

# 2015 Massachusetts S Corporation Excise Return Form 355S

Massachusetts has an electronic filing requirement for this form. See TIRs 15-9, 05-22 and 09-18 for further information.

#### What kind of help is available

The instructions in the Department of Revenue's tax forms should provide answers to most taxpayer questions. If you have questions about completing your Massachusetts tax form, you can call us at (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089 Monday through Friday. DOR's website at mass.gov/dor is also a valuable resource for tax information 24 hours a day. Thousands of taxpayers use DOR's website to e-mail and receive prompt answers to their general tax inquiries. Interactive applications that allow taxpayers to check the status of their refunds and review their quarterly estimated tax payment histories are available through our website or by calling our main information lines listed above.

#### Where to get forms and publications

To obtain Massachusetts forms and publications by phone, call the Department's main information lines at (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089. Please note that many forms and publications are available 24 hours a day by calling the Department's automated forms request system at the numbers listed above.

Many Massachusetts tax forms and publications are available via the DOR website. The address for the Department's website is mass.gov/dor.

#### For general tax information. Please call (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089. These main information lines can provide assistance with the following:

abatements

bills and payments

business taxes

business registration

- corporate excise
- estate taxes
- estimated taxes
- fiduciary taxes
- nonresident information
- partnerships
- personal income taxes
- refunds
- withholding

#### For help in one of the following specific areas. Please call the number listed below.

- ▶ Certificates of Good Standing (617) 887-6550
  ▶ Installment sales (617) 887-6950
- **▶** Teletype (TTY) (617) 887-6140
- ▶ Small Business Workshop (617) 887-5660
- ▶ Vision-impaired taxpayers can contact any DOR office to receive assistance.
- ▶ Upon request, this publication is available in an alternative format. Please send your request to: Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity, PO Box 9557, Boston, MA 02114-9557.

To report allegations of suspected misconduct or impropriety involving Department of Revenue employees, please call the Inspectional Services Division's Integrity Hot Line at 1-800-568-0085 or write to PO Box 9568, Boston, MA 02114-9568.

# Major 2015 Tax Law Changes

#### Filing Amended Returns and **Applications for Abatement for Business Taxes**

The Department of Revenue is implementing a new computerized tax system that will make filing returns, submitting payments, and managing taxpayer accounts simpler, quicker, and more efficient than ever before. With this new online tax system, called MassTaxConnect, the amended return process will be automated, and in most cases will be separated from the abatement application process. For further information, see TIR 15-13.

#### **New Electronic Filing and Payment** Requirements

Effective January 1, 2016, businesses with combined annual liability for wage withholding, sales and use tax, and other transactional taxes at or exceeding \$5,000 will be required to file and pay their taxes electronically. In addition, certain businesses and organizations, including financial institutions, urban redevelopment excise filers and 501(c) corporations, reporting annual gross income of \$100,000 or more on their corporate excise returns, will also be required to file electronically. For further information, see TIR 15-9.

#### **New Automatic Extension Process** for Corporate Filers

The Department is implementing a new automated process for extensions of time to file tax returns for corporate excise taxpayers, beginning with all returns due on or after November 30, 2015, as part of the new MassTaxConnect system. Consistent with current rules, taxpavers meeting certain requirements will be given a seven-month extension in the case of corporate excise taxpayers filing combined reports and a six-month extension for other corporate excise taxpayers. Taxpayers filing unrelated business income tax returns will be given an eight-month extension. For further information, see TIR 15-15.

#### **Combined Reporting, Approval of Principal Reporting Corporation**

With some exceptions, a corporation is now deemed to be approved as the group's principal reporting corporation where a combined report is filed in good faith on behalf of a combined group by a corporation that is not specifically designated by 830 CMR 63.32B.2(11)(a) to act as a principal reporting corporation. For instance, the parent corporation of a federal consolidated group may have acted as the principal reporting corporation and filed the Massachusetts combined report and

associated corporate excise returns on behalf of members of the combined group even though the parent is not taxable in Massachusetts. Under Directive 15-2, such an instance would be generally deemed approved.

#### Changes to the Research and **Development Credit**

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, a business corporation may elect to calculate its research credit using one of two methods. The first method is a revision to the existing research credit, and includes a revision to two definitions of terms used to calculate the credit. The second method provides for an alternative simplified research credit, which generally conforms to the methodology of the federal alternative simplified credit provided by I.R.C. § 41(c)(5), as amended and in effect for January 1, 2014. This "Massachusetts alternative simplified credit" will be phased in over a seven year period. For further information see TIRs 14-13 and 14-16, and 830 CMR 63.38M.1.

#### **Extension of the Massachusetts Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit**

The Massachusetts Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit, including the \$50 million annual limit, has been extended for an additional five years to December 31, 2022. For further information, see 830 CMR 63.38R.1 and TIR 14-11.

# Which S **Corporations Must** File Electronically?

S corporations that have total revenues of \$100.000 or more must file electronically. In addition, an S corporation must file electronically unless all of its shareholders are resident individuals. An S corporation must also file electronically if it is withholding on a shareholder's distributive share or if it received distributive share upon which a lower-tier entity has paid withholding or estimated taxes. For more information about the E-File mandates, see TIRs 04-30, 05-22 and 09-18.

# How Is S Corporation **Income Taxed?**

Entities that are S corporations for federal purposes are S corporations for Massachusetts purposes. except that Massachusetts security corporations and public utility corporations cannot be S corporations. Items of S corporation income, loss, and deduction are passed through the S corporation to the shareholders, and reported and taxed on their return. S corporations are liable for the nonincome measure of the corporate excise, and for the income measure of the corporate excise on any income that is taxable to the S corporation federally. S corporations owe at least the minimum tax.

S corporations with total receipts of \$6 million or more are liable for the income measure of the corporate excise at the following rates:

- ▶ 1.9% on net income subject to tax if total receipts are \$6 million or more, but less than \$9 mil-
- ▶ 2.85% on net income subject to tax if total receipts are \$9 million or more.

To determine if an S corporation is liable for the income measure of the corporate excise, complete Massachusetts Schedule S, lines 1 through 17. If line 17 of Schedule S is at least \$6 million, an income measure of corporation excise will be due. If line 17 of Schedule S is less than \$6 million, Schedule E is not required. If an S corporation and any other entity share common ownership and are engaged in a unitary business, then the total receipts less inter-company transactions of all such entities must be combined according to the rules of Regulation 830 CMR 62.17A.1(11)(e) and (f), to determine the dollar amount of such S corporation's total receipts. "Total receipts" means gross receipts or sales, less returns and allowances, and includes dividends, interest, royalties, capital gain net income, rental income and all other income.

If an S corporation that is liable for the income measure is not part of a combined group (see below), it must complete Massachusetts Schedule E with Form 355S and must complete a pro-forma U.S. 1120 which must be available upon request.

# Requirement to File a Combined Report

An S corporation that is doing business in the state is subject to combined reporting within the meaning of Ch. 63, sec.32B, when it is engaged in a unitary business with one or more other corporations. including one or more S corporations. In such cases, if the S corporation is liable for an income measure of excise, it is required to be included in a combined report, and is to compute its net income subject to tax and its income measure along with the other members of the group on Form 355U. Further, even where an S corporation is not itself liable for an income measure of excise, it is required to include its income in a combined report if any member of the combined group is a C corporation that is subject to Massachusetts tax.

Where one or more S corporations that are taxable in Massachusetts are members of a combined group that is composed entirely of S corporations and the S corporations are not liable for the income measure of excise, the S corporations are not required to file Form 355U. Further, where one or more S corporations that are taxable in Massachusetts are members of a combined group that is composed entirely of one or more S corporations and one or more C corporations and the S corporations are not liable for the income measure of the excise and each of the C corporations is not taxable in Massachusetts, the S corporations are not required to file Form 355U. (Note that in the latter cases, Form 355U would be required irrespective as to whether the S corporations were liable for the income measure of the excise if one or more of the C corporations were subject to Massachusetts tax). In any case where one or more S corporations that are members of a combined group are not required to file Form 355U, such members are also not required to complete Form 355S, Schedule E.

The non-income measure of excise for S corporations that are members of a combined group is still determined on a separate company basis but for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011 this is calculated on schedules attached to the Form 355U unless the S corporation's separate (U.S.) taxable year ends at a different time than the taxable year of the combined report. An S corporation that pays both the income and non-income measure of excise with Form 355U submits Form 355S as an informational return, attaching Schedules S and SK-1, although no additional tax is due with that filing. See the instructions for Registration Information, line 4, for additional information.

# Who Must File and Pay Corporate Excise?

The purpose of the corporate excise is to require payment for the right granted by the laws of the Commonwealth to exist as a corporation and for the enjoyment under the protection of the Commonwealth's laws of the powers, rights, privileges and immunities derived by reason of the corporate form of existence and operation. The corporate excise is due and payable when any of the following conditions are met:

▶ the corporation actually does business within the Commonwealth;

- the corporation exercises its charter within the Commonwealth;
- ▶ the corporation owns or uses any part of its capital, plant or other property in the Commonwealth; or
- ▶ the corporation owns and/or rents real or tangible personal property as a lessor in Massachusetts even without having a usual place of business here.

Massachusetts S corporations other than Financial Institution S corporations must file Form 355S with Schedule S and one Schedule SK-1 for each resident and nonresident shareholder. Schedule S must be completed to report the S corporation's distributive income. The S corporation must also provide a Schedule SK-1 to each shareholder to inform the shareholder of the distributive share of items of income, loss, deduction and credit for reporting on the shareholder's Massachusetts return.

If an S corporation is a Financial Institution, it must file Form 63FI, Financial Institution Excise Return. It must enclose with Form 63FI Schedule S and Schedule SK-1 for each shareholder.

All Massachusetts S corporations which are not financial institutions are liable for the property measure of the corporate excise or the minimum tax and must complete the relevant sections of Form 355S. It must also complete Schedule E of Form 355S for any income taxed at the corporate level for U.S. income tax purposes, or if total receipts are \$6 million or more.

**Note:** Under Massachusetts law, all corporations registered in the Commonwealth are required to file an Annual Report form with the Secretary of State within a limited time after the close of their fiscal year. Annual Report forms and instructions can be obtained by calling (617) 727-9440. For further information on this requirement, call the Secretary of State's Corporate Information Line at (617) 727-9640.

Each shareholder should use the information provided on Schedule SK-1 to complete the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return.

Each shareholder is taxed on the shareholder's share of the S corporation's income whether distributed or not. Each shareholder must report the shareholder's distributive share of S corporation income during the taxable year on the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return. A full-year resident individual must file Form 1. Part-year resident individuals and nonresident individuals must file Form 1-NR/PY. A trust or estate must file Form 2.

# What Is Nexus for Massachusetts Corporate Excise Purposes?

A corporation that owns or uses any part of its capital or other property, exercises or continues its charter or is qualified to, or is actually doing business in Massachusetts has nexus with the Commonwealth and must pay a corporate excise. The term "doing business" as defined in M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 39 includes:

- the maintenance of a place of business;
- ▶ the employment of labor;
- the buying, selling or procuring of services or property;
- the execution of contracts;
- the exercise or enforcement of contract rights; and
- ▶ each and every act, power, right, privilege, or immunity exercised or enjoyed in the Commonwealth, as an incident to or by virtue of the powers and privileges acquired by the nature of such organizations, as well as, the buying, selling or procuring of services or property.

Public Law (PL) 86-272 excludes from state net income-based taxation those interstate activities constituting mere solicitation of orders for sales of tangible personal property filled by shipment or delivery from a point outside Massachusetts after orders are sent outside the state for approval or rejection. A corporation that has nexus with the Commonwealth and is excluded from incomebased taxation by PL 86-272 remains liable for the non-income measure of excise.

The following are activities that ordinarily fall within the scope of "solicitation" under PL 86-272:

- activities including advertising related to generating retail demand for the products of a manufacturer or distributor by promoting the products to retailers who order the products from a wholesaler or other middleman;
- carrying samples only for display or for distribution without charge or other consideration;
- owning or furnishing automobiles to sales representatives, provided that the vehicles are used exclusively for solicitation purposes;
- passing inquiries and complaints on to the home office:
- incidental and minor advertising;
- checking customers' inventories for reorder only;

- maintaining a sample or display area for an aggregate of fourteen calendar days or less during the tax year, provided that no sales or other activities inconsistent with solicitation take place;
- soliciting of sales by an in-state resident representative who maintains no in-state sales office or place of business; and
- ▶ training or holding periodic meetings of sales representatives.

