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2016 COMMERCIAL STRIPED BASS FISHERY CLOSED 

EFFECTIVE AUGUST 19, 2016 
 

 

The Commonwealth’s 2016 commercial striped bass quota of 869,813 pounds is projected to have 

been taken on Thursday, August 18, 2016. Accordingly, the Massachusetts 2016 commercial striped 

bass fishery is closed effective 0001 hours on Friday, August 19, 2016 (Closure Notice). Until the 

2017 commercial striped bass fishery opens, fishermen are prohibited from possessing more than 

one striped bass that measures at least 28 inches in total length per person or selling or attempting to 

sell any striped bass in the Commonwealth.  

 

Commercial fishermen are reminded that even if their permit was not fished, their August 2016 trip-

level report is due no later than September 15, 2016. Failure to submit these reports for all months of 

the year may result in the non-renewal of a commercial permit and its regulated fishery permit 

endorsements in 2017. All trip-level reports should be sent to DMF Statistics Project, 30 Emerson 

Avenue, Gloucester, MA 01930. Blank forms and instructions were mailed out prior to the 

beginning of the 2016 commercial fishing season; additional copies can be obtained on the Division 

of Marine Fisheries website.  

 

Similarly, effective 0001 hours on August 19, 2016, seafood dealers in Massachusetts are prohibited 

from purchasing or receiving striped bass from any fisherman until the 2017 commercial striped bass 

fishing season opens. During this closed period, dealers may possess and sell striped bass that are 

imported into the Commonwealth, provided these fish were lawfully caught in another state and bear 

a tag with the state of origin. If the fish are re-sold whole, the tag must remain affixed to the fish. If 

the fish are processed after importation, all containers of fillets shall describe the state of origin, 

Massachusetts processor, quantity of fillets, and species; original tags are to be retained at the 

dealer’s facility for 30 days after processing. Through August 23, 2016, all striped bass in the 

possession of a Massachusetts dealer—regardless of state of origin—must be 34 inches in total 

length or larger. Beginning on August 24, 2016, dealers may import sub-legal sized product 

provided it conforms to the minimum size of the state of origin.  

 

Dealers are also reminded that the Division of Marine Fisheries will be providing them with a 

written request to return all unused 2016 Striped Bass ID Tags and submit a Tag Accounting Report. 

If a dealer cannot account for an unused tag, s/he must provide this information in the Tag 

Accounting Report. Failure to return or account for unused tags may result in the dealer being unable 

to participate as a primary buyer of striped bass in future years.  

 

For more information regarding the management of striped bass, review Massachusetts’ striped bass 

regulations. For more information about the management of marine fisheries in Massachusetts, 

please visit our website: www.mass.gov/marinefisheries. 
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http://www.mass.gov/eea/docs/dfg/dmf/marinefisheriesnotices/striped-bass-closure-notice-2016.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dfg/dmf/commercial-fishing/trip-level-reporting/
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dfg/dmf/laws-and-regulations/marine-fisheries-regulations.html
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