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This report was prepared by the Massachusetts Division of Insurance (the “Division”) in 

consultation with the Transportation Network Company Division (the “TNCD”).  The report is 

based primarily on data reported to the Division. 

 

The Division makes all appropriate efforts to check the completeness and consistency of 

data reported. 
 

Annual Reports 
 

On August 5, 2016, An Act Regulating Transportation Network Companies (St. 2016, c. 187) 

was enacted, adding to the Massachusetts General Laws (“M.G.L.”) provisions related to the 

regulation of entities that use a digital network to connect riders to drivers to pre-arrange and 

provide transportation.  One of these provisions, M.G.L. c. 175, § 228(i), requires the Division, 

in consultation with the TNCD to produce an annual report concerning the coverage minimums 

required for transportation network vehicles during the period of time where the transportation 

network driver is logged onto the digital network but is not engaged in a pre-arranged ride; this is 

commonly referred to as “phase one.”  

 

By statute, the Division’s report must include: (1) an examination, based on actuarial data, of 

whether the existing coverage requirements provide adequate protection for riders, transportation 

network drivers and the general public; (2) whether it is presently feasible for a transportation 

network company to obtain an insurance policy providing coverage of $1,000,000 per 

occurrence, per vehicle during the relevant time period; (3) if such a policy is available, whether 

the coverage minimums should be raised so that all transportation network vehicles carry 

$1,000,000 of coverage per occurrence, per vehicle, at all times while operating as a 

transportation network company; (4) whether a strategy can be developed to raise the coverage 

requirements during this period through the use of admitted motor vehicle insurance carries, the 

surplus lines market and technological innovations in the insurance industry such as the use of 

telematics to improve risk assessment; and (5) any recommended action by the Division, the 

TNCD, the legislature or other government entity that would encourage the insurance market to 

provide policies with higher insurance limits while transportation network companies are not 

engaged in a pre-arranged ride.     

 

It is important to note that M.G.L. c. 175, § 228 became effective in November 2016.  The 

requirement that the Division draft and submit a report on coverage minimums for transportation 

network vehicles was instituted four months before the deadline for this first annual report.  The 

legislation requires the TNCD to promulgate regulations by November 13, 2017.  As such, there 

is limited data and information at this time.  As the market for transportation network companies 

evolves, more information and data will emerge. 
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Background 
 

There are three phases to a transportation network company (“TNC”) transaction.  Phase one is 

when the driver is logged onto the TNC digital network but has not been matched with a rider.  

Phase two is when the driver has accepted a match with a rider and is en route to pick up the 

rider.  Phase three is when the rider is in the car until the termination of the ride.  This report 

focuses on the minimum insurance coverages required for transportation network vehicles during 

the period of time where the transportation network driver is logged onto the digital network but 

is not engaged in a pre-arranged ride, i.e. phase one.   

 

There are different insurance coverage requirements for each phase, pursuant to M.G.L. c. 175, 

§ 228.   

 

Coverage Type Minimum 

Bodily Injury to Others $50,000 per person 

$100,000 per accident 

Damage to Someone Else’s Property $30,000 per accident 

Personal Injury Protection $8,000 per person, per accident 

Bodily Injury Caused by Uninsured Auto $20,000 per person 

$40,000 per accident 

 

Coverage Type Minimum 

Bodily Injury to Others $1,000,000 per vehicle, per 

accident 

Damage to Someone Else’s Property $1,000,000 per vehicle, per 

accident 

Personal Injury Protection $8,000 per person, per accident 

Bodily Injury Caused by Uninsured Auto $20,000 per person 

$40,000 per accident 

 

Auto insurance policies are broken up into different coverages.  Some coverages are 

“compulsory”, meaning they are required by statute.  Each compulsory coverage has a minimum 

coverage requirement.  There are four compulsory coverages.  Bodily Injury to Others coverage1 

pays claims for injuries that the insured (drivers listed on the policy and others driving the car 

with permission) causes to someone else.  Personal Injury Protection2 pays for treating injuries to 

the insured and passengers [in the insured’s car].  Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto3 

coverage reimburses the policyholder if an uninsured or a hit-and-run driver hits an insured.   

Damage to Someone Else’s Property4 coverage pays claims for damage caused by the insured to 

someone else’s car or to objects and structures the policyholder’s insured’s car hits. 

 

                                                 
1 M.G.L. c. 90, § 34A 
2 M.G.L. c. 90, § 34A 
3 M.G.L. c. 175, § 113L 
4 M.G.L. c. 90, § 34O 

Phase 

One 

Phases 

Two & 

Three 
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Below are the minimum compulsory coverage requirements for private passenger motor vehicle 

in the Commonwealth. 

 

Coverage Type Minimum 

Bodily Injury to Others $20,000 per person 

$40,000 per accident 

Damage to Someone Else’s Property $5,000 per accident 

Personal Injury Protection $8,000 per person, per accident 

Bodily Injury Caused by Uninsured Auto $20,000 per person 

$40,000 per accident 

 

Other coverages are available to an insured on an optional basis, such as: optional bodily injury 

to others (which increases bodily injury coverage to cover injuries to guest occupants and for 

accidents that happen outside of Massachusetts), medical payments (payments for reasonable and 

necessary medical and funeral services incurred because of an accident), and bodily injury 

caused by an underinsured auto (covers damages caused by someone who does not have enough 

insurance to pay for the damages s/he caused).  Coverage is also available for substitute 

transportation, towing and labor, collision, limited collision, comprehensive.  Comprehensive 

covers one’s own auto from damage due to “acts of God” or other non-collision damage, 

including damage to vehicle glass.  Collision and limited collision cover one’s own auto from 

damage caused while you or a permitted driver was operating the vehicle.  

