

Massachusetts Department of Revenue Form M-2220

Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated Tax by Corporations

2022

Enclose this form with your return. Electronic filing requirements may apply (see TIRs 16-9 and 21-9). Please print in ink or type.					
Name of corporation		Federal Identification number			
Figuring your underpayment. See instructions.					
1 Enter 2022 tax					
2	2 Enter 90% of line 1				
3	3 Enter 90% of 2022 tax using 2021 income apportionment percentage				
4	4 Enter 2021 tax				
5	Enter line 2, 3 or 4, whichever is smallest			5	
6	Enter in col's. a through d (respectively) the installment dates of the 15th day of the 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12th months of your taxable year 6	a.	b.	c.	d.
7	Enter in col. a line $5 \times 40\%$ Enter in col. b line $5 \times 25\%$ Enter in col. c line $5 \times 25\%$ Enter in col. d line $5 \times 10\%$				
	O Fill in if you are a new corporation (see instructions).				
8	Amount paid or credited for each period 8				
9	Overpayment of previous installment	9			
10	Total. Add lines 8 and 9				
11	Overpayment. Subtract line 7 from line 10 11				
12	Underpayment. Subtract line 10 from line 7. 12				
Figuring your underpayment penalty.					
En	ter same installment dates used in line 6				
13	Amount of underpayment from line 12 13				
14	Enter the date of payment, or the 15th day of the third month after the close of the				
	taxable year, whichever is earlier 14				
15	Number of days from due date of installment to the date shown in line 14				
16	Number of days in line 15 after 3/15/22 and before 4/1/22				
17	Number of days in line 15 after 3/31/22 and before 7/1/22				
	DEIDIE // 1/22		1		



2022 FORM M-2220, PAGE 2

Federal Identification number Name of corporation Figuring your underpayment penalty. (cont'd.) a. b. C. d. Enter same installment dates used in line 6..... 18 Number of days in line 15 after 6/30/22 19 Number of days in line 15 after 9/30/22 and before 1/1/23..... 19 20 Number of days in line 15 after 12/31/22 and before 4/1/23..... **20** 21 Number of days in line 15 after 3/31/23 22 Number of days in line 15 after 6/30/23 and before 10/1/23..... 22 23 Number of days in line 15 after 9/30/23 24 Number of days in line 15 after 12/31/23 25 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days **26** Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days 27 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days 28 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days 29 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days **30** Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days 31 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days 32 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days 33 Underpayment in line 13 × (number of days

^{*}Rate to be determined.

Form M-2220 Instructions

General Information

2022 Massachusetts Tax Change

Massachusetts General Laws (MGL) 62C, §§ 11 and 12 require C corporations to file their tax returns on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of each taxable year. The filing due date for S corporation tax returns is the 15th day of the third month following the close of each taxable year. For more information, see Technical Information Release (TIR) 17-5.

For calendar year filers, April 15, 2023, when 2022 returns and payments would normally be due, is a Saturday, which extends the filing due date to the next business day. However, in Massachusetts, Monday, April 17, 2023, is Patriot's Day, a legal holiday in the Commonwealth. As a result, returns, payments made with returns, and estimated payments otherwise due on April 15, 2023, will be treated as timely if they are filed and/or paid on or before April 18, 2023.

Expansion of Mandatory Electronic Filing for Corporate Excise Returns

Effective for tax periods ending on or after December 31, 2021, electronic filing and payment of tax will be required of all business corporations and financial institutions subject to tax under MGL ch 63, with no income threshold. For more information, see TIR 21-9: Expansion of Certain Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements.

Who should use this form

Corporations taxed under Ch. 63 of the Massachusetts General Laws should use Form M-2220 to determine whether they paid the correct amount of estimated tax by the proper due date. If not, a penalty may be imposed on the underpayment amount.

Short year. Corporations are liable for estimated payments even if there was no return filed for 2021 or if a return filed for 2021 was for less than 12 months. Corporations meeting either of these conditions should enter the smaller of lines 2 or 3 in line 5. See 830 CMR 63B.2.2 for additional information.

Large corporation. Any corporation having \$1 million or more of federal taxable income in any of its three preceding taxable years (IRC § 6655(g)) may only use its prior year tax liability to calculate its first quarterly estimated payment. Any reduction in the first installment payment must be added to the second installment payment.

Note: New corporations in their first full taxable year with less than 10 em ployees have lower payment percentages — 30-25-25-20%; 55-25-20%; and 80-20%. New corporations should check the box in line 7 and use these percentage amounts to complete line 7.

Line Instructions

Line 3. Multiply 2022 income measure of excise and non-income measure of excise (tangible property or taxable net worth) by 2021 apportionment factor. Then multiply the result by 2021 tax rate. Multiply that result by .90 (90%) and enter the result on line 3.

Lines 7 through 12. To determine the underpayment amount, complete lines 7 through 12 for each appropriate column. If line 11 shows an overpayment, that overpayment may first be used as a payment of any existing underpayment amount. Overpayments used as payments of prior underpayment amounts do not decrease the actual underpayment amount but serve to reduce instead the period of underpayment subject to penalty. If there are no existing underpayment amounts, the overpayment is applied as a credit against the next installment. If more than one payment is made for a given installment, attach separate computations for each payment.

Line 35. Enter the line 35 amount on the corresponding line item of the taxpayer's tax return as follows: Form 355, line 25a; Form 355U, line 41; Form 355S, line 28a; Form 355SC, line 21a; Form 355SBC, line 14; Form 63 FI, line 25a; Form 63-20P, line 34a; Form 63-23P, line 41a; Form 63-29A, line 39a; or Form M-990T, line 36a.

Note: Payments made with a return, including extension payments, estimated tax payments and withholding, are considered to be paid on the last day prescribed for the filing of the return and/or the payment of the tax, without regard to any extensions. See MGL ch 62C, § 79. Therefore, any overpayment from a prior year return will be considered to be paid as of the prior year return due date. For example, if a calendar year C corporation reported an overpayment on its 2021 corporation excise tax return and elected to apply it as a credit to its 2022 estimated tax, the payment will be credited as of April 15, 2022, which is the 2021 return due date and about one month after the due date of the first estimated tax installment payment for the 2022 tax year.

To avoid underpayment penalties the first estimated tax installment should be paid on or before the first installment due date, not the return due date.