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Major 2019 
Tax Changes
Filing Due Dates
Form 2 is due on or before April 15, 2020.

2019 Personal Income Tax Rates
Effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2019, the tax rate on most classes of tax-
able income is changed to 5.05%. The tax rate 
on short-term gains from the sale or exchange 
of capital assets and on long-term gains from the 
sale or exchange of collectibles (after a 50% de-
duction) remains at 12%.

Penalty for Failure to Obtain Health 
Insurance
Massachusetts requires most adults 18 and over 
with access to affordable health insurance to ob-
tain it. In 2019, individuals must be enrolled in 
health insurance policies that meet minimum 
creditable coverage standards defined in regula-
tions adopted by the Commonwealth Health In-
surance Connector Authority (Health Connector).

Individuals who are deemed able to afford health 
insurance but fail to obtain it are subject to pen-
alties In Massachusetts for each month of non-
compliance in the tax year (provided that there is 
no penalty in ,the case of a lapse in coverage of 
63 consecutive days or less). The monthly penal-
ties, which will be imposed through the individ-
ual’s personal income tax return, are set out in 
Technical Information Release (TIR) 19-1 and are 
based on half of the minimum monthly insurance 
premium for which an individual would have qual-
ified through the Health Connector.

Note: For tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 2019, a taxpayer who does not have health in-
surance that meets the federal standard of mini-
mum essential coverage will no longer be subject 
to the federal shared responsibility payment (fed-
eral healthcare penalty).

Schedule HC, Health Care Information, must be 
completed by all full-year and certain part-year 
residents age 18 and over to notify DOR whether 
or not they had health insurance for each month 
of 2019. Taxpayers who did not have coverage 
for all of 2019, or had a gap in coverage of four or 
more consecutive months will need to determine 
if they had access to affordable health insurance 
(through an employer, the government, or on their 
own) using worksheets and tables available for 
this purpose. If it is determined that a taxpayer 
could have afforded health insurance, the tax-
payer has the right to appeal the application of 
the penalty due to hardship by requesting an ap-
peal to the Connector on the Schedule HC.

For more information about the health care re-
form law, including the Department’s regulation at 
830 CMR 111M.2.1, Health Insurance Individual 
Mandate; Personal Income Tax Return Require-
ments, or the Health Connector’s regulation at 
956 CMR 6.00, Determining Affordability for the 
Individual Mandate, see the Health Connector’s 
website at mahealthconnector.org or the Depart-
ment’s website at mass.gov/dor.

Annual Update of Circuit Breaker Tax 
Credit
Taxpayers age 65 or older who own or rent res-
idential property located in Massachusetts are 
allowed a credit equal to the amount by which 
their real estate tax payments, or 25% of the rent 
constituting a real estate tax payment, exceeds 
10% of the taxpayer’s total income, not to exceed 
$1,130. The amount of the credit is subject to 
limitations based on the taxpayer’s total income 
and the assessed value of the real estate, which 
for tax year 2019 must not exceed $808,000. For 
purposes of calculating the credit, total income 
and maximum credit thresholds are adjusted an-
nually. For tax year 2019, an eligible taxpayer’s 
total income cannot exceed $60,000 in the case 
of a single filer who is not a head of household 
filer; $75,000 for a head of household filer; and 
$90,000 for joint filers. In order to qualify for the 
credit, a taxpayer must be age 65 or older and 
must occupy the property as his or her principal 
residence. See TIR 19-13.

Employer-Provided Parking, Transit Pass, 
and Commuter Highway Vehicle Benefits 
Exclusion Amounts
Massachusetts adopts Internal Revenue Code 
(“IRC”) § 132(f) as amended and in effect on Jan-
uary 1, 2005, which excludes from an employ-
ee’s gross income (subject to a monthly maxi-
mum) employer-provided parking, transit pass, 
and commuter highway vehicle transportation 
benefits. For tax year 2019, the IRS has calcu-
lated, based on inflation adjustments contained 
in IRC § 132(f) as effective on January 1, 2005, 
the 2019 monthly exclusion amounts of $265 for 
employer-provided parking and $140 for com-
bined transit pass and commuter highway vehi-
cle transportation benefits. Massachusetts adopts 
these 2019 monthly exclusion amounts as they 
are based on the IRC as effective on January 1, 
2005. See TIR 18-12.

Increase in the Massachusetts Earned 
Income Tax Credit
Effective for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, the amount of the Massachu-
setts EITC an individual may claim is 30% of the 
computed federal credit. For a person who is a 
non-resident for part of the taxable year, the EITC 
will be limited to 30% of the federal credit multi-

plied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the 
number of days in the taxable year the person re-
sided in the Commonwealth and the denominator 
of which is the total number of days in the taxable 
year. For more information see TIR 18-13.

Increase in the Annual Amount of Dairy 
Farm Credits Available
The total cumulative amount of dairy farm credits 
authorized for personal income tax and corporate 
excise purposes was increased from $4,000,000 
annually to $6,000,000 annually. For more infor-
mation see TIR 18-13.

Modifications to the Abandoned Building 
Deduction
Effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2019, the statute no longer requires the 
abandoned buildings be located in “Economic 
Opportunity Areas” designated by the Economic 
Assistance Coordinating Council (“EACC”) to be 
eligible for the abandoned building deduction. 
Instead, the EACC need only “certify” the aban-
doned building project. MGL ch 62, § 3.B(10). For 
more information see TIR 18-13. 

Paid Family and Medical Leave 
Contributions 
Effective October 1, 2019, employers are re-
quired to withhold Paid Family and Medical Leave 
(PFML) contributions from employees and cer-
tain self-employed individuals based on their 
earnings.  PFML contributions will fund PFML 
benefits, which will be available starting January 
1, 2021. For more information about the PFML 
program, including how PFML contributions are 
calculated, see 458 CMR 2.00, and Department of 
Family and Medical Leave’s website at mass.gov/
orgs/department-of-family-and-medical-leave.

Taxation of the Income of Military 
Servicemembers and their Spouses 
The Military Spouses Residency Relief Act 
(“MSRRA”) has been amended by P.L. 115-407, 
enacted December 31, 2018, effective for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2018. The 
amendment adds a new provision to the MSRRA 
that permits the spouse of a servicemember in 
certain circumstances to elect on a year-by-year 
basis to use the servicemember’s state of resi-
dence for purposes of taxation. For further infor-
mation on the Massachusetts implications of the 
federal law, see TIR 19-15.

Changes Related to Federal Tax Reform
As a general rule, Massachusetts does not adopt 
any federal personal income tax law changes in-
corporated into the IRC after January 1, 2005. 
However, certain specific Massachusetts personal 
income tax provisions, as set forth in MGL ch 62, 
§ 1(c), automatically conform to the current IRC. 
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Provisions of the IRC Massachusetts adopts on a 
current basis are:

w Roth IRAs;

w IRAs;

w The exclusion for gain on the sale of a principal

residence;

w Trade or business expenses;

w Travel expenses;

w Meals and entertainment expenses;

w The maximum deferral amount of government

employees’ deferred compensation plans;

w The deduction for health insurance costs of

self-employed taxpayers;

w Medical and dental expenses;

w Annuities;

w Health savings accounts;

w Employer-provided health insurance coverage;

w Amounts received by an employee under a

health and accident plan; and

w Contributions to qualified tuition programs.

See TIRs 98-8, 02-11, 02-18, 07-4 and 09-21 for 
further details.

On December 22, 2017, Public Law 115-97, 
commonly known as the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 
(“TCJA”), was signed into law. The TCJA provides 
for federal changes to a variety of provisions in 
the IRC that affect the personal income tax. The 
following explains some of the Massachusetts 
personal income tax treatment of various changes 
in the TCJA. See mass.gov/dor for DOR’s public 
written guidance on the impact of certain provi-
sions of the TCJA, including TIRs 18-14, 19-6, 
19-7 and 19-11.

Internal Revenue IRC Provisions 
Massachusetts Adopts
Certain Combat Zone Compensation (IRC 
§ 112)
Compensation received by certain military per-
sonnel for services performed in designated com-
bat zones is excluded from federal gross income. 
Under the TCJA, the Sinai Peninsula of Egypt is 
treated as a combat zone as of June 9, 2015 for 
purposes of IRC § 112. Massachusetts adopts 
this change because of the way in which Mass-
achusetts conforms to IRC § 112.

Entertainment Business Expenses (IRC § 
274)
For tax years beginning before 2018, 50% of 
certain entertainment expenses incurred in the 
course of business were deductible. Entertain-
ment expenses are no longer allowed as a fed-

eral deduction. Massachusetts adopts this change 
as Massachusetts follows the current IRC in ef-
fect for trade or business expenses under IRC 
§ 62(a)(1).

Employee Business Expense Deductions 
(IRC § 67(a))
Beginning with the 2018 tax year, miscellaneous 
itemized deductions that are subject to the 2% 
adjusted gross income limitation are suspended. 
Deductions that are suspended include expenses:

w For travel, meals and lodging while away from 
home, or expenses for transportation paid or in-
curred by the taxpayer in connection with the per-
formance of services as an employee; or

w That are attributable to a trade or business car-
ried on by the taxpayer, if such trade or business 
consists of the performance of services by the 
taxpayer as an employee, are no longer allowed 
as federal deductions. Massachusetts adopts 
these changes because Massachusetts does not 
allow these deductions unless they are itemized 
deductions on a federal return under MGL ch 62, 
§ 2(d)(2).

Election to Expense Certain Depreciable 
Business Assets (IRC § 179)
Expense amounts related to depreciable property 
that can be deducted as a trade or business ex-
pense are increased for certain types of property, 
such as sport utility vehicles and real property. 
Massachusetts adopts this change as Massachu-
setts follows the current IRC in effect for trade or 
business expenses under IRC § 62(a)(1).

Interest Expense Deduction Limitations 
(IRC § 163(j))
Beginning with the 2019 tax year, a trade or busi-
ness deduction for net business interest in a given 
taxable year is now limited to 30% of adjusted 
taxable income, and the excess is carried forward. 
Massachusetts adopts this change as Massachu-
setts follows the current IRC in effect for trade or 
business expenses under IRC § 62(a)(1).

Gambling Losses (IRC § 165(d))
The deduction for gambling losses has been 
limited. For tax years beginning before 2018, a 
professional gambler could deduct all trade or 
business expenses incurred in gambling activi-
ties, and could deduct gambling losses up to the 
amount of gambling winnings. Under the TCJA, 
all deductions for both business expenses and 
losses are capped at the amount of winnings. 
Massachusetts adopts this change as Massachu-
setts follows the current IRC in effect for trade or 
business expenses under IRC § 62(a)(1).

Eligible 529 Plan Expenses (IRC § 529)
New provisions allow 529 plan account funds to 
be used for elementary or secondary school ex-

penses, up to $10,000 per year. Massachusetts 
adopts this change as Massachusetts follows the 
current IRC with respect to IRC § 529.

Medical Expenses (IRC § 213)
Taxpayers are allowed a deduction for medi-
cal expenses for amounts that exceed a certain 
percent threshold of their federal adjusted gross 
income. Under the TCJA, the threshold was de-
creased from 10% to 7.5% of federal adjusted 
gross income for the 2017 and 2018 tax years.. 
The deduction is available only to those taxpay-
ers who itemize their deductions. Taxpayers that 
take the standard deduction are not eligible to take 
the deduction for medical expenses. Massachu-
setts adopts this change. Massachusetts allows 
a deduction for medical expenses under MGL ch 
62, § 3B(b)(4) equal to the federal deduction only 
for taxpayers that itemize deductions on a fed-
eral return.

Contributions to Qualified ABLE Programs 
(IRC § 529A)
The TCJA made several changes to IRC § 529A 
including increasing the limitation for contribu-
tions from compensation of individuals with dis-
abilities. Massachusetts adopts these changes as 
Massachusetts follows the current IRC with re-
spect to IRC § 529A.

Inclusion of GILTI in Gross Income; 
Dividend Treatment (IRC § 951A)
The TCJA added new IRC § 951A, which requires 
U.S. individual shareholders of a controlled for-
eign corporation (CFC) to include their pro rata 
share of the CFC’s global intangible low-taxed in-
come (GILTI) in federal gross income each year, 
starting with taxable years beginning after De-
cember 31, 2017. This income is also subject to 
the dividend gross-up rules set out in IRC § 78.  
Massachusetts adopts this change as Massachu-
setts follows the current IRC with respect to IRC 
§ 951A. GILTI income is treated as Part A dividend 
income under MGL ch 62. A taxpayer with GILTI 
income must complete a Schedule FCI-I.

Inclusion of Deemed Repatriated Income 
in Gross Income; Dividend Treatment (IRC 
§ 965)
The TCJA amended IRC § 965 to require CFCs 
and certain other foreign corporations to increase 
their Subpart F income by an amount equal to the 
deferred foreign earnings of the foreign corpora-
tion that has accumulated since 1986 (“deemed 
repatriated income”).  This income is also subject 
to the dividend gross-up rules set out in IRC § 
78. The TCJA imposed a one-time federal transi-
tion tax on the corresponding income inclusion by 
U.S. shareholders. Under IRC § 965(h), a share-
holder may elect to pay the federal net tax liability 
attributable to deemed repatriated income over a 
period of eight years.  Under IRC § 965(i), an S 
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corporation shareholder may elect to defer the tax 
liability attributable to deemed repatriated income 
until the taxable year in which a triggering event 
occurs with respect to the liability. 

Following legislation enacted in 2018 and 2019, 
Massachusetts now follows the current IRC 
with respect to IRC §§ 951, 951A, 959, and 965. 
Deemed repatriated income is treated as Part A 
dividend income under MGL ch 62. For individ-
ual taxpayers, deemed repatriated income will be 
taken into account in the taxable year ending De-
cember 31, 2019, with a deduction equal to 60% 
of such income.

In the case of an individual taxpayer with deemed 
repatriated income who, for federal purposes, 
made an election under IRC § 965(h) or IRC § 
965(i), the tax liability attributable to such income 
will be due in 8 installments, but the deferral pro-
visions of IRC § 965(i) do not apply. A taxpayer 
with deemed repatriated income must complete a 
Schedule FCI-I.

Changes in Overall Accounting Method 
(IRC § 448)
Under IRC § 448(c) as amended by the TCJA, a 
corporation, or a partnership may use the cash 
method of accounting if the average annual gross 
receipts of such entity for the 3-taxable-year pe-
riod ending with the taxable year that precedes 
such taxable year does not exceed $25,000,000. 
Massachusetts law requires that a personal in-
come taxpayer use the same method of account-
ing for Massachusetts purposes as it does feder-
ally.  Additionally, flow-through entities with in-
dividual members or partners that change their 
method of accounting for federal tax purposes 
must also change their method for Massachu-
setts purposes.

IRC Provisions Massachusetts 
Does Not Adopt
Deductions for Personal Exemptions (IRC 
§ 151)
Personal and dependent exemption deductions 
are eliminated under the TCJA. Massachusetts 
does not adopt this change because Massachu-
setts law does not tie to the federal exemption 
amounts. Massachusetts law on dependent ex-
emption deductions as provided in MGL ch 62, 
§ 3 refers to the federal definition of dependents 
which remains in effect.

Moving Expense Deduction (IRC § 217)
For tax years beginning before 2018, if you moved 
due to a change in your job or business location 
or because you started a new job or business, 
you can deduct reasonable unreimbursed mov-
ing expenses if you meet all of the following 
requirements:

w Your move was closely related to the start

of work;

w You meet a distance test; and

w You meet a time test.

Under the TCJA, a deduction for moving expenses 
is no longer allowed except for certain members 
of the Armed Forces. Massachusetts does not 
adopt this change. A deduction for moving ex-
penses continues to be allowed if the above re-
quirements are met as Massachusetts follows IRC 
§ 217 in effect as of January 1, 2005.

Moving Expense Reimbursement (IRC § 
132(g))
For tax years beginning before 2018, moving ex-
pense reimbursements made to employees by 
their employers were not included in federal gross 
income. Moving expense reimbursements made 
to employees, other than certain members of the 
Armed Forces, by their employers are now in-
cluded in federal gross income. Reimbursements 
will be included in employee wages. Massachu-
setts does not adopt this change as Massachu-
setts follows the IRC in effect as of January 1, 
2005, on this issue.

Bonus Depreciation Deduction (IRC § 
168(k))
Various changes were made to the provisions in 
IRC 168(k) related to bonus depreciation. Mass-
achusetts does not adopt any of these changes 
as Massachusetts specifically disallows the 
bonus depreciation deduction under MGL ch 62, 
§ 2(d)(1)(N).

Qualified Business Income Deduction (IRC 
§ 199A)
Under the TCJA, a new deduction is allowed for 
20% of qualified business income earned in a 
qualified trade or business, subject to certain lim-
itations. Although Massachusetts follows current 
IRC § 62(a)(1) in effect for trade or business ex-
penses, the TCJA specifically excludes the deduc-
tion in IRC § 199A from IRC § 62(a)(1). There-
fore, Massachusetts follows the IRC in effect as 
of January 1, 2005, on this issue and does not 
adopt the change.

Income from Discharge of Indebtedness 
(IRC § 108(f)(5))
The exclusion from federal gross income for 
amounts discharged from certain student loan 
debt is broadened to include discharges on ac-
count of death and disability. Massachusetts does 
not adopt this change as Massachusetts follows 
IRC § 108 in effect as of January 1, 2005.

Excess Business Loss Deduction (IRC § 
461(I))
For non-corporate taxpayers, business losses in 
excess of certain thresholds are now capped in a 
taxable year, with the remainder carried forward 
as a net operating loss. Massachusetts does not 
adopt this change as Massachusetts follows the 
IRC in effect as of January 1, 2005, on this issue.

Qualified Equity Grant Programs (IRC § 
83(i))
For tax years beginning before 2018, amounts 
from non-qualified stock options and restricted 
stock units were included in federal gross income 
at the time they were exercised or deemed trans-
ferred. New provisions allow taxpayers to elect to 
defer income from this type of stock for up to 5 
years. Massachusetts does not adopt this change. 
Amounts from these types of options continue to 
be included in Massachusetts gross income in the 
year exercised or deemed transferred as Mass-
achusetts follows the IRC in effect as of January 
1, 2005, on this issue. 

Alimony Income (IRC § 61(a))
Under the TCJA, alimony will no longer be deduct-
ible by the payor or includable in federal gross 
income by the recipient for divorce or separation 
instruments signed after December 31, 2018. 
Massachusetts does not adopt this change. Ali-
mony will continue to be deductible by the payor 
and included in Massachusetts gross income of 
the recipient, as Massachusetts follows the IRC in 
effect as of January 1, 2005, on this issue. 

Like–Kind Exchanges (IRC §1031)
Under the TCJA, beginning in 2018 like–kind ex-
change treatment is limited to real property. All 
other property, including personal property and 
intangible property, is no longer eligible for the 
deferral of gain provided by IRC §1031. Mass-
achusetts does not adopt this change for pur-
poses of the personal income tax, as Massachu-
setts follows the IRC in effect as of January 1, 
2005, on this issue.

Deferral of Gain Invested in Qualified 
Opportunity Zones (IRC §§ 1400Z-1 and 
1400Z-2)
Under the TCJA, effective December 22, 2017, 
taxpayers may elect to defer gain from the sale or 
exchange of any property to an unrelated party by 
reinvesting that gain within 180 days of the sale 
or exchange in a “qualified opportunity fund,” an 
investment vehicle organized as a corporation or 
partnership for the purpose of investing in “quali-
fied opportunity zones.” Massachusetts does not 
adopt this change for purposes of the personal 
income tax, as Massachusetts follows the IRC in 
effect as of January 1, 2005, on this issue.
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Privacy Act Notice
Under the authority of 42 U.S.C. § 405(c)(2)(c)
(i), and MGL ch 62C, § 5, the Department of Rev-
enue (DOR) has the right to require a taxpayer to 
furnish his Employer Identification number and/
or Social Security number, as the case may be, 
on a state tax return. This information is manda-
tory. DOR uses these numbers for taxpayer identi-
fication, to assist in processing and keeping track 
of returns, and in determining and collecting the 
proper amount of tax due. Under MGL ch 62C, § 
40, the taxpayer’s identifying number is required 
to process a refund of overpaid taxes. Although 
tax return information is generally confidential 
pursuant to MGL ch 62C, § 21, DOR may disclose 
return information to other taxing authorities and 
those entities specified in MGL ch 62C, §§ 21, 22, 
or 23, and as otherwise authorized by law.

Common Form 2 Mistakes
An incomplete or incorrect return can delay pro-
cessing of your return. Below are tips to help us 
process your return as quickly as possible.

Incorrect Computation
Many returns must be corrected by DOR each year 
due to simple errors in computation. Before mailing 
your return, check your arithmetic to make sure 
the computations are correct.

Filing Status
Be sure to select the correct oval for filing status. 
This requirement is frequently overlooked.

Fiscal Year
Clearly mark tax return “Fiscal Year” if applicable.

Missing Withholding Statement(s)
Make certain the state copy of all Forms W-2 
(Wages), W-2G (Winnings), and 1099-G, or 
1099-R that show Massachusetts income tax 
withheld are enclosed. These forms are frequently 
missing and must be obtained from you later in 
order to process the return.

Missing Supporting Schedules
Make sure you have enclosed all required sched-
ules to support the information on your Form 2. 
These include Schedules B, B/R, C, C-2, CMS, 
CRS, D, E, H, IDD, OJC and 2K-1 of Massachu-
setts Form 2. We cannot process your return 
without these schedules.

Credits — Missing Certificate or Other 
Identification Numbers and/or Supporting 
Schedules
Make sure you have included all required certifi-
cate or other identification numbers and/or sched-
ules to support the credits you are claiming. Failure 
to include certificate or other identification num-
bers and/or schedules will result in the credit being 

disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment 
of your reported tax.

Missing Signatures
Thousands of unsigned forms and other doc-
uments are received by DOR every year. These 
forms must be returned to taxpayers for sig-
natures. Make sure signatures are on the cor-
rect lines.

Definitions
Complex Trust
Any trust that, for any given taxable year, does not 
qualify as a simple trust, as defined below. Com-
plex trusts are governed by IRC §§ 661 and 662.

