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Susan M. Allen
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Re: SIU No. 8855
Susan M. Allen

Dear Ms. Allen:

I represent the Massachusetts Division of Insurance (“Division”) with reference to
the above referenced matter. | am in receipt of your letters dated January 6 and January
14, 2014 to Investigator Sandra Pearson of the Division. Kindly direct all future
correspondence to my attention.

The Division has reviewed various documents with regard to your interactions
with certain policy owners and an insurance producer from Symetra Life Insurance
Company (“Symetra”). As you are aware, Symetra terminated your appointment with the
company in October 2013 based on their finding that you placed multiple telephone calls
on various dates in 2012 and 2013 to Symetra whereby you impersonated various owners
of Symetra annuity contracts and a Symetra appointed agent.

Based upon the Division’s investigation, it appears that you have violated the
following Massachusetts insurance laws:



M.G.L. c. 175, § 162R(a)

(7) having admitted or been found to have committed any insurance unfair
trade practice or fraud.

(8) using fraudulent, coercive or dishonest practices, or demonstrating
incompetence, untrustworthiness or financial irresponsibility in the
conduct of business in the commonwealth or elsewhere.

The penalty for each and every violation of M.G.L. c. 175, 8 162R(a) is a fine of
not more than $1,000 pursuant to M.G. L. ¢.176D, § 7 and having the insurance producer
license placed on probation, suspended or revoked.

M.G.L. c. 176D, § 2 — prohibits unfair methods of competition and unfair
or deceptive acts or practices in the business of insurance in Massachusetts. The penalty
for each violation is a fine of not more than $ 1,000.

The Division is authorized to issue an order requiring you to show cause why you
should not be made to cease and desist from the above-alleged conduct. If, after a public
hearing, the Commissioner finds that you did commit the alleged violations, you may be
liable for fines up to the amounts listed above and subject to having your Massachusetts
insurance producer license placed on probation, suspended or revoked.

The Division proposes to resolve this matter through a settlement if you agree to
cease and desist from the above alleged-conduct, agree to waive your right to a hearing,
and agree to pay a fine of $ 3,000.00

If you choose to accept the Division’s offer please sign this settlement letter
where provided below and return it to my attention, together with a check made payable
to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, no later than May 22, 2015. This will be a
reportable administrative action.

Although this correspondence does not constitute the required statutory notice of
a public hearing, if this matter is not resolved by May 22, 2015, the Division intends to
file an Order to Show Cause and will notify you of the hearing date.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions or
wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at (617) 521-7389.



Sincerely,

Robert J. Kelly
Counsel to the Commissioner

SIGNED:
Susan M. Allen

DATE:




