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Elver Poaching Fines Increased

Rebuilding the depleted population of American eel is a high priority of the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts. An important conservation measure is the prohibition on the spring-time harvest of
young eels (known as “elvers”) when they enter the fresh water environments from the sea. While
this restriction has been in place for decades, elevated prices for elvers have resulted in increased
poaching in recent years. To enhance compliance with this measure, the fine for taking eels smaller
than 6 inches has been increased to $10,000 or 30 days in jail, or both.

Another longstanding rule makes it unlawful to use or possess any nets with mesh openings less
than '4” from February 15 to June 15 in the coastal waters of the Commonwealth or upon the
banks of rivers and streams within the coastal waters of the Commonwealth. The public is
requested to report any suspicious netting activity seen on streams in coastal communities through
June 15 to the Environmental Police at 1-800-632-8075. Preventing this poaching activity
represents a significant enforcement priority for Massachusetts.

As a reminder, several other eel conservation measures changed last year. The minimum
possession size for any eel is 97, all eel traps deployed by recreational or commercial fishermen
must have mesh openings of /2" by 2”7, recreational fishermen are limited to 25 eels per day (50
eels on for-hire vessels), and during the period of September through December, only rod and reel,
eel pots/traps, and spears may be used to catch eels.

For more information regarding the management of eels in Massachusetts, please contact
MarineFisheries at 617-626-1520 or visit our website and review our regulations.