Grantor Trust
Under MGL ch 62, § 10(e), if the grantor or another 
person is treated as the owner of any portion of 
a trust by reason of the provisions of IRC §§ 671 
to 678, inclusive, the trust is a grantor trust and 
its income is taxable to the grantor or such other 
person, not to the trust.

Massachusetts Source Income
Gross income derived from or effectively con-
nected with: (1) any trade or business, including 
any employment carried on by the taxpayer in the 
Commonwealth, regardless of where or when the 
income is received; (2) the participation in any 
lottery or wagering transaction within the Com-
monwealth; or (3) the ownership of any interest 
in real or tangible personal property located in the 
Commonwealth. Gross income derived from or 
effectively connected with any trade or business, 
including any employment, carried on by the tax-
payer in the Commonwealth includes: gain from 
the sale of a business or of an interest in a busi-
ness; distributive share income; separation, sick, 
or vacation pay; deferred compensation and non-
qualified pension income not prevented from state 
taxation by the laws of the United States; and in-
come from a covenant not to compete.

Nonresident Estate
An estate of a deceased non-Massachusetts resi-
dent. A nonresident estate is subject to the taxing 
jurisdiction of Massachusetts to the extent it earns 
Massachusetts source income. In other words, the 
income of a nonresident estate is taxable to the ex-
tent it would be taxable to a nonresident individual.

Nonresident Trust
A trust that earns Massachusetts source income 
and that is:

w	 A trust under the will of a decedent who was a 
non-Massachusetts resident at death;

w	 A trust all of whose trustees are nonresidents; or

w	 A trust all of whose grantors are nonresidents 
at the time of the creation of the trust or at any 

time during the year for which the income is com-
puted. These conditions must be met in order 
to subject the trust to the taxing jurisdiction of 
Massachusetts.

Qualified Settlement Fund
A qualified settlement fund as defined in IRC § 
468B(g) and Treas. Reg. § 1.468B-1 et seq. See 
also Letter Ruling (LR) 08-7.

Resident Estate
An estate of a deceased Massachusetts resident.

Resident Trust
A resident trust may be one of two types. It may 
be a testamentary trust — a trust under the will of 
an individual who died an inhabitant of Massachu-
setts. Alternatively, it may be an inter vivos trust 
— a trust created during the life of the grantor. To 
subject an inter vivos trust to the taxing jurisdiction 
of Massachusetts, the following conditions must 
exist: the trustee or other fiduciary, or at least one 
of them, is a Massachusetts inhabitant, and:

w	 The grantor, or at least one of them, was a 
Massachusetts inhabitant when the trust was 
created; or

w	 The grantor, or at least one of them, resided 
in Massachusetts during any part of the year for 
which the income is computed; or

w	 The grantor or at least one of them, died a 
Massachusetts inhabitant.

Simple Trust
A trust that is required to distribute all of its income 
currently, may not make distributions of princi-
pal, and does not provide for charitable contri-
butions. Simple trusts are governed by IRC §§ 
651 and 652.

Unascertained Persons
A class of persons who cannot be identified with 
certainty until the happening of a specified event. 
The term also applies to those of a class who fulfill 
some special qualification. It is the trust termina-
tion provisions that determine whether a remain-
der interest is ascertained or not. For example, if 
the termination provisions read “income to X for 
life, remainder to Y, if living, or, if not, to Y’s estate,” 
the remainder interest is vested in Y and is not 
unascertained. However, if they read “to X for life, 
remainder to Y, if living, or, if not, to Y’s issue then 
living,” the remainder interest is not vested in Y or 
Y’s issue and is unascertained because it cannot 
be known for certain who will take the remainder 
interest until X’s death. In the latter case, gains 
realized by the trust will be deemed to be income 
accumulated for the benefit of unascertained per-
sons and taxable in full to the trust.
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Uncertain Interest
A type of future interest such as a contingent re-
mainder or a vested remainder subject to being cut 
off upon the happening of a contingency. In deter-
mining whether a person has an uncertain inter-
est, a remainder interest in a trust that is vested 
and not subject to being divested by the happen-
ing of any contingency expressly mentioned in the 
trust instrument is not classified as an uncertain 
interest. Any other type of future interest is an un-
certain interest.

Common Questions
Once Massachusetts Jurisdiction is 
Established, to Whom is the Income 
Taxable? Resident Estate or Trust
When income of a resident estate or trust sub-
ject to the taxing jurisdiction of Massachusetts is 
being accumulated for a Massachusetts beneficia-
ry(ies), unborn persons, unascertained persons, or 
persons with uncertain interests, such income is 
taxable to the estate or trust. Otherwise, income 
from such resident estate or trust includable in 
the federal gross income of a beneficiary(ies) by 
reason of IRC §§ 652 and 662 is taxable to the 
beneficiary(ies).

Nonresident Estate or Trust
When Massachusetts source income of a nonres-
ident estate or trust is being accumulated, such in-
come is taxable to the estate or trust regardless of 
whether it is being accumulated for a Massachu-
setts beneficiary(ies), non-Massachusetts benefi-
ciary(ies), unborn persons, unascertained persons, 
or persons with uncertain interests. Massachusetts 
source income of a nonresident estate or trust in-
cludable in the federal gross income of a Mass-
achusetts or non-Massachusetts beneficiary(ies) 
by reason of IRC §§ 652 and 662, however, is 
taxable in Massachusetts to the beneficiary(ies). 
All other income of a nonresident estate or trust, 
i.e., all non-Massachusetts source income, is 
taxable to a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies) if he 
receives it.

Who Must File a Massachusetts Fiduciary 
Return?
Every executor, administrator, trustee, guardian, 
conservator, trustee in a noncorporate bankruptcy 
or receiver of a trust or estate that received in-
come in excess of $100 that is taxable under c. 
62 at the entity level or to a beneficiary(ies) and 
that is subject to Massachusetts jurisdiction must 
file a Form 2.

What Other Forms Must Be Filed?
All applicable U.S. schedules, forms and enclo-
sures must be filed with Form 2. A copy of U.S. 
Schedule K-1 must be enclosed in all cases where 
a deduction is taken for the payment of income to 

a nonresident. DOR has developed an extensive 
information exchange program that includes the 
following forms:

w Form 1, Resident Income Tax Return;

w	 Form 1-NR/PY, Nonresident/Part-Year Resident;

w	 Form M-1310, Statement of Claimant to Refund 
Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer;

w	 Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return; and

w	 Form M-706, Estate Tax Return. Discrepancies 
and nonfilings, except those allowed under Mass-
achusetts law, will be identified and may result in 
an audit or further investigation.

When is Form 2 Due?
The 2019 Form 2 is due on or before April 15, 2020.

Fiscal Year Filers
If permission has been granted to file on a fiscal 
year basis, the return is generally due on or before 
the 15th day of the fourth month after the close of 
the fiscal year. Prior consent must be requested 
in order to file a return on a fiscal year basis. An 
application can be made on Form 13. Fiduciaries 
failing to obtain prior consent will be placed on a 
calendar year basis.

Short Year and Fiscal Year Filers
Fiscal year filers whose fiscal year begins in 2019 
and ends in 2020 should file the 2019 Form 2 re-
turn. Short year filers should file using the tax form 
for the calendar year within which the short year 
falls. If the short year spans more than one calen-
dar year, the filer should file using the tax form for 
the calendar year in which the short year begins. 
If the appropriate form is not available at the time 
the short year filer must file, the filer should follow 
the rules explained in TIR 11-12.

What If I Am Unable to Pay?
If you are unable to pay the full amount of tax that 
you owe, you should pay as much of your tax lia-
bility as possible with your return. You will receive 
a bill from DOR for the remaining amount of tax 
due plus accrued interest and penalty charges. If 
the amount of the bill is less than $10,000 and you 
still cannot pay it in full, you must apply formally to 
DOR for a small payment agreement in order to 
avoid collection activity. Setting up a small pay-
ment agreement will allow you to make monthly 
payments over a set period to meet your unpaid 
liability. You can apply for a small payment agree-
ment by visiting mass.gov/MassTaxConnect.

Are Wholly Charitable Trusts/Private 
Foundations Required to File Form 2?
Funds held in trust for public charitable purposes 
are exempt from tax under MGL ch 62, § 3, if such 
income is currently payable to, or irrevocably set 
aside for, public charitable purposes. Trustees of 

wholly charitable trusts, i.e., trusts with no non-
charitable interests, are required to file a Form 2, 
however, even though such trusts’ taxable income 
may be zero. Trustees of split-interest trusts, e.g., 
pooled income funds, charitable remainder annu-
ity trusts, and charitable remainder unitrusts, are 
to file a Form 2G, not Form 2.

What Deductions and Exemptions 
Are Allowable on the Guardianship/
Conservatorship Form 2?
Every deduction and exemption that an individ-
ual is entitled to take on Form 1 may be claimed 
by a guardian or conservator on behalf of a ward 
on Form 2. Supporting documentation must be 
enclosed, including all applicable schedules from 
U.S. Form 1040, e.g., Schedule A, Itemized De-
ductions, if claiming the medical expense ex-
emption. Generally, deductions may be used only 
against 5.05% income. See Schedule C-2 for the 
limited circumstances under which deductions 
may be applied against interest (other than inter-
est from Massachusetts banks), dividends, and 
capital gain income.

Any deduction or exemption claimed must be en-
tered first on Schedule IDD, line 3, and then on 
line 8, line 13, and line 18, as appropriate; lines 
typically used by an estate or trust to claim an 
income distribution deduction. Such deduction is 
not allowable to a guardianship or conservator-
ship, however, thus, these lines are available to a 
guardian or conservator for claiming deductions 
and exemptions on behalf of a ward. Any deduc-
tion or exemption claimed must be explained via 
a supporting statement enclosed with the Form 2. 
The preprinted language on Schedule IDD, lines 3, 
8, 13 and 18 should be crossed out and the words 
“see supporting statement” should be added.

Should I Be Making Estimated Tax 
Payments?
Generally, every fiduciary receiving income tax-
able at the entity level must make estimated tax 
payments on Massachusetts Form 2-ES, if the en-
tity expects to owe more than $400 in taxes for 
the taxable year. Estimated tax payments made by 
a fiduciary on behalf of a beneficiary of a pooled 
income fund, charitable remainder annuity trust, 
charitable remainder unitrust, or on behalf of a 
non-resident grantor of a grantor-type trust or a 
nonresident entity beneficiary that is a trust or 
other entity also must be made on Form 2-ES. In 
contrast. fiduciaries required to deduct and with-
hold payments under MGL ch 62, § 10(g) on be-
half of a nonresident individual beneficiary must 
make estimated tax payments on the beneficia-
ry’s behalf on Form 1-ES using the beneficiary’s 
identification number. For more information, see 
DOR Directive (DD) 07-4. Fiduciaries filing Form 2 
with total net taxable income of $50,000 or more 
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must make all estimated tax payments by elec-
tronic means. Fiduciaries with income less than 
the above cited threshold may make payments 
electronically as well, but are not required to.

Generally, the first payment voucher must be filed 
on or before April 15 of the taxable year. The esti-
mated tax may be paid in full with the first payment 
voucher or in four installments on or before April 
15, June 15, September 15 of the taxable year, 
and January 15 of the following year. Fiscal year 
taxpayers must file their first payment voucher on 
or before the 15th day of the fourth month of the 
fiscal year. The estimated tax may be paid in full 
with the first payment voucher or in four equal in-
stallments on or before the 15th day of the fourth, 
sixth, and ninth months of the fiscal year, and the 
15th day of the next fiscal year. Be sure to use the 
appropriate voucher for each payment and fill in 
the tax year and date. Whenever a due date falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the filing 
and payment may be made on the next succeed-
ing business day.

Fiduciaries who underpay or fail to pay their esti-
mated taxes may incur a penalty. Form M-2210F, 
Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated In-
come Tax for Fiduciaries, is used to compute the 
additional charge. Finally, a resident beneficiary 
subject to tax at the beneficiary level pursuant to 
MGL ch 62, § 10 (h) must make estimated tax 
payments on his distributable share of the estate 
or trust income. Such payments are to be made 
on Massachusetts Form 1-ES. For more informa-
tion, see DD 07-4.

Can Unused Capital Losses be Passed 
Through to Beneficiaries?
Unused capital losses of an estate or trust are al-
locable to the estate’s or trust’s corpus and can 
be used by the estate or trust itself in future years. 
These losses cannot be passed through to benefi-
ciaries, even in the year of termination.

Does Massachusetts Have a 65-Day 
Election?
No. In determining the amount paid, credited, or 
otherwise required to be distributed to a benefi-
ciary (lines 3, 8, 13, and 18 of Schedule IDD, In-
come Distribution Deduction), Massachusetts has 
not adopted the 65-day election available to estates 
and complex trusts federally under IRC § 663(b). 
Therefore, any distribution or portion thereof to a 
beneficiary made within the first 65 days following 
the close of the 2019 taxable year, treated federally 
as having been distributed in 2019, is to be treated 
for Massachusetts purposes in 2019 as accumu-
lated income and is taxable at the estate or trust 
level, with one exception. Non-Massachusetts 
source income accumulated for a vested nonresi-
dent beneficiary is not taxable at the estate or trust 

level, but is deductible on Form 2, lines 12, 19, 28, 
or 36, as applicable. Moreover, any distribution or 
portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the 
first 65 days following the close of the 2019 tax-
able year will be treated in the year of distribution, 
i.e., 2020 as a tax free distribution.

Does Massachusetts Offer Simplified 
Filing and Reporting Options to Grantor 
Trusts Similar to the Filing and Reporting 
Options Available Federally Pursuant to 
Treasury Regulations § 1.671-4?
Generally, the fiduciary of a grantor trust is re-
quired to file with DOR an informational return, 
Form 2G, along with a schedule indicating the 
items of income, deductions, and credits against 
tax attributable to the trust that are treated as 
owned by and taxable to the grantor/owner. Ad-
ditionally, the fiduciary must give a copy of the 
schedule to the grantor/owner, who is required 
to report the income, deductions, and credits re-
ported on the schedule on his Massachusetts in-
dividual income tax return.

Notwithstanding the above, similar to one of two 
reporting options offered federally under Trea-
sury Regulations § 1.671-4, no Form 2G will be 
required to be filed with DOR by the fiduciary of 
a grantor trust as long as the following three re-
quirements are met:

w	 The grantor trust has only one owner, a Mass-
achusetts resident;

w	 That owner is also the trustee or co-trustee of 
the trust; and

w	 The trustee has provided all payors of trust in-
come the name and taxpayer identification num-
ber of the grantor and the address of the trust.

Does the Pass-Through Entity Withholding 
Program Apply to Estates and Trusts?
Although the term pass-through entity, as used 
in the pass-through entity withholding program, 
applicable to most pass-through entities and their 
non-resident members or beneficiaries, which 
Massachusetts adopted for tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2009, refers to an entity whose 
income, loss, deductions, and credits flow through 
to members or beneficiaries for Massachusetts 
tax purposes, such as estates and trusts not taxed 
at the entity level, most estates and trusts are not 
required to participate in the pass-through entity 
withholding program because they are required to 
withhold under other Massachusetts provisions. 
See, e.g., MGL ch 62, § 10(g), requiring trusts and 
estates to withhold or make estimated payments 
on payments to nonresidents, including nonresi-
dent grantors of grantor trusts. For more informa-
tion on the applicability of the pass-through entity 
withholding program to trusts and estates, see the 

Guide for Pass-Through Entities, Including Regis-
tration Information. See also 830 CMR 62B.2.2, 
Pass-Through Entity Withholding.

Who is a Designated Tax Matters Partner?
MGL ch. 62C, § 24A, established a unified audit, 
assessment, and appeal procedure for pass-
through entities (partnerships, S corporations, 
and certain trusts) that is completely separate 
from regular audit procedures. Individual mem-
bers may, however, elect not to participate in the 
separate unified audit procedure. The tax matters 
partner (TMP) is the individual designated by the 
pass-through entity to act as its representative to 
DOR during the unified audit process. During the 
unified audit, the TMP has the authority to request 
a settlement, to agree to extend the statute of lim-
itations, to request a conference, and to appeal a 
determination of pass-through entity items. For 
further discussion, see 830 CMR 62C.24A.1 and 
TIR 13-15.

Line items without specific instructions are con-
sidered to be self-explanatory.

Name of Estate or Trust
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an es-
tate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. 
Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name 
as their appointing court ruled.

Estate or Trust Employer Identification 
Number
Enter the U.S. Employer Identification Number. If 
you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Applica-
tion for Employer Identification Number, should 
be used to apply for one. Do not use a decedent’s 
Social Security number for an estate. A separate 
Employer Identification Number is required for the 
estate and for each trust entity.

Name and Title of Fiduciary
Enter the exact legal name and title of the fidu-
ciary. In case of multiple fiduciaries, one name is 
sufficient.

Mailing Address of Fiduciary
Enter the mailing address of the fiduciary listed on 
the first line.

Care/of Address
If the mailing address is the address of a legal firm 
or of a person other than the fiduciary, that person 
or firm should be listed on the c/o line.

Company Account Number
If applicable, enter the company account number 
your firm has assigned to this entity.

Date Entity Created
Enter the date the trust was created. If filing a re-
turn for an estate, enter the date of death. All other 
fiduciaries should enter the date of appointment.
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Filing Status
Select all applicable ovals. For example, if you are 
filing a first year return for an estate, select the 
ovals for Decedent’s estate and Initial return.

If filing on a fiscal year basis, enter your fiscal 
year’s beginning and ending dates in the appro-
priate boxes at the top of the return. If you have 
elected to file as a Qualified Funeral Trust (QFT) on 
U.S. Form 1041-QFT, select the Qualified funeral 
trust oval. If you file a composite Form 1041-QFT, 
you may also file a composite Form 2. Select the 
Qualified funeral trust oval and write Composite 
QFT across the top of the return. You must enclose 
a schedule with a Composite QFT Form 2 that in-
cludes the following information for each QFT (or 
separate interest treated as a separate QFT): 

w	 The name of the owner or the beneficiary (if you 
list the name of the owner and that trust has more 
than one beneficiary, you must separate the trust 
into shares held by the separate beneficiaries);

w	 The type and gross amount of each type of in-
come earned by the QFT for the tax year (for long-
term capital gains, identify separately the amount 
of capital gain by holding period);

w	 The type of each deduction allocable to the QFT;

w	 The tax and payments made for each QFT; and

w	 If the QFT was terminated during the year, give 
the date of termination.

Schedule TDS. Inconsistent Filing 
Position Penalty
Fill in the oval and enclose Schedule TDS, Tax-
payer Disclosure Statement, if you are disclosing 
any inconsistent filing positions. Schedule TDS 
is available on the DOR website at mass.gov/dor. 
The inconsistent filing position penalty (see TIR 
06-5, section IV) applies to taxpayers that take an 
inconsistent position in reporting income. These 
taxpayers must disclose the inconsistency when 
filing their Massachusetts return. If such inconsis-
tency is not disclosed, the taxpayer will be subject 
to a penalty equal to the amount of tax attributable 
to the inconsistency. This penalty is in addition 
to any other penalties that may apply. A taxpayer 
is deemed to have taken an inconsistent position 
when the taxpayer pays less tax in Massachusetts 
based upon an interpretation of Massachusetts 
law that differs from the position taken by the tax-
payer in another state where the taxpayer files a 
return and the governing law in that other state 
is the same in all material respects as the Mass-
achusetts law. The Commissioner of Revenue may 
waive or abate the penalty if the inconsistency or 
failure to disclose was attributable to reasonable 
cause and not willful neglect.

Filing an Amended Return
If you need to change a line item on your return, 
complete a new return with the corrected infor-
mation and fill in the Amended return oval. An 
amended return can be filed to either increase or 
decrease your tax. Generally, an amended return 
must be filed within three years of the date that 
your original return was filed. See TIR 16-13 for 
more information on the amended return process.

Federal Changes
If your amended return includes changes you have 
reported on an amended federal return filed with 
the IRS for the same tax year, fill in the Amended 
return due to federal change oval.

If your amended return does not report changes 
that result from the filing of a federal amended 
return or from a federal audit, fill in only the 
Amended return oval.

Consent to Extend the Time to Act on an 
Amended Return treated as Abatement 
Application
In certain instances, an amended return showing 
a reduction of tax may be treated by DOR as an 
abatement application. Under such circumstances, 
by filing an amended return, you are giving your 
consent for the Commissioner of Revenue to act 
upon the abatement application after six months 
from the date of filing. See TIR 16-11. You may 
withdraw such consent at any time by contact-
ing DOR in writing. If consent is withdrawn, any 
requested reduction in tax will be deemed denied 
either at the expiration of six months from the date 
of filing or the date consent is withdrawn, which-
ever is later.

Filing an Application for Abatement
File an Application for Abatement only to dispute 
an audit assessment or to request an abatement 
of penalties.

For the fastest response time, file your dispute on-
line at mass.gov/masstaxconnect. If you are not 
required to file electronically or you cannot file on-
line, use Form ABT (Application for Abatement).

Visit mass.gov/dor/amend for additional informa-
tion about filing an amended return, or filing an 
application for abatement. See also TIR 16-13.

Member of a Lower-Tier Entity
A tiered structure is a pass-through entity that has 
a pass-through entity as a member. Pass-through 
entity refers to an entity whose income, loss, de-
ductions and credits flow through to members for 
Massachusetts tax purposes, and includes estates 
and trusts not taxed at the entity level. Member 
includes beneficiaries of a pass-through entity. As 
between two entities, the pass-through entity that 
is a member is the uppertier entity, and the en-
tity of which it is a member is the lower-tier en-

tity. If the estate or trust is a member of another 
pass-through entity, it should answer Yes to 
this question.

Line Instructions
Part B Income
Line 1. Wages, Salaries, Tips, Other 
Employee Compensation
Enter wages, salaries, tips, and other compensa-
tion earned and received, and, if applicable, enter 
the amount reported as Massachusetts wages on 
Form W-2. For a decedent’s estate, income in re-
spect of a decedent is taxed on Form 2, line 1, in 
addition to being taxed on the Form M-706, Mass-
achusetts Estate Tax Return, as an asset of the es-
tate. Income in respect of a decedent is income 
the decedent had a right to receive prior to his 
date of death, but payment of which was made 
to the estate after the date of death. Wages, sal-
aries, or other forms of compensation, including 
any fixed sum amount attributable to services ren-
dered prior to the decedent’s death, are to be in-
cluded on line 1.

Line 2. Taxable Pensions and Annuities
Income from most private pension or annu-
ity plans is taxable in Massachusetts; however, 
income from a contributory annuity, pension, 
endowment or retirement fund of the U.S. gov-
ernment, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or 
its political subdivisions, or any noncontributory 
pension or survivorship benefits from the United 
States uniformed services (Army, Navy, Marine 
Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, commissioned 
corps of the U.S. Public Health Service and Na-
tional Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) 
is exempt. Massachusetts allows a deduction 
for contributory pension income received from 
another state or one of its political subdivisions 
that does not tax such income from Massachu-
setts or its political subdivisions. For guidelines 
on determining which state pensions are exempt 
in Massachusetts, see TIR 95-9. Enter the fully 
taxable amounts received from pension or annuity 
plans on line 2. Amounts distributed from an IRA 
or Keogh plan should also be reported on line 2.

Line 3. Business/Profession or Farm 
Income or Loss
Enter on line 3 the amount of income or loss from 
a business or profession from Massachusetts 
Schedule C, line 31 or 33. Also, enclose Massachu-
setts Schedule C with this return.

Note: U.S. Schedules C or C-EZ are no longer 
allowed as a substitute for the Massachusetts 
Schedule C.
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For entities engaged in operating a farm business, 
enter on line 3 the amount of income or loss from 
operating such business from U.S. Schedule F, line 
34. Enclose a copy of U.S. Schedule F. Additionally, 
complete and enclose a pro-forma U.S. Schedule 
F to report Massachusetts differences, if any, such 
as bonus depreciation.

Line 4. Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income 
or Loss
Rental, Royalty, and Real Estate Mortgage Invest-
ment Conduit (REMIC) residual income are gen-
erally taxable in Massachusetts. Enter the amount 
from Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule E, line 4. 
Enclose Massachusetts Schedule E. Enter and ex-
plain any differences between total rental, royalty, 
and REMIC income on the U.S. Schedule E and the 
Massachusetts Schedule E. Possible differences 
include part-year residency, trust provisions, 
deductible royalties from approved U.S. energy 
conservation plants, passive losses, and “bonus” 
depreciation. See the Massachusetts Schedule E 
instructions for further details of possible differ-
ences in reporting rental, royalty, and REMIC in-
come or loss.

Line 5. Interest from Massachusetts Banks
Enter in line 5 the total amount of interest received 
or credited to deposit accounts (term and time de-
posits, including certificates of deposit, savings 
accounts, savings shares, and NOW accounts) 
in all savings banks, cooperative banks, savings 
and loan associations, or credit unions located in 
Massachusetts. All other interest, unless exempt, 
should be entered on Schedule B, line 1.

Line 6. Other 5.05% Income
Other 5.05% income not reported elsewhere must 
be included here. Items reported here include: 
partnership and S corporation income or loss; 
gambling winnings from lotteries, raffles, races or 
other events of chance, wherever held; fair mar-
ket value of prizes and awards; lump-sum distri-
butions from qualified employee benefit plans in 
excess of employee’s contributions; and any other 
miscellaneous income. Income received by a Mass-
achusetts trust or estate from sources not pre-
viously subject to Massachusetts jurisdiction or 
taxed in Massachusetts is reportable on the Form 
2 as follows. Sources not previously subject to 
Massachusetts taxation include non-Massachu-
setts estates, trusts, and partnerships, wherever lo-
cated. Enter the income or loss from these entities 
on the appropriate lines on Form 2 and Schedule 
D, according to the character and source of in-
come. If no other line applies, enter the income or 
loss from these entities on line 6 of Form 2.

Line 8. Deductions Allowed Decedents
The amount of any deduction attributable to a 
decedent that is not properly allowable to the 

decedent as a deduction on the income tax return 
for the taxable period in which his death occurs, 
or any prior period, shall be specifically allowed 
as a deduction on this line, provided the estate of 
the decedent is liable to discharge the obligation 
for which the deduction relates. The following de-
ductions are allowed if attributable to the decedent 
and paid after the decedent’s date of death (en-
close a copy of Form 1 or 1-NR/PY):

w Amounts paid into Social Security (FICA), Rail-
road, U.S. or Massachusetts Retirement Systems 
are deductible up to a maximum of $2,000. Pay-
ments to an IRA, Keogh, Simplified Employee 
Pension Plan (SEP), or Savings Incentive Match 
Plan for Employees (SIMPLE) Account are not 
deductible.

w Amounts paid to someone to care for one (or 
more) qualified child under age 13, or for a dis-
abled dependent(s), or spouse so that the dece-
dent could work or look for work, are deductible 
as an employment related expense up to a maxi-
mum of $4,800 if there is one qualifying individ-
ual or $9,600 if there are two or more qualifying 
individuals.

w A deduction of $3,600 for one or $7,200 for two 
or more dependent members of the decedent’s 
household under age 12, or dependent age 65 or 
over (not the decedent or his spouse), or disabled 
dependent at the close of the taxable year in which 
the decedent’s death falls. This deduction may only 
be claimed as long as the employment-related ex-
pense deduction discussed above is not claimed.

w Amounts paid for rent for the decedent’s prin-
cipal residence are deductible equal to 50% of the 
rent paid during the taxable year, up to a maxi-
mum of $3,000. Enclose a supplemental statement 
listing the landlord’s name(s) and address(es), 
dates rented, and amount(s) of rent paid for each 
residence.

w The deduction for unreimbursed travel and 
transportation expenses incurred by any employee 
and unreimbursed gifts, entertainment, and other 
employee business expenses incurred by employ-
ees who solicit business for an employer away 
from the employer’s place of business are allowed, 
but only if the decedent itemizes deductions on his 
U.S. income tax return and only for amounts that 
exceed 2% of U.S. adjusted gross income. The 
amount an employee is reimbursed for business 
expenses continues to be an allowable deduction.

w A penalty charge for early withdrawal of savings 
and interest is deductible but only if the interest 
that the penalty is related to is reported on Form 2.

w Amounts paid to a former spouse during the 
taxable year for alimony or separate maintenance 
pursuant to a court decree, or for excess alimony 
amounts recaptured, as reported on U.S. Form 

1040, line 31a. Alimony payments specified as 
child support are not deductible.

w In addition, certain federal deductions are al-
lowed including: interest payments due and paid 
on qualified student loans; qualified moving ex-
penses paid or incurred with the commencement 
of work at a new principal place of work; business 
expenses of state and local government employ-
ees who are compensated on a fee basis; jury duty 
pay surrendered by the decedent to his employer; 
and contributions to a Medical Savings Account 
by the decedent as an employee of a small busi-
ness or as a self-employed individual.

Line 10. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter on line 10 the amount reported on line 5 
of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction.

Guardianships/Conservatorships
Enter on Schedule IDD, line 3 deductions and ex-
emptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduc-
tion or exemption claimed must be explained via 
a supporting statement enclosed with the Form 
2. The preprinted language on line 10 should be 
crossed out and the words “see supporting state-
ment” should be added.

Line 12. Nonresident/Charitable 
Deduction
With one exception, the deductions under MGL ch 
62, § 3.B(a)(1) and (2) for Part B 5.05% income 
accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are al-
lowed on line 12. Massachusetts source income 
accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries 
is not deductible on line 12 however, but is taxable 
at the fiduciary level.

Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and/or charities are not reportable 
on line 12. Rather, they are to be included as part 
of the income distribution deduction calculation 
and are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 
2 through 5 of Schedule IDD, Part 1. Enter on line 
12 the amount of Part B 5.05% income included 
on line 11 accumulated or irrevocably set aside 
for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or chari-
ties. Do not include on line 12 any Massachusetts 
source income accumulated for vested nonresi-
dent beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to 
vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.

Part A Interest and Dividend 
Income
Line 14. Part A 5.05% Interest and 
Dividend Income
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 39. 
See Schedule B instructions for detailed informa-
tion. Complete and enclose Schedule B.
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Line 15. Part A 5.05% Common Trust Fund 
Interest & Dividend Income
Enter the amount of Part A 5.05% interest and div-
idend income received from common trust funds, 
including any unrelated business taxable Part A 
5.05% interest and dividend income.

Line 17. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter on line 17 the amount reported on line 10 
of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction.

Guardianships/Conservatorships
Enter on Schedule IDD, line 8 deductions and ex-
emptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduc-
tion or exemption claimed must be explained via 
a supporting statement enclosed with the Form 2. 
The preprinted language on Schedule IDD, line 8 
should be crossed out and the words “see sup-
porting statement” should be added.

Line 19. Nonresident/Charitable 
Deduction
With one exception, the deductions under MGL ch 
62, § 3.A(a)(1) and (2) for Part A 5.05% income 
accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are al-
lowed on line 19. Massachusetts source income 
accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries 
is not deductible on line 19 however, but is taxable 
at the fiduciary level.

Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and/or charities are not reportable 
on line 19. Rather, they are to be included as part 
of the income distribution deduction calculation 
and are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 7 
through 10 of Schedule IDD, Part 2. Enter on line 
19 the amount of Part A 5.05% income included 
on line 18 accumulated or irrevocably set aside 
for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or chari-
ties. Do not include on line 19 any Massachusetts 
source income accumulated for vested nonresi-
dent beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to 
vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.

Line 22. Tax from Table
Based upon the amount on line 21, find the proper 
amount of tax in the table and enter the tax on line 
22. If line 21 is greater than $24,000, multiply the 
amount on line 21 by 0.0505 and enter the result 
on line 22. You must use the tax table if line 21 is 
$24,000 or less.

Part A 12% Capital Gains
Line 23. Part A 12% Capital Gains
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 40. 
See Schedule B instructions for detailed informa-
tion. Complete and enclose Schedule B.

Line 24. Part A 12% Short-Term Common 
Trust Fund Capital Gains
Enter the amount of Part A 12% short-term capital 
gains received from common trust funds, includ-
ing any unrelated business taxable Part A 12% 
short-term capital gain income.

Line 26. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter on line 26 the amount reported on line 15 
of Schedule IDD.

Guardianships/Conservatorships
Enter on Schedule IDD, line 13 deductions and ex-
emptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduc-
tion or exemption claimed must be explained via 
a supporting statement enclosed with the Form 2. 
The preprinted language on Schedule IDD, line 13 
should be crossed out and the words “see sup-
porting statement” should be added.

Line 28. Nonresident/Charitable 
Deduction
With one exception, the deductions under MGL ch 
62, § 3.A(a)(1) and (2) for Part A 12% capital gain 
income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for 
vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities 
are allowed on line 28. Massachusetts source in-
come accumulated for vested nonresident benefi-
ciaries is not deductible on line 28 however, but is 
taxable at the fiduciary level.

Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and/or charities are not reportable on 
line 28. Rather, they are to be included as part of 
the income distribution deduction calculation and 
are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 12 
through 15 of Schedule IDD, Part 3. Enter on line 
28 the amount of Part A 12% capital gain income 
included on line 27 accumulated or irrevocably 
set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and 
or charities. Do not include on line 28 any Mass-
achusetts source income accumulated for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts actu-
ally paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and 
or charities.

Part C 5.05% Capital Gains
Line 31. Part C 5.05% Long-Term Capital 
Gains
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 18. 
See Schedule D instructions for detailed informa-
tion. Complete and enclose Schedule D.

Line 32. Part C 5.05% Long-Term 
Common Trust Fund Capital Gains
Enter the amount of Part C 5.05% long-term cap-
ital gains received from common trust funds in-
cluding any unrelated business taxable Part C 
5.05% long-term capital gain income.

Line 34. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter on line 34 the amount reported on line 20 
of Schedule IDD.

Guardianships/Conservatorships
Enter on Schedule IDD, line 18 deductions and ex-
emptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduc-
tion or exemption claimed must be explained via 
a supporting statement enclosed with the Form 2. 
The preprinted language on Schedule IDD, line 18 
should be crossed out and the words “see sup-
porting statement” should be added.

Line 36. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction
With one exception, the deductions under MGL ch 
62, § 3.C(a)(1) and (2) for Part C 5.05% long-term 
capital gain income accumulated or irrevocably 
set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and 
or charities are allowed on line 36. Massachusetts 
source income accumulated for vested nonresi-
dent beneficiaries is not deductible on line 36 how-
ever, but is taxable at the fiduciary level.

Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and/or charities are not reportable on 
line 36. Rather, they are to be included as part of 
the income distribution deduction calculation and 
are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 17 
through 20 of Schedule IDD, Part 4. Enter on line 
36 the amount of Part C 5.05% long-term capi-
tal gain income included on line 35 accumulated 
or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and or charities. Do not include on 
line 36 any Massachusetts source income accu-
mulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries or any 
amounts actually paid to vested nonresident ben-
eficiaries and or charities.

Line 39. Credit Recapture
If any Brownfields Credit (BC), Economic Oppor-
tunity Area Credit (EOA), Farming and Fisheries 
Credit (FAF), Low-Income Housing Credit (LIH), or 
Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HR) property is dis-
posed of or ceases to be in qualified use prior to 
the end of its useful life, the difference between 
the credit taken and the total credit allowed for 
actual use must be added back to the tax and re-
ported on line 39. Complete and enclose Schedule 
CRS, Credit Recapture Schedule.

Line 40. Additional Tax on Installment Sale
An addition to tax applies for taxpayers who have 
deferred the gain, and the tax associated with that 
gain, on certain installment sales. This addition to 
tax is measured by an interest charge on the tax 
that has been deferred. Enter on line 40 an addi-
tional tax, measured by an interest charge on the 
deferred tax, on gain from certain installment sales 
with a sales price over $150,000 if you are not a 
dealer and the aggregate face amount of install-
ment obligations arising during the tax year and 
outstanding as of the close of the tax year exceeds 
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$5 million. For more information see MGL ch 62C, 
§ 32A (a) and IRC § 453A (a)–(c).

Also, include on line 40 an additional tax amount 
measured by an interest charge on the deferred 
gain from the installment sale of timeshares and 
residential lots, if the sale meets one of the follow-
ing criteria: 1) the sale is of a timeshare right for six 
weeks or less; 2) the sale is for the recreational use 
of specified campgrounds; or 3) the sale is for a 
residential lot and neither the dealer nor some-
one related to the dealer is obligated to make any 
improvements on the lot. For more information 
see MGL ch 62C, § 32A (b) and IRC § 453(l)(2)
(B). To the extent practicable, Massachusetts fol-
lows federal income tax rules in determining the 
deferred gain from installment sales subject to the 
interest-charge addition to tax. For more informa-
tion visit DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor and In-
ternal Revenue Service Publication 537.

Line 42. Credit for Income Taxes Due to 
Other Jurisdictions
This credit is available to resident beneficiaries 
and to resident estates and trusts. It is not avail-
able to pooled income funds, charitable remainder 
annuity trusts, or charitable remainder unitrusts. 
If any of the income reported on this return is sub-
ject to taxation in another state or jurisdiction and 
you have filed a return and paid taxes in the other 
state or jurisdiction, complete the Taxes Due to 
Other Jurisdictions worksheet below and enter the 
amount of credit allowed from line 7 of the work-
sheet in line 42 of Form 2. Do not include taxes 
paid to the U.S. government or local or city taxes. 
The total credit calculated from the worksheet is 
the smaller of the amount of taxes due to other 
jurisdictions (net of certain adjustments) or the 
portion of your Massachusetts tax due on your 
gross income that is taxed in such other jurisdic-
tions. Credit is not given for a property tax due to 
another jurisdiction on account of capital stock or 
property. This does not refer to a tax on gain or 
income from the sale of capital stock or property, 
as included on Form 2, Schedule B or D however. 
Credit is also not given for any interest and penal-
ties paid on a tax due to another jurisdiction. For 
more information on what taxes are allowed see 
the Form 1, line 30 instructions.

Note: When using this worksheet to calculate 
credit for Part A interest (other than interest from 
Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part 
A 12% capital gain income, or Part C 5.05% cap-
ital gain income, enter on line 1 such income 
taxed in another jurisdiction calculated as if it was 
earned in Massachusetts.

You must complete separate worksheets if you 
had Part B 5.05% income, Part A interest (other 
than interest from Massachusetts banks) and div-
idend income, Part A 12% capital gain income, or 

Part C 5.05% capital gain income taxed by another 
jurisdiction. If you use this worksheet to calcu-
late a credit for Part A interest (other than interest 
from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, 
Part A 12% capital gain income, or Part C 5.05% 
capital gain income, substitute such income for 
Part B 5.05% income on lines 1, 2, and 4. You 
must also substitute Form 2, Schedule B, line 9 
and line 15 or Form 2, Schedule D, line 12, but not 
less than 0, for Form 2, line 7 on line 2 of the work-
sheet, and the total of Form 2, line 20 multiplied 
by 0.0505 and Form 2, line 30 or line 38 for Part B 
5.05% tax on line 4 of the worksheet.

Taxes Due to Other Jurisdictions

1. Total Part B 5.05% income  
subject to tax in another  
jurisdiction  . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

2. Total gross Part B 5.05%  
income (from Form 2, line 7)  

3. Divide line 1 by line 2.  
Not greater than 1 . . . . . . . .  

4. Massachusetts tax on Part B 5.05% in-
come (Form 2, line 13 from tax table). If line 
13 is more than $24,000,  
multiply by 0.0505  . . . . . . .  

5. Multiple line 3 by line 4 . .  

6. Income tax paid on such income to other 
jurisdictions. If you are claiming a credit for 
tax due to Canada or a Province of Canada, 
the amount reported on this line must be re-
duced by the amount claimed as a foreign tax 
credit on U.S. Form 1041,  
Schedule G, line 2a.  . . . . . .  

7. Allowable credit. Enter the smaller  
of lines 5 or 6 here and in  
line 42 on Form 2 . . . . . . . .  

Note: Be sure to complete and enclose Schedule 
OJC, Income Tax Paid to Other Jurisdictions, and 
enter the two-letter state or jurisdictional postal 
code for each state or jurisdiction for which you 
are taking the credit. Taxpayers from a territory or 
dependency of the U.S., or the Dominion of Can-
ada or any of its provinces, must enter “FC” as 
the postal code.

Line 43. Other Credits (from Schedule CMS)
Enter the total from Schedule CMS, Credit Man-
ager Schedule. Do not include refundable credits 
that you will be reporting on line 55 in the total re-
ported on this line. Be sure to enclose Schedule 
CMS with your return. Failure to do so will delay 
the processing of your return.

Schedule CMS
Be sure to enclose with Form 1.

Credit Manager Schedule
You must complete Schedule CMS to claim most 
credits available for use in the current taxable year 
(the Earned Income, Limited Income and Circuit 
Breaker Tax credits are claimed directly on the tax 
return). Credits may be used to offset a tax due, 
may be passed or shared with another person or 
entity, or, in some cases credits may be fully or 
partially refundable. 

For each credit claimed on a Schedule CMS, re-
port the amount of the credit available for use 
and the amount of credit claimed to reduce tax 
for the current taxable year. For pass-through en-
tities, report the amount of credit distributed to 
partners/shareholders/beneficiaries in the credit 
shared column. Taxpayers also report the amount 
of a refundable credit they are using to request 
a refund of tax. See the Credit Manager Sched-
ule Instructions for more information on how to 
complete the Schedule CMS and claim the credits.

Credits reported on the Schedule CMS are gen-
erally identified either by a certificate number as- 
signed by the issuing agency (which may be the 
Department of Revenue) or by the tax period end 
date in which the credit originated. If a credit has 
been assigned a certificate number, the certificate 
number must be included on the Schedule CMS. 
A taxpayer that does not include an assigned cer-
tificate number on the Schedule CMS will not be 
allowed the credit on the tax return and will have 
their tax liability adjusted by the Department of 
Revenue. Be sure to omit hyphens, spaces, deci-
mals and other special symbols when entering the 
certificate number. Also, enter the number from 
left to right.

Likewise, a taxpayer that is required to complete 
a separate schedule to claim a credit must include 
the separate schedule with the taxpayer’s return 
filing. Failure to do so may result in the credit 
being disallowed.

If, by operation of MGL ch 63, § 32C or another 
provision of law, a credit normally identified by tax 
period end date is eligible for indefinite carryover, 
the credit should be reported as “non-expiring” 
and identification of the tax period of origin is not 
necessary.

Overview of Schedule CMS
The following is a brief overview of the Schedule 
CMS sections and where certain credits should be 
reported. If a taxpayer is using a credit to reduce 
a taxpayer’s current year tax liability, whether it 
is a non-refundable credit or a refundable credit, 
the credit should be reported in Section 1 or 3 of 



Form 2 Instructions 12

the Schedule CMS. Only a refundable credit that 
the taxpayer is seeking a refund for should be re-
ported in either Section 2 or 4 of the Schedule 
CMS. Generally, a credit should only be reported 
in one section on the Schedule CMS unless a por-
tion of it is being used to offset a tax and a portion 
is being refunded.

Section 1. Non-Refundable Credits
Section 1 is for reporting credits the taxpayer is 
using (i) to offset or reduce the taxpayer’s total 
tax due (ii) to pass to any partner, shareholder or 
beneficiary of the taxpayer or (iii) to share with 
taxpayer affiliates. The Brownfields Credit, Film 
Incentive Credit, or Medical Device Credit should 
always be included in Section 1, unless the tax-
payer is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive 
Credit. However, a taxpayer that received a credit 
on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule from a pass-
through entity or a credit transfer should report 
such credit in Section 3 or 4, as applicable.

Section 2. Refundable Credits
Section 2 is for reporting refundable credits the 
taxpayer is using to request a refund. The Film 
Incentive Credit should always be included in Sec-
tion 2 to the extent that the taxpayer is requesting 
a refund. However, a taxpayer that received a re-
fundable credit on a Massachusetts K-1 from a 
pass-through entity or a credit transfer should re-
port such credit in Section 4, to the extent that the 
taxpayer is requesting a refund. For each refund-
able credit, report the amount of the credit avail-
able after taking into consideration any amount 
of the credits that may have been taken to offset 
a tax or shared as reported in Section 1 of this 
schedule. Enter the amount by which the available 
credit balance is being reduced and the amount to 

be treated as a refundable credit, which may be ei-
ther 90% or 100% of the reduction. See TIR 13-6, 
Example 3, for an illustration.

Section 3. Non-Refundable Credits 
Received from Massachusetts K-1 
Schedules
Section 3 is for reporting credits the taxpayer re-
ceived on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule (SK-1, 
2K-1 or 3K-1) that the taxpayer is using  (i) to 
offset or reduce the taxpayer’s total tax due (ii) 
to pass to any partner, shareholder or beneficiary 
of the taxpayer or (iii) to share with taxpayer af-
filiates. The Brownfields Credit, Film Incentive 
Credit, or Medical Device Credit should never be 
included in Section 3.

Note: You do not report the Brownfields Credit, 
Film Incentive Credit, and Medical Device Credit in 
this section because these credits are issued new 
certificate numbers from the Department of Rev-
enue when they are received from a pass-through 
entity or a credit transfer. These credits should al-
ways be reported in Section 1, unless the taxpayer 
is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive Credit.

Section 4. Refundable Credits Received 
from Massachusetts K-1 Schedules
Section 4 is for reporting credits the taxpayer re-
ceived on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule (SK-1, 
2K-1 or 3K-1) and that the taxpayer is using to re-
quest a refund..  The Film Incentive Credit should 
never be included in Section 4. For each refund-
able credit, report the amount of the credit avail-
able after taking into consideration any amount 
of the credits that may have been used to offset 
a tax or shared as reported in Section 3 of this 

schedule. Enter the amount by which the available 
credit balance is being reduced and the amount 
to be treated as a refundable credit, which may 
be either 90% or 100% of the reduction.  See TIR 
13-6, Example 3, for an illustration.

Note: You do not report the refundable Film Incen-
tive Credit in this section because these credits are 
issued new certificate numbers from the Depart-
ment of Revenue when they are received from a 
pass-through entity or a credit transfer. If the tax-
payer is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive 
Credit, it should be reported in Section 2.

List of Credit Names and Credit Codes
The following table identifies various credits 
that may be available to a taxpayer subject to tax 
under MGL ch 62 and that must be claimed on a 
Schedule CMS.

Credit name . . . . . . . . . . . . . Credit type code

Angel Investor Credit……………..AGLCRD

Apprenticeship Tax Credit………..APPCRD*

Brownfields . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . BRWFLD

Certified Housing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . CRTHOU

Community Investment . . . . . . . . . CMMINV*

Conservation Land . . . . . . . . . . . . . CNSLND*

Dairy Farm . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . DAIFRM*

EDIP . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . EDIPCR*

EDIP-Vacant Storefront Credit…  ..VACSTR*

EOAC . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . EOACCR

Farming & Fisheries . . . . . . . . . . . . FRMFSH

Film Incentive . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . FLMCRD*

Historic Rehabilitation . . . . . . . . . . HISRHB

   Schedule CMS, Example 1

The total of the amounts shown in column f are shown on the appropriate line of the taxpayer’s return.

Schedule CMS, Example 2

The Credit Manager Schedule will now also be used by individual taxpayers for certain credits. In Example 2, the taxpayer is an individual filing a return for the
taxable year ending December 31, 2019 and has an available Septic Credit of $6,000 in the current year. Since this is the first year the taxpayer is claiming the
Septic Credit, the individual taxpayer must also enclose a Schedule SC. The individual should file Part 1 of the Schedule CMS to reflect a claimed credit of
$1,500 (Schedule SC, line 13).

2a. 2b. Period end date 2c. Certificate 2d. Credit available or 2e. Reduction in 2f. Refundable credit
Credit type (mm/dd/yyyy) number certificate balance balance for refund taken (100% or 90%)

FLMCRD 0000000011 $10,000 $10,000 $9,000

CNSLND 1110000000 $ 1,000 $ 1,000 $1,000

1a. 1b. Fill in if 1c. Period end date 1d. Certificate 1e. Credit available or 1f. Credit taken 1g. Credit shared
Credit type non-expiring (mm/dd/yyyy) number certificate balance this year this year

SEPTIC 12/31/2019 $6,000 $1,500

LEAD PAINT 12/31/2019 $1,000 $1,000



Form 2 Instructions 13

Lead Paint. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . LEDPNT

Life Science (FDA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . LFSFDA*

Life Science (ITC). . . . . . . . . . . . . . LFSITC*

Life Science (Jobs). . . . . . . . . . . . . LFSJOB*

Low-Income Housing. . . . . . . . . . . LOWINC

Low-Income Housing Donation . . . LIHDON

Medical Device . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . MEDDVC

Septic . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . SEPTIC

Solar & Wind Energy . . . . . . . . . . . SLRWND

Veteran’s Hire . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . VETHIR

*These credits are potentially refundable. 

Brief Summary of Available Credits on 
Schedule CMS
The following are brief summaries describing the 
specific credits that may be available to a taxpayer 
subject to tax under MGL ch 62 and that must be 
claimed on a Schedule CMS.

Angel Investor Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 may be 
eligible for an Angel Investor Credit (AIC) equal 
to 20% of the amount of qualifying investments 
in a qualifying business, and 30% of the amount 
of qualifying investments made by a taxpayer in-
vestor in a qualifying business located in a “Gate-
way municipality,” as defined in MGL ch 23A, § 
3A. The taxpayer must be an accredited investor, 
as defined in 15 USC § 77b(15)(ii), who is not 
the principal owner of the qualifying business and 
who is not involved in the qualifying business as 
a full-time professional activity. For purposes of 
the AIC, a taxpayer may invest up to $125,000 per 
qualifying business per year up to a maximum 
of $250,000. A taxpayer cannot claim more than 
$50,000 of the AIC for a single calendar year. The 
credit may be taken in either the tax year of the 
initial investment or may be carried forward to any 
of the 3 subsequent taxable years, as long as the 
qualifying business maintains its principal place 
of business in Massachusetts. If the qualifying 
business does not maintain its principal place of 
business in Massachusetts for this 3 year period, 
the taxpayer investor must repay the total amount 
of AIC claimed. The AIC is neither transferrable 
nor refundable. The Massachusetts Life Sciences 
Center is responsible for determining eligibility for 
the AIC and the actual amount awarded to a tax-
payer. See TIR 16-15 for further information.

To claim the AIC, enter the AIC certificate number 
and the amount of this AIC using credit code AGL-
CRD on the Schedule CMS.

Apprenticeship Tax Credit
Businesses subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
employ qualified apprentices may be eligible for 

an Apprenticeship Tax Credit (ATC). The credit is 
equal to the lesser of $4,800 or 50% of the wages 
paid by the business to each qualified apprentice 
it hires. Businesses are eligible for up to $100,000 
in credits each calendar year. To claim the credit, 
the primary place of employment of the apprentice 
must be in Massachusetts, the business employ-
ing the apprentice must register with the Division 
of Apprentice Standards as an apprenticeship 
program sponsor and enter into apprenticeship 
agreements with each apprentice for whom the 
credit is claimed, and the apprentice must be em-
ployed for at least 180 calendar days in the taxable 
year in which the credit is claimed. A business 
claiming the credit in a taxable year may also be 
eligible for a credit in the subsequent taxable year, 
provided that the Division of Apprentice Stan-
dards again certifies that the apprentice remains 
employed as an apprentice during the subsequent 
taxable year.

The ATC is not transferrable but is refundable. 
The ATC is available for tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2019. See TIR 18-13 for further 
information.

To claim the ATC, enter the ATC certificate number 
and the amount of the ATC using credit code AP-
PCRD on the Schedule CMS.

Brownfields Tax Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 and 
nonprofit organizations may be eligible to claim 
a Brownfields Tax Credit (BTC) for amounts ex-
pended to clean up contaminated property in 
Massachusetts in an amount equal to either 25% 
or 50% of the cost. The cleanup must begin on 
or before August 5, 2023, and costs must be in-
curred before January 1, 2024, and equal or ex-
ceed 15% of the assessed value of the property 
before the beginning of the cleanup. Contami-
nated properties must be owned or leased for 
business purposes, reported to the Department 
of Environmental Protection (DEP), cleaned up 
in compliance with DEP’s standards, and located 
in an economically distressed area identified by 
DEP. Unused portions of the BTC may be carried 
forward for the next 5 years. If a credit recipient 
does not maintain the property in compliance with 
standards set out by DEP, the credit may be recap-
tured. The BTC is not refundable. 

The BTC may be transferred, sold or assigned to 
another taxpayer with a liability under MGL ch 62 
or 63, or to a nonprofit organization. A taxpayer 
must complete a Form BCA, Brownfields Credit 
Application, and submit it to the Department of 
Revenue. If approved, the Department of Reve-
nue will issue a certificate reflecting the amount 
of the BTC. The party receiving the BTC must in-
clude the certificate number with each tax return 
in which the credits are being applied. BTC appli-

cation forms and additional information are avail-
able at mass.gov/dor.

To claim the BTC, enter the BTC certificate num-
ber and the amount of the BTC using credit code 
BRWFLD on the Schedule CMS.

Certified Housing Development Tax Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
invest in housing development projects in Mass-
achusetts may be eligible to claim the Certified 
Housing Development Credit

(CHDC) in an amount up to 25% of the costs of 
qualified project expenditures as defined in MGL 
ch 40V, § 1. Eligibility and the amount of CHDC 
awarded are determined and administered by the 
Department of Housing and Community Develop-
ment (DHCD). The CHDC is not refundable, but 
unused amounts may be transferred or carried 
forward for 10 years. See TIRs 16-15, 10-15 and 
10-14 for further information.

To claim the CHDC, enter the CHDC certificate 
number and the amount of the CHDC using credit 
code CRTHOU on the Schedule CMS. 

Community Investment Tax Credit 
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 may be 
able to claim a Community Investment Tax Credit 
(CITC) for cash contributions made to a commu-
nity partner to support the implementation of its 
community investment plan, or to a community 
partnership fund. The CITC is equal to 50% of 
the total contribution made by the taxpayer and 
cannot be claimed for contributions of less than 
$1,000. The Department of Housing and Commu-
nity Development (DHCD) is responsible for de-
termining which contributions qualify for the CITC 
and the actual amount of the CITC awarded. The 
CITC is not transferrable. However, the CITC is re-
fundable, or, alternatively, may be carried forward 
for 5 years. See DHCD’s “Community Investment 
Grant and Tax Credit Program” regulation, 760 
CMR 68.00, the Department of Revenue’s “Com-
munity Investment Tax Credit” regulation, 830 
CMR 62.6M.1, and TIRs 16-15 and 13-15 for fur-
ther information. 

To claim the CITC, enter the CITC certificate num-
ber and the amount of the CITC using credit code 
CMMINV on the Schedule CMS.

Conservation Land Tax Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
make qualified donations of certified land to a 
public or private conservation agency in Mass-
achusetts may be eligible for a Conservation Land 
Tax Credit (CLTC). The Executive Office of Energy 
and Environmental Affairs (EEA) ultimately deter-
mines which donations qualify for the CLTC and 
the actual amount of the CLTC attributable to the 
donation. The CLTC is equal to 50% of the fair 
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market value of the donated certified land, but 
may not exceed $75,000. The credit is refundable, 
but is not transferable. Taxpayers who claim the 
CLTC may not claim any other credit or deduction 
in the same tax year for the costs related to the 
same donated, certified land.

For more information, please see the EEA’s “Con-
servation Land Tax Credit” regulation, 301 CMR 
14.00, which sets forth the EEA’s criteria for au-
thorizing and certifying the credit. See also the 
Department of Revenue’s “Conservation Land Tax 
Credit” regulation, 830 CMR 62.6.4, which ex-
plains the calculation of the allowable CLTC.

To claim the CLTC, enter the CLTC certificate num-
ber and the amount of the CLTC using credit code 
CNSLND on Schedule CMS. 

Dairy Farm Tax Credit
Massachusetts dairy farmers taxable under MGL 
ch 62 may be eligible for a Dairy Farm Tax Credit 
(DFTC)based on the amount of milk produced 
and sold during the taxable year when the cost of 
milk drops below a price based on federal stan-
dards. The dairy farm must have a certificate of 
registration as a Massachusetts dairy farmer 
from the Massachusetts Department of Agricul-
tural Resources (MDAR).  The total amount of 
DFTC granted through the program cannot exceed 
$6,000,000 in any year. The DFTC is refundable, 
but is not transferrable. 

To claim the DFTC, enter the MDAR-issued cer-
tificate number and the amount of the DFTC 
from the MDAR’s Dairy Farmer Certified Tax 
Credit Statement using credit code DAIFRM on 
Schedule CMS. 

Economic Opportunity Area/
Economic Development Incentive 
Program Credits
Economic Opportunity Area Credit 
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
participated in projects certified by the Economic 
Assistance Coordinating Council (EACC) before 
January 1, 2010, may be eligible to claim a an 
Economic Opportunity Area Credit (EOAC) equal 
to 5% of the cost of qualifying property purchased 
for business use within a certified project within 
an Economic Opportunity Area (EOA). To qualify 
for the EOAC, the property must be used exclu-
sively by the certified project in an EOA and must 
meet the same tests imposed for the 3% Invest-
ment Tax Credit (ITC). A certified project is a proj-
ect approved by the EACC. The 5% EOAC cannot 
offset more than 50% of the tax due. Any unused 
EOAC may be carried forward for 10 years. The 
EOAC may be subject to recapture if a taxpayer’s 
business is decertified by the EACC, or a taxpayer 
stops using the qualifying property in a certified 

project before the end of the property’s useful life. 
The EOAC is neither refundable nor transferra-
ble. The EOAC is not available to certified projects 
that were certified by the EACC on or after Janu-
ary 1, 2010. See TIRs 16-15 and 10-01 for further 
information.

To claim the EOAC, complete Schedule EOAC and 
enter the amount of the credit using credit code 
EOACCR on the Schedule CMS. Include both the 
completed Schedule EOAC and Schedule CMS 
with the return. 

Economic Development Incentive Program 
Credit 
For projects certified by the EACC on or after Janu-
ary 1, 2010, the Economic Development Incentive 
Program Credit (EDIPC) is available to taxpayers 
subject to tax under MGL ch 62 with respect to 
certified projects as defined under MGL ch 23A. 
The EDIPC is equal to a percentage of the cost 
of qualifying property purchased by a certified 
project for business use within Massachusetts. 
As part of the project certification, the EACC may 
(but is not required to) award a credit under the 
program and determine the percentage of the cost 
of the property to be used to determine the credit. 
In addition the EACC may award an EDIPC that is 
refundable. To qualify for the EDIPC, the qualifying 
property must be used exclusively in the certified 
project in Massachusetts and must meet the same 
tests imposed for the 3% ITC. 

Unless the EDIPC awarded is refundable, the 
credit may not offset more than 50% of the tax 
due. Carryover of unused credit is available only to 
the extent authorized by the EACC. The EACC may, 
in consultation with the Department of Revenue, 
limit (but not expand) the EDIPC to a specific dol-
lar amount or time duration or in any other man-
ner deemed appropriate by the EACC. St. 2009, c. 
166, § 18. For example, the EACC may limit the 
EDIPC available with respect to a particular proj-
ect to a specific dollar maximum, even if the actual 
dollar amount of the qualifying purchases would 
otherwise generate a higher credit amount. Simi-
larly, the EACC may limit the otherwise applicable 
credit carry forward period provided by MGL ch 
62, § 6(g). The EDIPC may be subject to recapture 
if a taxpayer’s business is decertified by the EACC, 
or a taxpayer stops using the qualifying property 
in a certified project before the end of the prop-
erty’s useful life. The EDIPC is not transferable. 
See TIRs 16-15, 14-3, 10-15, and 10-1 for further 
information.

To claim the EDIPC, complete Schedule EDIP 
and enter the amount of the EDIPC using credit 
code EDIPCR on Schedule CMS. Also, enter the 
EACC-issued certificate number on Schedule 
CMS. Include both the completed Schedule EDIP 
and Schedule CMS with the return.

EDIP Credit for Projects Certified on or 
after January 1, 2017
The EDIPC provisions were significantly changed 
for projects certified on or after January 1, 2017. 
For projects certified by the EACC on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2017, the EDIPC allowed to taxpayers 
subject to tax under MGL ch 62 is determined by 
the EACC based on numerous factors set forth in 
MGL ch 23A § 3D. The EACC may award a refund-
able EDIPC to any certified project. Carryover of 
unused EDIPC is available only to the extent au-
thorized by the EACC. Recapture is required only 
if the EACC revokes the certification of a project. 
The EDIPC is not transferable. See TIRs 16-15 and 
10-01 for further information.

To claim the EDIPC, complete Schedule EDIP 
and enter the amount of the EDIPC using credit 
code EDIPCR on Schedule CMS. Also, enter the 
EACC-issued certificate number on Schedule 
CMS. Include both the completed Schedule EDIP 
and Schedule CMS with the return.

EDIP Credit for Vacant Storefronts
Effective January 1, 2019, awards of EDIPC are 
also available as a Vacant Storefront Credit (VSC) 
to taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
occupy vacant storefronts in downtown areas that 
have been designated as Certified Vacant Store-
front Districts. To claim the VSC a taxpayer must 
apply for and obtain certification from the EACC 
and must commit to occupy the vacant storefront 
for not less than 1 year. The taxpayer does not 
need to invest in improvements or create new jobs 
to claim the VSC. The EACC awards such VSC on a 
competitive basis, taking into account the factors 
set forth in MGL ch 23A § 3C. The amount of VSC 
available to taxpayers occupying vacant store-
fronts is limited to $500,000 in a calendar year. 

The VSC is not transferrable but is refundable. 
For additional information about the credit, con-
tact the Massachusetts Office of Business Devel-
opment at 617-973-8600.

To claim the VSC, enter the amount of the VSC 
using credit code VACSTR on Schedule CMS. 
Also, enter the EACC-issued certificate number 
on Schedule CMS. 

Farming and Fisheries Credit
Taxpayers primarily engaged in agriculture or 
farming and subject to tax under MGL ch 62 may 
be eligible for a Farming and Fisheries Credit (FFC) 
equal to 3% of the cost or other basis for fed-
eral income tax purposes of qualifying property 
acquired, constructed or erected during the tax 
year. Qualifying property is defined as tangible 
personal property and other tangible property, 
including buildings and structural components 
thereof which are located in Massachusetts, used 
solely in farming, agriculture or fishing, and are 
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depreciable with a useful life of at least 4 years. 
Lessees are also eligible for the FFC. However, 
where the lessee is eligible for the FFC, the les-
sor is generally not eligible, with the exception of 
“equine-based businesses where care and board-
ing of horses is a function of the agricultural ac-
tivity.”  A taxpayer may carry forward any unused 
portion of the FFC for up to 3 years. See TIR 14-3 
for further information. 

To claim the FFC, complete Schedule FAF, Farm-
ing and Fisheries Credit, and enter the amount of 
the FFC using credit code FRMFSH on Schedule 
CMS. Include both the completed Schedule FAF 
and Schedule CMS with the return.

Film Incentive Credit
Motion picture production companies subject 
to tax under MGL ch 62 may be eligible to claim 
the Film Incentive Credit (FIC) for certain payroll 
and production expenses. Production companies 
that incur at least $50,000 of production costs in 
Massachusetts are eligible for a credit equal to 
25% of the total Massachusetts payroll for the 
production, excluding salaries of $1 million and 
higher. In addition, production companies whose 
Massachusetts production expenses exceed 50% 
of the total production cost may receive a credit 
equal to 25% of the total Massachusetts produc-
tion expense. The FIC may be applied against tax-
payer’s liability, reduced by any other available 
credits, and then 90% of any remaining credits 
may be refunded. Subject to certain conditions, 
unused credits may be carried over, refunded, or 
transferred by the taxpayer for the following 5 tax 
years. Transferees may carry forward unused FIC 
for the 5 tax years subsequent to the first tax year 
the FIC was allowed to the initial transferor. The 
FIC is not refundable to the transferee. See TIR 
07-15 for further information.

To claim the FIC, enter the FIC certificate num-
ber and the amount of the FIC using credit code 
FLMCRD on the Schedule CMS. Supporting doc-
umentation must be available to the Department 
of Revenue upon request. Certificate application 
forms and additional information are available at 
mass.gov/dor.

Historical Rehabilitation Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 who 
have made qualified expenditures in the rehabili-
tation of a qualified historic structure may be eli-
gible to claim a Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit 
(HRTC). The HRTC is up to 20% of the taxpayer’s 
rehabilitation expenditures made in substantially 
rehabilitating a historic structure that has received 
final certification from the Massachusetts Histor-
ical Commission and placed into service (where 
occupancy of the entire structure or some identi-
fiable portion of it is permitted). Unused portions 

of the HRTC may be carried forward for the next 
5 tax years. The HRTC may be transferred or sold 
to another taxpayer but is not refundable. HRTC 
awards also may be transferred to other qualify-
ing taxpayers that acquire a historic structure, as 
long as certain criteria are met. The HRTC may 
be subject to recapture if the taxpayer disposes 
of its interest in the structure within 5 years of its 
placement into service. HRTC awards however are 
not subject to recapture. For further information, 
see the Department of Revenue’s “Massachusetts 
Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit” regulation, 830 
CMR 63.38R.1, and TIRs 16-15 and 10-11. 

To claim the HRTC, enter the HRT certificate num-
ber and the amount of the HRTC using credit code 
HISRHB on the Schedule CMS. Supporting doc-
umentation must be enclosed with the return or 
the HRTC may be disallowed. For further informa-
tion on documentation see the Transfer/Sale HRC: 
Historic Rehabilitation Credit Certificate form and 
Allotment Schedule HRC: Historic Rehabilitation 
Credit Summary form.

Lead Paint Tax Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62, who 
own residential premises in Massachusetts con-
structed prior to 1978 and who incurred expenses 
for covering or removing lead paint on such res-
idential premises, may claim a Lead Paint Tax 
Credit (LPTC) for these expenses in an amount 
equal to up to $1,500 for each residential unit. A 
taxpayer may carry forward any unused portion of 
the LPTC for up to 7 taxable years. See the Depart-
ment of Revenue’s “Lead Paint Removal Credit” 
regulation, 830 CMR 62.6.3, and other rules as 
explained on Massachusetts Schedule LP, Credit 
for Removing or Covering Lead Paint on Residen-
tial Premises.

To claim the LPTC, complete Schedule LP and 
enter the amount of the LPTC using credit code 
LEDPNT on the Schedule CMS. Be sure to enter 
in line 1a of the Schedule CMS the total number 
of units indicated in Schedule LP, line(s) 1a and 
3a. Include both the completed Schedule LP and 
Schedule CMS with the return.

Life Sciences Refundable FDA User Fees 
Tax Credit
Certified life sciences companies subject to tax 
under MGL ch 62, to the extent authorized by the 
Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, may be el-
igible to claim a Life Sciences Refundable FDA 
User Fees Tax Credit. The credit is equal to 100% 
of the user fees paid on or after June 16, 2008, 
to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 
upon submission of an application to manufacture 
a human drug in Massachusetts. The credit may 
be claimed in the tax year in which the application 
for licensure of an establishment to manufacture 

the drug is approved by the FDA. To be eligible 
for the credit, more than 50% of the research and 
development costs for the drug must have been 
incurred in Massachusetts. Certified life sciences 
companies may use the FDA user fees credit to 
reduce their tax to zero. At the option of the tax-
payer and to the extent authorized pursuant to the 
Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, where the 
credit exceeds the tax due, 90% of the balance 
of the excess credit is refundable. A life sciences 
company claiming the credit may not also deduct 
the FDA user fees for which the credit is claimed 
on its return. In the event a company’s certifica-
tion as a life sciences company is revoked, the re-
capture of the Life Sciences ITC may be required. 
The credit is not transferrable. For further infor-
mation, see TIRs 13-6 and 08-23. To claim the 
credit, complete a Schedule RLSC and enter the 
amount of the credit using credit code LFSFDA on 
the Schedule CMS.

Life Sciences Refundable Investment Tax 
Credit
Certified life sciences companies subject to tax 
under MGL ch 62, to the extent authorized by the 
Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, may claim a 
Life Sciences Refundable Investment Tax Credit 
(LSRITC) equal to 10% of the cost of qualifying 
property acquired, constructed, reconstructed, or 
erected and used exclusively in Massachusetts. 
If the LSRITC exceeds the tax due, 90% of the 
balance of such LSRITC may, at the option of 
the taxpayer and to the extent authorized pursu-
ant to the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, 
be refundable to the taxpayer for the tax year in 
which the qualified property giving rise to such 
LSRITC is placed in service. If the taxpayer elects 
to make the LSRITC refundable, then the carry-
over provisions for this credit that would oth-
erwise apply shall not be available. Certified life 
sciences companies qualifying for the Economic 
Development Incentive Program Credit (EDIPC) 
may only take EDIPC to the extent of an additional 
2% of the cost of the qualifying property. In the 
event a company’s certification as a life sciences 
company is revoked, the recapture of the LSRITC 
may be required. The LSRITC is not transferrable. 
For further information, see TIRs 13-6 and 08-23. 
To claim the LSRITC, complete a Schedule RLSC 
and enter the amount of the LSRITC using credit 
code LFSITC on the Schedule CMS.

Life Sciences Refundable Jobs Tax Credit
Certified life sciences companies subject to tax 
under MGL ch 62, to the extent authorized by the 
Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, may receive 
a Life Sciences Refundable Jobs Tax Credit (LSR-
JTC) in an amount determined by the Massachu-
setts Life Sciences Center in consultation with the 
Department of Revenue. A taxpayer claiming the 



Form 2 Instructions 16

LSRJTC must commit to the creation of a mini-
mum of 50 net new permanent full-time positions 
in Massachusetts. If the LSRJTC claimed by a 
taxpayer exceeds the tax otherwise due, 90% of 
the balance of such LSRJTC may, at the option of 
the taxpayer and to the extent authorized by the 
Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, be refund-
able. Excess LSRJTC cannot be carried forward 
to subsequent taxable years. The LSRJTC is not 
transferrable. The LSRJTC is subject to all of the 
requirements of the Life Sciences Tax Incentive 
Program under MGL ch 23I. In the event of the 
revocation of a company’s certification as a life 
sciences company or other disqualifying events, 
the LSRJTC may be subject to recapture. For more 
information, see TIRs 13-6, 11-6, and 08-23. 

To claim the LSRJTC, complete a Schedule RLSC 
and enter the amount of the LSRJTC using credit 
code LFSJOB on the Schedule CMS.

Low Income Housing Tax Credit 
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 who 
invest in a qualified low-income housing project 
located in Massachusetts may be eligible for the 
Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC). The 
Department of Housing and Community Devel-
opment (DHCD) determines which low-income 
housing projects will qualify for the LIHTC, which 
properties may generate a LIHTC for investors, 
and ultimately allocates the amount of credit 
a taxpayer may claim based on a total pool of 
$20,000,000. This LIHTC may be claimed in the 
year that a “qualified Massachusetts project” is 
placed in service and for each of the four sub-
sequent taxable years. The properties must also 
meet the requirements established by Massachu-
setts and federal laws, and be owned by a tax-
payer who enters into a regulatory agreement 
with DHCD.

Any unused LIHTC may be carried forward for 
the next 5 tax years. Alternatively, unused credits 
may be transferred. If an event or circumstance 
occurs that results, or would have resulted, in the 
recapture of any portion of a federal Low Income 
Housing Credit, then the Massachusetts LIHTC 
may also be subject to recapture. The LIHTC is 
not refundable.

To claim the LIHTC, enter the LIHTC certificate 
number and the amount of the LIHTC using credit 
code LOWINC on the Schedule CMS. Supporting 
documentation must be enclosed with the return 
or the LIHTC may be disallowed. For further infor-
mation on documentation see the Transfer LIHC: 
Low-Income Housing Credit Statement form and 
Allotment Schedule LIHC: Low-Income Housing 
Credit Summary form. For further information re-
garding this credit, contact DHCD, Division of Pri-
vate Housing, at (617) 727-7824. 

Low Income Housing Donation Tax Credit
Taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
make a “qualified donation” of real or personal 
property to certain non-profit entities for use 
in purchasing, constructing or rehabilitating a 
“qualified Massachusetts project” may be eligi-
ble to claim a Low Income Housing Donation Tax 
Credit (LIHDTC). This credit operates in the same 
manner as the Low Income Housing Tax Credit 
(LIHTC), but the LIHDTC is limited to 50% of the 
amount of the “qualified donation,” which may be 
increased to 65% by DHCD. In addition, the LI-
HDTC may only be claimed in the year that the 
“qualified donation” is made. However, any un-
used LIHDTC may be carried forward for the next 
5 years. The Department of Housing and Com-
munity Development (DHCD) determines eligibil-
ity and ultimately allocates the LIHDTC a taxpayer 
may claim based on a total pool of $20,000,000 
shared with the LIHTC. Only one-fifth of awarded 
LIHDTC will count towards this pool. The LIHDTC 
is not refundable, but is transferrable in the same 
manner as the LIHTC.

The property must also meet the requirements es-
tablished by Massachusetts and federal laws and 
be owned by an owner who enters into a regula-
tory agreement with DHCD. If an event or circum-
stance occurs that results, or would have resulted, 
in the recapture of any portion of a federal Low 
Income Housing Credit, then the Massachusetts 
LIHDTC may also be subject to recapture. 

To claim the LIHDTC, enter the LIHDTC certifi-
cate number and the amount of the LIHDTC using 
credit code LIHDON on the Schedule CMS. Sup-
porting documentation must be enclosed with the 
return or the LIHDTC may be disallowed. For fur-
ther information on documentation see the Trans-
fer LIHC: Low-Income Housing Credit Statement 
form and Allotment Schedule LIHC: Low-Income 
Housing Credit Summary form. For further infor-
mation regarding this credit, contact DHCD, Divi-
sion of Private Housing, at (617) 727-7824. 

Medical Device Tax Credit
Medical Device Companies taxable under MGL ch 
62 may be eligible to claim a Medical Device Tax 
Credit (MDTC). The MDTC is equal to 100% of the 
user fees actually paid by the medical device com-
pany to the United States Food and Drug Admin-
istration (FDA). To qualify for the MDTC, the user 
fees must be paid during the tax year for which the 
tax is due for pre-market submissions (e.g., appli-
cations, supplements, or 510(k) submissions) to 
market new technologies developed or manufac-
tured in Massachusetts. 

The MDTC may not be carried forward to sub-
sequent tax years. The MDTC is not refundable. 
However, unused portions of the credit may be 
transferred to a purchasing company, who may 

carry over the MDTC but must use it within 5 years 
of the issuance of the certificate. The purchasing 
company may not transfer the MDTC. 

To claim the MDTC, enter the MDTC certificate 
number and the amount of the MDTC using credit 
code MEDDVC on the Schedule CMS. Certificate 
application forms and additional information are 
available at mass.gov/dor.

Septic System Tax Credit
Individual taxpayers subject to tax under MGL 
ch 62 who own and occupy residential property 
located in Massachusetts as their principal res-
idence may be eligible for a Septic System Tax 
Credit (SSTC). Taxpayers may claim the SSTC in 
an amount up to $1,500 per taxable year for ex-
penses incurred to comply with the sewer sys-
tem requirements of Title V as promulgated by 
the Department of Environmental Protection or 
to connect to a municipal sewer system pursu-
ant to a federal court order, administrative consent 
order, state court order, consent decree or simi-
lar mandate. The amount of the SSTC is 40% of 
the cost, up to $15,000, for design and construc-
tion expenses for repair or replacement of a failed 
cesspool or septic system. The maximum aggre-
gate amount of the SSTC is $6,000. Any unused 
portion of the SSTC may be carried forward for 5 
years. Betterment assessments do not qualify for 
this SSTC. See Department of Revenue Directive 
01-6 and TIRs 99-20, 99-5, 98-8, and 97-12 for 
further information.

To claim the SSTC, complete Schedule SC, Septic 
Credit, and enter the amount of the SSTC using 
credit code SEPTIC on the Schedule CMS. Include 
both the completed Schedule SC and Schedule 
CMS with the return.

Solar and Wind Energy
Individual taxpayers subject to tax under MGL ch 
62 that made expenditures for certain renewable 
energy source items, such as equipment which 
uses or transmits solar or wind energy to heat, 
cool, or provide hot water for their principal res-
idence in Massachusetts, may qualify for a Solar 
and Wind Energy Credit (SWEC). The SWEC is not 
refundable. However, unused portions of the credit 
may be carried forward for the next three years.  

To claim the SWEC, complete Schedule EC, Resi-
dential Energy Credit, and enter the amount of the 
SWEC using credit code SLRWND on Schedule 
CMS. Include both the completed Schedule EC 
and Schedule CMS with the return.

Veteran’s Hire Tax Credit
Businesses subject to tax under MGL ch 62 that 
hire veterans who live and work in Massachusetts 
may be eligible for a Veteran’s Hire Tax Credit 
(VHTC). The credit is equal to $2,000 for each 
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qualified veteran hired. The business must em-
ploy fewer than 100 employees; be certified by the 
Commissioner of Veteran’s Services; and qualify 
for and claim the federal Work Opportunity Credit 
allowed under IRC § 51. A business may be eligi-
ble for a second VHTC for the next taxable year if 
the veteran continues to work for the business. 
The VHTC is neither refundable nor transferrable. 
Any amount of VHTC that exceeds the tax due in 
the current taxable year may be carried forward to 
any of the 3 subsequent taxable years. The VHTC 
is available for qualified veterans hired after July 
1, 2017. See TIR 17-10 for further information. 

To claim the VHTC, enter the VHTC certificate 
number and the amount of the VHTC using credit 
code VETHIR on the Schedule CMS.

Line 45. Credits Passed Through to 
Beneficiaries
The credits reported on lines 42 and 43 may be 
passed through to beneficiaries on line 45 and the 
applicable lines on Schedule 2K-1. Alternatively, 
they may be taken at the estate or trust level on 
line 46. These alternatives are mutually exclusive. 
If credits are passed through to a beneficiary, any 
credits that cannot be applied in the taxable year 
for which a carryover is allowed may be carried 
over and applied against the beneficiary’s personal 
income tax liability in succeeding taxable years. 
Carryovers may not be claimed at the estate or 
trust level in such cases.

Line 46. Credits Remaining with Fiduciary
If the credits reported on lines 42 and 43 are taken 
at the estate or trust level on line 46, any cred-
its that cannot be applied in the taxable year for 
which a carryover is allowed may be carried over 
and applied against the estate’s or trust’s income 
tax liability in succeeding taxable years. Unused 
credits may not be passed through to beneficiaries 
on line 45. Either the fiduciary or the beneficiaries 
may take the credits, but not both.

Line 48. Overpayment From Original 
Return (amended return only)
Include on line 48 the amount reported on line 57 
of your original return.

Line 50. Massachusetts Income Tax 
Withheld
Massachusetts income taxes withheld under the 
Employer Identification number of the estate or 
trust, as indicated on your copies of Forms W-2, 
W-2G, 1099-G, and 1099-R, should be included 
on line 50 only if not passed through to a ben-
eficiary( ies) on Schedule 2K-1, line 34. Be sure 
you enclose copies of these forms with your re-
turn; otherwise your claim of amounts withheld 
will not be allowed. If you have lost a form, ask 
the payer for a duplicate. Copies of Forms 1099-G 

and 1099-R need only be enclosed if they show 
an amount for Massachusetts tax withheld. For 
more information, see instructions for Schedule 
2K-1, line 34.

Line 51. 2018 Overpayment Applied to 
Your 2019 Estimated Tax
Include the exact amount of any 2018 overpay-
ment you applied to your 2019 estimated taxes 
from your 2018 Massachusetts Form 2, line 56. 
Do not include any 2018 refund in this line.

Line 52. 2019 Massachusetts Estimated 
Tax Payments
Enter the total amount of Massachusetts Form 
2-ES, estimated tax payments made for 2019 on 
line 52. Do not include on line 52 estimated tax 
payments made on Form 1-ES or Form 2-ES on 
behalf of beneficiaries or the amount in line 51. 
See DD 07-4.

Line 53. Payments Made with Extension
If you filed Massachusetts Form M-8736, Applica-
tion for Fiduciary Return Extension for 2019 on or 
before April 15, 2020, enter in line 53 the amount 
you paid with Massachusetts Form M-8736.

Line 54. Payment with Original Return
Use this line only if you are amending the original 
return. Enter in line 54 the amount of tax you paid 
with the original return from line 60, “Tax Due.” If 
estimated tax payments were made on the original 
return, they should be reflected on line 52, as on the 
original return. Select the appropriate Amended 
return oval on page 1. Complete the entire return, 
correct the appropriate line(s) with the new in-
formation and recompute the tax liability. On an 
enclosed sheet, explain the reason for the amend-
ment(s) and identify the line(s) and amount(s) 
being changed on the amended return. Mail the 
amended return to Massachusetts Department of 
Revenue, PO Box 7031, Boston, MA 02204. If you 
owe additional tax, mail the amended Form 2 to 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 
7018, Boston, MA 02204.

Line 55. Refundable Credits (from 
Schedule CMS)
Enter the total refundable credits from Schedule 
CMS, Credit Manager Schedule that are being 
claimed at the estate or trust level. Be sure to en-
close Schedule CMS with your return. Failure to 
do so will delay the processing of your return.

Line 58. Amount of Overpayment to be 
Applied to 2020 Massachusetts Estimated 
Taxes
Enter the amount of the 2019 overpayment from 
line 57 that you want applied to your 2020 Mass-
achusetts estimated taxes.

Line 59. Amount of Refund
Subtract line 58 from line 57, and enter the result 
in line 59. This is the amount of your refund.

Line 60. Tax Due
If line 49 is larger than line 56, subtract line 56 
from line 49, and enter the result on line 60. This 
is the amount of tax you owe. Pay in full with your 
return. Go to mass.gov/dor/masstaxconnect for 
online payment options. If you need to mail 
your payment, make the check or money order 
payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
and write the estate or trust Employer 
Identification number on the front of the check 
or money order in the lower left front corner.

Failure to file or failure to pay the proper amount 
of tax when due will result in an increasing amount 
of interest and penalties. It is to your advantage to 
file when your return is due, whether or not you 
are able to make full payment.

If you owe any interest, penalty or addition for 
the underpayment of estimated tax, add those 
amounts to the tax you owe when making 
your payment.

Interest and Penalties
Interest
If you fail to pay the tax when due, interest will be 
charged. For an explanation of how interest is com-
pounded in Massachusetts, see TIR 92-6 or call 
the Customer Service Bureau at (617) 887-MDOR 
or toll-free, in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089.

Penalty for Late Payment
The penalty for late payment is 1% of the tax 
due, per month (or fraction thereof) up to a max-
imum of 25%.

Penalty for Failure to File
The penalty for failure to file a tax return by the due 
date is 1% of the tax due, per month (or fraction 
thereof) up to a maximum of 25%.

Penalty for Protested (“Bad”) Check
If any check sent in payment of tax or other charge 
is not honored by your bank because of insuffi-
cient funds or for any other reason, a penalty of 
$30 or the amount of the payment, whichever is 
less, may be charged.

Federal (Audit) Change Penalty
If the U.S. Internal Revenue Service changes a tax 
return for a prior year (generally through audit), 
file an amended Form 2 together with any required 
schedules or additional payments within one year 
of the final federal determination to avoid a pen-
alty. The penalty is equal to 10% of the additional 
tax due. Remember to select the appropriate 
Amended return oval on page 1 of Form 2. If the 
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change indicates a refund, file an amended return 
within one year.

Addition for Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax
If withholding and/or estimated tax payments do 
not equal 80% of the total tax liability required to 
be paid, an addition to tax will generally apply if 
your 2019 tax due after credits and withholding is 
greater than $400. If you failed to meet these re-
quirements, you must complete and enclose Mass-
achusetts Form M-2210F to calculate the amount 
of penalty you must add to line 60, or to show 
which exception applies. Most taxpayers who qual-
ify for an exception made withholding and/or esti-
mated payments equal to their tax liability for the 
previous year. You do not have to complete Form 
M-2210F if the balance due with your return is 
$400 or less.

Taxpayer’s Declaration
At least one of the fiduciaries must sign and date 
the return, under penalties of perjury. Fiduciaries 
using facsimile signatures must follow the proce-
dures in DD 89-9. Enclose all state copies of any 
Forms W-2, W-2G, and any 1099 with Massachu-
setts withholding with the Form 2. Make the check 
or money order payable to the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts and be sure to sign the check. The 
estate or trust Employer Identification number 
should be entered on the front of the check. En-
close all required U.S. forms and schedules to the 
back. Please enclose Massachusetts forms and 
schedules first, followed by Massachusetts Form 
M-2210F. The return, together with payment in full, 
is due, for calendar year filers on or before April 15, 
2020. Fiscal year returns are generally due on the 
15th day of the fourth month after the close of the 
fiscal year. Mail to Massachusetts Department of 
Revenue, PO Box 7018, Boston, MA 02204. Di-
rect fiduciary inquiries (not returns) to Massachu-
setts Department of Revenue, Customer Service 
Bureau, PO Box 7010, Boston, MA 02204, or call 
(617) 887-MDOR.

Schedule 
Instructions
Schedule B/R
Beneficiary/Remaindermen Name of 
Estate or Trust
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate 
or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 
fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their 
appointing court ruled.

Estate or Trust Employer Identification 
Number
Enter the U.S. Employer Identification number. If 
you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Applica-
tion for Employer Identification number, should be 
used to apply for one. Do not use a decedent’s 
Social Security number for an estate. A separate 
Employer Identification number is required for the 
estate and for each trust entity.

Name of Beneficiary
As used in this form, beneficiary means income 
beneficiary. A trust income beneficiary is a benefi-
ciary who is entitled to receive the income from the 
trust. If filing for other than a trust, enter the name 
and address of the person receiving the income.

Name of Remainderman
A remainderman is the person or entity entitled 
to an estate after the prior estate has expired. In 
returns where taxable stock dividends, taxable 
gains from the purchase or sale of real estate, 
tangible and intangible personal property, or divi-
dends which are wholly or in part credited to cap-
ital have been received by the fiduciary during the 
tax year covered by this return and in all cases 
where all or part of the taxable income is accumu-
lated for remainder interests, Schedule B/R must 
include the complete name and address of each 
remainderman.

Beneficiary’s/Remainderman’s 
Identification Number
Enter the Social Security number of the income 
beneficiary or remainderman, if the income benefi-
ciary or remainderman is an individual. Enter the 
Employer Identification number of the income ben-
eficiary or remainderman, if the income beneficiary 
or remainderman is an entity.

Legal Domicile
A legal domicile is a person’s permanent home. 
Enter the legal domicile of the income beneficiary 
or remainderman.

Total Income
Enter the dollar amount of the income the ben-
eficiary or remainderman received during the tax 
period covered by the return.

Percentage of Income
Enter the percentage of total income that was 
paid to/or accumulated for each beneficiary or 
remainderman.

Percentage of Taxable Income
Indicate the percentage of total income tax-
able in Massachusetts for each beneficiary or 
remainderman.

Income Summary
Line 1. Accumulated Income
Enter the amount of income accumulated, i.e., re-
tained by the entity, for the year.

Line 3. Accumulated Capital Gain
Enter the amount of capital gain accumulated, i.e., 
retained by the entity, for the year.

Schedule B
Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital 
Gains and Losses
You must file Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule 
B if you have:

w Dividend income in excess of $1,500;

w Any interest income other than from Massachu-
setts banks taxed at 5.05%;

w Short-term capital gains or losses;

w Carryover short-term losses from prior years;

w Long-term gains on collectibles or pre-1996 in-
stallment sales classified as capital gain income 
for Massachusetts purposes;

w Gains or losses from the sale, exchange, or in-
voluntary conversion of property used in a trade 
or business;

w Net long-term capital gains or losses; or

w Excess exemptions.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is a 
collectible within the meaning of IRC § 408(m), as 
amended and in effect for the taxable year. Collect-
ibles include works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, 
gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins, 
and any other items treated as collectibles for fed-
eral tax purposes.

You need not fill out Massachusetts Form 2, Sched-
ule B if the only interest income you have is from 
Massachusetts banks. Report it on Form 2, line 
5 instead.

You must complete Massachusetts Form 2, Sched-
ule B if your interest or dividend income includes: 
dividends taxed directly to trusts or estates on a 
Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return; distributions 
that are returns of capital; or exempt portions of 
any interest or dividends from a mutual fund.