For further information on corporate nexus, refer to Regulation 830 CMR 63.39.1.

# Massachusetts and Internal Revenue Code Differences

For Massachusetts tax purposes, an S corporation is allowed only those expense deductions that an individually owned business is allowed. Deductions that are itemized by an individual on Schedule A of U.S. Form 1040 are not allowed. Neither the deduction for a net operating loss carryover or carryback is allowed to S corporations or to an individual under Massachusetts income tax law. However, S corporations with total receipts of \$6 million or more are allowed a Massachusetts net operating loss for purposes of calculating their additional excise liability. If an S corporation is subject to the net income measure because its receipts are over 6 million dollars, then it must calculate its net income as if it were a C corporation.

Schedules S and SK-1 isolate income and deduction items in order to produce the correct Massachusetts S corporation total as well as each shareholder's correct Massachusetts distributive share. These amounts often differ from those reported on U.S. Form 1120S and Schedule K-1.

# How Does Massachusetts Treat Qualified S Corporation Subsidiaries (QSUB)?

All federal S corporations are now subject to the entity level tax that applies to S corporations in Massachusetts under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 32D, notwithstanding the entity's legal form of organization. A QSUB does not file a separate return; rather the

parent S corporation shall include the income and take into account the activities of all qualified sub-chapter S subsidiaries for purposes of determining its excise.

Prior to 2009, a QSUB was subject to an entity-level tax separate from its parent. However, a QSUB's income, assets, and other attributes are now taken into account by the QSUB's S corporation parent, together with the parent's income, assets, and other attributes, in determining the parent S corporation's Massachusetts tax liability. Transition rules apply to carryovers a QSUB may have generated in tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2009 when it was required to file as a separate corporation under Massachusetts law. See Regulation 830 CMR 63.30.3.

## S Corporation Additional Excise

Gross income for corporate excise purposes is the same as that defined under the U.S. IRC, as amended and in effect for the taxable year, with the following additions:

interest from the bonds, notes and evidences of indebtedness of any state, including Massachusetts.

Net income is gross income less the deductions, but not the credits, allowable under the U.S. IRC. The following deductions are not allowed:

- ▶ dividends received (see Schedule E-1 instructions); and
- ▶ taxes for or measured by income, franchise taxes measured by income, franchise taxes for the privilege of doing business and capital stock taxes imposed by any state or U.S. territory.

The deduction for losses sustained in other taxable years is allowed, but subject to restrictions. See Schedule NOL for further information.

S corporations with total receipts of \$6 million or more are liable for the income measure of the corporate excise at the following rates:

- ▶ 1.9% (.019) on net income subject to tax, if total receipts are \$6 million or more, but less than \$9 million; or
- ▶ 2.85% (.0285) on net income subject to tax, if total receipts are \$9 million or more.

To determine if an S corporation is liable for the income measure of the corporate excise, complete Massachusetts Schedule S. If line 17 of Schedule S is at least \$6 million, complete Massachusetts Schedule E.

# Are There Special Tax Credits Available In Massachusetts?

Yes. Massachusetts offers several special credits and deductions to corporations.

Under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 32C, a corporation's credits may not offset more than 50% of its excise. Any credits not utilized as a result of this provision may be carried over for an unlimited number of years. This provision does not apply to the Research Credit, the Harbor Maintenance Tax Credit, Low-Income Housing Credit, Historic Rehabilitation Credit, the Full Employment Credit, the Film Incentive Credit or the Medical Device Credit.

#### **Investment Tax Credit**

Manufacturing corporations and corporations engaged primarily in research and development, agriculture or commercial fishing are allowed a credit of 3% of the cost of depreciable real and tangible property. Such property must have a useful life of four years or more. The property must be used and located in Massachusetts on the last day of the taxable year. A corporation cannot take the credit on property which it leases to another. A corporation can take the credit on property which it leases from another (for property leased and placed in service on or after July 1, 1994). Generally, eligible corporate lessees making qualifying leasehold improvements may claim the credit.

**Note:** Motor vehicles and trailers acquired on or after January 1, 1988 and subject to the motor vehicle excise do not qualify for the Investment Tax Credit.

A corporation may carry over to the next succeeding three years any unused portion of its Investment Tax Credit (ITC). To claim the ITC, Schedule H must be completed where the credit is calculated. The amount of the credit is then entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Vanpool Credit

Business corporations are allowed a credit of 30% of the cost incurred during the taxable year for the purchase or lease of company shuttle vans used in the Commonwealth as part of an employer-sponsored ridesharing program. The shuttle vans must be used for transporting employees and students from their homes, or public transportation facilities, to their places of employment or study.

To claim the Vanpool Credit, Schedule VP must be completed. The amount of the credit is then entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Economic Opportunity Area Credit**

A credit of 5% of the cost of qualifying property purchased for business use within an Economic Opportunity Area (EOA) is available to businesses. To qualify for the EOA credit, the property must be used exclusively in a certified project in an EOA and must meet the same tests (4 years useful life, etc.) imposed for the 3% ITC. A certified project is a project that has been approved by the Economic Assistance Coordinating Council (EACC). If a corporation participates in a qualified project and is also eligible for the 3% ITC (see above), the corporation may claim either the ITC or the EOAC, but not both with respect to each item of qualifying property.

The 5% EOA credit cannot offset more than 50% of the excise due nor reduce the excise below the minimum tax. Any unused credit may be carried forward for ten years.

To claim the credit, Schedule EOAC must be completed and the amount of the credit entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Research Credit**

A credit is allowed for corporations which made basic research payments and/or incurred qualified research expenses conducted in Massachusetts during the taxable year. A corporation taking the research credit is limited in the amount that can be taken against the excise in any year. The credit cannot reduce the tax to less than \$456.

The amount of credit is equal to:

- ▶ 100% of the first \$25,000 of excise; and
- ▶ 75% of any amount of excise remaining after the first \$25,000.

The deduction allowed to a corporation for any research expenses generating a Massachusetts Research Credit must be reduced by the amount of the credit generated. This amount is added back to income on Schedule E, line 13.

Corporations which are members of a controlled group or which are under common control with any trade or business (whether or not incorporated) are treated as a single taxpayer for purposes of determining the allowable Research Credit.

See Schedule RC instructions for further information. To claim the Research Credit, Schedule RC must be completed and the amount of the credit entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Harbor Maintenance Tax Credit

Corporations are allowed a credit against the corporate excise for certain harbor maintenance taxes paid to the U.S. Customs Service pursuant to IRC sec. 4461. A corporation is eligible for the credit if the tax paid is attributable to the shipment of break-bulk or containerized cargo by sea-

and ocean-going vessels through a Massachusetts harbor facility.

The credit is not subject to the 50% limitation; however, it may not reduce the tax to less than the minimum excise of \$456. A taxpayer may carryover any excess credit to any of the next succeeding five taxable years.

See Schedule HM instructions for further information. To claim the Harbor Maintenance Tax Credit, Schedule HM must be completed and the amount of the credit entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Brownfields Tax Credit**

Taxpayers are allowed a credit for amounts expended to rehabilitate contaminated property owned or leased for business purposes and located within an economically distressed area.

Recent legislation extends the Brownfields credit to nonprofit organizations, extends the time frame for eligibility for the credit, and permits the credit to be transferred, sold, or assigned. Under prior law, net response and removal costs incurred by a tax-payer between August 1, 1998 and August 5, 2005, were eligible for the credit provided that the environmental response action before August 5, 2005. As a result of the recent legislation, the environmental response action commencement cut-off date is changed from August 5, 2013 to August 5, 2018, and the time for incurring eligible costs that qualify for the credit is extended to January 1, 2019. See TIR 13-15 for more information.

The Brownfields Credit may be transferred, sold or assigned to another taxpayer with a liability under chapter 62 or chapter 63, or to a nonprofit organization.

The Department will issue a certificate to the party receiving the Brownfields Credit reflecting the amount of the Brownfields Credit received. The party receiving the Brownfields Credit must enclose the certificate with each tax return in which the credits are being applied. Certificate application forms and additional information are available at mass.gov/dor.

The Brownfields Credit cannot offset more than 50% of the excise due nor reduce the excise below the minimum tax. Any unused credit may be carried forward for five years.

If you qualify for this credit, you must have completed Schedule BCA, Brownfields Credit Application, and received certificate number from DOR. Be sure to enter the DOR issued certificate number in the space provided on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Low-Income Housing Credit**

This credit is administered through the Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community De-

velopment (DHCD). The Low-Income Housing Credit is available to taxpayers that claim a U.S. credit for the construction or development of low-income housing. The state credit is taken over five years. The amount of credit a taxpayer may claim for a qualified Massachusetts project is allocated by the DHCD and is based on a total pool of money awarded to the Commonwealth. In order to claim the credit, a copy of the eligibility statement issued by DHCD must be available upon request.

The LIHC is not subject to the 50% limitation rule for corporate taxpayers. If the taxpayer disposes of the property generating the LIHC, a portion of the credit may be subject to recapture.

For further information regarding this credit, contact the Department of Housing and Community Development, Division of Private Housing, at (617) 727-7824.

To claim the Low-Income Housing Credit, supporting documentation must be enclosed with the return and the amount of the credit entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Historic Rehabilitation Credit**

Effective for years beginning on or after January 1, 2005 and ending on or before December 31, 2022, taxpayers may be eligible for the Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HRC). To claim this credit, a historic rehabilitation project must be complete and have been certified by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Unused portions of the credit may be carried forward for a maximum of five years. This credit may be transferred or sold to another taxpayer.

The HRC is not subject to the 50% limitation rule for corporate taxpayers. If the taxpayer disposes of the property generating the HRC, a portion of the credit may be subject to recapture.

For further information, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38R.1, Massachusetts Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit.

To claim the Historic Rehabilitation Credit, supporting documentation must be enclosed with the return and the amount of the credit entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Film Incentive Credit

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2023, Massachusetts allows two credits for motion picture production companies who meet certain qualification requirements. Production companies who incur at least \$50,000 of production costs in Massachusetts are eligible for income and corporate excise tax credits equal to 25% of the total Massachusetts payroll for the production, excluding salaries of \$1 million and higher. In addition, production companies whose Massachusetts production expenses ex-

ceed 50% of the total production cost receive an income and corporate excise tax credit of 25% of the total Massachusetts production expense. Supporting documentation must be available to the Department of Revenue upon request.

For further information on the Film Incentive Credit, see TIR 07-15. To claim the Film Incentive Credit, enter the Certificate Number issued by the Department of Revenue and the amount of the credit on the Credit Manager Schedule. Certificate application forms and additional information are available at mass.gov/dor.

#### **Medical Device Credit**

The Medical Device Credit is equal to 100% of the user fees actually paid to the United States Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) by a medical device company during the taxable year for which the tax is due for pre-market submissions (e.g., applications, supplements, or 510(k) submissions) to market new technologies or upgrades, changes, or enhancements to existing technologies, developed or manufactured in Massachusetts.

For further information on the Medical Device Credit, see TIR 06-22. To claim the Medical Device Credit, enter the Certificate Number issued by the Department of Revenue and the amount of the credit on the Credit Manager Schedule. Certificate application forms and additional information are available at mass.gov/dor.

#### Life Science Company Investment Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a new Investment Tax Credit (ITC) may be available corporate excise taxpayers.

This credit, which is available to certified life sciences companies only to the extent authorized pursuant to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, is equal to 10% of the cost of qualifying property acquired, constructed or erected during the taxable year and used exclusively in the Commonwealth.

The refundable ITC can apply to purchases made on or after January 1, 2009 even if a construction project started before that date. The scope of qualifying property for purposes of the new credit is the same as that provided by the existing ITC under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 31A.

Life sciences companies or persons also qualifying for the Economic Opportunity Area Credit (EOAC) for the same property may only take such EOAC to the extent of an additional 2% of the cost of the qualifying property. Corporations taking these credits are not allowed to take the ITC under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 31A or the Low-Income Housing Credit under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 31H for the same qualifying property.

If a life sciences ITC exceeds the tax otherwise due under the corporate excise, as applicable, 90 percent of the balance of such credit may, at the option of the taxpayer and to the extent authorized pursuant to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, be refundable to the taxpayer for the tax year in which the qualified property giving rise to such credit is placed in service. If such refund is elected by the taxpayer, then the carryover provisions for this credit that would otherwise apply shall not be available.

