

Leading by Example Award Recipients 🛛 💥

EADING BE EXAMPLE PROGRAM

Presented by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Leading by Example Awards annually recognize outstanding decarbonization, clean energy, and other environmental efforts among Commonwealth agencies, municipalities, and individuals.

	Leading by Example Awards annually recognize outstanding decarbonization, clean energy, and STATE AGENCY						0		
				MUNICIPALITY			INDIVIDUAL		
2024*	Office of Vehicle Management (OVM)		Massachussetts State Police		City of Malden Town of Warwick		Town of Warwick	Tara Gallagher, Salem State University	Katherine Moses, City of Lowell
2023	Massachusetts Water Resources Authority DCR Net Zer		o Task Force MassBay Community College		City of Lowell Town of Windso		Town of Windsor	Suzanne Wood, UMass Chan Medical School Hope Davs,	DCAMM Hank Haff, Town of Needham
2022	Deptartment of Developmental	Services MassDOT	-Highway Cape	Cod Community College	City of	Beverly	Ashburnham Municipal Light Plant	Liz Minnis, DCAMM	Shawn Luz, City of Framingham
2021	Board of Library Commissioners Public Library Construction Program	DCR Waquoit Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve	Decarbonization Study Teams of Salem State University, UMass Amherst, Dartmouth, and Lowell	Bridgewater State University	r City of Greenfield		Town of Acton	Sean Donaghy, MBTA	Ed Vitone, Town of Ashburnham
FY 2020	MassDOT Aeronautics Division	Executive Office of Health and Human Services Facilities	UMass Medical School	Fitchburg State University	City of Woburn		Town of Egremont	Paul Antoniewicz, Trial Courts	Larry Sullivan, Town of Norfolk
FY 2019	Massachusetts Port Authority	Department of Correction	Berkshire Community College	UMass Lowell	City of Worcester C		Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority	Claudine Ellyin, MA College of Art & Design	Jillian Wilson-Martin, Town of Natick
FY 2018	Franklin County Sheriff's Office	Metropolitan Area Planning Council	Salem State University	UMass Amherst Landscaping Services	City of Salem		Town of Wellesley	James Latini, Division of Capital Asset Management and Maintenance	Thomas Philbin, Town of Westwood
FY 2017	Department of Fish and Game	MassDOT-Highway	Roxbury Community College	Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts	Town of Lexington & Sustainable Lexington		Town of Sterling & Sterling Municipal Light Department	Office of Vehicle Management Team: Alex Giannantonio, Cheryl Cushman, and Karen Rasnick	Kate Crosby, Acton-Boxborough Regional School District
FY 2016	Soldiers' Home in Holyoke	Massachusetts Electric Vehicle Incentive Program	Springfield Technical Community College	UMass System	Town of Winchester		Town of Needham	Julia Wolfe, Operational Services Division	Matt Coogan, Gloucester & Essex
FY 2015	Massachusetts State College Building Authority	Mass. Clean Energy Partnership for Wastewater and Drinking Water Facilities	Worcester State University	UMass Boston	Town of Kingston		Belmont Light	DCR Energy & Sustainability Team: Stephen Brown, Yvonne Jones, Raul Silva	Martha Grover, City of Melrose
FY 2014	Division of Capital Asset Management and Maintenance	Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA)	Bristol Community College	UMass Dartmouth	City of Newburyport		Town of Dartmouth	UMass Amherst Sustainability Team: Ezra Small, Rachel Sutton, Victoria Rosen, Craig Nicolson	Margie McGinnis, Town of Leverett
FY 2013	Department of Environmental Protection	Department of Developmental Services	Greenfield Community College	Framingham State University	Town of Amherst	Town of Arlington	Town of Town of New Chelmsford Bedford	Paul Piraino, UMass Lowell	Lauren Sinatra, Nantucket
FY 2012	Department of Correction	Department of Conservation and Recreation	North Shore Community College	UMass Lowell	Town of Sutton	Town of Scituate	Merrimack Valley Planning Commission	Betty Ann Learned, Massasoit Community College	Jim Kelly, Town of Sudbury
FY 2011	Massachusetts Water Resources Authority	Chelsea Soldiers' Home	Mount Wachusett Community College	Massasoit Community College	City of Lowell	City of Boston	Town of Town of Easton Hudson	Melissa Lucas, UMass Medical School	Chris Mason, City of Northampton
FY 2010	Department of Fire Services	Massachusetts Department of Transportation	UMass Amherst	UMass Medical School	City of Medford	City of Northampton	Town of Town of Greenfield Mashpee		
FY 2009	Department of Environmental Protection	Massachusetts Trial Court	Massachusetts Maritime Academy	Salem State University	City of Somerville	Town of Plymouth	Town of Dedham		
FY 2008	Bureau of State Office Buildings	MassPort Authority	Massachusetts College of Art and Design	UMass Dartmouth	Town of Barnstable		Town Of Shirley Public Schools		
FY 2007	Massachusetts Water Resources Authority	Department of Correction	Cape Cod Community College	Bridgewater State University	City of Boston		Town of Andover		

\*Note: In 2024, the "State Agency" and "Public Higher Education" Awards were combined into a single award category.