

David E. Pierce, PhD. Director

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries

251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 Boston, Massachusetts 02114 (617) 626-1520 fax (617) 626-1509



Charles D. Baker Governor Karyn E. Polito Lieutenant Governor Matthew A. Beaton Secretary Ronald S. Amidon Commissioner Mary-Lee King Deputy Commissioner

December 20, 2017

Statement of Permit Conditions: Winter I Commercial Scup Trip Limits

The Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF), with the approval of the Marine Fisheries Advisory Commission, has taken action to establish the state's possession and landing limits during the 2018 Winter I period (January 1 – April 30). This limit is designed to match the federal limit established by the National Marine Fisheries Service for the Winter I period and thereby allow commercial fishermen to possess and land legally caught fish in Massachusetts.

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority at, G.L. c. 130 §§ 2, 17A and 80 and 322 CMR §§ 6.41(2)(d) and 7.01(7), all 2018 commercial fisherman permits with regulated fishery permit endorsements for scup have been hereby conditioned to establish the 2018 Winter I commercial scup fishery limits at 322 CMR §6.27(2)(c):

- 1. From 0001 hours on January 1, 2018 until 2359 hours on April 30, 2018 or until the 80% of the 10.82 million pound 2018 Winter I commercial scup quota allocation is taken, commercial fishermen who hold a commercial scup regulated fishery permit endorsement may possess and land up to 50,000 pounds of scup per trip or calendar day, whichever period is longer.
- 2. When 80% of the 2018 Winter I commercial scup allocation is taken, the 2018 Winter I commercial scup possession and landing limit shall be reduced and commercial fishermen who hold a commercial scup regulated fishery permit endorsement may possess and land up to 1,000 pounds of scup per trip or calendar day, whichever period is longer.
- 3. Notwithstanding the conditions set forth at #1 and #2 above, during the 2018 Winter I commercial scup period, commercial fishermen who hold a commercial scup regulated fishery permit endorsement and are fishing with trawl nets that have a minimum mesh size less than 5-inches diamond applied throughout the codend of the net for at least 75 continuous meshes forward of the terminus of the net shall not possess or land more than 1,000 pounds of scup per trip or calendar day, whichever period is longer.

Any violation of the above stated permit condition is subject to the fines and penalties set forth at G.L. c. 130 §§ 2 and 80, G.L. c. 21A § 10H and 322 CMR 7.01(9), including but not limited to an administrative hearing to suspend or revoke your commercial fisherman permit.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter,

7. Jure an

David E. Pierce, PhD Director

December 20, 2017

Effective Date