

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Division of Marine Fisheries

251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 Boston, Massachusetts 02114 (617) 626-1520 fax (617) 626-1509



Secretary
Ronald S. Amidon
Commissioner

Mary-Lee King
Deputy Commissioner

September 18, 2017

Statement of Permit Conditions: Trimester II Sea Herring Landing Limits and Days out

You are receiving this letter because you hold a sea herring regulated fishery permit endorsement with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and have declared into the Trimester 2 Management Area 1A sea herring fishery. As a "Category A" federal permit holder, this letter establishes the fishing limits for the Trimester 2 Management Area 1A sea herring fishery, as established by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission's (ASMFC) Sea Herring Section. This letter does not exempt you from any existing laws or regulations governing the Atlantic sea herring fishery (e.g., Purse Seine/Fixed Gear Only Area).

Pursuant to the authority of G.L. c. 130 § 80 and 322 CMR § 7.017(7), the Director of the Division of Marine Fisheries has determined that the **Statement of Conditions** enumerated below shall apply to the 2017 commercial fishing permit.

- 1. Open Days. Beginning on September 17, 2017, permit holders are authorized to fish for Atlantic sea herring within Management Area 1A and possess and land Atlantic sea herring taken from Management Area 1A from 0001 hours on Monday through 2359 hours on **Sunday**.
- 2. Weekly Landing Limit: Beginning on September 17, 2017, it shall be unlawful to possess or land more than **1,000,000** pounds (**25 trucks**) of Atlantic sea herring taken from Management Area 1A per calendar week. A calendar week begins at 0001 hours on Sunday and continues through 2359 hours the following Saturday. This weekly limit shall be enforced through VMS daily catch reports, dealer records, and vessel trip reports. A harvester vessel may transfer herring at-sea to another catcher vessel.
- 3. Carrier Vessel Limits: Beginning on September 17, 2017, it shall be unlawful to transfer catch of Atlantic sea herring taken from Management Area 1A to more than one carrier vessel. Carrier vessels can land once per 24 hour period. Carrier vessels are prohibited from landing more than 120,000 pounds (3 trucks) of Atlantic sea herring taken from Management Area 1A per calendar week. Calendar week begins at 0001 hours on Sunday and continues through 2359 hours the following Saturday. This weekly limit shall be enforced through VMS daily catch reports, dealer records, and vessel trip reports. The carrier vessel's weekly landing limit is in combination with the harvester vessel's weekly landing limit, for a combined total not to exceed 1,000,000 pounds (25 trucks). A carrier vessel is a vessel with no gear on board capable of catching or processing fish.

The ASMFC's Atlantic Sea Herring Section will set limits for the Trimester 3 Management Area 1A sea herring fishery, beginning on October 1, 2017. Accordingly, DMF will send Letters of Authorizations and Statements of Conditions for the Trimester 3 measures, which will replace all Trimester 2 measures.

Violation(s) of any condition or restriction as contained herein or any provision of 322 CMR 9.00 may result in the suspension or revocation of the commercial fishing permit and any other fines and penalties as provided in G.L. c.130. The Director may amend this Statement of Conditions at any time.

Lavid Sierce	
	September 18, 2017
David E. Pierce. Ph.D. Director	Effective Date