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Give e-file a try this year!
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There are three easy and convenient ways to do it.

C’mon, admit it — filing
paper tax returns is no
fun! So forget about
longer refund wait

times and calculation
mistakes. E-file this year!

File Electronically for Free

Many Massachusetts taxpayers qualify to file both federal and state returns for free, enhancing fraud protection and
cutting down on identity theft. Massachusetts joined the Free File Alliance, a nonprofit partnership between tax
preparation companies, the IRS and the states to increase opportunities for taxpayers to e-file their tax returns for
free. Check out the free filing options available to taxpayers at mass.gov/efile.

Commercial Tax Preparation Software

You can also e-file using commercial tax filing products. Visit our website for a complete listing of approved products.
Although some of these products offer a paper filing option, you may only use that option if it incorporates a 2D
barcode in the right-hand corner of all pages. If you have a 2D printing issue, be sure to contact the software
manufacturer for instructions before filing to avoid having your return rejected. Also, be sure to use the correct 2D
barcode mailing address: PO Box 7000 for refunds/no payments or PO Box 7003 for payments. See DOR’s online
tax form instructions for more information.

Tax Preparers

The majority of paid tax preparers recognize that their clients don’t want mistakes, delays, or longer refund times so
they offer e-filing for their customers. Moreover, Massachusetts law requires any preparer who completes more than
10 Massachusetts income tax returns to e-file (TIR 11-13 has a specific taxpayer opt-out provision to this law).
Preparers who do file paper returns for their clients have specific requirements they must meet to avoid paying
penalties and fines. You'll find a list of preparers on the DOR website.

mass.gov/efile

New! Fillable PDFs

A popular filing option among taxpayers over the years is the option to file using fillable PDFs. This year, Massachusetts will be bringing that
option to you. With fillable PDFs, you can directly enter your tax information and upon completion, print and send it to DOR. For more
information, see mass.gov/dor/incomeforms.
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Who Must File

You must file Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY, Non-
resident/Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return if
you were not a resident of Massachusetts for any
part of the year and the lesser of either:

1. Your Massachusetts source income was more
than $8,000; or

2. Your Massachusetts source income was more
than your personal exemption amount multiplied
by the ratio of your Massachusetts income to your
total income.

You also must file Form 1-NR/PY if you were a
resident of Massachusetts for part of the year and
you had more than $8,000 in gross income during
that time, whether received from sources inside or
outside of Massachusetts.

To see whether you are a full-year resident, non-
resident, part-year resident, or a nonresident and
part-year resident, determine which category ap-
plies to you:

1. You are a full-year resident if your residence
(domicile) was in Massachusetts for the entire
taxable year or if you maintained a permanent
place of abode in Massachusetts and during the
year spent more than 183 days, in the aggregate,
in the state. If you fit this description, you should
file Form 1, Massachusetts Resident Income
Tax Return.

2. You are a nonresident if you are not a resident
of Massachusetts as defined above but received
Massachusetts source income (e.g. from a job in
Massachusetts). Fill in the Nonresident oval at the
top of the form if this category applies to you. A
nonresident who is filing Form 1-NR/PY to report
income not included on a Nonresident Composite
Return filed on their behalf also should fill in the
Nonresident oval.

3. You are a part-year resident if, during the tax-
able year, you moved to Massachusetts or es-
tablished a permanent place of abode here and
became a resident, or you terminated your status
as a Massachusetts resident to establish a resi-
dence outside the state. Fill in the Part-year res-
ident oval at the top of the form if this category
applies to you.

4. If you were a Massachusetts resident for part
of the 2023 tax year, and while you were not a
resident of Massachusetts you received Mas-
sachusetts source income (e.g., from a job in
Massachusetts), file as both a nonresident and
part-year resident. Fill in the Filing as hoth a non-
resident and part-year resident oval below the
address section of the form if this category ap-
plies to you. Complete Schedule R/NR, Resident/
Nonresident Worksheet, to calculate the portion of

income earned while a nonresident and the por-
tion of income earned while a part-year resident.
Schedule R/NR is included in this booklet.

