

Commonwealth of Massachusetts DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Charles D. Baker, Governor 🔶 Karyn E. Polito, Lt. Governor 🔶 Chrystal Kornegay, Undersecretary

# **Public Housing Notice 2017-02**

To:	Local Housing Authorities
From:	Sarah Glassman, Associate Director, Division of Public Housing & Rental Assistance
Date:	January 11, 2017
Subject:	Regional Capital Assistance Team (RCAT) Advisory Board Election Results (For those LHAs that are not participating in the RCAT program please disregard this notice)

As a follow up to Public Housing Notice # 2016-19 and # 2016-31,

(http://www.mass.gov/hed/docs/dhcd/ph/publicnotices/2016-19.pdf) and, (http://www.mass.gov/hed/docs/dhcd/ph/publicnotices/s-111percussiondonotdelete-2016-31.pdf),

this Public Housing Notice is to announce the results of the Elections for the Regional Capital Assistance Team (RCAT) Advisory Board members.

The period for Nominations for RCAT Advisory Board members occurred between June 17, 2016 and September 30, 2016 and is now closed.

The period for Elections for RCAT Advisory Board members occurred between October 17, 2016 and December 2, 2016 and is now closed.

Pursuant to the RCAT Guidelines, (<u>http://www.mass.gov/hed/docs/dhcd/ph/publicnotices/2016-14-1.pdf</u>) and (<u>http://www.mass.gov/hed/docs/dhcd/ph/publicnotices/2016-14-2.pdf</u>)</u>, and pending promulgated regulations, the following Local Housing Authority (LHA) Board members have been elected as members of the RCAT Advisory Board in their participating Region:

## Region 1-Central-West RCAT Advisory Board (Host Housing Authority: Leominster)

- 1. Linda Byrne, Fitchburg Housing Authority
- 2. Judy Cezeaux, Wilbraham Housing Authority
- 3. Sharon Cottrell, Franklin County Regional Housing Authority
- 4. Elisabeth Earle, Sterling Housing Authority
- 5. Cedric Flower, Charlton Housing Authority
- 6. Fred Johnson, Clinton Housing Authority
- 7. Rita Maccini, Shelburne Housing Authority
- 8. John O'Brien, Northbridge Housing Authority
- 9. Michael Sullivan, Charlton Housing Authority

## Region 2-Northeast RCAT Advisory Board (Host Housing Authority: Chelmsford)

- 1. Cheryl Amey, Newburyport Housing Authority
- 2. Richard Eifler, Concord Housing Authority
- 3. Carol Ford, Billerica Housing Authority
- 4. Bartlett Harvey, Littleton Housing Authority
- 5. Richard Howard, Burlington Housing Authority
- 6. Karen Hughey, Needham Housing Authority
- 7. Nancy Kolb, Acton Housing Authority
- 8. Brooks Lyman, Groton Housing Authority
- 9. Denise Marcaurelle, Chelmsford Housing Authority

## Region 3-Southeast RCAT Advisory Board (Host Housing Authority: Taunton)

- 1. Adam Brothers, Canton Housing Authority
- 2. Michael Collins, Scituate Housing Authority
- 3. Albion Fletcher Jr., Braintree Housing Authority
- 4. Rick Leco, North Attleborough Housing Authority
- 5. Melissa Phillips, Mashpee Housing Authority
- 6. Krisanne Sheedy, Easton Housing Authority
- 7. Annie St. John Joseph, Randolph Housing Authority
- 8. Mark Teehan, Franklin Housing Authority
- 9. Michael Young, Norton Housing Authority

In addition to the 9 elected LHA Board members, there is also an HHA appointed member, a DHCD appointed member, and a DHCD designee, for each RCAT Region. These members are identified below:

#### Region 1

HHA Appointee: Marcel Leger, Leominster Housing Authority
DHCD Appointee: Carole Williams, WinnCompanies
DHCD Department Designee: Amy Stitely
<u>Region 2</u>
HHA Appointee: Gail Beaudoin, Chelmsford Housing Authority
DHCD Appointee: Doreen Donovan, Peabody Properties, Inc.
DHCD Department Designee: Roberta Strongin
<u>Region 3</u>
HHA Appointee: Lillian Ricketts, Taunton Housing Authority
DHCD Appointee: Diana Kelly, Maloney Properties, Inc.
DHCD Department Designee: Rick Brouillard

## Notification to RCAT Advisory Board members

Formal written notification letters will be sent out to all advisory board members as follows:

- 1. Elected RCAT Advisory Board members: Letters will come from DHCD.
- 2. HHA appointed RCAT Advisory Board members: Letters will come from the respective HHA.
- 3. DHCD appointed RCAT Advisory Board members: Letters will come from DHCD.

In the meantime, participating LHA Executive Directors may share these election results with their board members.

#### **Term of Advisory Board Members**

Each RCAT Advisory Board member shall serve a term of 3 years. There is no limit on the number of terms for which a member may be re-elected. Advisory Board Nominations and Elections shall be held every 3 years or as necessary to accommodate the evolution of the RCAT program. The term is not predicted to expire until after June 30, 2019.

#### **Advisory Board Meetings**

The HHA director shall convene quarterly meetings in accordance with Section 26C of Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 121B, pending regulations, and RCAT Program Guidelines. The first meeting for each RCAT Advisory Board shall take place not later than 60 calendar days following this announcement.

RCAT Advisory Board Meetings shall be held in a fully accessible location and conducted in accordance with DHCD regulations. Participating LHAs and their Local Tenant Organizations (LTOs) will be given at least 3-weeks' notice of all meeting times and locations.

#### Advisory Board role

The Advisory Board makes recommendations and provides important information and feedback to the program administrators from the local level. However, the Advisory Board does not have formal authority to govern the program. Final decisions regarding matters of operation, coordination, policy, and performance will reside with the RCAT, HHA, and DHCD.

Each advisory board member will act as a liaison and representative for LHA tenants, staff, and boards in the region.

On behalf of the RCATs and DHCD, thank you and congratulations to all of the elected Board members. Your continued dedication to the mission of local public housing and willingness to be an active part of this new program are greatly appreciated. The RCATs and DHCD look forward to the opportunity to ensure that this new program is a positive change and aids the LHA in its ongoing operations.

If you have any questions please contact Rick Brouillard at <u>richard.brouillard@state.ma.us</u> .