Name of Estate or Trust
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an es-
tate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. 
Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name 
as their appointing court ruled.

Estate or Trust Employer Identification 
Number
Enter the U.S. Employer Identification number. If 
you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Applica-
tion for Employer Identification number, should be 
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used to apply for one. Do not use a decedent’s 
Social Security number for an estate. A separate 
Employer Identification number is required for the 
estate and for each trust entity.

Line 1. Total Interest
Enter total interest from U.S. Form 1041, line 1 or 
1041-QFT, line 1a.

Note: Interest from a common trust fund may be 
excluded here, provided it is entered on Form 2, 
line 15. If common trust fund interest is included 
in this line, enter the amount on line 7 and on 
Form 2, line 15.

Line 2. Total Dividends
Enter total dividends from U.S. Form 1041, line 2a 
or 1041-QFT, line 2a.

Note: Dividends from a common trust fund may 
be excluded here, provided they are entered on 
Form 2, line 15. If common trust fund dividends 
are included in this line, enter the amount on line 
7 and on Form 2, line 15.

Line 3. Other Interest and Dividends
Enter on line 3 any other interest and dividends 
not included on lines 1 and 2. Line 3 includes such 
items as interest from obligations of other states 
and their political subdivisions that are not taxable 
federally but are taxable in Massachusetts. Any 
tax exempt municipal interest, including interest 
from all Massachusetts municipalities, should be 
entered here for Schedule H computations.

Line 4. Total Interest and Dividends
Add lines 1 through 3 and enter the total on line 4.

Line 5. Interest on U.S. Debt Obligations
Enter the total amount of U.S. government obliga-
tion interest included on line 4. Interest from obli-
gations of the U.S. government are not taxable by 
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Line 6. Total Interest from Massachusetts 
Banks
Enter the total amount of interest from savings in 
Massachusetts banks included on Form 2, line 5.

Line 7. Other Exclusions
Enter any other interest or dividends to be ex-
cluded. A schedule and statement of explanation 
must be enclosed.

Note: Common trust fund interest or dividends 
included on lines 1 or 2 must be entered here. 
Any tax-exempt municipal interest entered on 
line 3, for Schedule H computations, must be en-
tered here.

Line 8. Total Adjustments
Add lines 5 through 7, and enter the total on line 8.

Line 9. Subtotal
Subtract line 8 from line 4, and enter the result 
on line 9.

Line 10. Allowable Deductions From Your 
Trade or Business
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule 
C-2, line 8 if you qualify for an excess trade or 
business deduction. See the instructions for Mass-
achusetts Schedule C-2.

Line 11. Subtotal
Subtract line 10 from line 9, and enter the result 
on line 11. Not less than 0.

Note: If there are any differences between U.S. and 
Massachusetts amounts reported on lines 12, 13, 
14, 18, and 19, be sure to enter the Massachusetts 
amount and enclose a statement that includes the 
line item and an explanation of the differences. 
Exclude short-term capital gains received from 
common trust funds from Form 2, Schedule B 
and enter short-term capital gains received from 
common trust funds on Form 2, line 24.

Line 12. Short-Term Capital Gains
Enter the total short-term capital gains included 
on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, Part I, lines 1 
through 5.

Line 13. Long-Term Capital Gains on 
Collectibles and Pre-1996 Installment 
Sales
Enter the total amount of long-term capital gains 
on collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales 
from Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 11.

Line 14. Gain on Sale of Business 
Property
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of gain 
from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion 
of property used in a trade or business and held 
for one year or less. Be sure to enclose U.S. Form 
4797 with your return.

Line 15. Gross Interest, Dividends and 
Certain Capital Gains
Add lines 12 through 14.

Line 16. Allowable Deductions From Your 
Trade or Business
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule 
C-2, line 11 if you qualify for an excess trade or 
business deduction. See the instructions for Mass-
achusetts Schedule C-2.

Line 17. Subtotal
Subtract line 16 from line 15. Not less than 0.

Line 18. Short-Term Capital Losses
Enter the total short-term capital losses included 
on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, Part I, lines 1 
through 5.

Line 19. Loss on Sale of Business 
Property
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of loss 
from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion 
of property used in a trade or business and held 
for one year or less. Be sure to enclose U.S. Form 
4797 with your return.

Line 20. Prior Years Short-Term Unused 
Losses
You may use short-term losses accumulated in the 
previous taxable years beginning after 1981 in the 
computation of short-term gain or loss for the cur-
rent year. Enter here the short-term loss amount 
from your 2018 Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule 
B, line 41.

Line 21. Subtotal
Combine lines 17 through 20. If a positive amount, 
omit lines 22 through 25 and go to line 26. If the 
total is a loss, go to line 22.

Line 22. Short-Term Capital Losses 
Applied Against Interest and Dividends
Enter the smaller of line 11 or line 21 (as a positive 
amount), but not more than $2,000.

Line 23. Subtotal
Combine lines 21 and 22. If line 23 is less than 0, 
go to line 24. If line 23 is 0, omit lines 24 through 
30 and go to line 31. If Form 2, Schedule B, line 
23 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a 
loss, omit line 24, enter the amount from line 23 
on line 25 and line 41, omit lines 26 through 30 
and complete lines 31 through 39.

Line 24. Short-Term Capital Losses 
Applied Against Long-Term Capital Gains
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss and Form 
2, Schedule D, line 12 is greater than 0, enter the 
smaller of Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 (considered 
as a positive amount) or Form 2, Schedule D, line 
12 on Form 2, Schedule B, line 24 and on Form 2, 
Schedule D, line 13.

Line 25. Short-Term Capital Losses for 
Carryover in 2020
Combine lines 23 and 24 and enter the result on 
lines 25 and 41, omit lines 26 through 29, enter 
0 on line 30, and complete lines 31 through 40.

Line 26. Short-Term Capital Gains and 
Long-Term Gains on Collectible
Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 
21. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is 0, or greater, 
omit line 27 and enter the amount from line 26 on 
line 28. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss go 
to Form 2, Schedule B, line 27.



Form 2 Instructions 20

Line 27. Long-Term Capital Losses 
Applied Against Short-Term Capital Gains
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 is greater than 0, 
and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, enter the 
smaller of Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 or Form 
2, Schedule D, line 12 (considered as a positive 
amount) on Form 2, Schedule B, line 27 and on 
Form 2, Schedule D, line 13.

Line 28. Subtotal
Subtract line 27 from line 26. If line 28 is 0, omit 
line 29 and enter 0 on line 30.

Line 29. Long-Term Gain Deduction
Complete only if line 28 is greater than 0 and there 
is an entry on line 13.

w If there are no losses reported on lines 18, 19, 
20 and 27, enter 50% of line 13.

w If the losses reported on lines 18, 19, 20 and 27 
do not exceed the total amount of gain on lines 12 
and 14, enter 50% of line 13.

w If the losses reported on lines 18, 19, 20 and 27 
exceed the total amount of gain on lines 12 and 14 
enter 50% of line 13 minus 50% of the excess loss 
(total of lines 18, 19, 20 and 27 minus the total of 
lines 12 and 14).

Line 30. Short-Term Gains After Long-Term 
Gains Deduction
Subtract line 29 from line 28. Not less than 0.

Line 31. Subtotal
Enter the amount from line 11.

Line 32. Short-Term Losses Applied Against 
Interest and Dividends
Enter the amount from line 22. If line 22 is not 
completed, enter 0.

Line 33. Subtotal
Subtract line 32 from line 31. If Form 2, Schedule 
D, line 14 is 0 or greater omit line 34 and enter the 
amount from line 33 on line 35. If Form 2, Sched-
ule D, line 14 is a loss go to line 34.

Line 34. Long-Term Losses Applied Against 
Interest and Dividends
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 is a positive amount 
and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, com-
plete the Long-Term Capital Losses Applied 
Against Interest and Dividends Worksheet for 
Form 2, Schedule B, line 34 and Form 2, Sched-
ule D, line 15.

Note: Although under TIR 04-23, unused capital 
losses of a trust generally are allocable to trust cor-
pus and cannot be passed through to beneficiaries, 
this does not preclude trustees or other fiduciaries 
from claiming on line 34 the deduction allowed 
under MGL ch 62, § 2(c)(4) of not more than an 
aggregate amount of $2,000 in Part A capital loss 

and Part C capital loss against interest and divi-
dends included in Part A income.

Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against 
Interest and Dividends Worksheet for Form 
2, Schedule B, Line 34 and Form 2, Sched-
ule D, Line 15

Complete only if Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 
is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, 
line 14 is a loss. Enter all losses as positive 
amounts.

1. Enter amount from Form  
2, Schedule B, line 31 . . . . .  

2. Enter the lesser of line 1  
or $2,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

3. Enter the amount from  
Form 2, Schedule B, line 32  

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If 0 or less 
omit the remainder of worksheet.  
Otherwise, complete lines 5  
and 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

5. Enter any loss from Form 2, Schedule D, 
line 14 as a positive amount.  
Otherwise, enter 0 . . . . . . . .  

6. If line 4 is smaller than or equal to line 5, 
enter line 4 here and on Form 2, Schedule B, 
line 34 and on Form 2, Schedule D, line 15. 
If line 4 is larger than line 5, enter line 5 
here and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 34 and 
on Form 2, Schedule D,  
line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

Line 35. Adjusted Interest and Dividends
Subtract line 34 from line 33.

Line 36. Adjusted Gross Interest, 
Dividends and Certain Capital Gains
Add lines 30 and 35. Not less than 0.

Line 37. Expense and Fiduciary 
Compensation Deduction
Enter on 37a the allowable portion of expenses 
as computed on Schedule H, Part 1, line 5. Enter 
on 37b compensation as computed on Schedule 
H, Part 2, line 18. Enclose a copy of Schedule H.

Line 38. Taxable Interest, Dividends and 
Certain Capital Gains
Subtract line 37c from line 36. Not less than 0.

Line 39. Interest and Dividends Taxable 
at 5.05%
If line 38 is greater than or equal to line 11, enter 
the amount from line 11 here and on Form 2, line 
14. If line 38 is less than line 11, enter the amount 
from line 38 here and on Form 2, line 14.

Line 40. Taxable 12% Capital Gains
Subtract line 39 from line 38. Not less than 0. 
Enter the result here and on Form 2, line 23.

Line 41. Available Short-Term Losses for 
Carryover in 2020
Enter the amount from line 25, only if it is a loss.

Schedule D
Capital Gains and Losses
Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses 
Excluding Collectibles
You must complete Massachusetts Form 2, Sched-
ule D if you had long-term capital gains or losses 
from the sale or exchange of capital assets or from 
similar transactions which are granted capital gain 
or loss treatment on your U.S. return or, if you 
had capital gain distributions. Include gains from 
all property, wherever located. Long-term capital 
gains are gains on the sale or exchange of capital 
assets that have been held for more than one year 
on the date of the sale or exchange. Long-term 
capital losses are losses on the sale or exchange 
of capital assets that have been held for more than 
one year on the date of the sale or exchange. Cap-
ital gain income is defined as gain from the sale or 
exchange of a capital asset. The definition of capital 
asset includes:

w An asset which is a capital asset under IRC 
§ 1221; or

w Property that is used in a trade or business 
within the meaning of IRC § 1231(b), with-
out regard to the holding period as defined 
in said section.

Significant Differences Between U.S. and 
Massachusetts Capital Gain Provisions
w IRC § 1244 losses reported as ordinary losses 
on your U.S. return must be reported on Mass-
achusetts Form 2, Schedule D;

w If you made a federal election under § 311 of 
the Tax Relief Act of 1997 to recognize gain on the 
deemed sale of a capital asset held on January 
1, 2001, Massachusetts does not follow the fed-
eral rules at § 311 for determining the basis of the 
asset. See TIR 02-3. If you sold a capital asset in 
2019 for which you made a federal § 311 elec-
tion, the Massachusetts initial basis will not be 
the federal basis. The Massachusetts initial basis 
will be determined as of the date the asset was 
first acquired;

w Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, 
the federal basis must be modified according 
to Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 
CMR 62.17A.1;

w Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment 
rules to take into account differences between 
Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more in-
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formation regarding basis adjustment rules, see 
TIR 88-7; and

w Net ordinary losses that are itemized deduc-
tions on U.S. Schedule A are not allowable.

Installment Sales
Ttaxpayers who are treated as electing install-
ment sale treatment federally will automatically 
be treated as electing Massachusetts installment 
sale treatment if the Massachusetts gain for the 
entire transaction is less than $1 million. Such tax-
payers are not allowed to elect out of Massachu-
setts installment sales treatment and do not have 
to post security with the Commissioner of Reve-
nue (“Commissioner”). In contrast to the above, 
taxpayers who are treated as electing install-
ment sale treatment federally must file a separate 
Massachusetts installment sale election and post 
security with the Commissioner if their Massachu-
setts gain for the entire transaction is equal to or 
greater than $1 million. An explanatory statement 
must be enclosed with each return for the life of 
the installment sale. For further information see 
TIR 04-28 or contact the Installment Sales Unit at 
(617) 887-6950.

Note: If you are reporting capital gains on install-
ment sales that occurred during January 1, 1996 
through December 31, 2002, do not file Form 2, 
Schedule D. Instead, you must file Schedule D-IS, 
Installment Sales. If you are reporting an install-
ment sale occurring on or after January 1, 2003, 
report those gains on Form 2, Schedule D.

Lower Capital Gains Tax Rate for 
Gains from the Sale of Stock in Certain 
Massachusetts-Based Start-Up 
Corporations
Effective for tax years beginning on or after Janu-
ary 1, 2011, gains derived from the sale of invest-
ments which meet certain requirements are taxed 
at a rate of 3% instead of 5.05%. In order to qual-
ify for the 3% rate, investments must have been 
made within five years of the corporation’s date of 
incorporation and must be in stock that generally 
satisfies the definition of qualified small business 
stock under IRC § 1202(c), without regard to the 
requirement that the corporation be a C corpora-
tion. In addition, the stock must be held for three 
years or more and the investments must be in a 
corporation which: (a) is domiciled in Massachu-
setts, (b) is incorporated on or after January 1, 
2011, (c) has less than $50 million in assets at the 
time of investment, and (d) complies with certain 
of the active business requirements of § 1202 
of the IRC, i.e., § 1202(e)(1), (e)(2), (e)(5), and 
(e)(6). To be eligible as qualified small business 
stock under IRC § 1202(c), the stock must be ac-
quired by the taxpayer at its original issue (directly 
or through an underwriter) in exchange for money, 

property, or as compensation for services pro-
vided to the corporation. During substantially all of 
the taxpayer’s holding period, at least 80% of the 
value of the corporation’s assets must be used in 
the active conduct of one or more qualified busi-
nesses. As a result of the required holding period 
of three years or more for small business stock, 
tax year 2014 was the first year that the 3% rate 
was operative. For other requirements pertaining 
to gain from the sale of qualifying small business 
stock, see TIR 10-15.

Note: If you are reporting a sale of stock in a cer-
tain Massachusetts-based start-up corporation(s), 
do not file Schedule D. Instead, you must report 
that gain(s) on Schedule D-IS, Installment Sales or 
qualified small business stock gain. Schedule D-IS 
can be obtained on DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor.

Name of Estate or Trust
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an es-
tate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. 
Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name 
as their appointing court ruled.

Estate or Trust Employer Identification 
Number
Enter the U.S. Employer Identification number. If 
you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Applica-
tion for Employer Identification number, should be 
used to apply for one. Do not use a decedent’s 
Social Security number for an estate. A separate 
Employer Identification number is required for the 
estate and for each trust entity.

Line 1. Long-Term Capital Gains and 
Losses
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, 
Schedule D, lines 8 through 10, column h.

Line 2. Additional Long-Term Capital 
Gains and Losses
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, 
Schedule D, line 11, column h.

Line 3. Net Long-Term Gain or Loss from 
Partnerships, S Corporations, Estates, 
and Trusts
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, 
Schedule D, line 12, column h.

Line 4. Capital Gain Distributions
Enter the amount of capital gain distributions 
reported to you by a mutual fund or real estate 
investment trust included on U.S. Form 1041, 
Schedule D, line 13, column h.

Line 5. Gain From U.S. Form 4797
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, 
Schedule D, line 14, column h.

Line 6. Massachusetts Long-Term Capital 
Gains and Losses Included in U.S. Form 
4797, Part II
Enter amounts included on U.S. Form 4797, Part 
II treated as capital gains or losses for Massachu-
setts purposes (not included on lines 1 through 
5 above). These include ordinary gains from sales 
of IRC § 1231 property; recapture amounts under 
IRC §§ 1245, 1250 and 1255; IRC § 1244 losses 
(losses on small business stock); and the loss on 
the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of 
property used in a trade or business.

Line 7. Carryover Losses from Previous 
Years
If you have a carryover loss from a prior year, enter 
on line 7 the amount of carryover loss from your 
2018 Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 19.

Line 8. Subtotal
Combine lines 1 through 7 and enter the result 
on line 8.

Line 9. Differences
Enter any differences between the gains or losses 
reportable for Massachusetts tax purposes and the 
U.S. gains or losses reported on Massachusetts 
Form 2, Schedule D and U.S. Form 4797, Part II. 
Enter the amount of common trust fund gain in-
cluded on line 8. This amount would have been 
carried over from your U.S. Form 1041, Schedule 
D, and is properly reported on Form 2, line 32.

Differences include:

w Capital gains or losses that occurred while the 
taxpayer was legally domiciled in another state or 
country during the taxable year;

w Capital gains or losses from transactions re-
ported as installment sales for U.S. income tax 
purposes but not for Massachusetts;

w Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment 
rules to take into account differences between 
Massachusetts and U.S. tax laws; and

w Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified 
as ordinary income for Massachusetts purposes 
and reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule 
D, line 8 should be reported on Massachusetts 
Form 2, Schedule D, line 9 (“Differences”). The 
amount of such gain classified as ordinary income 
should then be reported on Form 2, line 6 (“Other 
income”) and identified as 2019 gain from pre- 
1996 installment sale. Any entry on line 9 must 
be clearly explained in an enclosed statement.

Line 10. Massachusetts 2019 Gains or 
Losses
Exclude/subtract line 9 from line 8.
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Line 11. Long-Term Gains on Collectibles 
and Pre-1996 Installment Sales
Enter on line 11 the amount of long-term gains 
on collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales 
classified as capital gain income for Massachu-
setts purposes that are included on line 10. Gains 
from pre-1996 installment sales are classified as 
either capital gains or ordinary income under the 
Massachusetts law in effect on the date the sale or 
exchange took place. Gains from pre-1996 install-
ment sales that are classified as capital gains and 
long-term gains on collectibles should be reported 
as 12% income on Massachusetts Form 2, Sched-
ule B, line 13 and are eligible for a 50% long-term 
deduction. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales 
classified as ordinary income and reported on 
Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 8 should 
be reported on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 
9 (“Differences”). The amount of such gain classi-
fied as ordinary income should then be reported 
on Form 2, line 6 (“Other income”) and identified 
as 2019 gain from pre-1996 installment sale. Col-
lectibles are defined as any capital asset that is a 
collectible within the meaning of IRC § 408(m), 
as amended and in effect for the taxable year, in-
cluding works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, gems, 
stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins, and 
any other items treated as collectibles for federal 
tax purposes.

Line 12. Subtotal
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the re-
sult on line 12. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a 
loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is 0 or less, 
omit Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and enter the 
amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 
2, Schedule D, line 14 and enter 0 on Form 2, line 
31. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a gain and 
Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss, go to Form 2, 
Schedule D, line 13. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 
is a loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a pos-
itive amount, go to Form 2, Schedule D, line 13. 
If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a gain, and Form 
2, Schedule B, line 23 is 0 or greater, omit Form 
2, Schedule D, lines 13 through 15 and enter the 
amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 
2, Schedule D, line 16.

Line 13. Capital Losses Applied Against 
Capital Gains
If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a positive amount 
and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss, enter 
the smaller of Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 or 
Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 (considered as posi-
tive amount) on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and 
Form 2, Schedule B, line 24.

If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Form 2, 
Schedule B, line 26 is a positive amount, enter the 
smaller of Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 (considered 
as a positive amount) or Form 2, Schedule B, line 

26 on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and in Form 2, 
Schedule B, line 27.

Line 14. Subtotal
If line 12 is less than 0, combine lines 12 and 
13. If line 12 is greater than 0, subtract line 13 
from line 12.

Line 15. Long-Term Capital Losses 
Applied Against Interest and Dividends
Complete the Long-Term Capital Losses Applied 
Against Interest and Dividends Worksheet for 
Form 2, Schedule B, Line 34 and Form 2, Sched-
ule D, Line 15 only if Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 
is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 
14 is a loss.

Line 16. Subtotal
Combine line 14 with line 15 and enter the result 
on line 16. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 16 is 0, 
enter 0 in lines 17 through 19. If Form 2, Schedule 
D, line 16 is a loss, omit lines 17 and 18 and enter 
the amount from line 16 on line 19 and enter 0 on 
Form 2, line 31.

Line 17. Allowable Deductions From Your 
Trade or Business
Generally, taxpayers may not use excess 5.05% 
trade or business deductions to offset other in-
come. However, Massachusetts law allows such 
offsets if the following requirements are met: the 
excess 5.05% deductions must be adjusted gross 
income deductions allowed under MGL ch 62, § 
2(d) and these excess deductions may only be 
used to offset other income which is effectively 
connected with the active conduct of a trade of 
business or any other income allowed under IRC 
§ 469(d)(1)(B) to offset losses from passive activ-
ities. Enclose Schedule C-2 with your return. Enter 
on line 17 the amount from Schedule C-2, line 14.

Line 18. Subtotal
Subtract line 17 from line 16 and enter the result on 
line 18 and on Form 2, line 31. Not less than 0.

Line 19. Available Losses for Carryover
Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 
16, only if it is a loss.

Schedule E
Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or 
Loss
Enclose a copy of the U.S. Schedule E and U.S. 
Form 8582.

