Know the Law Page 1 of 2



Published on Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (https://lcb.wa.gov)

Home > Know the Law

Know the Law



Initiative 502 legalized marijuana use for adults however there are still a number of restrictions. It is important for you to be aware of the following laws:

- Age Limit Only adults age 21 and older can purchase and possess marijuana.
- Purchase Limits Adults age 21 and over can purchase up to one ounce of useable marijuana (the harvested flowers, or "bud"), 16 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles in solid form, 72 ounces in liquid form, and 7 grams of marijuana concentrates.
- Buying and Selling Marijuana can only be sold and purchased at state-licensed retail stores. A valid photo ID is required, and no one under 21 is allowed on the retail premises. Many retail marijuana stores

Know the Law Page 2 of 2

only accept cash.

 No Resale or Giveaways – It remains a felony for anyone who is not a licensed retailer to sell or provide marijuana to anyone else. Providing or selling marijuana to a minor under the age of 18 can result in up to 10 years in prison and up to a \$10,000 fine.

- Public Use It is illegal to consume marijuana in view of the public.
- Driving It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana if you have more than 5 nanograms of active THC per milliliter of blood. Doing so may result in significant legal penalties.
- Travel It is illegal to take marijuana outside of Washington. Doing so may result in significant legal penalties.

Copyright © 2016 Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Drupal 7 Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux