
 
Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley’s  

Minimum Wage & Child Labor Bulletin 
2014-5 Winter Holiday Season  

  
 The Attorney General’s Office enforces the Massachusetts Minimum Wage and Child Labor 
Laws, Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 151, Section 1, and Chapter 149, Sections 56-105, 
respectively.   
 
Important Changes to the Minimum Wage Law:  
 

• Effective January 1, 2015, the MA MINIMUM WAGE WILL INCREASE TO $9.00 
per hour. See M.G.L. c. 151, Section 1 & 2. 

 
• Effective January 1, 2015, the SERVICE RATE WILL INCREASE TO $3.00 per 

hour. See M.G.L. c. 151, Section 7.  
 

• Effective January 1, 2015, the AGRICULTURAL RATE WILL INCREASE TO $8.00 
per hour. See M.G.L. c. 151, Section 2A. 

 
• Failure to comply with the Minimum Wage Law may result in civil or criminal sanctions 

under M.G.L. c. 149, Section 27C, or a private civil action brought by aggrieved employees.  
 
For information about filing a Minimum Wage complaint, visit http://www.mass.gov/ago/doing-
business-in-massachusetts/labor-laws-and-public-construction/file-a-wage-complaint.html. 
 
For further information about the Minimum Wage Law, see 
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/docs/dol/public-message-explaining-mw-increases-effective-1-1-15.pdf; 
contact the Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards, which administers the Minimum Wage 
Law, at (617) 626-6952; or visit http://www.mass.gov/lwd/labor-standards/. 
 
Important Reminders Regarding the MA Child Labor Laws for this Holiday Season: 
 
These important laws protect teen workers by: 
 

• prohibiting the employment of minors in certain hazardous occupations;   
• limiting the particular hours, as well as maximum hours, in which minors may be employed; 
• mandating certain recordkeeping requirements; and, 
• authorizing the Attorney General to conduct site visits, to impose civil penalties of $250 

per violation for a first offense, and to pursue criminal penalties of as much as $500 per 
violation for a first offense. 

 
• Children under 14 CANNOT work (with few exceptions, including as babysitters, as news 

carriers, or in entertainment with a special permit). 
 

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter151/Section1
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter151/Section2
https://malegislature.gov/laws/generallaws/parti/titlexxi/chapter151/section7
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter151/Section2A
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter149/Section27C
http://www.mass.gov/ago/doing-business-in-massachusetts/labor-laws-and-public-construction/file-a-wage-complaint.html
http://www.mass.gov/ago/doing-business-in-massachusetts/labor-laws-and-public-construction/file-a-wage-complaint.html
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/docs/dol/public-message-explaining-mw-increases-effective-1-1-15.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/labor-standards/
http://www.mass.gov/ago/doing-business-in-massachusetts/labor-laws-and-public-construction/youth-employment/hazardous-jobs.html


• Work permits are required for all minors 14 to 17 years of age, and minors’ schedules 
must be posted. For more information regarding work permits, visit the Department of 
Labor Standards website at www.mass.gov/dols. 
 

• After 8 pm, all minors must be directly supervised by an adult who is located in the 
workplace and who is reasonably accessible (except minors working in kiosks in some malls). 

 
• 14 and 15 year olds may work only: 

Between 7 am and 7 pm (both school nights and non-school nights) 
 

When school IS in session: 
3 hours per day on school days (but not during school hours); 
8 hours per day on weekends / holidays; 
18 hours per week; and, 
6 days per week. 

 
 When school IS NOT in session:      For more on the Child Labor Laws 

8 hours per day;       and young worker safety resources, 
40 hours per week; and,      go to the AGO’s teen worker website    
6 days per week year round.  at www.laborlowdown.com or the Department 

of Public Health’s website at 
          www.mass.gov/dph/teensatwork 

• 16 and 17 year olds may work only: 
Between 6 am and 10 pm on school nights (unless establishment serves customers 
until 10 pm, in which case the 16 or 17 year old may work until 10:15 pm); 
Between 6 am and 11:30 pm on non-school nights (restaurants/racetracks until 12 
am); 
9 hours per day, 48 hours per week, and 6 days per week. 
 

  
 

http://www.mass.gov/dols
http://www.laborlowdown.com/

