

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation DIVISION OF INSURANCE

1000 Washington Street • Suite 810 • Boston, MA 02118-6200 (617) 521-7794 • FAX (617) 521-7475 http://www.mass.gov/doi

> JAY ASH SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

JOHN C. CHAPMAN UNDERSECRETARY

DANIEL R. JUDSON COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

May 18, 2016

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

<u>via email</u>

Darren Cohen Hiram Cohen & Son, Inc. 486 Willis Ave. Williston Park, NY 11596

Re: SIU No. 9227

Dear Mr. Cohen:

The Massachusetts Division of Insurance ("Division") has cause to believe that Hiram Cohen & Son ("HCS") has violated Massachusetts insurance laws. On January 9, 2013 the Florida Department of Financial Services finalized a consent order with HCS. HCS reported the Florida administrative action to the Division on or about May 31, 2013.

Pursuant to M.G.L c. 175, §162V (a): "A producer shall report to the commissioner any administrative action taken against the producer in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency in the commonwealth within 30 days of the final disposition of the matter. This report shall include a copy of the order, consent order or other relevant legal documents."

The Division alleges that the failure to report the above administrative action within 30 days constitutes violations of M.G.L. c.175, §162V (a). Pursuant to this statute and M.G.L. c.175, §194, the Commissioner of Insurance may, after a hearing, levy a fine of up to \$500 for each violation.

In addition, the Division alleges that the above conduct also constitutes violations of M.G.L. c.175, §162R (a)(2). This statute authorizes the Commissioner of Insurance, after a public hearing, to revoke or suspend the insurance license of any producer and authorizes a fine of up to \$1,000 for each violation of any insurance law, regulation, subpoena or order of the Commissioner or of another state's insurance commissioner.

The Division is authorized to issue an order requiring HCS to show cause why it should not be made to cease and desist from the alleged conduct. If, after a public hearing, the Commissioner finds HCS did commit the alleged violations, HCS may be liable for fines up to the amount listed above. At this time, the Division proposes to settle this matter if HCS agrees to waive its right to a hearing, cease and desist from the above-alleged conduct and agrees to pay a fine in the amount of \$500. This will be a reportable administrative action. If these terms are acceptable to HCS, please sign below and return this settlement letter to my attention no later than May 27, 2016, together with a check payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Although this correspondence does not constitute the required statutory notice of a hearing, should this matter not be settled by May 27, 2016, the Division will proceed to file an Order to Show Cause, and notify you of the hearing date.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at (617) 521-7389.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Kelly, Esq. Counsel to the Commissioner

SIGNED:_____

DATE: _____