

Massachusetts Department of Revenue

Form M-2220 Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated Tax by Corporations

2016

Enclose this form with your return. Please print in ink or type.

Name of corporation		Federal Identification number						
	e of return filed (fill in one only): 355 \bigcirc 355U \bigcirc 355S \bigcirc Other							
Fig 1	guring your underpayment. See instructions. (from Form 355, line 11 or Form 355S, line 14). Com enter total excise due from return. Form 355U filers e voluntary contributions included in that amount	nmercial banks, insurance enter the amount from S	chedule CG, Part 1, li	ne 1 reduced by any				
2	Enter 90% of line 1							
3	Enter 90% of 2016 tax using 2015 income apportion							
4	Enter 2015 tax (from 2015 Form 355, line 11; 2015 Form 355S, line 14; or 2015 Form SBC, line 6). Large corporations or short taxable year corporations, see instructions. If 2015 return not filed, leave blank							
5	Enter line 2, 3 or 4, whichever is smallest							
6	Enter in col's. a through d (respectively) the in- stallment dates of the 15th day of the 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12th months of your taxable year6	a.	b.	c.	d.			
7	Enter in col. a line $5 \times 40\%$ Enter in col. b line $5 \times 25\%$ Enter in col. c line $5 \times 25\%$ Enter in col. d line $5 \times 10\%$							
8	 ○ Fill in if you are a new corporation. Amount paid or credited for each period							
	Overpayment of previous installment							
	Total. Add lines 8 and 9 10							
11	Overpayment. Subtract line 7 from line 10 11							
12	Underpayment. Subtract line 10 from line 7 12							
_								

Complete reverse to calculate underpayment penalty.



Name of corporation

FORM M-2220, PAGE 2

Federal Identification number

juring your underpayment penalty		a.	b.	с.	d.
er same installment dates used in line 6					
Amount of underpayment from line 12	13				
Enter the date of payment or the 15th day of the 3rd month after the close of the taxable year, whichever is earlier	. 14				
Number of days from due date of installment to the date shown in line 14	. 15				
Number of days in line 15 after 3/15/16 and before 4/1/16.	. 16				
Number of days in line 15 after 3/31/16 and before 7/1/16	. 17				
Number of days in line 15 after 6/30/16 and before 10/1/16	. 18				
Number of days in line 15 after 9/30/16 and before 1/1/17	. 19				
Number of days in line 15 after 12/31/16 and before 4/1/17	. 20				
Number of days in line 15 after 3/31/17 and before 7/1/17	. 21				
Number of days in line 15 after 6/30/17 and before 10/1/17	. 22				
Number of days in line 15 after 9/30/17 and before 1/1/18	. 23				
Number of days in line 15 after 12/31/17 and before 2/16/18	. 24				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 16 ÷ 365) × 4%	. 25				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 17 ÷ 365) × 5%	. 26				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 18 ÷ 365) × 5%	. 27				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 19 ÷ 365) × 5%	. 28				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 20 ÷ 365) × 5%	. 29				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 21 ÷ 365) × 5%	30				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 22 ÷ 365) × 5%	.31				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 23 ÷ 365) × 5%	32				
Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days in line 24 ÷ 365) × 5%	. 33				
				•	

General Information

Who should use this form. Corporations taxed under Ch. 63 of the Massachusetts General Laws should use Form M-2220 to determine whether they paid the correct amount of estimated tax by the proper due date. If not, a penalty may be imposed on the underpayment amount.

Note: If you are claiming a refundable film credit on your return, you are not subject to the underpayment penalty. Do not file this form.

Short year. Corporations are liable for estimated payments even if there was no return filed for 2015 or if a return filed for 2015 was for less than 12 months. Corporations meeting either of these conditions should enter the smaller of lines 2 or 3 in line 5. See Massachusetts Regulation 830 CMR 63B.2.2 for additional information.

Large corporation. Any corporation having \$1 million or more of federal taxable income in any of its three preceding taxable years (IRC Sec. 6655(g)) may only use its prior year tax liability to calculate its first quarterly estimated payment. Any reduction in the first installment payment must be added to the second installment payment.

Note: New corporations in their first full taxable year with less than 10 employees have lower payment percentages — 30-25-20%; 55-25-20%; and 80-20%. New corporations should check the box in line 7 and use these percentage amounts to complete line 7.

Commercial banks, insurance companies and public service companies. Enter in line 1 the Total Excise Due amount from the return being filed. Also, if an underpayment penalty is due, show this amount in the bottom margin of page 1 of your respective return as "underpayment penalty" and increase your total payment due or decrease excess payment to be refunded.

Line Instructions

Line 3. Multiply 2016 income measure of excise and non-income measure of excise (tangible property or taxable net worth) by 2015 apportionment factor. Then multiply the result by 2015 tax rate. Multiply that result by .90 (90%) and enter the result on line 3.

Lines 7 through 12. To determine the underpayment amount, complete lines 7 through 12 for each appropriate column. If line 11 shows an overpayment, that overpayment may first be used as a payment of any existing underpayment amount. Overpayments used as payments of prior underpayment amounts do not decrease the actual underpayment amount but serve to reduce instead the period of underpayment subject to penalty. If there are no existing underpayment amounts, the overpayment is applied as a credit against the next installment. If more than one payment is made for a given installment, attach separate computations for each payment.