5. Fill in the Nonresident composite return oval if
this return is being filed as a composite return on
behalf of nonresident professional athletic team
members. See the instructions on page 9.

For more information on Massachusetts source
income, refer to the section Filing Your Massa-
chusetts Return.

Major 2023
Tax Changes

For more up-to-date and detailed information and
to view all of the public written statements refer-
enced in these instructions, visit mass.gov/dor.

Filing Due Dates

Form 1-NR/PY is due on or before April 17, 2024.
April 15,2024, when returns and payments would
normally be due, is Patriots’ Day, a legal holiday in
the Commonwealth, and April 16, 2024 is Eman-
cipation Day, a legal holiday in Washington, D.C.
As a result, returns, payments made with returns,
and estimated payments otherwise due on April
15, 2024, will be treated as timely if they are filed
and/or paid on or before April 17, 2024.

2023 Personal Income Tax Rates

The tax rate on most classes of taxable income
is 5%. The tax rate on long-term gains from the
sale or exchange of collectibles is 12% (subject
to a 50% deduction). For tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 2023, the tax rate on short-
term gains from the sale or exchange of capital
assets is 8.5%.

4% Surtax on Taxable Income Over $1
Million

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, MGL ch 62 taxpayers must pay an addi-
tional 4% (“4% surtax”) on taxable income over
a certain threshold. In 2023, this threshold is
$1,000,000. The threshold is subject to an annual
inflation adjustment. See Technical Information
Release (TIR) 23-12 and the 4% Surtax FAQ for
more information.

Penalty for Failure to Obtain Health
Insurance

Massachusetts requires most adults 18 and over
with access to affordable health insurance to ob-
tain it. In 2023, individuals must be enrolled in
health insurance policies that meet minimum
creditable coverage standards defined in regula-
tions adopted by the Commonwealth Health In-
surance Connector Authority (Health Connector).
Individuals who are deemed able to afford health

insurance but fail to obtain it are generally subject
to penalties in Massachusetts for each month of
noncompliance in the tax year. The monthly pen-
alties for 2023, which will be imposed through the
individual’s personal income tax return, are set
out in TIR 22-17 and are based on the monthly
insurance premium for which an individual would
have qualified through the Health Connector.

Annual Update of Circuit Breaker Tax
Credit

Taxpayers aged 65 or older who own or rent res-
idential property located in Massachusetts are al-
lowed a credit equal to the amount by which their
total real estate tax payments, or 25% of their rent
in the case of a renter, exceeds 10% of the tax-
payer’s total income. The credit cannot exceed a
certain maximum amount that is determined by
multiplying a statutory base amount by a cost-of-
living adjustment for the calendar year in which
the taxable year begins. Effective for tax years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 2023, the statutory
base amount has been doubled, resulting in an
increase of the maximum credit to $2,590.

The amount of the credit is subject to limitations
based on the taxpayer’s total income and the as-
sessed value of the real estate, which for tax year
2023 must not exceed $1,025,000. For purposes
of calculating the credit, total income and maxi-
mum credit thresholds are adjusted annually for
inflation. For tax year 2023, an eligible taxpayer’s
total income cannot exceed $69,000 in the case of
a single filer who is not a head of household filer;
$86,000 in the case of a head of household filer;
and $103,000 in the case of a joint filer. To qualify
for the credit, a taxpayer must be age 65 or older
and must occupy the property as his or her prin-
cipal residence.

Employer-Provided Parking, Transit Pass,
and Commuter Highway Vehicle Benefits
Exclusion Amounts

Massachusetts conforms to Internal Revenue
Code (“IRC”) § 132(f) as amended and in effect
on January 1, 2022. IRC § 132(f) excludes from
an employee’s gross income (subject to a monthly
maximum adjusted annually for inflation) employ-
er-provided parking, transit pass, and commuter
highway vehicle transportation benefits. The
IRS has determined the 2023 monthly exclusion
amounts to be $300 for employer-provided park-
ing and $300 for combined transit pass and com-
muter highway vehicle transportation benefits.
See TIR 22-15 for more information.

Reinstatement of the Personal Income Tax
Deduction for Charitable Gontributions

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, a deduction for charitable contributions is
available for MGL ch 62 taxpayers. This deduction



2023 Form 1-NR/PY Instructions

had been suspended since the 2002 tax year. See
Schedule Y instructions for more details.

Increase to the Rental Deduction

The rental deduction is equal to half of the rent
paid for a principal residence located in Massa-
chusetts in a taxable year. The rental deduction
cannot exceed a maximum amount. For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2023, the max-
imum amount of the rental deduction is $4,000
($2,000 if married filing a separate return). Previ-
ously, the maximum amount of the rental deduc-
tion was $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a sepa-
rate return).

Expansion of the Commuter Deduction

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, the commuter deduction has been ex-
panded to include expenses incurred for all Mas-
sachusetts Bay Transit Authority (“MBTA”) fares,
Massachusetts regional transit authority fares,
fares for any commuter boat owned, operated, or
contracted by a municipality, public or quasi-pub-
lic entity, agency, or authority, bikeshare mem-
berships, and the cost of bicycles purchased for
commuting (including electric bicycles and bicy-
cle improvements, repairs, and storage). Previ-
ously, the deduction was available only for tolls
paid for through a Fast Lane account or for weekly
or monthly MBTA transit commuter passes for
transit, bus, commuter rail, or commuter boat.

Deduction for employer-provided student
loan payment assistance

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, employees may deduct the amount of em-
ployer-provided “student loan payment assis-
tance” received during the taxable year that has
not already been excluded from their gross in-
come under IRC § 127. Employer-provided “stu-
dent loan payment assistance” is an employer’s
payment of an employee’s principal or interest
on a qualified education loan, as defined in IRC
§221. Up to $5,250 of these employer payments
made in a calendar year beginning before Janu-
ary 1, 2026 are excluded from federal and, there-
fore, Massachusetts gross income. See TIR 23-5
for more information. As a result, if an employer
made payments on an employee’s principal or in-
terest on a qualified education loan during the tax-
able year, the employee may deduct the amount
of such “student loan payment assistance” that
exceeds $5,250. Employees may not claim any
other deduction, such as for student loan inter-
est, for employer-provided “student loan payment
assistance.”

Wind Power Incentive Jobs Credit
For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, and until tax years ending on or before

December 31, 2032, a business subject to tax
under MGL ch 62 may, to the extent authorized
by the offshore wind tax incentive program es-
tablished in MGL ch 23J, § 8A(d), be allowed a
refundable credit in an amount determined by the
Massachusetts Clean Energy Technology Center,
in consultation with the Department of Revenue.
A business taking this credit must commit to the
creation of a minimum of 50 net new perma-
nent full-time employees in Massachusetts. See
TIR 23-6 and MGL ch 62, § 6(bb) for additional
information.

Wind Power Incentive Investment Credit
For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, and until tax years ending on or before De-
cember 31, 2032, a business subject to tax under
MGL ch 62 may, to the extent authorized by the
offshore wind tax incentive program established
in MGL ch 23J, § 8A(d), be allowed a refundable
creditin an amount, as determined by the Massa-
chusetts Clean Energy Technology Center, of up
to 50 percent of its total capital investment in an
offshore wind facility. See TIR 23-6 and MGL ch
62, § 6(cc) for additional information.

National Guard Hiring Tax Credit

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, a business subject to tax under MGL ch 62
that employs not more than 100 employees may
be allowed a credit equal to $2,000 for each mem-
ber of the Massachusetts National Guard hired by
the business after July 1, 2022. See TIR 23-6 and
MGL ch 62, § 6(aa)for additional information.

Disability Hire Tax Credit

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2023, businesses subject to tax under MGL ch
62 that hire employees after July 1, 2021 with a
disability who live and work in Massachusetts
may be eligible for a credit. The credit is equal
to the lesser of $5,000 or 30% of the wages paid
to a qualified employee in the first year of em-
ployment, and the lesser of $2,000 or 30% of
the wages paid to a qualified employee in each
subsequent year of employment. For additional
information, see 830 CMR 63.38JJ.1: Disability
Employment Tax Credit.