For further information, see TIR 08-23. The amount of this credit must be entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

# Life Science Company FDA User Fees Credit

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a new credit may be available to corporate excise tax payers for user fees paid on or after June 16, 2008 to the U. S. Food and Drug Administration (U.S.F.D.A.) upon submission of an application to manufacture a human drug in the Commonwealth.

This credit, which is available to certified life sciences companies only to the extent authorized pursuant to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, is equal to 100% of the user fees actually paid by the taxpayer, as specified in the certification, and may be claimed in the taxable year in which the application for licensure of an establishment to manufacture the drug is approved by the U.S.F.D.A. To be eligible for the credit, more than 50% of the research and development costs for the drug must have been incurred in Massachusetts.

Taxpayers may use the FDA user fees credit to reduce their tax to zero. To the extent authorized pursuant to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, 90% of the balance of credit remaining is refundable. The deduction otherwise allowable for user fees qualifying for the credit is disallowed.

For further information, see TIR 08-23. The amount of this credit must be entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Life Sciences Company Research Credit

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a new credit may be available for certified life sciences companies pursuant to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, to provide qualifying companies with a means to obtain a research credit for certain expenditures not qualifying for the existing research credit under c. 63, § 38M. St. 2008, c. 130, §§ 30 and 53, codified at G.L. c. 63, § 38W. Under this new provision, the credit is generally calculated in the same manner as the research credit under section 38M. However, the

qualified research expenditures which form the basis for the calculation in new section 38W differ from those of section 38M in that they can qualify when the activities are performed both inside and outside of the Commonwealth, to the extent they relate to legally mandated clinical trial activities.

The credit can reduce the corporate excise to the minimum excise of \$456 and may be carried forward for 15 years. Unlike the regular research credit, as amended by the new subsection (j) of section 38M, described above, the new life sciences research credit under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38W is not refundable.

For further information, see TIR 08-23. The amount of this credit must be entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Conservation Land Tax Credit**

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, a credit is allowed for qualified donations of certified land to a public or private conservation agency. The credit is equal to 50% of the fair market value of the qualified donation. The amount of the credit that may be claimed by a taxpayer for each qualified donation cannot exceed \$75,000. The credit is refundable but not transferable. The certification process is conducted by the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA). EEA has promulgated a regulation. 301 CMR 14.00, entitled Conservation Land Tax Credit, which sets forth criteria for authorizing and certifying the credit. See also, 830 CMR 62.6.4, entitled Conservation Land Tax Credit, promulgated by DOR to explain the calculation of the allowable credit.

The amount of this credit must be entered on the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Employer Wellness Program Tax Credit

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, a Massachusetts business that employs 200 or fewer workers may qualify for a tax credit for up to 25% of the cost of implementing a "certified wellness program" for its employees. A taxpayer seeking to claim the credit must apply to the Department of Public Health (DPH) for certification of its wellness program. DPH will approve a dollar amount of credit for a qualifying taxpayer and issue a certificate number to be provided in connection with filing a tax return in order to claim the credit. The amount of the credit that may be claimed by a taxpayer cannot exceed \$10,000 in any tax year. DPH has promulgated a regulation, 105 CMR 216.000, entitled Massachusetts Wellness Tax Credit Incentive, which sets forth criteria for authorizing and certifying the credit. The credit is set to expire on December 31, 2017. Note: You must enter the certificate number on the Credit

Manager Schedule. Failure to do so will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment on your reported tax. Enter the number from left to right.

#### Refundable Film Credit

Schedule RFC, Refundable Film Credit, is used by motion picture production companies to elect to claim a refundable film credit if they have not transferred or carried forward a portion of the film credit for the production. Transferees of the film credit do not qualify for the refundable film credit.

If an election to refund the film credit for a production is made, the entire film credit remaining after reducing the current year tax liability will be refunded at 90%. The production company is not allowed to partially refund and partially transfer or carryover over any portion of the credit to the next tax year.

The amount of refundable credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Refundable Dairy Credit**

A taxpayer who holds a certificate of registration as a dairy farmer pursuant to M.G.L. Ch. 94, sec. 16A is allowed a refundable tax credit based on the amount of milk produced and sold. The dairy farmer tax credit as originally enacted was 90% refundable. Under recent legislation, the dairy farmer tax credit is now 100% refundable.

The amount of refundable credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Refundable Life Science Credit

There are different credits which the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center, with the approval of the Secretary of Administration and Finance, may authorize a taxpayer to have refunded in lieu of carrying forward such credit to a future year.

A taxpayer may apply for a refund of 90% of the unused Investment Tax Credit granted under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38U or the additional credit on the same property that may be granted under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38N if property for which the 38U credit is granted is used in a certified project.

A taxpayer may apply for a refund of 90% of the unused FDA User Fee Credit granted under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38M, including credits carried over from prior years. Schedule RLC, Refundable Life Science Credit, is used by taxpayers to claim the refund.

The amount of refundable credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### Refundable Life Science Jobs Credit

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, a new tax incentive has been added to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program in the

form of a refundable jobs credit. A taxpayer, to the extent authorized by the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, may be allowed a refundable jobs credit against the tax liability imposed under G.L. c. 62, the personal income tax, or G.L. c. 63, the corporate excise. A taxpayer claiming a life sciences refundable jobs credit must commit to the creation of a minimum of 50 net new permanent full-time positions in Massachusetts.

The amount of life sciences jobs credit allowed to a taxpayer will be determined by the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center in consultation with the Department of Revenue.

If a life sciences jobs credit claimed by a taxpayer exceeds the tax otherwise due under the personal income tax or the corporate excise, as applicable, 90 percent of the balance of such credit may, to the extent authorized by the life sciences tax incentive program, be refundable to the taxpayer. Excess credit amounts shall not be carried forward to subsequent taxable years.

The refundable jobs credit is subject to all the requirements of G.L. c. 23I, including the requirements set out in TIR 08-23. The total dollar amount of the various life sciences tax incentives, including the refundable jobs credits, for qualifying life sciences companies is subject to an annual cap of \$25 million.

The amount of refundable credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

# Refundable Economic Development Incentive Credit

Under the provisions of the Economic Development Incentive Program (EDIP) established pursuant to M.G.L. Ch. 23A, the Economic Assistance Coordination Council (EACC) may authorize tax-payers participating in certified projects to claim tax credits under M.G.L. Ch. 62 sec. 6(g) and M.G.L. Ch. 63 sec. 38N. Taxpayers authorized by the EACC to claim tax credits for projects certified on or after January 1, 2010 must use Form EDIP, Refundable Economic Development Incentive Program Credit, to claim such credits. Taxpayers seeking to claim credits for projects certified prior to January 1, 2010 must use Schedule EOAC. See TIR 10-01 for further information.

The amount of refundable credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

#### **Community Investment Tax Credit**

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, a credit is allowed for qualified investments (certain cash contributions made to a community development corporation, community support organization, or a community partnership fund) made on or after January 1, 2014. The credit is equal to 50% of the total qualified investment

made by the taxpayer for the taxable year. No credit is allowed to a taxpayer that makes a qualified investment of less than \$1,000. In any one taxable year, the total amount of the credit that may be claimed by a taxpayer that makes qualified investments cannot exceed \$1,000,000. The credit is refundable, or, alternatively, may be carried forward 5 years. The credit is set to expire December 31, 2019. For further guidance see the Department's regulation 830 CMR 62.6M.1, Community Investment Tax Credit and the regulation issued by the Department of Housing and Community Development,760 CMR 68.00, Community Investment Grant and Tax Credit Program.

The amount of this credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

# Certified Housing Development Credit

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, taxpayers may receive a tax credit of up to ten percent of the costs of qualified substantial rehabilitation expenditures, as defined in G.L. c. 40V sec. 1, of the market rate units within certified housing development projects. The credit is administered by the Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development. See TIR 10-14 for further information.

The amount of this credit must be entered on the the Credit Manager Schedule.

# What If a Corporation's Taxable Year Is Less Than 12 Months?

Corporations whose taxable year is less than twelve calendar months may determine their excise by prorating calendar months for the non-income measure of the excise only. Schedules should be available to explain any prorating computations.

The gross receipts of a corporation must be annualized for a short period return for purposes of determining whether the corporation's gross receipts are \$6 million or more. If not, there is no tax on income on the corporate level.

To compute total receipts for a taxable year consisting of less than 12 months, an S corporation must annualize its total receipts for the taxable year by multiplying the total taxable receipts for the short taxable year by 12 and then dividing the resulting amount by the number of months in the short taxable year. The resulting difference is entered on Schedule S, line 11.

For further information, see Regulation 830 CMR 62.17A.2(8)(b)4.a.

A corporation may never pay less than the \$456 minimum excise on a return, and this amount can never be prorated as Massachusetts law makes no provision for the proration of the minimum excise.

## When Are **Returns Due?**

Corporate excise returns, together with payment in full of any tax due, must be filed on or before the 15th day of the third month after the close of the taxable year, calendar or fiscal.

The Department is implementing a new automated process for extensions of time to file tax returns for corporate excise taxpayers, beginning with all returns due on or after November 30, 2015, as part of the new MassTaxConnect system. Consistent with current rules, taxpayers meeting certain requirements will be given a seven-month extension in the case of corporate excise taxpayers filing combined reports and a six-month extension for other corporate excise taxpayers. Taxpayers filing unrelated business income tax returns will be given an eight-month extension. For further information, see TIR 15-15.

Note: An extension of time to file is not valid if the corporation fails to pay at least 50% of the total tax liability or the minimum tax of \$456, whichever is greater, through estimated payments or with Form 355-7004.

Any tax not paid on or before the due date - without regard to the extension — shall be subject to an interest charge.

# What if the Taxpayer Is a Fiscal or Short Year Filer?

File the 2015 return for calendar year 2015 and fiscal years that began in 2015 and ended in 2016. For a fiscal year return, fill in the tax year space at the top of page 1. Short year filers should file using the tax form for the calendar year within which the short year falls. If the short year spans more than one calendar year, the filer should file use the tax form for the calendar year in which the short year began. If the current form is not available at the time the short year filer must file, the filer should follow the rules explained in TIR 11-12.

## What is a Proper Return?

A proper return is a return upon which all required amounts have been entered in all appropriate lines on all forms. Data sheets, account forms or other schedules must be available to explain amounts entered on the forms. Referencing lines to enclosures in lieu of entering amounts onto the return is not sufficient.

An exact copy of U.S. Form 1120S, including all applicable schedules and forms and any other documentation required to substantiate entries made on this return, must be made available to the Department of Revenue upon request.

# Should the Corporation Be Making **Estimated** Tax Payments?

All corporations which reasonably estimate their corporate excise to be in excess of \$1,000 for the taxable year are required to make estimated tax payments to the Commonwealth. Estimated taxes may be paid in full on or before the 15th day of the third month of the corporation's taxable year or in four installment payments according to the schedule below.

- ▶ 40% of the estimated tax due for the year is due on the 15th day of the 3rd month of the taxable year;
- ▶ 25% of the estimated tax due for the year is due on the 15th day of the 6th month of the taxable year:
- ▶ 25% of the estimated tax due for the year is due on the 15th day of the 9th month of the taxable year;
- ▶ 10% of the estimated tax due for the year is due on the 15th day of the 12th month of the tax-

Corporations with \$100,000 or more in receipts or sales must submit their estimated payments electronically. See TIR 04-30 for further information.

Note: New corporations in their first full taxable year with less than 10 employees have different estimated payment percentages — 30%, 25%, 25% and 20% respectively.

To avoid a possible underpayment penalty on its taxes, a corporation should, when making its first payment, estimate its tax to be at least equal to the prior year's tax. If the prior year's tax was the minimum tax, the corporation should make a payment or payments equal to the minimum tax to safeguard against a possible underpayment penalty.

Note: Any corporation having \$1 million or more of federal taxable income in any of its three preceding taxable years (as defined in IRC sec. 6655(g)) may only use its prior year tax liability to calculate its first quarterly estimated tax payment. Any reduction in the first installment payment that results from using this method must be added to its second installment payment.

For more information on corporate estimated taxes. refer to Regulation 830 CMR 63B.2.2, and M.G.L.

## Registration Information

A tiered structure is a pass-through entity that has a pass-through entity as a member. The term "pass-through entity" refers to an entity whose income, loss, deductions and credits flow through to members for Massachusetts tax purposes, and includes partnerships and S corporations. The term "member" includes a partner in a partnership and a member of a limited liability company treated as a partnership in Massachusetts, as well as a shareholder in an S corporation. As between two entities, the pass-through entity that is a member is the upper-tier entity, and the entity of which it is a member is the lower-tier entity. If the S corporation is a member of another pass-through entity, it should answer "Yes" to this question.

