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2020 Instructions
for Massachusetts
Urban Redevelop -
ment Excise Return
Form 121A
Massachusetts has an electronic filing requirement for this
form. See TIR 16-9 for further information.



Filing Due Dates
Massachusetts General Laws (MGL) ch 62C §§
11 and 12 require C corporations to file their tax
returns on or before the 15th day of the fourth
month following the close of each taxable year
(April 15 in the case of corporations filing on a
calendar year basis). S corporation tax returns
are due on the 15th day of the third month fol-
lowing the close of each taxable year. See Techni-
cal Information Release (TIR) 17-5.

Extension Due Dates
Urban redevelopment corporations are allowed
an automatic extension to file their tax returns if
they satisfy the payment requirements stated in
TIR 15-15. For urban redevelopment corpora-
tions, tax returns filed on extension are due 6
months from the due date (October 15 in the case
of C corporations filing on a calendar year basis).
See TIR 17-5.

Taxpayers meeting certain payment requirements
will be given an automatic seven-month exten-
sion in the case of corporate excise taxpayers fil-
ing combined reports and a six-month extension
for other corporate taxpayers. Taxpayers filing un-
related business income tax returns will be given
an eight-month extension. For further informa-
tion, see TIR 15-15.

Note: An extension of time to file is not valid if
the corporation fails to pay at least 50% of the
total tax liability or the minimum tax of $456,
which ever is greater, by or before the return due
date.

Any tax not paid on or before the due date —
without regard to the extension — shall be sub-
ject to an interest charge.

Who Must File Form 121A?
Every entity subject to taxation under MGL ch
121A must file an annual return on Form 121A.
In most instances returns and payments must be
submitted electronically. Failure to submit the re-
turn electronically when required to do so may re-
sult in a penalty of $100. For further information
on electronic filing requirements, see TIR 16-9.

What Is a Valid Return?
A valid return is a return that properly documents
how the taxpayer arrived at their gross income
figure on line 1a in the Computation of Excise
section. Preliminary or final audited financial
statements and/or a copy of the federal form filed
by the taxpayer are examples of proper documen-
tation. In addition, the taxpayer must submit a let-
ter from their city or town assessor attesting to
the fair cash value of their property as of January
1, 2021. Failure to meet these minimum require-
ments may result in a penalty for filing an insuffi-
cient return.

Filing an Amended Return
If you need to change a line item on your return,
complete a return with the corrected information
and fill in the Amended return oval. An amended
return can be filed to either increase or decrease
your tax. Generally, an amended return must be
filed within three years of the date that your origi-
nal return was filed. Electronic filing requirements
apply to amended returns and disputes. See TIR
16-9 for further information.

Federal Changes
If this is an amended Massachusetts return and it
does not report changes that result from the filing
of a federal amended return or from a federal audit
(for example, if the amended Massachusetts return
is reporting only a change in the apportionment
calculation or an additional tax credit), fill in only
the Amended return oval. If this is an amended
return that includes changes you have reported
on an amended federal return filed with the IRS
for the same tax year, fill in both the “amended
return” box and the Federal amendment oval. If
the amended Massachusetts return incorporates
changes that are the result of an IRS audit, check
both the Amended return oval and the Federal
audit oval; enclose a complete copy of the federal
audit report and supporting schedules.

Consent to Extend the Time to Act on an
Amended Return Treated as Abatement
Application
In certain instances, an amended return showing
a reduction of tax may be treated by DOR as an
abatement application. Under such circumstances,
by filing an amended return, you are giving your
consent for the Commissioner of Revenue to act
upon the abatement application after six months
from the date of filing. See TIR 16-11. You may
withdraw such consent at any time by contacting
the DOR in writing. If consent is withdrawn, any
requested reduction in tax will be deemed denied
either at the expiration of six months from the
date of filing or the date consent is withdrawn,
whichever is later.

Filing an Application for Abatement
File an Application for Abatement, Form ABT, only
to dispute one of the following:

�  Penalties.

�  Audit assessments.

�  Responsible person determinations.

For the fastest response time, file your dispute
online at mass.gov/masstaxconnect. If you are
not required to file electronically or you cannot file
online, use Form ABT.

Visit https://www.mass.gov/info-details/amend-
your-tax-return-or-request-an-abatement-of-tax

for additional information about filing an
amended return, or filing an application for abate-
ment.

Whole Dollar Method
The whole dollar method should be used when
entering amounts on the return.

Registration Information
For any questions about a project’s registration
information please contact the assessing depart-
ment of your project’s city or town or contact
DOR at (617) 887-5101 or (617) 887-6710. If
your project encompasses several properties,
only one property address is necessary. Tax-
payers submitting final returns should contact
DOR regarding their filing requirements.

General Instructions
Line 1
Fill in the applicable oval if the taxpayer is a cor-
poration, individual, trust or a partnership. Fill in
Other if the taxpayer is not a corporation or a
partnership.  Other taxpayers include non-profit
corporations, for-profit corporations, joint ven-
tures, public /private partnerships, insurance
companies, and financial institutions.

The information provided in Item 5 should con-
tain the name, title and contact information (if dif-
ferent from the registration address) of the
person DOR should contact with any questions
regarding the financial data associated with the
project.

Item 7 refers to Section 8 or similar government
subsidized rent payment programs. Projects ap-
proved prior to March 22, 1976 must include
these payments in line 1a gross income figure in
the Computation of Excise.

Computation of Excise Line Item Guidance
Line 1a
Line 1a must to include all payments described
within MGL Chapter 121A, section 10, as
amended. For projects using alternate gross in-
come calculation methods (e.g. square footage)
please include the pertinent pages of your pro-
ject’s agreement. For additional guidance call
DOR at (617) 887-MDOR, toll-free within Mass-
achusetts at (800) 392-6089 or visit our website
at www.mass.gov/dor.

Line 4
Line 4 refers to the three years valuation period
that takes place prior to the project becoming a
121A corporation. City of Boston projects should
use the figure provided on the fair cash value let-
ter.
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Line 7
The appropriate rate is the fiscal year 2021 local
tax rate. This rate covers the period beginning
July 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2021. Please
contact your project’s city or town’s assessing de-
partment to obtain the FY2021 local tax rate.

Line 9
Any corporation that wishes to contribute to the
Natural Heritage and Endangered Species Fund
may do so on this form. This amount is added to
the excise due. The Natural Heritage and Endan-
gered Species Fund is administered by the De-
partment of Fisheries, Wild life and Environmental
Law Enforcement.
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