

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation DIVISION OF INSURANCE

1000 Washington St. • Boston, MA 02118 (617) 521-7794 • FAX (617) 521-7475 TTY/TDD (617) 521-7490 http://www.mass.gov/doi

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR JAY ASH SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

JOHN C. CHAPMAN UNDERSECRETARY

DANIEL R. JUDSON COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

<u>3rd request</u> June 17, 2015

Eugene C. Eagan 111 Fitzroy Drive #201 Hingham, MA 02043

Re: SIU Investigation No. 8776

Dear Mr. Eagan:

I represent the Massachusetts Division of Insurance ("Division") with regard to the above captioned investigation.

The Division has reviewed your Massachusetts application for individual insurance producer license signed on September 28, 2012. The Division is investigating your answer of "No" to Question 1 on the application which states (in part): "Have you ever been convicted of a crime, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a crime?" As you are aware, you have been convicted multiple times including, but not limited to: October 2001, Lynn District Court and September 1993, Brighton Municipal Court/BMC.

The Division alleges that the failure to accurately answer the application question is a violation of M.G.L. c.175, §162R (a)(1) and M.G.L. c.176D, §2. Pursuant to M.G.L. c.176D, §7, such conduct may result in a fine up to \$1,000 for each and every act or practice, as well as the suspension or revocation of your individual insurance producer license.

The Division is authorized to issue an order requiring you to show cause why you should not be made to cease and desist from the above-alleged conduct. If, after a public hearing, the Commissioner of Insurance finds that you did commit the alleged violations, you may be subject to fines, as well as the suspension or revocation of your insurance license.

At this time, the Division proposes to resolve this matter through a settlement if you agree to waive your right to a hearing in this matter, agree to cease and desist from the above-alleged conduct and agree to pay a fine of \$500. This will be a reportable administrative action.

If you choose to accept the Division's offer, please sign this settlement letter where provided below and return to my attention, together with a check made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, no later than June 30, 2015.

This correspondence does not constitute the required statutory notice of a hearing. However, if this matter is not resolved by June 30, 2015, the Division will proceed to an Order to Show Cause and will notify you of the hearing date.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss this matter further, I may be reached at (617) 521-7389.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Kelly, Esq. Counsel to the Commissioner

SIGNED:

DATE:_____