#### Amended Return

If you need to change a line item on your return, complete a new return with the corrected information and fill in the "Amended Return" oval. Generally, an amended return must be filed within three years of the date that your original return was filed. By filling in the amended return oval, you are giving your consent for the Commissioner of Revenue to act upon your amended return after six months from the date of filing. If you choose not to consent, you must do so in writing and attach it to this amended return. If you do not consent, any requested reduction in tax will be deemed denied at the expiration of six months from the date of filing.

If this is an amended Massachusetts return and it does not report changes that result from the filing of a federal amended return or from a federal audit (for example, if the amended Massachusetts return is reporting only a change in the apportionment calculation or an additional tax credit), check only the "amended return" box. If this is an amended

return that includes changes you have reported on an amended federal return filed with the IRS for the same tax year, check both the "amended return" box and the "federal amendment" box. If the amended Massachusetts return incorporates changes that are the result of an IRS audit, check both the "amended return" box and the "federal audit" box; attach a complete copy of the federal audit report and supporting schedules.

If you are disputing an assessment resulting from an audit, or are requesting an abatement of penalties, do not file an amended return. Rather, you must file a Form ABT, Application for Abatement. Visit mass.gov/dor/amend for additional information about filing an amended return, or filing an application for abatement.

#### **Final Massachusetts Return**

Any corporation undergoing a voluntary dissolution should notify the DOR within 30 days of the vote to dissolve by writing to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, Customer Service Bureau, PO Box 7010, Boston, MA 02204.

#### **Taxpayer Disclosure Statement**

If the corporation must explain any inconsistent filing positions made on the return, answer yes and enclose Schedule TDS. See TIR 06-5 for further information.

#### Line 3

A corporation is a section 38 manufacturer for any taxable year if it is engaged in manufacturing during the taxable year and its manufacturing activity during the taxable year is substantial. This applies whether the corporation is a domestic manufacturing corporation under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38C or a foreign manufacturing corporation under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 42B, and regardless of whether the corporation is classified as a manufacturing corporation under M.G.L. Ch. 58, sec. 2 and Regulation 830 CMR 63.58.2.1.

The apportionment factor for corporations engaged in substantial manufacturing (section 38 manufacturers) is 100% of sales.

A corporation's manufacturing activity is substantial for any taxable year if the corporation meets any of the following tests:

- ▶ The corporation derives 25% or more of its receipts for the taxable year from the sale of manufactured goods that the corporation manufactures: or
- ▶ The corporation pays 25% or more of its payroll for the taxable year to employees working in manufacturing operations and derives 15% or more of its receipts for the taxable year from the sale of manufactured goods that the corporation manufactures; or

- ▶ The corporation uses 25% or more of its tangible property in manufacturing during the taxable year and derives 15% or more of its receipts for the taxable year from the sale of manufactured goods that the corporation manufactures; or
- ▶ The corporation uses 35% or more of its tangible property in manufacturing during the taxable year.

Effective January 1, 1997, mutual fund service corporations are required to attribute their mutual fund sales to Massachusetts based on the domicile of the shareholders in the fund. Effective July 1, 1997 mutual fund service corporations are allowed to apportion their net income from mutual fund sales based solely on their sales factor. However, in order to use the single sales factor apportionment method a mutual fund service corporation must increase its workforce in Massachusetts by 5% a year for five years based on the 1996 employment level unless adverse economic conditions exist. Taxable net income not derived from mutual fund sales is apportioned according to the statutory three factor method.

A corporation is a mutual fund service corporation if it derives more than 50% of its gross income from providing, directly or indirectly, management, distribution or administration services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company, and from trustees, sponsors and participants of employee benefit plans which have accounts in a regulated investment company.

The Department has issued further guidance on apportionment for mutual fund service corporations; see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.7.

If a corporation is qualified as a section 38 manufacturer or is a mutual fund service corporation, check the applicable box and complete Schedule F, Income Apportionment, accordingly.

The Department has issued further guidance on apportionment; see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1.

#### Line 4

An R&D corporation is a business corporation whose principal business activity in Massachusetts is research and development and which (a) derives more than two thirds of its gross receipts attributable to Massachusetts from that activity or (b) incurs more than two thirds of its expenditures in that activity. Research and Development corporations may be eligible for certain tax benefits. See 830 CMR 64H.6.4.

A classified manufacturing corporation is a business corporation engaged in manufacturing in Massachusetts, whose manufacturing activities in Massachusetts are substantial and which has filed Form 355Q and had its manufacturing status approved by the Commissioner. A corporation may be a section 38 manufacturer based on its

worldwide manufacturing activities but not be a classified manufacturer if those manufacturing activities occur outside of Massachusetts. Classified manufacturing corporations may be eligible for certain tax benefits. See 830 CMR 63.58.2.1.

If you are a classified manufacturer, you must have filed Form 355Q and had your manufacturing status approved by the Commissioner.

#### Line 5

If line 5 is "Yes" you are still required to file Form 355S and to submit Schedules S and SK-1. If this corporation has a taxable year that ends at a different time than the taxable year for which the combined report is being filed, you are also required to pay the non-income measure of excise with this return (instead of with Form 355U).

When two or more corporations are required to file a combined report, the taxable members' apportioned shares of the combined income are based the combined group's taxable year. If not all the members have the same taxable year, the combined group's taxable year is determined under 830 CMR 63.32B.2 (11) (b).

Form 355U is used by the combined group to calculate and pay the income excise due from the taxable members of a combined group. Form 355U and payment of the income measure of excise is due on 15th day of the 3rd month following the close of the combined group's taxable year. Members of such a group that are subject to a non-income measure of excise under the provisions of M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 39 (including those S corporations that are not taxed as financial institutions under M.G.L. Ch. 63 sec. 2D) are required to determine and pay the non-income measure of excise on the 15th day of the 3rd month following the close of their separate taxable year. If a member's non-income measure of excise is due on the same day as the combined report (if the member's taxable year ends at the same time as the combined group's taxable year), the member will pay such non-income measure with the combined report. S corporations that pay the non-income measure of excise with Form 355U file Form 355S, completing all the questions on page 1, enter '0' on all lines of the excise calculation except line 12 (which reports the total tax paid with the Form 355U). When the non-income measure of excise has been paid with Form 355U, the dollar amounts on Schedules A and B submitted with the Form 355S will be blank (do not duplicate the information submitted with the Form 355U) and Schedules S, SK-1 and Schedule F (if the corporation is eligible to apportion) will be completed without regard to combined reporting, taking into account only the income and activities of this corporation to determine and apportion the distributive shares of income under M.G.L. c. 62.

If a member of a combined group has a separate taxable year that ends at a different time than the combined group's taxable year, that member must file a separate return to pay the non-income portion of the excise at the close of the member's separate taxable year. S corporations will file Form 355S indicating on the face of such return that they are subject to combined reporting for their income measure of excise and exclude from that separate return the income that is reported on the group's Form 355U (Schedule E is not required unless the taxpayer has income from a source other than the unitary business). S corporations with separate taxable years that end at a different time than the combined group's taxable year will complete Schedules A and B and any other schedules required to determine the non-income measure of excise without regard to combined reporting (e.g. based on their assets and liabilities at the close of their separate taxable years). Such corporations complete the excise calculation on page 2 of the return normally and may take credits against the excise reported on this separate return and should enter the amount of each credit taken on the Credit Manager Schedule. S Corporations always complete Schedules S and SK-1 without regard to combined reporting, taking into account only the income and activities of this corporation.

#### Line 9

If the corporation is requesting alternative apportionment under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 42, answer yes in line 9 and enclose Form AA-1. The return and Schedule F must be completed and the tax must be paid according to the statutory three factor formula. However, alternative treatment may be requested and a refund will be issued if such treatment is granted by the Commissioner of Revenue. For further information on alternative apportionment see M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 42 or Regulation 830 CMR 63.42.1.

#### Line 14

If your corporation has undergone a federal audit for some prior year, you must fill in the "federal audit" oval on page 1. You must report any federal audit changes within three months after the final determination of the correct taxable income by the IRS. Otherwise, you will be subject to a penalty. If the federal change results in less tax due to Massachusetts than was assessed or paid, you may apply for abatement under the federal change rules within one year of the final federal determination. Answering line 14 does not relieve the corporation from this filing obligation.

#### Line 16

If the corporation is deducting intangible or interest expenses, answer yes. Complete Schedule ABI, Exceptions to the Add Back of Interest Expense, and/or Schedule ABIE, Exceptions to the Add Back of Intangible Expenses to claim the deduction.

#### **Line 17**

Corporations that are doing business in Massachusetts but are exempt from the income measure of excise pursuant to federal Public Law 86-272 claim the exemption here by checking "Yes."

These corporations remain subject to the non-income measure of excise or the minimum excise, whichever is greater. Such corporations are not required to submit Schedule E but must complete Schedule F for the purpose of determining their non-income measure of excise.

#### **Excise Calculation**

In order to complete the excise calculation, all appropriate schedules must be filled out first. Therefore, schedule instructions precede the instructions for the excise calculation section. Use the whole dollar method.

# Schedule A Balance Sheet

Enter the closing amounts for the taxable year covered by this return. Once the corporation's balance sheet is completed, it will be easier to complete subsequent schedules.

**Note:** Schedules A-1, A-2 and A-3 are obsolete. Taxpayers will no longer be required to provide this information when filing the return (it will be requested, if needed, on audit).

#### Line 1a

Enter here the book value of all buildings. A portion of the cost attributable to buildings under construction and reported on the corporation's books as construction in progress (CIP) is considered real estate for purposes of the property measure of the corporate excise and must be reported in line 1a. Enter 100% of the corporation's real estate CIP costs, less 15% of the current year's accumulation.

#### Line 1i

The value of any certified solar/wind units for which a deduction is claimed this year should be entered here. Amounts of certified industrial waste and/or air pollution treatment facilities and certified solar/wind deductions claimed in any prior year should be included. In order to be eligible for this deduction, property must be certified by the appropriate state agencies and copies of such certificates must be available upon request. See instructions for Schedule E, line 24.

#### Line 1k

Enter here the value of all tangible property reported on the corporation's books as CIP. In addition, enter here 15% of the **current year's** real estate CIP accumulation. For further information, see Department of Revenue Directive 02-11.

#### Line 2b

Enter here the value of inventory that is exempt from the tangible property measure of the excise. An example of exempt inventory is merchandise of foreign origin imported and immediately placed in a federally bonded warehouse. Merchandise of domestic origin is not exempt from the tangible property measure of the excise. A schedule listing the components of any entry in line 2b must be available upon request.

#### Line 12

In order to be a subsidiary, the parent must own at least 80% or more of the voting stock of a corporation in accordance with IRC sec. 1504 or, in the case of a subsidiary business corporation that does not have voting stock, the book value of its investment in such business corporation must represent an 80% or more ownership interest. Advances should include payments in the nature of capital contributions. Do not include loans or other receivables.

#### Line 12a

Enter in line 12a the total of capital stock and equity contributions of subsidiary corporations 80% or more owned.

#### Line 12b

Enter in line 12b the value of capital stock investments with less than 80% ownership and also any other investment entity such as a partnership.

#### Line 14

If the reserve for bad debt exceeds 2% of accounts receivable, a complete explanation to enable a review and determination of the proper amount allowable must be available upon request.

#### Line 17

Enter here the value of any assets not included in lines 1 through 16. Examples include, but are not limited to, goodwill and company patents.

#### Line 19a

Enter the value of mortgages on Massachusetts real estate, motor vehicles, machinery owned by a corporation which is not classified as a manufacturing corporation, and other tangible personal property located in Massachusetts and subject to local taxation. Mortgages do not include conditional sales, pledges or other types of security interest.

# Schedules B, C & D Tangible or Intangible Classification and Calculation of Non-Income Measure

Schedules B, C and D are used to calculate the non-income measure of the Massachusetts corporate excise. Schedule B is used to determine whether a corporation is a tangible or intangible property corporation. Once determined, tangible property corporations must complete Schedule C (and omit Schedule D) and intangible property corporations must complete Schedule D (and omit Schedule C). Net book values should be used in completing all schedules.

#### Schedule B

Schedule B is used to calculate whether a corporation is a tangible or intangible property corporation. Beginning in 2004, taxpayers no longer have the option of calculating the non-income measure as a domestic or foreign corporation. To reflect this legislative change, both Schedule B and D have been reduced in length. If line 15 is 10% or greater, complete Schedule C. If line 15 is less than 10%, complete Schedule D. The maximum entry allowed on line 15 is 9.999999.

#### Schedule C

If Schedule B, line 15 is 10% or greater, the corporation must complete Schedule C using net book values to determine the non-income measure of the excise. Omit Schedule D.

#### Schedule D

Schedule D is used by a corporation to calculate its non-income measure excise on the basis of net worth. If line 15 of Schedule B is less than 10%, complete this schedule. Corporations are allowed to deduct the value of investments in, and advances to, Massachusetts and foreign subsidiaries. To be a subsidiary, the parent must own 80% or more of the voting stock of the corporation in accordance with IRC sec. 1504, or if the subsidiary business corporation does not have voting stock, the parent must have 80% or more ownership interest in the subsidiary.

# Schedule E-1 **Dividends Deduction**

Massachusetts corporate excise law does not allow the dividends received deduction allowed under the IRC. However, a deduction is allowed for 95% of the value of all dividends received except:

- dividends from ownership of shares in a corporate trust engaged in business in the Commonwealth;
- dividends resulting from deemed or actual distributions (except actual distributions of previously taxed income) from a DISC which is not whollyowned; or
- dividends from any class of stock if the corporation owns less than 15% of the voting stock of the payer corporation.

Dividends received from a Regulated Investment Company (RIC) or Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) are not eligible for the dividends received deduction, whether the dividend is paid directly by the RIC or REIT, or indirectly, as through a subsidiary or affiliate of the taxpayer.

The total dividends amount on Schedule E-1, line 1 is derived from the amount shown on U.S. Form 1120, Schedule C, line 19, less any dividends received directly or indirectly from RICs or REITs as well as any other dividends for which deduction is not allowed under Massachusetts law. The amounts excluded from line 1 are also excluded from line 8. The dividends shown on lines 2 through 6 should not be excluded from line 1, as they will be separately subtracted from line 1 in determining the amount of line 8. For further information, see TIR 04-10.

A schedule showing payers, amounts and percent of voting stock owned by class of stock must be available upon request.

# Schedule E Taxable Income

If line 17 of Schedule S is less than \$6 million, Schedule E is not required.

If line 17 of Schedule S is less than \$6 million, Schedule E is not required, irrespective as to whether the corporation is required to file a combined report, Form 355U, because it is engaged in a unitary business with a C corporation that is doing business in Massachusetts.

If line 17 of Schedule S is \$6 million or more and the corporation is required to file Form 355U (see "How Is S Corporation Income Taxed" on page 3), check "Yes" in the registration section, line 5, and complete Schedule E only if (a) the taxable year of the S corporation does not end on the same day as the taxable year of the combined group that is filing the combined report and (b) the S corporation has income from sources other than the unitary business that is taxable in Massachusetts. If both of the above conditions apply, complete Schedule E only with respect to the income that is not included in the combined report. Otherwise enter "0" on line 5 of the excise calculation page.

All other S corporations with receipts of \$6 million or more complete Schedule E as described below.

Mutual fund service corporations eligible to apportion their income under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38 (m) must complete two separate copies of Schedule E: (1) for income derived from mutual fund sales; and (2) for non-mutual fund sales income, if any. Taxable net income from mutual fund sales is gross income from mutual fund sales less: (1) any deductions directly traceable to its mutual fund sales: and (2) a portion of other allowable deductions. Other allowable deductions consist of deductions not directly traceable to mutual fund sales or nonmutual fund sales. To determine the deductible amount of its other allowable deductions a mutual fund service corporation must multiply the total amount of its other allowable deductions by a fraction, the numerator of which is the mutual fund service corporation's gross income derived from mutual fund sales for the taxable year and the denominator of which is the mutual fund service corporation's total gross income for the taxable year. Taxable net income from non-mutual fund sales consists of any taxable net income not derived from mutual fund sales.

If a corporation is not a mutual fund service corporation, 100% of sales, profits, and income should be entered in lines 1 through 12. If the corporation has income from business activities which is taxable both in Massachusetts and any other state, Schedule F should be completed and the apportionment percentage entered in line 20.

#### Line 4

Enter U.S. taxable income before deducting net operating loss or other special deductions. If the corporation is the parent of a DISC, income should be reported with no allocation to the DISC.

#### Line 5

Enter any allowable U.S. Wage Credit used in calculating U.S. Form 1120, line 13.

#### Line 7

Enter all interest received on state and municipal obligations not reported in U.S. net income.

#### Line 8

Massachusetts does not allow a deduction for state, local and foreign income, franchise, excise or capital stock taxes. Any such taxes which have been deducted from U.S. net income should be entered in line 8 and added back into income.

#### Line 9

For Massachusetts purposes, for taxable years ending after September 10, 2001, depreciation is to be claimed on all assets, regardless of when they are placed in service, using the method used for U.S. income tax purposes prior to the enact-

ment of sec. 168(k). For more information, see TIR 02-11 and TIR 03-25.

#### Line 10

A taxpayer must add back to net income any related member intangible expenses and costs, including losses incurred in connection with factoring or discounting transactions. If you qualify for an exception to the add back requirement, complete Schedule ABIE. For further information, see TIR 03-19.

#### Line 11

A taxpayer must add back to net income any related member interest expenses and costs, including losses incurred in connection with factoring or discounting transactions. If you qualify for an exception to the add back requirement, complete Schedule ABI. For further information, see TIR 03-19.

#### Line 12

Massachusetts has decoupled from the American Jobs Creation Act of 2004, Public Law 108-357. For corporate excise purposes, the definition of net income does not include the new federal production activity deduction. See TIR 05-5 for further information.

#### Line 13

Enter any adjustments to income not previously reported. For example, enter in this line the amount of depreciation or amortization taken this year in computing U.S. net income for the following:

- certified industrial waste and/or pollution treatment facilities of prior years; or
- ▶ certified solar/wind units of current or prior years, if said facilities were sold during the year. (See M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38D(d) and sec. 38H(e) for further explanation.)

Capital gains on installment sales of intangible property made prior to 1963 may also be deducted from income. These gains fall under the provisions of prior Massachusetts law when such income was not taxable (see M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 38(a)(2)). This adjustment should be made in line 8.

Deduct the full U.S. research credit generated provided that the full U.S. research credit was taken. If a reduced U.S. research credit was taken, no adjustments are necessary.

From Massachusetts Schedule RC, Part 1, line 21, add back the full Massachusetts research credit generated.

The deduction allowed to a corporation for any expense which qualifies for the Massachusetts Research Credit must be reduced by the Massachusetts Research Credit determined in the current taxable year. In addition, subsection (c) of IRC sec.

280C, which requires a similar reduction of the deduction, shall not apply in determining Massachusetts net income.

Capital loss carryovers are not allowed under Massachusetts law. Any loss claimed on the U.S. return must be added back here.

If the corporation has income not subject to apportionment, the amount should be deducted here and entered on Schedule E, line 22.

If the corporation has qualified taxable income and passive income, the amount should be deducted here and entered on the Excise Calculation Schedule. line 3.

#### Line 15

Enter the total cost of renovating an abandoned building in an Economic Opportunity Area. Multiply this amount by 10% and enter here.

#### Line 16

Refer to Schedule E-1 for the allowable deductions for dividends. Dividends from a Massachusetts corporate trust, a non-wholly-owned DISC or a corporation of which less than 15% of the voting stock is owned are not deductible. Also, direct or indirect dividends received from a RIC or REIT are not deductible.

#### Line 20

If the corporation conducts business activities in another state sufficient to give that state the jurisdiction to tax the corporation, Schedule F should be completed in order to determine the apportionment percentage. If all business is conducted in Massachusetts, 100% (1.00) should be entered in line 20.

#### Line 24

A deduction is allowed for expenditures paid or incurred during the taxable year for the installation of any solar or wind powered climate control or water heating unit. Ancillary units do not qualify.

In order to be eligible for this deduction, the property must be certified by the Office of Facilities Management. A copy of such certification must be available along with a schedule itemizing the:

- cost
- allowable U.S. depreciation;
- date of installation; and
- place of installation.

If these amounts are prorated, the computation should be explained.

If eligible units do not continue in qualified use for ten years, the deductions previously allowed must be added back to taxable income. The amount should be entered in Schedule E, line 13. **Note:** The special deduction for the construction of certified industrial waste and/or air pollution treatment facilities does not apply to expenditures paid or incurred on or after January 1, 1980.

#### Line 26

Enter the amount of the corporation's loss carryover deduction from Schedule NOL, line 5.

#### Line 27

Subtract the amount on line 26 from the amount on line 25. Enter this amount in the excise calculation section, line 5.

#### Line 28

Enter the amount of the total net operating loss available for carryover to future years. This figure is taken from Schedule NOL, line 8.

If Schedule NOL is not filed and Schedule E, line 23 is a loss, enter the amount from line 23 in line 28 as a positive number.

# Schedules CR and RF Replaced Credit Manager Schedule

The Credit Manager Schedule, which replaces Schedule CR, reports in Part 1 the taxpayer's credits available (including credits carried over from prior years) and the credits taken. Credits are shown in a table format and may be listed in any order. Taxpayers with more than one credit available may choose how much of each credit to take in the current year. A taxpayer participating in a combined report and allowing other members of the combined group to use its credits as allowed in 830 CMR 63.32B.2(9), also reports the amount or each credit shared on this schedule.

Some credits are identified on the credit manager schedule by a certificate number. The certificate number for the credit is assigned by the issuing agency (which may be the Department of Revenue) and must always be reported to claim the credit. A taxpayer with multiple certificates for the same type of credit will enter each separately, with the available (unused) balance associated with that certificate in column (e) and the amount of the credit used in the current year in column (f). Taxpayer's claiming the EDIP Credit for a Certified Jobs Creation Project must enter a certificate number but are only required to complete the header section of schedule EDIP.

Some credits are identified by the period end date which refers to the period in which the credit originated. This may be the current taxable year or a prior year if the credit is being carried forward from a prior year. If the period of origin is the cur-

rent year, a schedule detailing the calculation of the amount of credit must be enclosed with the return. If the period of origin is a prior year, only the amount carried over to and available in the current year is shown in column (e) and no calculation schedule is required.

If, by operation of M.G.L. c. 63, s. 32C or another provision of law, a credit normally identified by period of origin is eligible for indefinite carryover, the credit should be reported as "non-expiring"; the taxpayer is not required to identify the period of origin on the credit manager schedule. (Non-expiring credits were formerly referred to as "unlimited.")

The abbreviation in the enumeration column is used to identify the credit type on the credit manager schedule (in column a. in both Part 1 and Part 2).

Part 2 of the Credit Manager Schedule reports any refundable credits claimed in the current year. Certain credits are refundable only if specifically authorized or, in the case of the Film Credit, if the original recipient has not transferred the credit to another. Other conditions may apply depending on the terms applicable to the specific credit. Credits are identified separately. The amount in column (f) is the amount of the refund requested, which may be 100% or 90% of the amount reported in column (e).

For more information and examples, see the Credit Manager Schedule instructions.

#### **Credit Recapture Schedule**

Certain Massachusetts tax credits are subject to recapture as specified in the statute authorizing the credit (e.g. investment tax is subject to recapture under M.G.L. c 63, s 31A(e) if an asset for which the credit was taken is disposed of before the end of its useful life). Recapture may also be triggered if the corporation no longer qualifies for the credit (as when a manufacturing corporation ceases to qualify as such or a corporation's status as a Life Sciences Company is terminated as discussed in TIR 13-6.

If a recapture calculation is required, the amount of the credit allowed is redetermined and the reduction in the amount of credit allowable is recaptured to the extent the credit was taken or used in a prior year. See DOR Directive 89-7. Taxpayers who have a recapture calculation must complete this schedule whether or not a recapture tax is determined to be due.

The Credit Recapture Schedule, which replaces Schedule RF, lists each credit for which a recapture calculation must be made. For credits tracked by certificate numbers that must be reported on the return to claim the credit, enter each certificate number and the associated credits separately. For credits not tracked by certificate number, enter

credits separately by type and the year to which they relate. List only those credits and certificate numbers or tax years for which a reduction in the credit is being calculated.

For more information and examples, see the Credit Recapture Schedule example.

