton, Dana, Douglas, Dudley, Fitchburg, Gardner, Grafton, Greenwich, Hardwick, Harvard, Holden, Hubbardston, Lancaster, Leicester, Leominster, Lunenburg, Mendon, Milford, Millbury, New Braintree, Northboro, Northbridge, North Brookfield, Oakham, Oxford, Paxton, Petersham, Phillipston, Prescott, Princeton, Shrewsbury, Southboro, Southbridge, Spencer, Sterling, Sturbridge, Sutton, Templeton, Upton, Uxbridge, Warren, Webster, Westboro, West Boylston, West Brookfield, Westminster, Winchendon, Worcester. 

Please visit the WCCSW Facebook page for more information.

Municipal Women’s Commissions

There are currently nine local Women’s Commissions that represent various cities and towns in the Commonwealth.  While these Commissions are independent of MCSW, the Commission serves as a resource and partner for local commissions and maintains contact with them on a regular basis.

Boston Women's Commission

Megan Costello, Chair; Executive Director, Mayor's Office of Women's Advancement
Boston City Hall, Room 708
1 City Hall Plaza
Boston, MA 02201
Phone: 617-635-3138
Fax: 617-635-3450
E-mail: bostonwomen@cityofboston.gov

Brockton Mayor’s Commission on Women's Issues

Phone: 508-580-7123 (Mayor’s office)
Fax: 508-559-7960
E-mail: womens_commission@ci.brockton.ma.us

Brookline Commission on Women

Chris Chanyasulkit (Co-Chair)
c/o Brookline Department of Public Health
11 Pierce Street
Denny Building|
Brookline, MA 02445
Phone: 617-730-2734
E-mail: BCW@town.brookline.ma.us

Cambridge Commission on the Status of Women

Kimberly Sansoucy, Executive Director
51 Inman Street
Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone: 617-349-4695
Fax: 617-349-4766

Melrose Commission on Women

Melrose Mayor's Office
Phone: (781) 979-4440

Quincy Mayor's Commission on Women

Michelle A. Stenberg, Chair
22 Caledonia Avenue
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: 617-479-8371 ext. 10
(work number at Quincy hockey rink)
Email: mas77rinkrat@aol.com

Quincy Commission meetings are held on the 4th Monday of each month at Quincy City Hall, second floor conference room, 6:00 p.m. - 7 p.m.

Please note: The Commission does not meet in the months of July and August.

Somerville Commissions for Women, Human Rights, Multicultural Affairs and LGBT Community

Sonja Darai, Director
City Hall Annex
50 Evergreen Ave.
Somerville, MA  02145
Phone: (617) 625-6600, x2406
Fax: (617) 629-3040
TTY: 866-808-4851
Email: scw@somervillema.gov; sdarai@somervillema.gov

The Somerville Commission for Women meets the third Wednesday of each month at City Hall Annex, 50 Evergreen Avenue, Somerville. at 7 p.m. For more information, contact Sonja Darai at (617) 625-6600, x2406.

Springfield Commission for Women

Kateri Walsh, Chair, City Councilor
City Hall
36 Court St.
Springfield, MA 01103
Phone: 413-781-8042 (Home number)
E-mail: wkaterib@hotmail.com

Worcester City Manager's Advisory Committee on the Status of Women

Contact the Committee via Catherine Nash
Office of Human Rights and Disabilities
City Hall, Room 303
455 Main Street
Worcester, MA 01608
Phone: 508-799-8486
E-mail: nashc@worcesterma.gov