Child and Family Tax Credit

Starting with tax years beginning on or after Janu-
ary 1, 2023, individuals subject to tax under MGL
ch 62 may claim a refundable, non-transferable
child and family tax credit (“CFTC”) if they main-
tain a household as provided under IRC § 21. The
household must include an individual who is (1)
under the age of 13 and who qualifies for exemp-
tion as a dependent under IRC § 151; (2) a qual-
ifying individual pursuant to IRC § 21, which in-
cludes a dependent, as defined in IRC § 152, or

the taxpayer’s spouse, who is physically or men-
tally incapable of taking care of himself or herself
and principally lives with the taxpayer; or (3) a
dependent under IRC § 152 who is age 65 or over
or disabled. For the tax year beginning on or after
January 1, 2023, the amount of the CFTC is equal
to $310 for each such individual. The GFTC will
be increased to $440 for each such individual be-
ginning with tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2024.

The CFTC replaces the Dependent Care Tax Credit
and the Household Dependent Tax Credit, which
were repealed for tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2023.

Increase in the Massachusetts Earned
Income Tax Credit

Effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2023, the amount of the Massachusetts
earned income tax credit an individual may claim
is 40% of the computed federal credit. The credit
cannot be claimed by married taxpayers that
file separate Massachusetts personal income
tax returns. With respect to a taxpayer who is a
non-resident for part of the taxable year, the credit
must be multiplied by a fraction, the numerator
of which is the number of days in the taxable
year the taxpayer resided in the Commonwealth
and the denominator of which is the total num-
ber of days in the taxable year. A taxpayer who is
a non-resident for the entire taxable year cannot
claim the credit.

Increase to the Lead Paint Tax Credit
Effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2023, the maximum amount of the Lead
Paint Tax Credit has been increased from $1,500
for each residential unit in which lead paint was
deleaded to $3,000. In addition, the maximum
amount of the credit for residential units in which
lead paint was partially covered or removed has
been increased from $500 to $1,000.

Increase to the Septic Credit

Effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2023, the maximum amount of the Sep-
tic Credit taxpayers may claim per taxable year
has been increased from $1,500 to $4,000. Ex-
cess amounts may be claimed in the subsequent
five tax years. The maximum total credit amount
that can be claimed with respect to a particular
project is increased from $6,000 to $18,000. In
addition, the percentage of allowable septic sys-
tem expenditures used to calculate the credit in-
creased from 40% to 60%. If you claimed a Septic
Credit before January 1, 2023, and will claim ex-
cess amounts in the 2023 and later tax years, the
amount of the credit continues to be governed by
the prior limitations: the maximum annual credit
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amount is $1,500; the maximum total credit
amount is $6,000; and the percentage of allow-
able septic system expenditures used to calculate
the credit is 40%.

Extension of Brownfields Tax Credit

The brownfields tax credit, previously scheduled
to expire on August 5, 2023, has been extended
for five additional years. To qualify for a brown-
fields tax credit, a taxpayer must commence the
environmental response action on or before Au-
gust 5, 2028, and incur net response and removal
costs before January 1, 2029. See TIR 23-12 for
more information.

Conformity to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC)

As a general rule, Massachusetts does not con-
form to any personal income tax law changes to
the IRC made after January 1, 2022. See TIR 23-5
for more information. However, certain specific
Massachusetts personal income tax provisions,
as set forth in MGL ch 62, § 1(c), automatically
conform to the IRC currently in effect. The pro-
visions of the IRC that Massachusetts conforms
to on a current basis include those provisions
relating to:

D Roth IRAs;
D IRAs;

D The exclusion for gain on the sale of a principal
residence;

» Trade or business expenses;
D Travel expenses;
» Meals and entertainment expenses;

» The maximum deferral amount of government
employees’ deferred compensation plans;

D The deduction for health insurance costs of
self-employed taxpayers;

D Medical and dental expenses;

d Annuities;

D Health savings accounts;

» Employer-provided health insurance coverage;

» Amounts received by an employee under a
health and accident plan; and

» Contributions to qualified tuition programs.

Privacy Act Notice

Under the authority of 42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)(i),
and MGL ch 62C, § 5, the DOR has the right to
require an individual to furnish his or her Social
Security number on a state tax return. This infor-
mation is mandatory. DOR uses Social Security
numbers for taxpayer identification to assist in
processing and keeping track of returns and in de-

termining and collecting the proper amount of tax
due. Under MGL ch 62C, § 40, the taxpayer’s iden-
tifying number is required to process a refund of
overpaid taxes. Although tax return information is
generally confidential pursuant to MGL ch 62C, §
21, DOR may disclose return information to other
taxing authorities and those entities specified in
MGL ch 62C, §§ 21, 22 or 23, and as otherwise
authorized by law.

Filing Your
Massachusetts
Return

As a nonresident, you must file Form 1-NR/PY if
your Massachusetts source income for 2023 ex-
ceeded the smaller of your apportioned personal
exemption, or $8,000.

Am | a Resident, Nonresident, or
Part-Year Resident?

There are four different categories of resident sta-
tus under Massachusetts tax law:

d You are a full-year resident if your residence
(domicile) is in Massachusetts or if you maintain
a permanent place of abode in Massachusetts and
during the year spend more than 183 days, in the
aggregate, in the state. If you fit this description
you should file a Massachusetts Resident Income
Tax Return, Form 1.

» You are a nonresident if you were not a resi-
dent of Massachusetts but earned Massachusetts
income (e.g., from a job in Massachusetts). You
must report such income by filing a Massachu-
setts Form 1-NR/PY.

D You are a part-year resident if you either moved
into or moved out of Massachusetts during the
taxable year. In this case, you must reduce cer-
tainincome, deductions and exemptions based on
the number of days you were a resident or on the
amount of your income that is subject to Massa-
chusetts tax. Part-year residents must file a Mas-
sachusetts Form 1-NR/PY.

» You are both a nonresident and part-year res-
ident if you meet the criteria above for both the
part-year resident and nonresident categories. If
filing as a nonresident and part-year resident, the
Schedule R/NR must be completed.

What Is Massachusetts Source Income for
Nonresidents?

The term “Massachusetts source income” is used
throughout this booklet to describe the types of
income which are taxable to a nonresident.

Anonresident is only subject to tax on items of in-
come derived from or effectively connected with:

D Any trade, business, or employment carried on
in Massachusetts (see the following section);

D Participation in any lottery or wagering transac-
tion in Massachusetts; or

» Ownership of any interest in real or tangible
personal property located in Massachusetts.

Some examples of the types of income taxable to
a nonresident:

D All wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees and
other compensation which relate to activities car-
ried on in Massachusetts, regardless of where or
when the compensation is paid;

» Unemployment compensation related to previ-
ous Massachusetts employment;

» Profitfromabusiness, trade, profession, partner-
ship, or S corporation conducted in Massachusetts;

D Rents and royalties from real and tangible per-
sonal property located in Massachusetts or from
other business activities in Massachusetts;

» Gain from the sale of real or tangible personal
property located in Massachusetts;

D Interest and dividends, only if derived from or
connected with Massachusetts business activity,
or the ownership of Massachusetts real estate or
tangible personal property; and

D The definition of Massachusetts source income
now includes gain from the sale of a business or
an interest in a business, separation, sick or va-
cation pay, deferred compensation, income from
covenants not to compete, and nonqualified pen-
sion income that federal law allows states to tax.

Income from Massachusetts sources which is not
taxed to residents is not taxed to nonresidents,
e.g., interest on debt obligations of the U.S. and
amounts received as Social Security and certain
worker’s compensation.

In general, the same exemptions and deductions
allowed to residents are available to nonresidents
to determine taxable income. These items are al-
lowed, however, only to the extent they relate to,
orare allocable to, Massachusetts source income.

Am | Carrying on a Trade, Business or
Employment in Massachusetts as a
Nonresident?