# Schedule F Income Apportionment

Mutual fund service corporations should complete a Schedule F for income from mutual fund sales if they made mutual fund sales to RIC's with shareholders domiciled outside of Massachusetts. Schedule F should be completed by all other corporations (including mutual fund service corporations reporting non-mutual fund sales) which have income from business activities which is taxable both in Massachusetts and in any other state. For purposes of this requirement, "taxable" has the meaning set forth in the Apportionment of Income Regulation, 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. 5(b). This standard is not satisfied merely because the taxpayer is incorporated in such a state or files a return in such a state that relates to capital stock tax or franchise tax for the privilege of doing business.

If the corporation is requesting alternate apportionment under M.G.L. Ch 63, sec. 42, answer yes in line 9 of Form 355S and enclose Form AA-1. You must still complete and file Schedule F. A refund will be issued if alternative apportionment is granted by the Commissioner. For further information on alternative apportionment see the Massachusetts Alternate Apportionment Regulation, 830 CMR 63.42.1.

For further information about corporations that hold partnership interests and the appropriate method to use to apportion partnership income, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. 4(d) and 12.

Corporations engaged in substantial manufacturing (section 38 manufacturers) are required to apportion their net income based on sales factor only.

Corporations other than section 38 manufacturers or mutual fund service corporations are required to apportion their net income as follows: sales factor equals 50%, property factor equals 25%, payroll factor equals 25%.

To determine if a corporation qualifies as a section 38 manufacturer or mutual fund service corporation, see instructions for the registration section: line 2 of Form 355 or line 3 of Form 355S.

If a corporation is a section 38 manufacturer or mutual fund service corporation, fill in the applicable oval. If a corporation is not a section 38 manufacturer or a mutual fund service corporation, fill in the oval for "Other."

Mutual fund service corporations must complete a Schedule F based on mutual fund sales and a separate Schedule F based on non-mutual fund sales, if any. For further information on apportionment for mutual fund service corporations, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.7.

Corporations must complete all lines, regardless of apportionment method used. Make certain that complete information is entered for all apportionment factors. A return which is incomplete will be considered insufficient.

Certain amounts are excluded from the calculation of the apportionment factors used to determine taxable income (both the worldwide and Massachusetts figures), among them any factors attributable to items of gross income that are excluded from the federal gross income of a taxpayer, in accordance with 830 CMR 63.38.1(9) (e), (see also TIR 10-16), and any factors attributable to income derived from unrelated business activities, in accordance with 830 CMR 63:38 and 1(3)(d). In addition, certain amounts are subject to the rules of exclusion from the sales factor, as set forth in 830 CMR 63:38.1(9) (d)1.f.

### **Line Instructions**

#### 1. Property Factor

#### Line 1a

For tax purposes, average value is based on original cost and is determined by averaging the property values at the beginning and end of the taxable year. If substantial changes occur during the taxable year, the Commissioner may require monthly averaging to properly reflect the average value of the property. For purposes of the property factor, a taxpayer may elect to use any reasonable method for attributing its mobile property to Massachusetts. The election is made by filing a return that employs the chosen method for the first tax year ending on or after August 11, 1995, in which the taxpayer owns or rents mobile property and apportions income to Massachusetts. The taxpayer must make available a statement describing the method chosen and must use the same method consistently from year to year. For further information, including safe harbor methods, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. 7(d).

Construction in progress is generally excluded from the property factor; see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. 7(a), (b). For the property factor, inventory in transit is deemed to be at its destination; see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. 7(c).

#### Line 1b

Property rented by the corporation is valued at eight times the annual net rental rate paid less any subrentals received.

#### 2. Payroll Factor

#### Line 2a

Enter the total amount of wages, salaries, commissions, or any other compensation paid to employees. An employee's compensation is allocated to Massachusetts, if **any** of the following apply:

- ▶ the employee's service is performed within Massachusetts;
- the employee's service is performed both in Massachusetts and in other state(s), but the non-Massachusetts service is secondary to the Massachusetts service:
- part of the employee's service is performed in Massachusetts, and the service is controlled from a location in Massachusetts;
- part of the employee's service is performed in Massachusetts, and the location of the service is not in a state in which some part of the service is performed, but the employee lives in Massachusetts.

The total amount paid for compensation is computed on the cash basis, as reported for unemployment purposes. A taxpayer that uses the accrual method of accounting in computing its taxable net income may elect to use the accrual method in determining the total amount of compensation paid in Massachusetts during the taxable year. For further information on how to elect the accrual method see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. 8(a).

#### 3. Sales Factor

For sales factors, enter the gross receipts of the corporation with the exception of those receipts from interest, dividends and the sale or other disposition of securities or the sale of business "good will" or similar intangible value. Any receipts resulting in allocable income must be excluded. For further information, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. (9)(a).

Also, in the case of the sale, exchange or other disposition of a capital asset used in the taxpayer's trade or business, enter the gain from the transaction and not the gross receipts. For further information, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1 sec. (9)(b).

#### Line 3a

Sales of tangible personal property are assignable to Massachusetts if the property is delivered or shipped to any buyer, including the U.S. government, in Massachusetts.

#### Line 3b

Sales of tangible personal property are assignable to Massachusetts if the selling corporation is not taxable in the state of the buyer and the property is not sold by an agent or agencies chiefly situated at, connected with, or sent out from premises for the transaction of business owned or rented by the

corporation outside Massachusetts. A buyer for this item includes the U.S. government.

Sales of tangible personal property are **not** assignable to Massachusetts if:

- ▶ the property is shipped or delivered to a buyer in a foreign country; or
- ▶ the property is sold to any branch or instrumentality of the U.S. government for resale to a foreign government.

#### Line 3c

Sales of services are assigned to Massachusetts if and to the extent the service is delivered to a location in Massachusetts. See G.L. c. 63, sec. 38(f) and 830 CMR 63.38.1(9)(d).

Any amounts required to be excluded from the sales factor calculation should be accounted for by making the necessary exclusion from the Massachusetts and worldwide figures in line 3c. For example, in the case of a service or license of intangible property where the taxpayer is not taxable in the state to which the sale is to be assigned, the sale amount should be excluded from these figures. See 830 CMR 63.38.1(9)(d) 1.

Mutual fund sales are assigned to Massachusetts as follows:

- mutual fund sales are determined separately for each RIC from which the mutual fund service corporation receives fees for mutual fund services;
- ▶ the mutual fund sales for each RIC are multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the average number of shares owned by the RIC's shareholders domiciled in Massachusetts at the beginning and end of the RIC's taxable year that ends within the mutual fund service corporation's taxable year, and the denominator of which is the average number of shares owned by all of the RIC's shareholders for the same period; and
- the resulting amounts are totaled for all RICs.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 any corporation that has mutual fund sales, including those that do not qualify as mutual fund service corporations under M.G.L. c. 63, sec. 38(m), is required to assign those sales according to the rules that apply to mutual fund service corporations. The term "mutual fund sales" is defined in M.G.L. c. 63, sec. 38(m)(1) and refers to certain services provided to a RIC, including management, distribution, and administrative services.

#### Line 3d

Rents from property located or used in Massachusetts are assigned to Massachusetts. Income derived from license or lease of intangible property is assigned to the state in accordance with the rules at 830 CMR 63.38.1(9)(d) 5.

If using a three-factor apportionment formula, and one or more factors are inapplicable the following shall apply:

- ▶ In cases where only two of the three apportionment factors (property, payroll, sales) are applicable, the taxable net income is apportioned by a fraction, the numerator of which is the remaining two factors with their respective weights and the denominator of which is the number of times that such factors are used in the numerator.
- ▶ In cases where only one of the three apportionment factors (property, payroll, sales) is applicable, the taxable net income is apportioned solely by that factor with its respective weight, and the denominator is the number of times the factor is used in the numerator.

**Note:** An apportionment factor should not necessarily be considered inapplicable if its Massachusetts total (lines 1c, 2a or 3f) is zero.

If you are claiming an exception on Schedule ABI or ABIE, do the following to see if a factor applies. Complete Schedule E through line 19 without reference to the add back exception but less the amount of deductible and intangible expense stated in line 1 of the respective Schedule ABI or ABIE.

If any of the apportionment totals for "Worldwide" (lines 1c, 2a or 3f) are less than 3.33% of Schedule E, line 19, **do not** include that factor in your Massachusetts apportionment percentage.

# Schedule H Investment Tax Credit

#### Part 1. Calculation of Current-Year Investment Tax Credit Generated

Lines 1a through 1d
Only R&D corporation

Only R&D corporations should complete these lines. All others leave blank. R&D corporations are eligible for the credit only if two thirds of their Massachusetts receipts are derived from the provision of research and development services or from royalties or fees from licensing patents, know-how or other technology developed from research and development. See Regulation 830 CMR 64H.6.4 for further information.

#### Lines 2a through 2h

Enter the total cost basis of all qualified depreciable property placed in service during the tax year by Schedule A category. Qualifying property must be tangible property, including buildings but excluding motor vehicles and other property taxable under Ch. 60A, used by the corporation in Massachusetts, situated in the Commonwealth on the last day of the taxable year and depreciable under Section 167 of the IRC with a useful life of four

years or more. A corporation may not claim the credit for property it leases to others as a lessor.

#### Line 4

If any of the property included in lines 2a through 2h is eligible for a U.S. Tax Credit, the total amount of the U.S. credit taken with respect to the qualifying property must be entered here and applied as a reduction to the basis in calculating the Massachusetts credit.

#### Line 6

Enter the tentative tax credit. This is 3% of the cost after any basis reduction.

#### I ine 7

If qualifying property is placed in service and disposed of or otherwise ceases to be in qualified service before the end of the same tax year, the amount of credits available is reduced. Multiply the credit otherwise available (cost as reduced by U.S. tax credits times 3%) by a fraction, the numerator of which is the number of months remaining in the useful life of the asset when it is disposed of or otherwise ceases to qualify and denominator of which is the total number of months in the assets' useful life. For example, an item that is depreciated over a seven-year period for U.S. tax purposes has a useful life of 84 months.

#### Line 8

Subtract the amount of the credit reduction in line 7 from the tentative credit in line 6.

#### Part 2. Reconciliation of Massachusetts Tangible Property

Corporations claiming an ITC in Part 1 must complete Part 2 based on the book value of their capital assets located in Massachusetts.

# Schedule S Distributive Income

**Note:** In the following Schedule S and SK-1 instructions only certain items are addressed in detail. Lines without specific instructions are considered to be self-explanatory.

#### Line 1

Enter the total amount of gross receipts or sales from U.S. Form 1120S, line 1c. Returns and allowances are subtracted in reaching this amount.

#### Line 11

Enter the total amount of other income not included in lines 1 through 10. Include income from U.S. Form 1120S, line 5, and U.S. Form 1120S, Schedule K, lines 10. If an S corporation is a partner in a partnership, include the amount of its distributive share of the partnership's total receipts not included in lines 1 through 10. Include all tax-

exempt income. Also enter any other items included in an entity's gross income under IRC sec. 61 and not included in lines 1 through 10.

Also include in line 11 any difference that results from the annualization of income for a short period return.

#### Line 13

Enter only those receipts from intercompany transactions that are included in lines 1 through 11. Do not include receipts from related entities included in 15 below.

#### Line 15

Enter here the aggregated total receipts less receipts from intercompany transactions for all entities other than the S corporation that share common ownership and are engaged in a unitary business with the S corporation according to Regulation 830 CMR 62.17A.1 (11)(e) and (f). Enclose a supporting schedule for each entity clearly stating all items of total receipts and intercompany transactions.

#### Line 18

Enter the amount of ordinary income or loss from U.S. 1120S, line 21. Do not include interest, dividends, and other portfolio income included in line 21. Enter such income on lines 23 through 29.

#### Line 19

If reporting other income or loss from U.S. Form 1120S, Schedule K, line 10, enclose a statement and explain.

#### Line 20

Enter total foreign, state or local income, franchise, excise or capital stock taxes deducted from U.S. income. These taxes are deductible for U.S. tax purposes, but are not deductible in Massachusetts.

#### Line 22

Enter in line 22 any income or loss included in lines 18 and/or 19 which is granted treatment by the U.S. government or is classified as a capital gain or loss for Massachusetts purposes.

For Massachusetts purposes capital gain or loss is the gain or loss from the sale or exchange of a capital asset. A capital asset is: (1) an asset which is a capital asset for U.S. income tax purposes or (2) property that is used in a trade or business within the meaning of IRC section 1231(b) without regard to the holding period defined in said section 1231(b).

#### Line 24

Report and describe any other adjustments to Massachusetts income and deductions not reported elsewhere on Schedule S.

