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December 10, 2015

Charles Max Ams

Finn & Stone, Inc.

377 Center Hill

P.O. Box 1210

Manchester Center, VT 05255

RE: Finn & Stone, Inc. - SIU Investigation Case No. 9159
Dear Mr. Ams:

| represent the Massachusetts Division of Insurance (“Division”) with regard to the above-captioned
investigation. The Division has cause to believe that Finn & Stone, Inc. (“F&S”) violated the
Massachusetts insurance laws as set forth below.

According to Division licensing records, F&S allowed its Massachusetts business entity insurance
producer license to lapse on March 3, 2015 and sold insurance in Massachusetts from that time until
a new business entity insurance producer license was processed on August 25, 2015. The Division
alleges that F&S wrote or renewed nine Massachusetts insurance policies during the unlicensed
period, resulting in premiums of $9611.00 and commissions of $1549.25. F&S informed the
Division that its license lapsed due to an oversight.

The Division alleges that F&S committed at least nine violations of M.G.L. ¢.175, § 175. The
penalty for each violation is a fine of not less than ten nor more than one hundred dollars. The
Division also alleges that each violation of M.G.L. c. 175, § 175 is a violation of M.G.L. c. 175,
8162R(a)(2). The penalty for each violation of M.G.L. c. 175, § 162R(a)(2) is a fine of not more
than $1,000.00 pursuant to M.G.L. c. 176D, 8§ 7 and having the Agency’s Massachusetts business
entity insurance producer license placed on probation, suspended or revoked.

The Division is authorized to issue an order requiring F&S to show cause why it should not be
made to cease and desist from the above-alleged conduct. |If, after a public hearing, the
Commissioner of Insurance finds that F&S did commit the alleged violations, F&S may be
liable for fines up to the amounts listed above and having its Massachusetts business entity
insurance producer license placed on probation, suspended or revoked.



The Division proposes to resolve this matter through a settlement if F&S agrees to waive the
right to a public hearing, agrees to cease and desist from the above-alleged conduct, and to pay
a fine of $450.00. If F&S chooses to accept the Division’s offer, please have an authorized
individual sign this settlement letter where indicated below, and return it to my attention along
with a check made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts on or before January 4,
2016

The Division considers the acceptance of this settlement to constitute a reportable
administrative event which should be included on F&S’s next Massachusetts license renewal
application. This event may also need to be reported to any other state in which F&S is
licensed. This Agreement shall be construed under and governed by the laws of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

If this matter is not resolved by January 4, 2016, the Division will file its Order to Show Cause and
will notify F&S of the hearing date in accordance with applicable statutory notice requirements and
procedures.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Should you have any questions or wish to
discuss this matter further, please contact me at (617) 521-7364.

Sincerely,

Mary Ellen Thompson

Counsel to the Commissioner
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Division of Insurance

1000 Washington Street, Suite 810
Boston, Massachusetts 02118

Signed: Authorized Representative of: By: Mary Ellen Thompson
Finn & Stone, Inc. Counsel to the Commissioner
Name:

Signature:

Title:

Date: Date:




