

# Form STE **Application for Sales Tax Exemption**

2021

Massachusetts

Department of

Revenue

For	calendar year	r 2021 or taxable year beginning		and ending			
Ge	eneral Info	ormation					
_		ction company name ("Company")	Federal Ide	entification number			
Mailing address			City/Town		State	Zip	
Name of production			Expected of	Expected or actual release or premiere date of this production			
Тур	e of production						
☐ Feature film ☐ Television series ☐ Documentary ☐ Commercial/advertisement ☐ Other (explain)							
Designated production company representative			Telephone	Telephone E-mail address			
M							
Massachusetts qualifying period start date  Massachusetts qualifying period end date							
Name of payroll service provider (if any)  Federal Identification number							
Traine of payroll convice provider (if any)							
Mailing address			City/Town		State Zip		
-			·				
_							
Estimated Production Information							
			where		chusetts	Final data	
Dro	production	Start date	End date	Start date		End date	
Pre-production Production							
Post-production							
1 03	st-production	<u> </u>	<u> </u>				
1 Type of entity:							
	☐ Corporation ☐ Trust ☐ Partnership ☐ Sole proprietorship ☐ LLC						
2	2 Is company or its payroll service provider registered for withholding of Massachusetts personal income tax on salaries paid to its employees?						
	Yes No. If No, use our MassTaxConnect application to register for withholding and wage reporting once you have employees subject to						
_	Massachusetts withholding.						
3	Is company (including the parent or an affiliate of the company) in default on a loan made or guaranteed by the Commonwealth (see TIR 06-01)?						
4	Company's total estimated qualifying production costs everywhere during the period (see TIR 06-01)						
	Company's total estimated qualifying production costs in Massachusetts during the period (see TIR 06-01)						
6	Total wages and salaries included in line 5, excluding salaries over \$1,000,000						
7	Wages and salaries of \$1,000,000 or over paid to an individual and included in line 5						
8	Cost of set construction and operation included in line 5						
9	Location fees and cost of rental or purchased facilities and equipment included in line 5						
10	Total other Massachusetts production expenses included in line 5						
11	1 Estimate of Massachusetts production expenses included in line 5						
12 Estimate number of principal photography days of the film							
13	Estimate numl	ber of principal photography days t	aking place in the Commonwealth.		13		
I declare under the pains and penalties of perjury that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained herein is accurate and complete.							
	nature		Date			<u> </u>	
-							

Mail to Massachusetts Department of Revenue, Audit Division, 200 Arlington Street, Room 4300, Chelsea, MA 02150, attn. Film Credit Unit.

## Form STE Instructions

## What is the Sales Tax Exemption?

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2023, Massachusetts allows sales tax exemptions for a qualified motion picture production company or to an accredited film school student for production expenses related to a school film project. MGL ch 64H, § 6(ww). Production expenses that qualify for the sales tax exemption under the Act may also qualify for the production expense credit.

## Who is Eligible for the Exemption?

Production companies who expend over \$50,000 in Massachusetts production costs during a consecutive twelve-month period are eligible if they meet certain requirements. A motion picture production company is a company including its subsidiaries engaged in the business of producing motion pictures, videos, television series, or commercials intended for a theatrical release or for television viewing. The term "motion picture production company" shall not mean or include any company which is more than 25 per cent owned, affiliated, or controlled, by any company or person which is in default on a loan made by the Commonwealth or a loan guaranteed by the Commonwealth.

## **Eligibility Requirements**

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2023, Massachusetts allows sales tax exemption for motion picture production companies who meet certain qualification requirements and for accredited film school students for production expenses related to a school film project. Production companies who incur at least \$50,000 of production costs in the Commonwealth and whose Massachusetts production expenses exceed 50 percent of the total production costs or the Massachusetts shoot days are at least 50 percent of the total shoot days are eligible for the sales tax exemption.

## **Additional Requirements**

Note: The following requirements must be submitted electronically in a standard database spreadsheet format.

Submit with this application a detailed listing of prospective employees and their estimated wages.

This list should include the prospective employees name, social security numbers, estimated gross wages for the production and weather they are hired by the production through a loan-out.

## What is a Qualifying Period?

The \$50,000 qualification period serves as the "determination" period in that the taxpayer must incur in the Commonwealth at least \$50,000 of total production expenses during the consecutive twelve month period to be eligible for sales tax exemption. In some cases, the taxpayer may be able to choose between one or more possible \$50,000 qualification periods. However, only one \$50,000 qualification period is allowed for each motion picture. A taxpayer may choose to have a \$50,000 qualification period that is less than 12 months, but may not subsequently reopen or extend this qualification period in order to claim more qualifying expenses. In addition, the \$50,000 qualification period must be the same for the payroll credit, the production expense credit and the sales tax exemption. Consequently, the choice of the \$50,000 qualification period (including choosing a period shorter than 12 months) may have a bearing on the application of the production expense credit and the sales tax exemption. Note that once a sales tax exemption application is filed the date of the approval letter from the Department of Revenue is considered the first date of sales tax exemption use by the production company and will start the 12 month qualification period unless the production company has already started the qualification period with qualifying payroll or production expenses.

## **General Information**

Complete the general information section of this application with the information available at the time of filing. If the working title of the production or any other information changes prior to filing for the actual credit, please notify the Department. The qualifying period must be determined at the time of filing and can not change at any time after the exemption is granted.

#### Line 1

Indicate the type of entity.

#### Line 2

A taxpayer or its payroll company must be registered for withholding of Massachusetts personal income tax and must withhold from its payroll expenses in order for the payments to qualify as an aggregate payroll expense for purposes of the payroll credit or to qualify as a Massachusetts production expense for purposes of the production expense credit. Use DOR's MassTaxConnect to register. The Commissioner will require withholding whether or not the amounts paid are to "employees" or constitute "wages" as defined in MGL ch 62B, § 1.

#### Line 3

A taxpayer (including an owner, parent or affiliate of the taxpayer) is not eligible for the payroll or production expense credit or the sales tax exemption if it is in default on a loan made by the Commonwealth or a loan guaranteed by the Commonwealth.

#### Line 4

Enter the total overall estimated costs for the production. This should include both Massachusetts and non-Massachusetts costs.

### Line 5

Enter the total Massachusetts costs for the production. This should include only costs directly attributable to Massachusetts.

**Note:** Line 5 must be at least 50 per cent of line 4 to qualify for the exemption. If line 5 is not 50 per cent of line 4, the production may still qualify if line 13 is 50 per cent of line 12.

#### Line 6

Enter the total Massachusetts qualifying payroll amount. Only actual payments to employees may be used to determine the qualifying aggregate payroll, and only in the instance in which the payment constitutes Massachusetts source income to the recipient. Qualifying aggregate payroll may also include fringe benefits to employees to the extent such benefits constitute Massachusetts source income. Do not include payroll for salaries of "high salary employees", where the employee's salary is \$1,000,000 or more.

#### Line 7

Enter the Massachusetts wages and salaries of "high salary employees", where the employee's salary is \$1,000,000 or more.

## Line 8

Enter the cost of set construction and other qualified production costs included in line 5.

## Line 9

Enter location fees and cost of rental or purchased facilities and equipment included in line 5.

#### Line 10

Enter the total other Massachusetts production expenses.

## Line 11

Enter the estimate of all Massachusetts production expenses included in line 5. This should be the total of lines 7 through 10.

Note: The total of lines 6 and 11 should equal line 5.

## Line 12

Enter the total number of principal photography days on this production.

## Line 13

Enter the total number of principal photography days taking place in Massachusetts.