For Massachusetts tax purposes, an S corporation is allowed only those expense deductions that an individually owned business is allowed. Deductions that are itemized by an individual on Schedule A of U.S. Form 1040, are not allowed. The deductions for a net operating loss carryover or carryback are neither allowed to the S corporation nor to an individual under Massachusetts income tax law.

If an S corporation is taxable at the federal level, and thus at the state level, on passive investment income under IRC sec. 1375, then such income passed through to the shareholder is reduced by the item's portion of the tax paid at the U.S. and state level. Reduce the S corporation's Massachusetts ordinary income by the amount of the federal and state tax paid by the S corporation. Enclose the computation of the tax shown on U.S. Form 1120S, line 22(b).

Also report the cost of renovating a qualifying abandoned building. Enclose a statement detailing the location and cost of renovating the qualifying abandoned building.

#### Line 28

Add U.S. Form 1120S, Schedule K, lines 4, 5a and 6 and enter the total in line 28.

#### Line 29

Enter the total amount of interest on U.S. debt obligations reported in line 28 which is taxable by the U.S. government, but is tax-exempt in Massachusetts.

#### Line 30

Enter the total amount of interest from Massachusetts banks included in line 28. Report any interest from Massachusetts savings accounts, saving share accounts and NOW accounts. Also report any interest from term and time deposits. Enclose a statement listing bank sources and amounts.

**Note:** This amount should not include any 5.15% interest from Massachusetts banks derived in the ordinary course of the trade or business activity of the S corporation, and properly reported in line 18.

#### Line 31

Enter the total amount of interest (other than from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income included in line 28. Do not include interest on U.S. debt obligations that is taxable by the U.S. government, but is tax-exempt in Massachusetts. Enclose a statement listing sources and amounts.

#### Line 32

Enter the total amount of the S corporation's non-Massachusetts state and municipal bond interest. This interest is taxable in Massachusetts but not taxed by the U.S. government and thus not reported on U.S. Form 1120S, Schedule K, line 4.

#### Line 33

Enter the total amount of royalty income included in line 28.

**Note:** This amount should not include any royalty income derived in the ordinary course of the trade or business activity of the S corporation and properly reported in line 18.

#### Line 34

Enter the total amount of other income included in line 28, less the amounts of other income included in lines 29 through 33.

#### **Capital Gains and Losses**

If the S corporation had any income or loss reported in U.S. Form 1120S, Schedule K, line 10 that is granted capital gains treatment by the U.S. government, include that amount in lines 35 through 42, as applicable.

#### Line 38

Enter the amount of any loss on the sale exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in a trade or business and held for one year or less (from U.S. Form 4797).

#### Line 41

Enter in line 41 any long-term capital gain or loss that is not included in lines 39 and/or 40 that is granted capital gains treatment by the U.S. government or is classified as a capital gain or loss for Massachusetts purposes. For Massachusetts purposes capital gain or loss is the gain or loss from the sale or exchange of a capital asset. A capital asset is: (1) an asset which is capital asset for U.S. income tax purposes or (2) property that is used in a trade or business within the meaning of IRC sec. 1231(b) without regard to the holding period defined in said section 1231(b).

#### Line 42

Enter the amount of any gain from collectibles held for more than one year.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is a collectible within the meaning of IRC sec. 408(m), as amended and in effect for the taxable year, including works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins, and any other items treated as collectibles for federal tax purposes.

#### Line 43

Report any adjustments to Massachusetts capital gain and losses. Enclose a complete statement explaining any such adjustments.

If an S corporation is taxable at the federal level, and thus the state level, on certain capital gains under IRC sec. 1374, then the amount of the capital gains passed through to the shareholder is re-

duced by the tax paid at the federal and state level. Reduce the S corporation's capital gain by the amount of federal and state tax paid by the S corporation and enclose the computation of the tax shown on U.S. Form 1120S, line 22(b).

# Resident and Nonresident Reconciliation

Lines 44 through 47 should be completed only if all three of the following conditions are met: (a) there is one or more nonresident shareholders; (b) there is any income derived from business activities or ownership of any interest in real or tangible property in another state; (c) such business activities provide the other state the jurisdiction to levy any income or franchise tax.

When completing line 45 exclude any income from unrelated business activities prior to apportionment, see Regulation 830 CMR 63.38.1, sections (3) and (4). Enclose a statement and explain any adjustments.

Form 355S, Schedule F should be completed before completing lines 44 through 47.

# Schedule SK-1 Shareholder's

# Massachusetts Information

On the Schedule SK-1 for each shareholder, the S corporation should indicate the entity type of the shareholder. The S corporation should obtain this information from the shareholder. The S corporation should select "Bank" if the shareholder is an IRA or a Roth IRA and the S corporation is a bank or depository institution holding company. The S corporation should select "Exempt organization" if the shareholder is exempt from federal income tax under IRC sec. 501.

S corporations that have indicated on the SK-1 that they are reporting transactions under M.G.L. ch. 62C, 32A, identified as IRC section 453A or 453(I)(2)(B) transactions, must separately communicate information to the partner/shareholder that will enable the shareholder to calculate the addition to tax.

For 453A transactions, the shareholder must inform the shareholder of the shareholder's share of the aggregate face amount of installment sales transactions arising in and outstanding as of the close of the taxable year, and any other information the shareholder may need to calculate the addition to tax. The \$150,000/\$5 million thresholds apply at the level of the individual shareholder. The S corporation must therefore communicate to the shareholder all 453A installment sale transactions exceeding \$150,000. The "applicable percentage" is the ratio of the aggregate face amount

of installment sale obligations arising in and outstanding as of the close of the taxable year in excess of \$5 million to the aggregate face amount of such obligations arising in and outstanding at the close of the taxable year. The "applicable percentage" will be determined by each shareholder.

For 453(I)(2)(B) transactions, the S corporation must inform the shareholder of the shareholder's share of gain on installment transactions, the date of the transactions, and any other information the shareholder may need to calculate the addition to tax.

The shareholder's distributive share of each item of income, loss, deduction, or credit is determined by the shareholder's percentage of ownership of stock in the S corporation computed on a daily basis during the taxable year.

**Note:** If the shareholder is a single member of a Limited Liability Company (LLC), the taxpayer identification number is the shareholder's Social Security number, not the Federal Identification number of the LLC.

▶ For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter in lines 1 through 21 the amount of the shareholder's share of each applicable distributive share item multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Form 355S, Schedule F, line 5.

**Note:** For line 8, enter the amount of the non-resident shareholder's distributive share without apportionment.

- ▶ For all other shareholders, enter in lines 1 through 21 the amount of the shareholder's share of each applicable distributive share item.
- ▶ For lines 17 through 20 the S corporation may provide each shareholder with a written breakdown of long-term capital gains and losses by the applicable holding period.

#### l ine 1

Enter the amount of the shareholder's share of the S corporation's Massachusetts ordinary income or loss from Schedule S, line 25. For a nonresident eligible to apportion, enter the amount of the shareholder's share of the S corporation's Massachusetts ordinary income or loss multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

#### Line 2

Report and describe in line 2 any other expense that is deductible from income taxed at 5.15% and properly reportable on Massachusetts Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II, or Form 2 and is not reported elsewhere on Schedule SK-1. Examples of such deductions include oil and gas depletion and the expense deduction for recovery property, IRC sec. 179. An estate or trust may not elect to expense recovery property.

#### Line 3

Combine the amounts in lines 1 and 2. The result in line 3 includes each shareholder's share of the S corporation's Massachusetts ordinary income.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of ordinary income may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the share-holder's Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II; or Form 2. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II if applicable; or Form 2, to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain the adjustments.

The S corporation should also provide each share-holder with the amount of any costs of renovating a qualifying abandoned building. Each shareholder should use this amount to complete Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II; or Form 2. Enclose a statement detailing the location and cost of renovating the qualifying abandoned building.

The S corporation should provide each shareholder with the amount of the shareholder's share of any 5.15% interest from Massachusetts banks and interest (other than from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income included in line 3. Each shareholder should use these amounts to complete Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II.

#### Line 4

Enter the shareholder's share of any tax due from the S corporation to any other state, territory or possession of the United States, or Canada or any of its provinces on income taxable to the shareholder in Massachusetts and otherwise allowable as a credit to individuals.

This credit is available only to resident shareholders and may be taken by using Form 1, Schedule Z, or Form 1NR/PY, Schedule Z or if applicable, on Form 2. Where the credit is available, the S corporation must also provide each resident shareholder with separately stated totals of 5.15% interest (other than from Massachusetts banks), dividends and certain capital gains taxed at 12% income and long-term capital gain taxed by other jurisdictions to enable each shareholder to calculate the amount of the credit. The S corporation should provide each shareholder with the names of each applicable jurisdiction and the amount taxed.

Enter the shareholder's proportionate share of any credit being claimed.

#### Line 5

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's net rental income or loss from real estate activities from Schedule S, line 26.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the shareholder's net income or loss from rental real estate activities may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II; or Form 2, Schedule E. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1, or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II; or Form 2, Schedule E, to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain.

#### Line 6

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's net rental income or loss from other activities from Schedule S. line 27.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of net rental income or loss from other activities may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II; or Form 2. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part II; or Form 2, to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain.

#### Line 7

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's interest on U.S. debt obligations from Schedule S, line 29. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share without apportionment. This income is taxable by the U.S. government, but tax-exempt in Massachusetts.

Each shareholder should include the line 7 total in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule B; or Form 2, Schedule B.

#### Line 8

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's 5.15% interest from Massachusetts banks from Schedule S, line 30. For a nonresident eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's 5.15% interest from Massachusetts banks multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

Each shareholder should include the line 8 total in Form 1, line 5, or 1-NR/PY, line 7; or Form 2.

Each nonresident shareholder whose income is apportioned should receive from the S corporation the amount of the shareholder's pre-apportionment share of 5.15% interest from Massachusetts banks. Each nonresident individual whose income is apportioned should include this amount in Form 1-NR/PY, Schedule B. This amount should be used instead of any amount from Form 1-NR/PY, line 7 because the shareholder's full distributive share of such income is included in the U.S. amount reported in Form 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 1. Each nonresident trust or estate whose income is apportioned should include its pre-ap-

portionment share of 5.15% interest from Massachusetts banks in Form 2, Schedule B, instead of any amount from Form 2.

#### Line 9

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's interest (other than from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income from Schedule S, line 31. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's distributive share of the (other than from Massachusetts banks) interest and dividend income from Schedule S, line 31, multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of (other than from Massachusetts banks) interest and dividend income may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY, or 2, Schedule B, lines 1 and 2. Each shareholder should make adjustments to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount in Form 1 and 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 6; or Form 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should enclose a statement to the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 10

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's non-Massachusetts state and municipal bond interest from Schedule S, line 32. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's distributive share of the S corporation's non-Massachusetts and municipal bond interest multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5. This income is not taxed by the U.S. government, but is taxable in Massachusetts.

Each shareholder should include the line 9 total in Form 1, 1-NR/PY, or 2, Schedule B, line 3.

#### Line 11

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's royalty income from Schedule S, line 33. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's distributive share of the S corporation royalty income from Schedule S, line 33, multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of royalty income may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the share-holder's Form 1, or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part I, line 1; or Form 2, Schedule E, line 1. Each share-holder should make adjustments to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount in Form 1, or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part I, line 2; or Form 2, Schedule E. Each shareholder should enclose a statement to the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 12

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's income from Schedule S, line 34. For a non-resident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's distributive share of the S corporation's other income from Schedule S, line 34 multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the shareholder's share of other income may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY; or 2. Each partner should make adjustments on the applicable lines of Form 1, 1-NR/PY, or 2 to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount. If any income reported to the S corporation from a Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) in which the S corporation is a residual interest holder is reported in line 12, then any such adjustment should be made on Form 1, or 1-NR/PY, Schedule E, Part I, line 2 or Form 2, Schedule E. Each shareholder should attach a statement to the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 13

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's short-term capital gain from Schedule S, line 35. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's short-term capital gain or loss multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of short-term capital gain may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, or 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 8; or Form 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1, 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 8 or Form 2, Schedule B, to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 14

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's short-term capital losses from Schedule S, line 36. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's short-term capital losses multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of short-term capital losses may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY or 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 14; or Form 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 15

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's gain on the sale exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in trade or business and held for one year or less from Schedule S, line 37. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's gain on the sale exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in trade or business and held for one year or less multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of gain on the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in trade or business and held for one year or less may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY; or 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 10; or Form 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 16

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's loss on the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in trade or business and held for one year or less from Schedule S, line 38. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's loss on the sale exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in trade or business and held for one year or less multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of loss on the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion of property used in trade or business and held for one year or less may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY; or 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule B, line 15, or Form 2, Schedule B. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 17

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's long-term capital gain or loss from Schedule S, line 39. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the long-term capital gain or loss multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of long-term capital gain or loss may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on Form 1, 1-NR/PY, or 2, Schedule D, line 1. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1, 1-NR/PY. Schedule D, line 9: or Form 2. Schedule

D, to reflect the correct Massachusetts amount. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 18

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's section 1231 gain or loss from Schedule S, line 40. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's section 1231 gain or loss multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of section 1231 gain or loss may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY, or 2, Schedule D. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule D, line 9; or Form 2, Schedule D. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Line 19

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's other long-term capital gains or losses from Schedule S, line 41. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's other long-term capital gains and losses multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the share-holder's share of other long-term capital gains or losses may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY, or 2, Schedule D. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule D, lines 6 and/or 9, or Form 2, Schedule D, lines 6 and/or 11.

