

2021

**Totals** 

12

(2021 Sch. EC, line 6)

# Massachusetts Department of Revenue Schedule EC Solar and Wind Energy Credit

2021

Name(s) as shown on Massachusetts Form 1 or 1-NR/PY			Social Security number			
Address of principal res	sidence in Massachusetts (do <b>not</b> enter PO bo	ox)				
City/Town		State	Zip			
Massachuse This credit can only of this form.	newable solar and/or winetts residence be taken once for the principal residence able solar and/or wind energy property	indicated above.	Do not include repair or mai	ntenance costs. See ins	-	
2021. Enclose	a statement describing the nature of t	he expenditures		1		
2 Enter any U.S.	HUD grant or rebate for such expend	itures		2 <u> </u>		
<b>3</b> Net 2021 expe	nditures. Subtract line 2 from line 1. N	ot less than 0		3		
4 Enter 15% of li	ne 3			4		
5a Maximum all	owable credit for principal residence			5a	1,000	
<b>5b</b> Total prior ye	ars credit taken by taxpayer for this pr	incipal residence	э	5b		
<b>5c</b> Subtract line	5b from line 5a. Not less than 0			5c		
<b>6</b> 2021 Massach	usetts Energy Credit. Enter line 4 or li	ne 5c, whicheve	r is less	6		
<b>7a</b> Enter 2018 u	nused Massachusetts Energy Credit (	from 2020 Sche	dule EC, line 12, col. c)	7a		
<b>7b</b> Enter 2019 u	nused Massachusetts Energy Credit (	from 2020 Sche	dule EC, line 12, col. c)	7b		
<b>7c</b> Enter 2020 u	nused Massachusetts Energy Credit (	from 2020 Sche	dule EC, line 12, col. c)	7с		
8 Massachusetts	s Energy Credit available this year. Add	d lines 6, 7a, 7b	and 7c	8		
9 Total tax from I Paid to Other	n of Energy Credit allow Form 1, line 28 or Form 1-NR/PY, line Jurisdictions, and/or certain other cred s Energy Credit allowable this year. En	32 less Limited its, if any (see in	Income Credit, and/or Cred structions). Not less than 0	) 9	Schedule	
Not more than credit being dis	n \$1,000. You must enclose Schedule sallowed on your tax return and an adj	EC with your ret ustment of your	urn. Failure to do so will re reported tax	sult in this	ouriedule.	
	ssachusetts Energy Cre if line 8 is more than line 10, or if you	-				
Year	a. Unused credits from pri and current year cre		b. Portion used this year	c. Unused credit available Subtract col. b from col. a		
				Amount	For	
2019 2020	(2020 Sch. EC, line 12, col. c) _ (2020 Sch. EC, line 12, col. c) _		_		2022 2022–2023	

### Schedule EC Instructions

#### **General Information**

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 62, section 6(d) allows any owner or tenant of residential property located in Massachusetts, who is not a dependent of another taxpayer and who occupies the property as his/her principal residence, a credit equal to 15% of the net expenditure for renewable energy source property (installed on or after January 1, 1979) or \$1,000, whichever is less.

The maximum allowable credit for a taxpayer is \$1,000 during the entire time the taxpayer resides in the same principal residence. In calculating the available credit amount, the taxpayer must subtract from the \$1,000 maximum any energy credit previously taken on that residence.

The address of principal residence in Massachusetts must be the actual street address of the residence, not a PO box. A summer or vacation home does not qualify as a principal residence. Property placed in a rental unit by a landlord does not qualify for the credit. Joint owners, who occupy residential property as their principal residence, share any credit available to the property in the same proportion as their ownership interests. A condominium or cooperative housing corporation dwelling unit may qualify. (See 830 CMR 62.6.1). In the case of new construction, the credit is available to the original owner-occupant.

**Note:** If you moved during the taxable year and had more than one principal residence that qualified for the Energy Credit during the same taxable year, you must file a separate Schedule EC for each of those principal residences. However, the maximum amount of the combined Schedule EC credits cannot exceed \$1,000.

To take the credit for a renewable energy source item:

- · you must be the first one to use the item;
- it must be expected to last five years; and
- it must meet the performance and quality standards prescribed by the Commissioner of Revenue.

Expenditures are generally treated as made when the installation is completed. Further information about restrictions and qualifications may be found in 830 CMR 62.6.1.

#### **Line Instructions**

**Line 1.** Enter the cost, including installation, of the renewable energy source properties for your principal residence. Qualified renewable energy source property is property which transmits or uses solar energy for heating or cooling, for providing hot water or electricity, or which uses wind energy to generate electricity or mechanical forms of energy for non-business residential purposes.

Examples of renewable solar and wind energy items include:

- · collectors,
- · rockbeds and
- · heat exchangers.
- · windmills,
- · wind-driven generators and
- power conditioning and storage devices.

**Note:** The following renewable energy source costs are not allowed (830 CMR 62.6.1):

heating and cooling systems, other than solar or wind, that supplement renewable energy source equipment;

- energy storage mediums for nonessential functions, e.g. swimming pools:
- expenditures for heat pumps (air and water), wood burning stoves or furnaces;
- materials and components that have a structural function or are structural components; and
- energy conservation expenditures for insulation, storm or thermal windows or doors, caulking or weatherstripping, etc.

**Line 2.** Enter the amount of any U.S. HUD grant or rebate related to renewable solar and wind energy source property installed in your principal Massachusetts residence.

**Lines 5 through 8.** Complete all appropriate lines to determine the amount of credit available this year.

**Lines 9 through 11.** If the amount of energy credit available in line 8 is more than your total tax in line 9, less any Limited Income Credit and/or Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions, the excess may be carried over three succeeding years. Excesses are not refundable.

**Note:** You must complete and enclose Schedule EC with your return. Failure to do so will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax.

## What If I Am Taking the Solar and Wind Energy Credit and Another Credit On My Tax Return?

If you are taking another credit in addition to the Solar and Wind Energy Credit on your tax return, you must reduce the amount of tax reported in line 9 of Schedule EC (from Form 1, line 28 or Form 1-NR/PY, line 32 or Form 2, line 41) by any Limited Income Credit and/or Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdiction and any other credits you may be eligible for. These include, but are not limited to the Lead Paint Credit, Economic Opportunity Area Credit, Economic Development Incentive Program Credit, Septic Credit, Brownfields Credit, Low-Income Housing Credit, Historic Rehabilitation Credit, Film Incentive Credit, Medical Device Credit, Employer Wellness Program Credit, Farming and Fisheries Credit, Low-Income Housing Donation Credit, and Veterans Hire Credit.

**Note:** It is more advantageous to use the credit(s) that is going to expire first.