

Paul J. Diodati Director Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries 251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 Boston, MA 02114 (617) 626.1520 Fax (617) 626.1509



Deval Patrick Governor Ian Bowles Secretary Mary B. Griffin Commissioner

November 13, 2009

Board of Selectmen Abbot Hall 188 Washington Street Marblehead, MA 01945

Ladies & Gentlemen:

The Division of Marine Fisheries has determined that Atlantic Surf Clams, (*Spisula solidissima*), from the below-defined area **no longer contains biotoxins (Paralytic Shellfish Poison—PSP)** from the phytoplankton *Alexandrium (spp.)* in excess of established standards. This area remains closed to the harvesting of Carnivorous Snails, Blue Mussels, Ocean Quahogs, and whole Sea Scallops.

Therefore, under authority of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 130, sections 74A and 75 and 322 CMR sections 7.01 (7), 7.02 and 10.00, the PSP closures for Atlantic Surf Clams issued on May 22, 2009 will be rescinded at sunrise on Saturday, November 14, 2009 in the below-defined area. Atlantic Surf Clams in the area currently classified as CONDITIONALLY APPROVED and in the "open" status may be harvested on Saturday, November 14, 2009 for direct human consumption subject to local rules and regulations under authority of Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 130, section 52. This area remains subject to the classification conditions. All previous bacterial closures remain in effect. This area remains closed to the harvesting of Carnivorous Snails, Blue Mussels, Ocean Quahogs, and whole Sea Scallops.

Status: Open to the harvesting of Atlantic Surf Clams.

"The waters, flats and tributaries of the Marblehead shoreline, east of a line from the northern extremity of Marblehead Neck to Peach Point, and south and west of a line from Peach Point seaward to the Marblehead town boundary in Massachusetts Bay, and north and east of a line from the Marblehead Swampscott town line seaward to the Marblehead town boundary in Massachusetts Bay (N21)."

Sincerely,

Paul J. Diodati Director

cc: A. Gross, J. Tulik, R. Thurlow, OLE D. McKiernan, M. Hickey, J. Kennedy, T. O'Neil, DMF WPC, DEP FDA DPH Wayne Attridge, Marblehead