 

Adequacy of Existing Coverage Requirements 
 

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 175, § 228(c), a transportation network driver is required to have the 

following insurance coverage during phase one: 

 

Coverage Type Minimum 

Bodily Injury to Others $50,000 per person 

$100,000 per accident 

Damage to Someone Else’s Property $30,000 per accident 

Personal Injury Protection $8,000 per person, per accident 

Bodily Injury Caused by Uninsured Auto $20,000 per person 

$40,000 per accident 

 

The statute permits this insurance to be provided by a driver’s personal auto policy or by the 

transportation network company.  At this time, most personal auto policies will not cover a 

driver while the transportation network company application (“app”) is on. There is no 

requirement for transportation network company insurance policies to provide comprehensive or 

collision coverage.  As the driver’s vehicle is used as a livery service while being driven as a 

TNC vehicle, personal auto policies may not cover collision or comprehensive damage that 

occurs while the vehicle is being used as a TNC vehicle.  A majority of financing institutions 

require a buyer or lessor to have specific insurance coverage, including collision and 

comprehensive.   

 

Phase 

One 



Massachusetts Division of Insurance 

 

  3 

At this time, there is insufficient data available for an actuarial examination to assist in 

determining whether existing coverage requirements provide adequate protection for riders, 

transportation network drivers, or the general public. In the future, the Division intends to 

request data from transportation network companies and insurance providers, as well as TNCD 

and the Merit Rating Board.   

 

Feasibility of Obtaining Coverage during Phase One 

 

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 175, § 228, transportation network drivers are required to have coverage 

amounting to at least $50,000 per individual for bodily injury and $100,000 per accident for 

bodily injury during phase one.  Additionally, drivers must have coverage of $30,000 for 

property damage, $8,000 for Personal Injury Protection, and $20,000/$40,000 for Bodily Injury 

Caused by an Uninsured Auto.  The law permits this coverage to be held by the transportation 

network driver, the TNC, or a combination of the two.  Currently, this coverage is primarily 

provided by the transportation network companies through surplus lines.5  Pursuant to M.G.L. 

c. 159A½, § 5, each TNC must disclose to its transportation network drivers the types of 

coverage and limits for each type that is provided by the TNC to a driver while providing 

transportation network services and must also inform the drivers that their personal auto policies 

may not provide coverage. 

 

Most personal auto policies do not currently cover drivers during any phases.  In calendar year 

2016, United Services Automobile Association (“USAA”) was the only company that had an 

endorsement available for use in the Commonwealth by drivers.6  Other insurance companies 

offer endorsements and separate policies in other states.  The Division anticipates additional 

products entering the market in the Commonwealth in the future, including through admitted 

companies.7  

 

Raising Coverage Requirements for All Phases 

 

At this time, there is insufficient data available to determine if the coverage minimums should be 

changed, or whether changes would be cost-prohibitive.  

 

Strategy for Raising Coverage Requirements during Phase One 

 

At this time, there is not sufficient data available to develop a strategy or provide justification for 

raising the coverage requirements for phase one.  The Division cannot require auto insurance 

carriers to cover transportation network drivers through their personal auto policies.  The 

majority of current policies do not cover drivers while they are using their cars for business, i.e. 

driving for a transportation network company.  In order for a carrier to cover an insured’s 

activities while driving for a TNC, the carrier will have to file an endorsement or a new policy 

                                                 
5 Surplus lines insurance provides coverage through approved companies when coverage is not offered by an in-state 

licensed (admitted) insurer.  Compulsory auto insurance cannot be obtained on a surplus lines basis. M.G.L. c. 175, 

§ 168. 
6 USAA limits membership to military members and their families.  
7 The Commerce Insurance Company (“Commerce”) received approval from the Division to offer a TNC 

endorsement as of May 1, 2017. 
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form with the Division for approval.  Once an endorsement is approved, a driver may add this 

endorsement to their policy for an increased premium.8   

 

Other strategies such as telematics and technological innovations remain relatively new to the 

insurance industry.  Telematics involves the integrated use of telecommunications for application 

in vehicles to more closely align driving behaviors with premium rates.  The monitoring of driver 

behavior is accomplished by odometer readings and in-vehicle telecommunication devices that 

are usually self-installed into a special vehicle port or already integrated in original equipment 

installed by car manufacturers.  How telematics will interplay with TNCs will continue to be 

explored as technology expands.  The Division will continue to monitor the use of telematics and 

its reliability within the market.  

 

Recommended Actions 

 

As the new statute is implemented, it is expected that insurers will begin to file endorsements 

and policy forms with the Division that cover TNC activities, including phase one. The Division 

will continue to monitor developments in the industry and is a participant in the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners’ Sharing Economy Working Group, which studies and 

makes recommendations about regulatory issues related to the sharing economy, including 

transportation sharing, and develops documentation on best practices for addressing insurance 

coverage issues related to the sharing economy.  

                                                 
8 As of the writing of this report, the Division has approved endorsements submitted by USAA and Commerce for 

transportation network drivers. 