#### Line 20

Enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's long-term gains on collectibles from Schedule S, line 42. For a nonresident shareholder eligible to apportion, enter the shareholder's share of the S corporation's long-term gains on collectibles multiplied by the apportionment percentage in Schedule F, line 5.

The correct Massachusetts amount of the shareholder's share of long-term gains on collectibles may differ from the comparable U.S. total reported on the shareholder's Form 1, 1-NR/PY or 2, Schedule D, line 1. Each shareholder should make adjustments in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule D, line 9 or Form 2, Schedule D. Each shareholder should enter the correct Massachusetts amount in Form 1 or 1-NR/PY, Schedule D, line 11 or Form 2, Schedule D, line 13. Each shareholder should enclose a statement with the shareholder's Massachusetts tax return and explain any adjustments.

#### Shareholder's Basis Information

The information in lines 22 through 26 may be needed by the shareholder to determine the limitation of losses passed through to the shareholder, or the gain or loss from sale or other disposition of the shareholder's stock and indebtedness.

#### Line 23

For a calendar year S corporation, enter in line 23 the number of the shareholder's shares and the amount of the shareholder's federal basis as of December 31, 1985. If the S corporation was a fiscal year entity, enter the number of the shareholder's shares and the amount of the shareholder's federal basis as of the last day of the taxable year prior to becoming a Massachusetts S corporation.

If the S corporation became a Massachusetts S corporation after December 31, 1985, enter in line 23 the number of the shareholder's shares and the amount of the shareholder's federal basis as of the last day of the taxable year prior to becoming a Massachusetts S corporation. If reporting a federal basis other than December 31, 1985, specify the year.

#### Line 25

Enter the net amount of the adjustments made to the shareholder's Massachusetts basis for the taxable year. The shareholder's basis should be increased by the shareholder's distributive share of S corporation income, decreased by distributions to the shareholder, and otherwise adjusted to reflect changes that affect the basis of the stock. Make comparable entries for adjustments to the shareholder's Massachusetts indebtedness. More detailed information on Massachusetts basis adjustment is provided in Regulation 830 CMR 62.17A.1.

#### Line 26

Enter the net amount of the adjustments made to the shareholder's federal basis for the taxable year. Make comparable entries for adjustments to the shareholder's federal indebtedness.

#### **Declaration Election Code**

Under declaration election code, the S corporation should indicate how the shareholder will be meeting its Massachusetts tax obligation. The S corporation should select the "Composite" oval if it is filling a composite return on behalf of the shareholder, or if a lower-tier pass-through entity has filed a composite return on behalf of the shareholder. The S corporation should select the "Member self-file" oval if the shareholder has indicated to the S corporation on the Form PTE-EX that the shareholder is a resident or will be filing its own return (i.e., has checked boxes 1 or 3 under Individual Certification, or boxes 2 or 3 under Organization Certification).

For more information about the Form PTE-EX, see the Guide for Pass-Through Entities, at mass. gov/dor. The S corporation should select "Exempt PTE" if the shareholder has indicated to the S corporation, by checking box 4 under Organization Certification on the Form PTE-EX, that the shareholder is a pass-through entity all of whose members are exempt from withholding. The S corporation should select "Non-profit" if the shareholder has checked box 1 under Organization Certification on the form PTE-EX. If the shareholder has not made a declaration to the S corporation that the shareholder is exempt from withholding, the S corporation should select the "Withholding" oval.

If the S corporation has selected the "Composite" oval under the Declaration election code and the S corporation itself made estimated payments on behalf of the shareholder, the S corporation should indicate on line 34 the estimated payments that the S corporation made on behalf of the shareholder. This number should be the shareholder's share of the amount entered on line 13 of the Form MA NRCR, the composite return. This number is informational only, and is not to be used by the partnership or the partner for any other purpose.

#### I ine 28

If the S corporation has selected the "Withholding" oval under the declaration election code, the S corporation should indicate on line 28 the amount of Massachusetts tax that the S corporation withheld on the shareholder's distributive share and paid for the year on the shareholder's behalf.

#### Line 29

If the S corporation has selected the "Composite" oval under the Declaration election code and the S corporation itself made estimated payments on behalf of the shareholder, the S corporation should indicate on line 29 the estimated payments that the S corporation made on behalf of the shareholder. This number should be shareholder's share of the amount entered on line 16 of the Form MA NRCR, the composite return. This number is informational only, and is not to be used by the partnership or the partner for any other purpose.

#### Line 30

If the S corporation is a member of one or more lower-tier entities, and amounts were withheld for the S corporation by one or more of those entities, the S corporation should indicate how much of the total amount withheld by all lower-tier entities of which the S corporation is a member should be allocated to this shareholder.

#### Line 31

If the S corporation is a member of one or more lower-tier entities, and composite returns with estimated payments were made on behalf of this shareholder by one or more of those entities, the S corporation should indicate the amount of estimated payments made on behalf of this shareholder. This number should be the shareholder's share of the amount entered on line 13 of the Form MA NRCR, the composite return. This number is informational only, and is not to be used by the S corporation or the shareholder for any other purpose.

#### **Excise Calculation**

The excise calculation schedule is used to calculate the various measures of the Massachusetts corporation excise. These are:

- a tax of \$2.60 per \$1,000 on taxable Massachusetts tangible property or taxable net worth, whichever applies. If the return is for a short taxable year, the tangible property or taxable net worth should be prorated; and
- a tax of 8.00% on income attributable to Massachusetts.

The law also provides for a minimum excise of \$456.

#### Line 3

S corporations in Massachusetts are taxed at 8.0% on certain built-in gains taxable at the federal level under IRC sec. 1374 and on passive investment income taxable at the federal level under IRC sec. 1375. Such income earned by an S corporation must be entered in line 3 of the excise calculation but subtracted from any income amount to be entered in line 5.

The taxable Massachusetts built-in gains and passive interest income is the amount of the federal gain times the Massachusetts apportionment percentage found in Schedule F, line 5.

#### Line 8

An addition to tax applies for taxpayers who have deferred the gain, and the tax associated with that gain, on certain installment sales. This addition to tax is measured by an interest charge on the tax that has been deferred.

Include in line 8 an additional tax amount representing an interest charge on the deferred tax on gain from certain installment sales with a sales price over \$150,000 if you are not a dealer and the aggregate face amount of installment obligations arising during the tax year and outstanding as of the close of the tax year exceeds \$5 million. For more information see G.L. c. 62C, sec. 32A (a) and I.R.C. sec. 453A (a)—(c).

Also include in line 8 an additional tax amount representing an interest charge on the deferred gain from the installment sale of time shares and residential lots, if the sale meets one of the following criteria: 1) the sale is of a timeshare right for 6 weeks or less; 2) the sale is for the recreational use of specified campgrounds; or 3) the sale is for a residential lot and neither the dealer nor someone related to the dealer is obligated to make any improvements on the lot. For more information see G.L. c. 62C, sec. 32A (b) and I.R.C. sec. 453(I)(2)(B).

If you are a partner in a partnership or a shareholder in an S corporation, the entity is required to send you the information you need to calculate the addition to tax under this provision.

To the extent practicable, Massachusetts follows federal income tax rules in determining the deferred gain from installment sales subject to the interest-charge addition to tax. For more information, visit DOR's website at mass.gov/dor and Internal Revenue Service Publication 537.

#### Line 10

Corporations which are not members of a combined group filing a combined report enter the amount from the Credit Manager Schedule, Part 1, totals of column (f), and enclose any required schedules showing the calculation of the individual credits taken on Form 355S. Corporations which are members of a combined group and which are taking credits against excise shown on this return must complete the Credit Manager Schedule but should not duplicate schedules previously attached to Form 355U.

#### Line 12

If the corporation is a member of a combined group filing a combined report, enter the amount from this corporation's Schedule U-ST, line 41. Corporations which are not members of a combined group enter "0."

#### Line 13

Corporations taxable under M.G.L. Ch. 63, sec. 32D and 39 are subject to a minimum excise of \$456. If the corporation is a member of a combined group, it must file a combined report and its income measure of excise is determined on Schedule U-ST, line 41 and not on Form 355 or 355S. If the member's own income measure of excise from Schedule U-ST, line 41 (as referenced on line 12 above) is greater than or equal to \$456, enter "0" on line 12. Otherwise, subtract the amount on line 8 from \$456 and enter the result on line 13. If the corporation is not part of a combined group, enter \$456 on line 13.

#### Line 15

Any corporation that wishes to contribute any amount to the Natural Heritage and Endangered Species Fund may do so on this form. This amount is added to the excise due. It increases the amount of the corporation's payment or reduces the amount of its refund.

#### Line 20

Enter the amount of any withholding tax from pass-through entities. This is the amount of withholding from all Schedules 3K-1, lines 36 and 38 that the corporation has received.

#### Line 27

The following penalties may apply:

#### Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax

An additional charge may be imposed on corporations which underpay their estimated taxes or fail to pay estimated taxes. Form M-2220, Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated Tax by Corporations, should be used to compute any underpayment penalty.

#### Penalty for Failure to File

The penalty for failure to file a tax return by the due date is 1% of the tax due per month (or fraction thereof), up to a maximum of 25%.

#### **Penalty for Late Payment**

The penalty for failure to pay the total payment due with this form is 1% of the tax due per month (or fraction thereof), up to a maximum of 25%.

Any corporation which fails to pay its tax when due will be subject to interest charges.

#### Line 29

Enter the total payment due. Checks for this amount should be made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Checks should have the corporation's Federal Identification number written in the lower left corner.

#### **Privacy Act Notice**

The Privacy Act Notice is available upon request or at mass.gov/dor.

#### **Tax Matters Partner**

An S corporation shall designate a Tax Matters Partner. The Tax Matters Partner must be a shareholder. If the S corporation does not designate a Tax Matters Partner, the Tax Matters Partner shall be the shareholder having the largest number of voting shares in the S corporation at the close of the year involved, unless shareholders holding an aggregate of more than 50% of the S corporations designate a different Tax Matters Partner. If designate

nation based upon the largest voting shares is impracticable, the Commissioner shall select an interim Tax Matters Partner, pending selection of a Tax Matters Partner by the entity, and shall notify Notice Members of the selection.

#### **Signature**

When the form is complete, it must be signed by the treasurer or assistant treasurer or, in their absence or incapacity, by any other principal corporate officer. The Social Security number of the signing officer should be entered next to the date the return was signed. If you are filling as an authorized delegate of the appropriate corporate officer, check the box in the signature section and enclose a copy of Massachusetts Form M-2848, Power of Attorney. The form must also be signed by any paid preparer of the form. The form should be mailed to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7025, Boston, MA 02204.

# Schedule M-1 Federal Reconciliation

Schedule M-1 reports the taxpayer's current year net income and expenses as they are or would be shown on U.S. Form 1120, lines 1 through 28, in calculating gross income under the provisions of the U.S. IRC and the deductions allowable in calculating net income under the code.

Schedule M-1 must be filed by all S corporations required to complete Schedule E. S corporations with receipts of less than \$6 million on an annualized basis also are not required to file Schedule M-1.

Corporations reporting their income on Form 355U as part of a combined group that file Schedule U-M with that combined report are not required to file Schedule M-1.

S corporations, if required to file Schedule M-1, must complete and file Schedule M-1 as if they were a C corporation.