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RE: Renewal of Individual Broker Licenses
Continuing Education Requirements for Agents and Brokers
Corporate Licensing Requirements '
Dissolution of Corporations
Deceased Spouse Provision
Surplus Lines Brokers — Requirements for Licensure

The purpose of this bulletin is to provide new and updated information regarding licenses and
related matters relative to Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 175, § 163, § 166, § 166A, §
168, § 174, § 174D, § 177E and the Massachusetts Regulations, 211 C.M.R 50.00, 50.04, 50.05

Renewal of Individual Broker Licenses

Individual broker licenses must be renewed every three years. The responsibility to
timely renew lies solely with the licensed broker. For your convenience, the Division of
Insurance (the “Division”) currently sends renewal applications to each broker 60 days prior to
the expiration of the license. The issue and expiration dates will continue to be printed on the
licenses. Brokers have an additional 30 days from the expiration date to renew their licenses.
Failure to renew within the 30-day post expiration date will result in the license being cancelled,
whether or when the renewal application was received.

Any attempt to subsequently renew the ekpired license will require the broker to re-take
the licensing exam. Exam waivers will only be granted to those individuals who also hold an



active agent appointment. Furthermore, any current continuing education status will be forfeited
due to failure to timely renew the license. To clarify this point, the new application date will be
considered the “original issue of license” date for the purposes of §177 E. Additionally, anyone
previously exempted (“grandfathered™) from continuing education will lose that status. Please
be advised, there will be no waivers for loss of grandfathering status. This means that
individuals licensed prior to April 4, 1983 (the.grandfathering date) who lose that status because
of the failure to renew their licenses in a timely manner will now have to comply with continuing
education requirements. Please directly consult Chapter 175 § 177E and 211 CMR 50.00 for the
specific continuing education course requirements.

Contihuing Education Requirements for Agents and Brokers

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 175, § 177E, licensees are required to complete a minimum of
sixty (60) hours of instruction during the first thirty-six month period following the date of
original issue of licensure and forty-five (45) hours every thirty-six month period thereafter. The
Division has become aware that some licensees do not take continuing education courses and
allow their licenses to lapse. They then retake the license examination, and apply for a new
license. Anyone who continues to engage in this practice must understand that they do so at their
own risk. Should they not succeed in passing the required examination, and/or not be able to
take the examination on a timely basis for any reason, they cannot expect any extension of any
license, which was put at risk by their not taking the continuing education courses as the
Legislature intended. They will also not be exempt from audit by the Division, See
“Certification of Continuing Education Compliance”, below.

Certification of Continuing Education Compliance

211 CMR 50,06 currently requires agents and brokers to complete a form prescribed by
the Commissioner to certify completion of the continuing education requirements found in 211
CMR 50.05. Brokers with their renewal application submit completed forms to the Division.
Agents submit their completed forms to their appointing insurers who then attest to the Division
concerning the agent’s compliance with 211 CMR 50.05 at the time of renewal of the agent’s
appointment with the insurer. In the case of agents, those with multiple appointments generate
multiple forms/attestations, which are then submitted to the Division.

Since the agents and brokers must complete the certification form in the first instance, the
Division has determined that a more efficient and auditable process to be effective July 1, 2002,
would be for both agents and brokers to retain the certification forms and not submit them to the
Division or, in the case of agents, to their insurers, (unless the insurer requests such information
as a part of its contractual arrangements with its producers). In turn, insurers will not be required
to file attestations with the Division upon renewal of their agent’s appointment,

The Division will audit agents and brokers from time to time to confirm their compliance -
with the continuing education requirements. Each licensed resident agent or broker shall be
responsible for the completion and maintenance of the continuing education forms which certify
that said person has met the continuing education requirements of 211 CMR 50.05. The
Continuing Education Provider shall sign each form as to the participant’s satisfactory
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completion of the approved course. When chosen for audit, the licensee must submit proof of

- compliance with continuing education requirements. Failure to produce such proof will result in

suspension of all licenses and may result in additional fines or penalties.
“Grandfathering” Provision -

All individuals licensed prior to April 4, 1983 arc exempted by statute, commonly
referred to as “grandfathered”, from the requirements of continuing education. In order to
maintain this status, however, such individuals must be continuously licensed. If an individual
allows his or her license(s) to lapse and later re-applies, the exemption will not be available and
continuing education requirements will apply. Furthermore, please be reminded that individuals
licensed prior to April 13, 1983 who subsequently amend their licenses by adding an additional
line or lines of authority are then subject to the continuing education requirements. See 211
CMR 50.04(Db).