Note: Income from rental property located in or 
outside Massachusetts is subject to taxation on 
Form 2, Fiduciary Income tax Return, if it is accu-
mulated for unknown or unascertained persons, or 
persons with uncertain interests. For a decedent’s 
estate, if the executor is authorized or directed in 
the will to occupy the decedent’s realty and col-

lect rents therefrom, or in the absence of a will, 
the court decree, appointing a temporary executor 
or administrator, authorizes the same, then to the 
extent of any income collected, it is reported on 
line 1a. Generally, the income is reported on the 
personal income tax return of the heir or devisee 
taking either title or control and possession of the 
property, because under Massachusetts law, title 
to real property vests immediately upon death in 
the devisees or heirs at law. However, the income 
is reported on Form 2 when the real estate is under 
administration or the person taking title or posses-
sion is the executor or administrator.

Name of Estate or Trust
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an es-
tate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. 
Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name 
as their appointing court ruled.

Estate or Trust Employer Identification 
Number
Enter the U.S. Employer Identification number. If 
you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Applica-
tion for Employer Identification number, should be 
used to apply for one. Do not use a decedent’s 
Social Security number for an estate. A separate 
Employer Identification number is required for the 
estate and for each trust entity.

Line 1a. Rental and Royalty Income or Loss
Enter on line 1a the total rental and royalty income 
or loss from U.S. Form 1040, Schedule E, Part I, 
line 26 and Part V, line 40.

Line 1b. Real Estate Mortgage Investment 
Conduit (REMIC) Income or Loss
Enter on line 1b the total Real Estate Mortgage 
Investment Conduit (REMIC) residual income or 
loss from U.S. Schedule E, Part IV, line 39.

Line 1. Subtotal
Combine lines 1a and 1b, and enter on line 1.

Line 2. Massachusetts Differences
Enter and explain on line 2 any differences be-
tween rental, royalty, and REMIC income reported 
on your U.S. return and your Massachusetts re-
turn. Possible differences include part-year resi-
dent status, trust provisions, deductible royalties 
from approved U.S. energy conservation patents, 
and passive losses as described below. Explain 
the differences in the space provided or enclose 
an additional sheet if necessary.

Deductible Royalties From Approved U.S. 
Energy
Conservation Patents
Enter any income you received from certain U.S. 
patents that are approved by the Massachusetts 
Division of Energy Resources as being useful for 
energy conservation or for alternative energy de-
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velopment. For more information, contact the Divi-
sion of Energy Resources at (617) 727-4732. If 
such approved patent income is other than royalty 
income, use the applicable schedule and explain.

Passive Losses
As a result of differences in U.S. and Massachu-
setts rules in 1987, the calculations you made for 
passive losses on your 1987 U.S. and Massachu-
setts returns may have differed. Differences in 
amounts reported in 1987 for U.S. and Massachu-
setts tax purposes should be adjusted when the 
property is disposed of or the deduction is used 
up. In addition, passive losses allowed for Mass-
achusetts tax purposes in 1987, but carried over 
for U.S. tax purposes, cannot be used again for 
Massachusetts tax purposes when such carryover 
losses are eventually allowed for U.S. tax pur-
poses. To the extent there are applicable adjust-
ments for Massachusetts differences, taxpayers 
must calculate allowable losses on a pro forma 
U.S. Form 8582, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, 
which should then be enclosed with Form 2.

Line 3. Abandoned Building Renovation 
Deduction
In line 3 enter 10% of the costs incurred in ren-
ovating a qualifying abandoned building that is 
part of an EACC certified project. See, TIR 18-
13. For further information, contact the Mass-
achusetts Office of Business Development at 
(617) 973-8600.

Line 4. Total Rental, Royalty and REMIC 
Income or Loss for Massachusetts
Combine lines 1, 2 and 3. Enter the total on line 4 
of Schedule E and on Form 2, line 4.

Form 2G
Grantor’s/Owner’s Share of a Grantor-Type 
Trust
Massachusetts follows the IRC grantor-type trust 
rules as contained in IRC §§ 671 through 678. See 
MGL ch 62, § 10. Under MGL ch 62, § 10(e), if the 
grantor or another person is treated as the owner 
of any portion of a trust by reason of the provi-
sions of §§ 671 to 678, inclusive, of the IRC, the 
trust is a grantor trust and its income is taxable to 
the grantor or such other person, not to the trust. 
Generally, a grantor-type trust exists when one of 
the following is present:

w The trust income is distributable to/or accumu-
lated for the benefit of the grantor or the grant-
or’s spouse;

w The grantor holds a reversionary interest in 
the trust which is not postponed beyond a 10-
year period;

w The grantor has the power to revoke the trust in 
his/her favor;

w The grantor has the power to control the bene-
ficial enjoyment of the trust corpus or income;

w The grantor has retained certain administrative 
powers with respect to the trust; and

w A person, other than the grantor, has the power 
to obtain the trust corpus or income. Generally, 
the fiduciary of a grantor trust is required to file 
with DOR an informational return, Form 2G, along 
with a schedule indicating the items of income, 
deductions, and credits against tax attributable to 
the trust that are treated as owned by and taxable 
to the grantor/owner. Additionally, the fiduciary 
must give a copy of the schedule to the grantor/
owner, who is required to report the income, de-
ductions, and credits reported on the schedule 
on his Massachusetts individual income tax re-
turn. Notwithstanding the above, similar to one 
of two reporting options offered federally under 
Treasury Regulations § 1.671-4, no Form 2G will 
be required to be filed with DOR by the fiduciary 
of a grantor trust as long as the following three 
requirements are met:

w The grantor trust has only one owner, a Mass-
achusetts resident;

w That owner is also the trustee or co-trustee of 
the trust; and

w The trustee has provided all payors of trust in-
come the name and taxpayer identification num-
ber of the grantor and the address of the trust.

Note: A resident grantor treated as an owner of a 
grantor-type trust is liable for making his own esti-
mated tax payments, as applicable, on Form 1-ES. 
This is not the case when the owner is a nonresi-
dent grantor, however. In such cases, the trustee 
must make estimated tax payments on behalf of 
the nonresident grantor on Form 2-ES. Fiduciary 
expenses and compensation are not deductible. 
All supporting details, e.g., Form 2, Schedule D, if 
there are long-term capital gains or losses, must 
be enclosed.

Note: Massachusetts has not adopted Treas. Reg. § 
1.671-4(b) regarding consolidated filing of grant-
or-type trusts.

Due Date of Return
Form 2G is due on or before April 15, 2020. If filing 
on a fiscal year basis, the return is generally due 
on or before the 15th day of the fourth month after 
the close of the fiscal year. Mail Form 2G to Mass-
achusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7017, 
Boston, MA 02204. Direct fiduciary inquiries (not 
returns) to Massachusetts Department of Reve-
nue, Customer Service Bureau, PO Box 7010, 
Boston, MA 02204, or call (617) 887-MDOR.

Line 22. Massachusetts Income Tax 
Withheld
Massachusetts income taxes withheld under the 
Entity Identification number, as indicated on your 
copies of Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, and 1099-R, 
should be included on line 22. Be sure you enclose 
copies of these forms with your 2G return; other-
wise your claim of amounts withheld will not be 
allowed. If you have lost a form, ask the payer for 
a duplicate. Copies of Forms 1099-G and 1099-R 
need only be enclosed if they show an amount for 
Massachusetts tax withheld. 

Line 23. Nonresident Withholding and 
Pooled Income Fund/Charitable Remainder 
Annuity or Unitrust Withholding
Nonresident withholding. A trustee is required to 
deduct and withhold from any income subject to 
taxation (Massachusetts source income-MGL ch 
62, § 5A) at the applicable rates when the grantor 
or other owner is a nonresident. Form 2-ES is to 
be used for this purpose. The total payments with-
held must be entered on line 23 of Form 2G, and 
the nonresident grantor or owner must claim such 
total paid over by the trustee on his/her individual 
income tax return.

Pooled income fund/charitable remainder an-
nuity or unitrust withholding. A Massachusetts 
trustee of a pooled income fund, a charitable re-
mainder annuity trust or a charitable remainder 
unitrust who makes payment to a Massachusetts 
beneficiary of taxable income is required to deduct 
and withhold tax on that income at the applicable 
rates. Form 2-ES is to be used for this purpose. 
The total payments withheld must be entered on 
line 23 of Form 2G, and the beneficiary must claim 
such total paid over by the trustee on his/her indi-
vidual income tax return.

Line 24. Massachusetts Income Tax Paid 
By Trustee
Add lines 22 and 23, and enter the result in line 24. 
This is the amount the grantor or beneficiary will 
include on their Form 1, line 38 or Form 1-NR/
PY, line 42 as Massachusetts income tax withheld.

Schedule H
Expenses and Fiduciary Compensation
The Schedule H deductions apply to every exec-
utor, administrator, trustee, guardian, conserva-
tor, trustee in bankruptcy or receiver of a resident 
trust or estate, with the exception of a trustee of 
a pooled income fund or a trustee of a charitable 
remainder annuity trust or unitrust. Schedule H 
deductions are specifically allowed by statute 
and include an expense deduction and a fiduciary 
compensation deduction.



Form 2 Instructions 24

Expense Deduction
Fiduciaries may take an amortization deduction for 
premiums paid upon bonds held by the estate or 
trust, but only if the bond income is taxable. In ad-
dition, fiduciaries may take a deduction for a por-
tion of their expenses for safe deposit box rentals 
and surety bond premiums. These expenses must 
have been incurred and actually paid during the tax 
year covered by the return in order to be allowed 
as a deduction. The expense deduction must be 
allocated between taxable and nontaxable Part A 
income, and only the taxable portion is deductible. 
No deduction is allowed against Part B 5.05% in-
come or Part C 5.05% Capital Gains. The deduct-
ible portion is calculated by computing the ratio 
of taxable Part A income, over total taxable and 
nontaxable Part A income, from all sources.

Expenses of Trustees in Bankruptcy
Ordinary and necessary business expenses of a 
trustee in bankruptcy engaged in the business of 
managing and liquidating a bankrupt estate are 
deductible against Part B 5.05% income. The re-
mainder of these expenses may be taken as an 
excess trade or business deduction against other 
income as long as such income is derived from 
the trustee’s investment of the liquidated assets 
which have not yet been distributed. For more in-
formation, see LR 82-66.

Note: These expenses are not deductible on 
Schedule H. They are to be reported on Mass-
achusetts Schedule C-2, and a copy of Massachu-
setts Schedules C and C-2 must be enclosed 
with Form 2.

Part 1. Expense Deduction Computation
Line 1. Total Expenses
Enter on line 1a the amount actually paid during 
the taxable year for safe deposit box rentals. Enter 
on line 1b the amount actually paid during the tax-
able year for premiums on surety bonds. Add lines 
1a and 1b, and enter the total on line 1.

Line 2. Total Taxable Part A Income
Add Form 2, Schedule B, line 36 and Form 2, lines 
15 and 24. This is your total taxable Part A income 
for the year.

Line 3. Total Taxable and Nontaxable Part 
A Income
Line 3a. Add Form 2, Schedule B, lines 4, 12, 13, 
14, and Form 2, lines 15 and 24, and enter the 
total here.

Line 3b. Enter the total amount of common trust 
fund interest and dividends that are included in 
Form 2, line 15 that are also included in Schedule 
B, line 4 here. 

Line 3c. Enter the total amount of Massachusetts 
bank interest included in Schedule B, line 6 that is 
also included in Schedule B, line 4 here.

Line 3d. Add lines 3b and 3c, and enter the 
total here.

Line 3. Subtract line 3d from 3a, and enter the 
total here. Not less than 0. This is your total Part 
A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year. 

Line 4. Percentage of Taxable Part A 
Income
Divide line 2 by line 3, and enter the percentage 
here. This is your percentage of taxable Part A in-
come to total Part A income for the year.

Line 5. Maximum Expense Deductions 
Allowed
Multiply your total expenses in line 1 by the per-
centage in line 4, and enter the result here and 
on Form 2, Schedule B, line 37a. This is the maxi-
mum expense deduction you are allowed against 
Part A income.

Part 2. Fiduciary Compensation Deduction 
Computation
Line 6. Total Fiduciary Compensation Paid
Enter the fiduciary compensation actually paid 
during the taxable year.

Note: None of the following expenses are de-
ductible on Form 2: estate administrative expenses, 
executor’s expenses, executor’s commissions, at-
torney fees, accountant fees, and tax preparer fees.

Line 7. Total Taxable 5.05% Income
Enter here the amount from Form 2, line 7. This is 
your total Part B 5.05% income for the year.

Line 8. Total Taxable and Nontaxable Part 
A Income
Line 8a. Add Form 2, Schedule B, lines 4, 12, 13 
and 14; and Form 2, lines 15 and 24. Enter the 
total here.

Line 8b. Enter the total amount of common trust 
fund interest and dividends that are included in 
Form 2, line 15 that are also included in Sched-
ule B, line 4.

Line 8c. Enter the total amount of Massachusetts 
bank interest included in Schedule B, line 6 that is 
also included in Schedule B, line 4.

Line 8d. Add lines 8b and 8c, and enter the 
total here.

Line 8. Subtract line 8d from 8a, and enter the 
total here. Not less than 0. This is your total Part 
A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year.

Line 9. Long-Term Capital Gains (excluding 
collectibles)
Subtract Form 2, Schedule D, line 11 from Form 
2, Schedule D, line 8 and add Form 2, line 32, and 
enter the total here.

Line 10. Total Income
Add lines 7 through 9, and enter the total here.

Line 11. Percentage of Taxable Part A 
Income to Total Income
Divide line 8 by line 10 and enter the percentage 
here. This is your percentage of taxable Part A in-
come to total income (Part B 5.05% income, Part 
A interest, dividend, and 12% capital gain income, 
and Part C capital gain income) for the year.

Line 12. Amount of Fiduciary Compensation 
Paid on Part A Income
Multiply line 11 by line 6, and enter the result here. 
This represents the amount of fiduciary compen-
sation actually paid on Part A income. Compen-
sation paid on Part B 5.05% or Part C capital gain 
income is not deductible.

Line 13. Total Interest, Dividend and 
Short-Term Capital Gains
Add Form 2, Schedule B, line 36 and Form 2, lines 
15 and 24, and enter the total here.

Line 14. Total Taxable and Nontaxable 
Income
Enter the amount from line 8. This is your total Part 
A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year.

Line 15. Percentage of Taxable Part A 
Income to Total Part A Income
Divide line 13 by line 14, and enter the percentage 
here. This is your percentage of taxable Part A in-
come to total Part A income for the year.

Line 16. Amount of Fiduciary Compensation 
Paid on Taxable Part A Income
Multiply line 15 by line 12, and enter the total here. 
This represents the amount of fiduciary compen-
sation actually paid on taxable Part A income. 
Compensation allocated to nontaxable Part A in-
come is not deductible.

Line 18. Maximum Fiduciary Compensation 
Deduction Allowed
Enter here and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 37b, 
the amount from line 16 or 17, whichever is 
smaller. This is the maximum fiduciary compen-
sation deduction you are allowed to take against 
Part A income.

Schedule IDD
Income Distribution Deduction
Estate and trust income includable in the federal 
gross income of a beneficiary by reason of IRC § 
652 (the section of the IRC that determines the 
amount and character of the gross income includ-
able by a simple trust beneficiary) or § 662 (the 
section of the IRC that determines the amount 
and character of the gross income includable by 
a complex trust beneficiary) is no longer taxable 
at the estate or trust level; rather it is to be taken 
into account in calculating the beneficiary’s Mass-
achusetts taxable income under MGL ch 62, § 2. 
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To avoid double taxation, a trustee or other fidu-
ciary receiving income included in the gross in-
come of a beneficiary by reason of IRC §§ 652 or 
662 is allowed a deduction on Form 2 in comput-
ing the taxable income of the estate or trust for 
that portion of Part A, B or C income attributable to 
such beneficiary. The amount deductible on Form 
2, line 10 from Part B income; line 17 from Part A 
Interest and Dividend Income; line 26 from Part A 
12% Capital Gains; and line 34 from Part C 5.05% 
Capital Gains is to be calculated on Schedule IDD, 
Income Distribution Deduction.

Note: Schedule IDD does not apply when all of the 
income is accumulated within the estate or trust.

Note: The taxation of grantor-type trusts, pooled 
income funds, charitable remainder annuity trusts, 
and charitable remainder unitrusts has not been 
affected by the above law change. The income 
from these entities continues to be taxed as it has 
been taxed in the past. Additionally, estate or trust 
income not includable in the federal gross income 
of a beneficiary by reason of the above IRC sec-
tions continues to be taxable at the trust level.

65-Day Election Does Not Apply
In determining the amount paid, credited, or oth-
erwise required to be distributed to a beneficiary 
(lines 3, 8, 13, and 18 of Schedule IDD), Mass-
achusetts has not adopted the 65-day election 
available to estates and complex trusts federally 
under IRC § 663(b). Therefore, any distribution 
or portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the 
first 65 days following the close of the 2019 tax-
able year, treated federally as having been distrib-
uted in 2019, is not includible on Schedule IDD. 
Rather, it is to be treated for Massachusetts pur-
poses in the 2019 taxable year as accumulated 
income and is taxable at the estate or trust level, 
with one exception. Non-Massachusetts source 
income accumulated for a vested nonresident 
beneficiary is not taxable at the estate or trust 
level, but is deductible on Form 2, lines 12, 19, 
28, or 36, as applicable.

Note: Any distribution or portion thereof to a ben-
eficiary made within the first 65 days following 
the close of the 2019 taxable year will be treated 
in the year of distribution, i.e., 2020, as a tax free 
distribution and will not be includible on the 2020 
Schedule IDD.

Vested Nonresidents and Charities
Income actually paid to vested nonresident benefi-
ciaries and or charities is to be included as part of 
the income distribution deduction calculation and 
is reportable on Schedule IDD, as applicable. Such 
income is not subject to the Nonresident/Chari-
table Deduction and is not includible on Form 2, 
lines 12, 19, 28, or 36. Income accumulated or 
irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident ben-

eficiaries and or charities, on the other hand, is not 
subject to an income distribution deduction and is 
not reportable on Schedule IDD.

Schedule 2K-1
Beneficiary’s Massachusetts Information
Use Schedule 2K-1, Beneficiary’s Massachusetts 
Information, to report a beneficiary’s share of in-
come, deductions, and credits from a decedent’s 
estate or a trust. Grantor-type trusts do not use 
Schedule 2K-1 to report the income, deductions 
or credits of the grantor or other person treated as 
the owner. Form 2G, Grantor’s/Owner’s Share of a 
Grantor-Type Trust, is used for that purpose.

Who Must File
Trustees or other fiduciaries must enclose a copy 
of Schedule 2K-1 for each beneficiary with the 
estate’s or trust’s Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax 
Return, filed with the Commonwealth. Each ben-
eficiary must also be given a copy of his respec-
tive Schedule 2K-1. One copy of each Schedule 
2K-1 must be retained for the trustee’s or fidu-
ciary’s records.

Beneficiary’s Tax Year
The beneficiary’s income from the estate or trust 
must be included in the beneficiary’s return for the 
taxable year in which the estate’s or trust’s taxable 
year ends.

Nonresident Beneficiaries
A nonresident beneficiary receiving income from 
an estate or trust is taxed only on income that is 
derived from Massachusetts sources. Where an 
estate or trust derives income from both within 
and outside Massachusetts, it will be necessary 
to determine what portion of the beneficiary’s 
share of income is from sources within and out-
side Massachusetts so as to properly allocate and 
report the income on Schedule 2K-1.

Massachusetts Source Income
Income derived from or effectively connected with:

w Any trade or business, including any employ-
ment carried on by the taxpayer in the Common-
wealth, whether or not the nonresident is actively 
engaged in a trade or business or employment in 
the Commonwealth in the year in which the in-
come is received;

w The participation in any lottery or wagering 
transaction within the Commonwealth; or

w The ownership of any interest in real or tangible 
personal property located in the Commonwealth.

Gross income derived from or effectively con-
nected with any trade or business, including any 
employment, carried on by the taxpayer in the 
Commonwealth includes: gain from the sale of a 
business or of an interest in a business; distrib-

utive share income; separation, sick, or vacation 
pay; deferred compensation and nonqualified pen-
sion income not prevented from state taxation by 
the laws of the United States; and income from a 
covenant not to compete. Examples of Massachu-
setts source income include:

w All wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees, and 
other compensation which relate to activities car-
ried on in Massachusetts, regardless of where or 
when the income is received;

w Unemployment compensation related to previ-
ous Massachusetts employment;

w Profit from a business, trade, profession, 
partnership, or S corporation conducted in 
Massachusetts;

w Rents and royalties from real and tangible per-
sonal property located in Massachusetts or from 
other business activities in Massachusetts;

w Gain from the sale of real or tangible personal 
property located in Massachusetts;

w Interest and dividends, but only if derived from 
or connected with a Massachusetts business ac-
tivity or the ownership of Massachusetts real es-
tate or tangible personal property; and

w The definition of Massachusetts source income 
now includes gain from the sale of a business or 
an interest in a business, separation, sick or va-
cation pay, deferred compensation, income from 
covenants not to compete, and nonqualified pen-
sion income that federal law allows states to tax.

Name of Estate or Trust
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an es-
tate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. 
Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name 
as their appointing court ruled.

Estate or Trust Employer Identification 
Number
Enter the U.S. Employer Identification number. If 
you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Applica-
tion for Employer Identification number, should be 
used to apply for one. Do not use a decedent’s 
Social Security number for an estate. A separate 
Employer Identification number is required for the 
estate and for each trust entity.

Name of Beneficiary
As used in this Schedule, beneficiary means in-
come beneficiary. A trust income beneficiary is a 
beneficiary who is entitled to receive the income 
from the trust. If filing for other than a trust, enter 
the name and address of the person receiving 
the income.

Legal Domicile of Beneficiary
A legal domicile is a person’s permanent home.
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Beneficiary’s Identification Number
Enter the Social Security number of the beneficiary 
if the beneficiary is an individual beneficiary. Enter 
the Employer Identification number of the bene-
ficiary if the beneficiary is an entity beneficiary.

Name of Fiduciary
Enter the exact legal name and title of the fidu-
ciary. In case of multiple fiduciaries, one name is 
sufficient.

Mailing Address of Fiduciary
Enter the mailing address of the fiduciary listed on 
the first line.

Care/of Address
If the mailing address is the address of a legal firm 
or of a person other than the fiduciary, that person 
or firm should be listed on the c/o line.

Allocable Share Items
Column a. Enter the amounts from your federal 
1041, Schedule K-1, allocable to the beneficiary.

