

David E. Pierce, PhD. Director

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries

251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 Boston, Massachusetts 02114 (617) 626-1520 fax (617) 626-1509

> September 12, 2019 MarineFisheries Advisory

Atlantic Herring Management Area 1A Closure for Period 3 Starting September 15, 2019





The directed Atlantic sea herring fishery in Management Area 1A is projected to have harvested 92% of the Period 3 (September 1 – October 31) allocation by September 14, 2019 (<u>Closure Notice</u>). Accordingly, effective at 12:01am on Sunday September 15, 2019, the Area 1A sea herring fishery will move to zero landing days through October 31, 2019. During this closed period, the catch, landing and sale of sea herring taken from Management Area 1, with the following exemptions.

- Commercial fishing vessels that have declared into the fishery, and have been issued a Statement of Permit Conditions, from the Division of Marine Fisheries. These vessels may continue to land an incidental catch of Atlantic sea herring of up to 2,000 pounds per calendar day or per trip, whichever is longer. For the purpose of this closure, landing means transfer of herring from any vessel onto any land, dock, pier, wharf or other artificial structure.
- Vessels may transit Management Area 1A in possession of non-conforming quantities of Atlantic sea herring, provided the herring were lawfully caught outside of the area and all gear is stowed.
- Dealers acting as primary buyers of Atlantic sea herring are prohibited from purchasing or receiving more than 2,000 pounds of Atlantic sea herring harvested from Management Area 1A by any vessel during any trip or calendar day.

<u> Area 1A – Period 4 Measures</u>

The ASMFC Atlantic Herring Section (states of MA, NH, and ME) will determine the specifications for Management Area 1A Period 4 (November 1 – December 31, 2019) during the next Days Out Conference Call in October.

For more information, please contact Cate O'Keefe (508-742-9744) (Catherine.O'Keefe@mass.gov).



Charles D. Baker Governor Karyn E. Polito Lieutenant Governor Kathleen Theoharides Secretary Ronald Amidon Commissioner Mary-Lee King Deputy Commissioner