Licensing of Corporations

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 175, § 174, officers and/or directors specified on a corporate
license may act there under in the name and on behalf of the licensed corporation. Such
individuals must be so licensed as individuals (the majority of whom must have been licensed for
three years). In interpreting § 174, the Division has consistently mandated that in order for a
corporate license to be issued for particular lines of insurance, all officers and directors named on
said license must also be properly licensed to sell those lines. However, in recognition of the
evolving insurance marketplace, the Division has re-considered this long-standing policy.

Effective immediately the Division will require that for each line of insurance applied for,
there must be at least one officer or director named on the license who holds a license to sell and
to solicit that line. It is no longer required that each individual named on the license be
licensed to sell all the same lines for which the corporation is licensed. Of course, an
individual cannot sell or solicit a line of insurance unless individually licensed to do so (with the
limited exception set forth in the third paragraph of c. 175, § 162, but officers and directors will
no longer all need to maintain licenses for lines which they do not personaily sell.).

The Division is aware that from time to time neither the individuals nor the Division was.
careful to assure that individuals named on a corporate license continued to maintain their
individual licenses. Starting July 1, 2002, the Division will no longer be inconsistent in
enforcing the statutory requirement that all individuals named on a corporate license

‘maintain their individual licenses and comply with the appropriate continuing education

requirements. In preparation for this, the Diviston will issue replacement individual licenses for
those who allowed their licenses to lapse. In this respect, please note that the Division does not
consider the replacement individual license to be the original date of licensure for the purposes
of the continuing education law. Rather, the date of original 1ssue of license will be considered
to be the date on which the individual was first icensed. If you are one of the affected
individuals and do not receive a replacement individual license before July 1, 2002, please write
to the Director of Agents and Brokers Licensing, Diane Silverman-Black.
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Inclusion of the word “Insurance” in any corporate name

Pursuant to ¢. 155, § 9, the name of any corporate agent, producer, or adjuster of fire
losses is subject to prior written approval of the Commissioner, The proposed name of the
corporation must be businesslike and may not be the same as, or so similar to another
corporation so as o be mistaken for it. Furthermore, it is the Division’s practice to require that
the name include the word “insurance”.

Articles of Dissolution

Pursuant to ¢. 175, § 174, corporations must notify the Commissioner in writing in the
case of the dissolution of the corporation. Upon receipt of such notice, the commissioner shall
forthwith revoke its license without a hearing. Whoever, being clerk or corresponding officer of
a corporation under this section, fails to file with the commissioner duly certified copies of all
amendments to the articles of organization of such corporation as provided herein, or fails to
notify the commissioner of the dissolution of the corporation, or whoever, being specified in the
license of such corporation as an officer or director, acts under said license after the dissolution

- of such corporation, shall be subject to fines.

Deceased Spouse Provision

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 175, § 174D, the surviving spouse of a deceased licensed insurance
agent or broker may continue the business that was conducted by the deceased spouse at the time
of his/her death; provided, that such business is conducted under the supervision of a duly
licensed agent or broker. The surviving spouse must provide the Division with a copy of the
death certificate and must inform the Division of the name of the properly licensed individual
who will be supervising the insurance business. The supervising licensee must be duly licensed
to sell the lines of insurance offered by the deceased’s agency and must be on the premises
during business hours. Please be advised that failure to maintain a properly licensed individual
on-site will result in appropriate disciplinary action.

In cases where the removal of the deceased from the agency’s license will result in non-
compliance with the licensing provisions of ¢: 175, § 174, (i.e. if the majority of officers and
directors named on the license will not have been individually licensed for at least three (3) years
and/or the lines of authority of the officers and directors named on the license no longer
comprise the proper lines of insurance), the agency must amend its license immediately in order
to remedy the situation. : .

Surplus Lines Brokers — Requirements for Licensure

The Commissioner may issue a license to act as a surplus lines broker (aka “special
broker”) to a “suitable person” who is otherwise qualified pursuant to c. 175 § 168. The
Division would like to clarify that one of the conditions to being considered “suitable” for
licensure as a surplus lines broker is an individual agent, broker, or advisor license for the
line/lines to brokered; e.g., property/casualty; life, health.