Column b. Enter the adjustments resulting from 
differences between Massachusetts and federal 
law for each specific line item.

Column c. Combine columns a and b and enter 
the result in column c. The amounts entered in 
column c are used to report the amount entered 
on Form 2 for each specific line item allocable to 
the beneficiary.

Column d. The amounts entered are used to report 
Massachusetts source income, loss, and credits 
allocable to the beneficiary, but only if the benefi-
ciary is a nonresident of Massachusetts.

Lines 14 to 33
The credits reported on Form 2, lines 42 and 43 
may be passed through to beneficiaries on Form 
2, line 45 and Schedule 2K-1, lines 14 to 33. Alter-
natively, they may be taken at the estate or trust 
level on Form 2, line 46. These alternatives are mu-
tually exclusive. If the credits are passed through 
to a beneficiary, any credits that cannot be applied 
in the taxable year for which a carryover is allowed 
may be carried over and applied against the ben-
eficiary’s personal income tax liability in succeed-
ing taxable years. Carryovers may not be claimed 
at the estate or trust level in such cases.

Line 34. Estimated Tax Payments Made 
on Behalf of Nonresident Beneficiary by 
Fiduciary
A trustee or other fiduciary having control of 
the payment to a nonresident individual benefi-
ciary subject to tax at the beneficiary level under 
MGL ch 62, §§ 5A and 10(h), must make esti-
mated tax payments on behalf of the nonresident 
individual beneficiary on Form 1-ES, Massachu-
setts Estimated Income Tax. In reporting the 
estimated tax payments made on behalf of the 

nonresident individual beneficiary on Schedule 
2K-1, the amount withheld should be entered on 
line 34. Such amount cannot be used to reduce 
the amount of income taxable to the beneficiary; 
rather, it is allowed as a credit on his return of in-
come against the amount of income tax computed 
thereon and should be reported by the beneficiary 
on the “Massachusetts estimated tax payments” 
line of Form 1-NR/PY. For more information, see 
DD 07-4. A trustee or other fiduciary having con-
trol of the payment to a nonresident entity ben-
eficiary subject to tax at the beneficiary level 
under MGL ch 62, §§ 5A and 10(h), must make 
estimated tax payments on behalf of the nonresi-
dent entity beneficiary on Form 2-ES. In report-
ing the estimated tax payments made on behalf 
of the nonresident entity beneficiary on Schedule 
2K-1, the amount withheld should be entered on 
line 34. Such amount cannot be used to reduce 
the amount of income taxable to the entity benefi-
ciary; rather, it is allowed as a credit on its return 
of income against the amount of income tax com-
puted thereon and should be reported by the entity 
beneficiary on the “Massachusetts estimated tax 
payments” line of the form used as an income tax 
return by the beneficiary. For more information, 
see DD 07-4.

Lines 35 to 38
The refundable credits reported on Form 2 may 
be passed through to a beneficiary on lines 35-38 
of Schedule 2K-1 only if not claimed at the estate 
or trust level on line 55 of Form 2. These alterna-
tives are mutually exclusive. If the credit is passed 
through to a beneficiary on lines 35-38, be sure to 
enter the certificate numbers and/or enclose the 
appropriate schedules. Failure to do so will result 
in the credit being disallowed on the beneficiary’s 
tax return and an adjustment of the beneficiary’s 
reported tax. See Schedule CMS instructions for 
more information on DOR credits.

Line 39. Other Payments
Enter here Massachusetts income taxes withheld 
under the Employer Identification number of the 
estate or trust on Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, and 
1099-R, but only if not claimed at the estate or 
trust level on line 50 of Form 2. For more informa-
tion, see the instructions for Form 2, line 50.



2019 Massachusetts Income Tax Table at the 5.05% Rate
Use this table to calculate tax for taxable 5.05% income (line 21) of not more than $24,000.

Line 22 instructions: To find your tax on 5.05% Income (line 22), read down the tax table income column to the line containing the amount you
entered in line 21. Then read across to the TAX column and enter this amount in line 22. If your taxable 5.05% income in line 21 is greater than $24,000,
multiply the amount by .0505. Enter the result in line 22.

Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate, multiply line 21 and the amount in Schedule D, line 21 by .0585.

  INCOME
   More          But not
   than       more than      TAX

  INCOME
   More          But not
   than       more than      TAX

  INCOME
   More          But not
   than       more than      TAX

  INCOME
   More          But not
   than       more than      TAX

  INCOME
   More          But not
   than       more than      TAX

  INCOME
   More          But not
   than       more than      TAX

 $        1 – $      50  $       1
          50 –       100           4
        100 –       150           6
        150 –       200           9
        200 –       250          11
        250 –       300         14
        300 –       350         16
        350 –       400         19
        400 –       450         21
        450 –       500         24
        500 –       550         27
        550 –       600         29
        600 –       650         32
        650 –       700         34
        700 –       750         37
        750 –       800         39
        800 –       850         42
        850 –       900         44
        900 –       950         47
        950 –    1,000         49
     1,000 –    1,050         52
     1,050 –    1,100         54
     1,100 –    1,150         57
     1,150 –    1,200         59
     1,200 –    1,250         62
     1,250 –    1,300         64
     1,300 –    1,350         67
     1,350 –    1,400         69
     1,400 –    1,450         72
     1,450 –    1,500         74
     1,500 –    1,550         77
     1,550 –    1,600         80
     1,600 –    1,650         82
     1,650 –    1,700         85
     1,700 –    1,750         87
     1,750 –    1,800         90
     1,800 –    1,850         92
     1,850 –    1,900         95
     1,900 –    1,950         97
     1,950 –    2,000       100
     2,000 –    2,050       102
     2,050 –    2,100       105
     2,100 –    2,150       107
     2,150 –    2,200        110
     2,200 –    2,250        112
     2,250 –    2,300        115
     2,300 –    2,350        117
     2,350 –    2,400       120
     2,400 –    2,450       122
     2,450 –    2,500       125
     2,500 –    2,550       128
     2,550 –    2,600       130
     2,600 –    2,650       133
     2,650 –    2,700       135
     2,700 –    2,750       138
     2,750 –    2,800       140
     2,800 –    2,850       143
     2,850 –    2,900       145
     2,900 –    2,950       148
     2,950 –    3,000       150
     3,000 –    3,050       153
     3,050 –    3,100       155
     3,100 –    3,150       158
     3,150 –    3,200       160
     3,200 –    3,250       163
     3,250 –    3,300       165
     3,300 –    3,350       168
     3,350 –    3,400       170
     3,400 –    3,450       173
     3,450 –    3,500       175
     3,500 –    3,550       178
     3,550 –    3,600       181
     3,600 –    3,650       183
     3,650 –    3,700       186
     3,700 –    3,750       188
     3,750 –    3,800       191
     3,800 –    3,850       193
     3,850 –    3,900       196
     3,900 –    3,950       198
     3,950 –    4,000       201

 $ 4,000 – $ 4,050  $   203
     4,050 –    4,100       206
     4,100 –    4,150       208
     4,150 –    4,200        211
     4,200 –    4,250       213
     4,250 –    4,300       216
     4,300 –    4,350       218
     4,350 –    4,400       221
     4,400 –    4,450       223
     4,450 –    4,500       226
     4,500 –    4,550       229
     4,550 –    4,600       231
     4,600 –    4,650       234
     4,650 –    4,700       236
     4,700 –    4,750       239
     4,750 –    4,800       241
     4,800 –    4,850       244
     4,850 –    4,900       246
     4,900 –    4,950       249
     4,950 –    5,000       251
     5,000 –    5,050       254
     5,050 –    5,100       256
     5,100 –    5,150       259
     5,150 –    5,200       261
     5,200 –    5,250       264
     5,250 –    5,300       266
     5,300 –    5,350       269
     5,350 –    5,400       271
     5,400 –    5,450       274
     5,450 –    5,500       276
     5,500 –    5,550       279
     5,550 –    5,600       282
     5,600 –    5,650       284
     5,650 –    5,700       287
     5,700 –    5,750       289
     5,750 –    5,800       292
     5,800 –    5,850       294
     5,850 –    5,900       297
     5,900 –    5,950       299
     5,950 –    6,000       302
     6,000 –    6,050       304
     6,050 –    6,100       307
     6,100 –    6,150       309
     6,150 –    6,200       312
     6,200 –    6,250       314
     6,250 –    6,300       317
     6,300 –    6,350       319
     6,350 –    6,400       322
     6,400 –    6,450       324
     6,450 –    6,500       327
     6,500 –    6,550       330
     6,550 –    6,600       332
     6,600 –    6,650       335
     6,650 –    6,700       337
     6,700 –    6,750       340
     6,750 –    6,800       342
     6,800 –    6,850       345
     6,850 –    6,900       347
     6,900 –    6,950       350
     6,950 –    7,000       352
     7,000 –    7,050       355
     7,050 –    7,100       357
     7,100 –    7,150       360
     7,150 –    7,200       362
     7,200 –    7,250       365
     7,250 –    7,300       367
     7,300 –    7,350       370
     7,350 –    7,400       372
     7,400 –    7,450       375
     7,450 –    7,500       377
     7,500 –    7,550       380
     7,550 –    7,600       383
     7,600 –    7,650       385
     7,650 –    7,700       388
     7,700 –    7,750       390
     7,750 –    7,800       393
     7,800 –    7,850       395
     7,850 –    7,900       398
     7,900 –    7,950       400
     7,950 –    8,000       403

 $ 8,000 – $ 8,050  $   405
     8,050 –    8,100       408
     8,100 –    8,150       410
     8,150 –    8,200       413
     8,200 –    8,250       415
     8,250 –    8,300       418
     8,300 –    8,350       420
     8,350 –    8,400       423
     8,400 –    8,450       425
     8,450 –    8,500       428
     8,500 –    8,550       431
     8,550 –    8,600       433
     8,600 –    8,650       436
     8,650 –    8,700       438
     8,700 –    8,750       441
     8,750 –    8,800       443
     8,800 –    8,850       446
     8,850 –    8,900       448
     8,900 –    8,950       451
     8,950 –    9,000       453
     9,000 –    9,050       456
     9,050 –    9,100       458
     9,100 –    9,150       461
     9,150 –    9,200       463
     9,200 –    9,250       466
     9,250 –    9,300       468
     9,300 –    9,350       471
     9,350 –    9,400       473
     9,400 –    9,450       476
     9,450 –    9,500       478
     9,500 –    9,550       481
     9,550 –    9,600       484
     9,600 –    9,650       486
     9,650 –    9,700       489
     9,700 –    9,750       491
     9,750 –    9,800       494
     9,800 –    9,850       496
     9,850 –    9,900       499
     9,900 –    9,950       501
     9,950 –  10,000       504
   10,000 –  10,050       506
   10,050 –  10,100       509
   10,100 –  10,150       511
   10,150 –  10,200       514
   10,200 –  10,250       516
   10,250 –  10,300       519
   10,300 –  10,350       521
   10,350 –  10,400       524
   10,400 –  10,450       526
   10,450 –  10,500       529
   10,500 –  10,550       532
   10,550 –  10,600       534
   10,600 –  10,650       537
   10,650 –  10,700       539
   10,700 –  10,750       542
   10,750 –  10,800       544
   10,800 –  10,850       547
   10,850 –  10,900       549
   10,900 –  10,950       552
   10,950 –   11,000       554
   11,000 –   11,050       557
   11,050 –   11,100       559
   11,100 –   11,150       562
   11,150 –   11,200       564
   11,200 –   11,250       567
   11,250 –   11,300       569
   11,300 –   11,350       572
   11,350 –   11,400       574
   11,400 –   11,450       577
   11,450 –   11,500       579
   11,500 –   11,550       582
   11,550 –   11,600       585
   11,600 –   11,650       587
   11,650 –   11,700       590
   11,700 –   11,750       592
   11,750 –   11,800       595
   11,800 –   11,850       597
   11,850 –   11,900       600
   11,900 –   11,950       602
   11,950 –  12,000       605

 $12,000 – $12,050  $   607
   12,050 –  12,100       610
   12,100 –  12,150       612
   12,150 –  12,200       615
   12,200 –  12,250       617
   12,250 –  12,300       620
   12,300 –  12,350       622
   12,350 –  12,400       625
   12,400 –  12,450       627
   12,450 –  12,500       630
   12,500 –  12,550       633
   12,550 –  12,600       635
   12,600 –  12,650       638
   12,650 –  12,700       640
   12,700 –  12,750       643
   12,750 –  12,800       645
   12,800 –  12,850       648
   12,850 –  12,900       650
   12,900 –  12,950       653
   12,950 –  13,000       655
   13,000 –  13,050       658
   13,050 –  13,100       660
   13,100 –  13,150       663
   13,150 –  13,200       665
   13,200 –  13,250       668
   13,250 –  13,300       670
   13,300 –  13,350       673
   13,350 –  13,400       675
   13,400 –  13,450       678
   13,450 –  13,500       680
   13,500 –  13,550       683
   13,550 –  13,600       686
   13,600 –  13,650       688
   13,650 –  13,700       691
   13,700 –  13,750       693
   13,750 –  13,800       696
   13,800 –  13,850       698
   13,850 –  13,900       701
   13,900 –  13,950       703
   13,950 –  14,000       706
   14,000 –  14,050       708
   14,050 –  14,100       711
   14,100 –  14,150       713
   14,150 –  14,200       716
   14,200 –  14,250       718
   14,250 –  14,300       721
   14,300 –  14,350       723
   14,350 –  14,400       726
   14,400 –  14,450       728
   14,450 –  14,500       731
   14,500 –  14,550       734
   14,550 –  14,600       736
   14,600 –  14,650       739
   14,650 –  14,700       741
   14,700 –  14,750       744
   14,750 –  14,800       746
   14,800 –  14,850       749
   14,850 –  14,900       751
   14,900 –  14,950       754
   14,950 –  15,000       756
   15,000 –  15,050       759
   15,050 –  15,100       761
   15,100 –  15,150       764
   15,150 –  15,200       766
   15,200 –  15,250       769
   15,250 –  15,300       771
   15,300 –  15,350       774
   15,350 –  15,400       776
   15,400 –  15,450       779
   15,450 –  15,500       781
   15,500 –  15,550       784
   15,550 –  15,600       787
   15,600 –  15,650       789
   15,650 –  15,700       792
   15,700 –  15,750       794
   15,750 –  15,800       797
   15,800 –  15,850       799
   15,850 –  15,900       802
   15,900 –  15,950       804
   15,950 –  16,000       807

 $16,000 – $16,050  $   809
   16,050 –  16,100       812
   16,100 –  16,150       814
   16,150 –  16,200       817
   16,200 –  16,250       819
   16,250 –  16,300       822
   16,300 –  16,350       824
   16,350 –  16,400       827
   16,400 –  16,450       829
   16,450 –  16,500       832
   16,500 –  16,550       835
   16,550 –  16,600       837
   16,600 –  16,650       840
   16,650 –  16,700       842
   16,700 –  16,750       845
   16,750 –  16,800       847
   16,800 –  16,850       850
   16,850 –  16,900       852
   16,900 –  16,950       855
   16,950 –  17,000       857
   17,000 –  17,050       860
   17,050 –  17,100       862
   17,100 –  17,150       865
   17,150 –  17,200       867
   17,200 –  17,250       870
   17,250 –  17,300       872
   17,300 –  17,350       875
   17,350 –  17,400       877
   17,400 –  17,450       880
   17,450 –  17,500       882
   17,500 –  17,550       885
   17,550 –  17,600       888
   17,600 –  17,650       890
   17,650 –  17,700       893
   17,700 –  17,750       895
   17,750 –  17,800       898
   17,800 –  17,850       900
   17,850 –  17,900       903
   17,900 –  17,950       905
   17,950 –  18,000       908
   18,000 –  18,050       910
   18,050 –  18,100       913
   18,100 –  18,150       915
   18,150 –  18,200       918
   18,200 –  18,250       920
   18,250 –  18,300       923
   18,300 –  18,350       925
   18,350 –  18,400       928
   18,400 –  18,450       930
   18,450 –  18,500       933
   18,500 –  18,550       936
   18,550 –  18,600       938
   18,600 –  18,650       941
   18,650 –  18,700       943
   18,700 –  18,750       946
   18,750 –  18,800       948
   18,800 –  18,850       951
   18,850 –  18,900       953
   18,900 –  18,950       956
   18,950 –  19,000       958
   19,000 –  19,050       961
   19,050 –  19,100       963
   19,100 –  19,150       966
   19,150 –  19,200       968
   19,200 –  19,250       971
   19,250 –  19,300       973
   19,300 –  19,350       976
   19,350 –  19,400       978
   19,400 –  19,450       981
   19,450 –  19,500       983
   19,500 –  19,550       986
   19,550 –  19,600       989
   19,600 –  19,650       991
   19,650 –  19,700       994
   19,700 –  19,750       996
   19,750 –  19,800       999
   19,800 –  19,850    1,001
   19,850 –  19,900    1,004
   19,900 –  19,950    1,006
   19,950 –  20,000    1,009

If your 5.05% income for the tax table is less than $10, your tax is 0.

 $20,000 – $20,050  $1,011
   20,050 –  20,100    1,014
   20,100 –  20,150    1,016
   20,150 –  20,200    1,019
   20,200 –  20,250    1,021
   20,250 –  20,300    1,024
   20,300 –  20,350    1,026
   20,350 –  20,400    1,029
   20,400 –  20,450    1,031
   20,450 –  20,500    1,034
   20,500 –  20,550    1,037
   20,550 –  20,600    1,039
   20,600 –  20,650    1,042
   20,650 –  20,700    1,044
   20,700 –  20,750    1,047
   20,750 –  20,800    1,049
   20,800 –  20,850    1,052
   20,850 –  20,900    1,054
   20,900 –  20,950    1,057
   20,950 –  21,000    1,059
   21,000 –  21,050    1,062
   21,050 –  21,100    1,064
   21,100 –  21,150    1,067
   21,150 –  21,200    1,069
   21,200 –  21,250    1,072
   21,250 –  21,300    1,074
   21,300 –  21,350    1,077
   21,350 –  21,400    1,079
   21,400 –  21,450    1,082
   21,450 –  21,500    1,084
   21,500 –  21,550    1,087
   21,550 –  21,600    1,090
   21,600 –  21,650    1,092
   21,650 –  21,700    1,095
   21,700 –  21,750    1,097
   21,750 –  21,800    1,100
   21,800 –  21,850    1,102
   21,850 –  21,900    1,105
   21,900 –  21,950    1,107
   21,950 –  22,000    1,110
   22,000 –  22,050    1,112
   22,050 –  22,100    1,115
   22,100 –  22,150    1,117
   22,150 –  22,200    1,120
   22,200 –  22,250    1,122
   22,250 –  22,300    1,125
   22,300 –  22,350    1,127
   22,350 –  22,400    1,130
   22,400 –  22,450    1,132
   22,450 –  22,500    1,135
   22,500 –  22,550    1,138
   22,550 –  22,600    1,140
   22,600 –  22,650    1,143
   22,650 –  22,700    1,145
   22,700 –  22,750    1,148
   22,750 –  22,800    1,150
   22,800 –  22,850    1,153
   22,850 –  22,900    1,155
   22,900 –  22,950    1,158
   22,950 –  23,000    1,160
   23,000 –  23,050    1,163
   23,050 –  23,100    1,165
   23,100 –  23,150    1,168
   23,150 –  23,200    1,170
   23,200 –  23,250    1,173
   23,250 –  23,300    1,175
   23,300 –  23,350    1,178
   23,350 –  23,400    1,180
   23,400 –  23,450    1,183
   23,450 –  23,500    1,185
   23,500 –  23,550    1,188
   23,550 –  23,600    1,191
   23,600 –  23,650    1,193
   23,650 –  23,700    1,196
   23,700 –  23,750    1,198
   23,750 –  23,800    1,201
   23,800 –  23,850    1,203
   23,850 –  23,900    1,206
   23,900 –  23,950    1,208
   23,950 –  24,000    1,211



Department of Revenue Resources

What kind of help is available
DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor is a valuable resource for tax information 24 hours a day. Thousands of tax-
payers use DOR’s website to e-mail and receive prompt answers to their general tax inquiries. Taxpayers can 
also check the status of their refunds, make estimated tax payments and review their estimated tax payment 
histo ries through the MassTaxConnect section of our website.

Public libraries and DOR district offices (listed on this page) also offer access to DOR’s website for those tax-
payers who don’t otherwise have computer access.

Where to get forms and publications
Most Massachusetts tax forms and publications are available via the DOR website. The address for the 
Department’s website is mass.gov/dor.

To obtain Massachusetts forms and publications by phone, call DOR’s main information lines at 
(617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts at (800) 392-6089.

During the income tax filing season, you can pick up Massachusetts personal income tax forms at 
most local libraries, IRS district offices, and DOR district office tax counters.

Note: To obtain federal tax information and forms via the Internet, go to irs.gov or call the IRS toll-free at 
(800) 829-3676.

For help in one of the following specific areas
w  Certificates of Good Standing: (617) 887-6367
w  Installment Sales: (617) 887-6950 
w  Teletype (TTY): (617) 887-6140
w  Small Business Workshop: (617) 887-5660 
w  Vision-impaired taxpayers can contact DOR by calling one of the phone numbers listed above to receive 
assistance.
w  This publication is available in an alternative format upon request. Send requests to Office of Diversity and 
Equal Opportunity, PO Box 9557, Boston, MA 02114-9557.

To report allegations of suspected misconduct or impropriety involving DOR employees, call the Inspectional 
Services Division’s Integrity Hotline at (800) 568-0085 or write to PO Box 9568, Boston, MA 02114-9568.

DOR locations 
in Massachusetts
Boston 
100 Cambridge St. 
Boston, MA 02114 
(617) 887-6367

Fall River 
99 South Main St. 
Fall River, MA 02721 
(508) 678-2844

Hyannis 
60 Perseverance Way 
Hyannis, MA 02601 
(508) 771-2414

Pittsfield 
333 East St. 
Pittsfield, MA 01201 
(413) 499-2206

Springfieldt 
436 Dwight St. 
Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 784-1000

Worcester 
67 Millbrook St. 
Worcester, MA 01606 
(508) 792-7300

mass.gov/dor




