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Steven B. DeMaranville
19 Essex St.
Amesbury, MA 01913

Re: SIU Investigation No. 9163

Dear Mr. DeMaranville:

Please be advised that I represent the Massachusetts Division of Insurance (“Division™)
with respect to the above investigation.

According to court records on May 4, 2015 you were charged with OUI 3" offense,
leaving the scene of property damage and operating with a suspended license in Newburyport
District Court. You were sentenced on May 27, 2015. The Division was not notified of this
criminal prosecution.

Pursuant to M.G.L. ¢. 175, §162V(b): “Within 30 days of the initial pretrial hearing date,
a producer shall report to the commissioner any criminal prosecution of the producer taken in
any jurisdiction. The report shall include a copy of the initial complaint filed, the order resulting
from the hearing and any other relevant legal documents.”

The Division alleges that your failure to report the above criminal matter constitutes a
violation of M.G.L. ¢.175, §162V(b). Pursuant to this statute and M.G.L. c. 175, §194, the
Commissioner of Insurance may, after a hearing, levy a fine of up to $500 for each and every
violation.

In addition, the Division alleges that the above conduct also constitutes violations of
M.G.L. ¢.175, §162R(a)(2). This statute authorizes the Commissioner of Insurance, after a public
hearing, to revoke or suspend the insurance license of any producer and authorizes a fine of up to
$1,000 for each violation of any insurance law.

The Division is authorized to issue an order requiring you to show cause why you should
not be made to cease and desist from the above alleged conduct. If, after a public hearing, the



Commissioner finds you did commit the alleged violation, you may be liable for fines up to the
amount listed above.

At this time, the Division proposes to settle this matter informally if you agree to waive
your right to a hearing, pay a fine of $500 and agree to cease and desist from the above-alleged
conduct. This will be a reportable administrative action. If these terms are acceptable to you,
please sign this settlement letter where provided below and return to my attention no later than
October 12, 2016, together with a check payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Although this correspondence does not constitute the required statutory notice of a public
hearing, should this matter not be settled by October 12, 2016, the Division will proceed to file
an Order to Show Cause.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Should you have any questions or wish to
discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at (617) 521-7389.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Kelly
Counsel to the Commissioner
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