A nonresident generally does not have a trade,
business or employment carried on in Massachu-
setts if his/her presence for business in Massa-
chusetts is casual, isolated and inconsequential.
A nonresident’s presence for business will be
considered casual, isolated and inconsequential
if the nonresident’s business presence in Massa-
chusetts is ancillary to the nonresident’s primary
business or employment duties performed at a
base of operations outside Massachusetts — for
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example, an occasional presence in Massachu-
setts for management functions, and other similar
activities which are secondary to the individual’'s
primary out-of-state duties.

Are Military Personnel Required to File?

If you enlisted in the service as a Massachusetts
resident and have not established a new domicile
(residence) elsewhere (refer to military guidelines)
and if your gross income is more than $8,000,
you are required to file a Massachusetts resident
income tax return. This applies even though you
may be stationed outside of Massachusetts. The
terms “residence” and “domicile” are used to de-
note that place where you have your permanent
home and to which, whenever you are absent, you
have the intention of returning. Nonresident mil-
itary personnel stationed in Massachusetts may
be subject to Massachusetts taxes and should file
Form 1-NR/PY if they earn income from outside
military sources.

Military spouses. The Military Spouses Resi-
dency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97) prohibits a service-
member’s spouse from either losing or acquiring
a residence or domicile for purposes of taxation
because of being absent or presentin any U.S. tax
jurisdiction solely to be with the servicemember
in compliance with the servicemember’s military
orders. In general, for Massachusetts tax pur-
poses, the law affects only servicemembers and
their spouses who are domiciled in a state other
than Massachusetts.

As of January 5, 2023, the Veterans Auto and Ed-
ucation Improvement Act (P.L. 117-333) allows a
servicemember and the spouse of such service-
member to choose as their residence or domicile
for each taxable year of the marriage, regardless
of the date of the marriage, from any of the fol-
lowing: (a) the residence or domicile of the ser-
vicemember; (b) the residence or domicile of the
spouse; or (c) the permanent duty station of the
servicemember.

Note: Massachusetts excludes from gross in-
come compensation earned by members of the
armed forces for service in a combat zone, to the
same extent it is excluded under federal law.

No guidance is intended on the tax treatment of
such pay under the laws of other states. Gener-
ally, when income is taxable in two jurisdictions,
a credit for taxes paid to the other jurisdiction is
allowed on the taxpayer’s return in the state of his/
her residence.

How Do | Determine My Residence
(Domicile)?

Your residence is determined by all the facts and
circumstances in your case. If you have two or
more residences, your residence is the one you

regard as your true home or principal residence.
You cannot choose to make your home in one
place for the general purposes of life and in an-
other for tax purposes. Your residence is usually
the place where you maintain your most import-
ant family, social, economic, political and religious
ties. A change of residence will not be accom-
plished by a temporary or protracted absence
from a place; you must not intend to return.

Note: A person is also considered a resident if
they maintain a permanent place of abode in
Massachusetts and spend more than 183 days,
in the aggregate, in the state. See TIR 95-7 for a
further explanation.

What is Gross Income for a Part-Year
Resident?

As a part-year resident, you must file Form 1-NR/
PY if your gross income was more than $8,000 —
whether received from sources inside or outside
of Massachusetts.

Gross income for a part-year resident includes:

D All wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees and
other compensation;

D Taxable pensions and annuities;
D Taxable alimony (see Schedule X instructions);

D Income from a business, trade, profession,
partnership, S corporation, trust or estate;

Rental, royalty and REMIC income;
Unemployment compensation;
Taxable interest and dividends;
Gambling winnings;

Capital gains;

Forgiveness of debt;

Mortgage forgiveness;

Taxable portion of scholarships and fellowships;
and

» Any other income not specifically exempt.

Massachusetts gross income also includes
the following which are not subject to the U.S.
income tax:

D Interest from obligations of states and their po-
litical subdivisions, other than Massachusetts and
its political subdivisions; and

D Income earned by a resident from foreign
employment.

Massachusetts gross income does not include:

D Interest on obligations of the U.S. and U.S.
territories;

D Pension income received from a contributory
annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund

of the U.S. government or the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts and its political subdivisions.

D Amounts received as U.S. Social Security, pub-
lic welfare assistance, Veterans Administration
disability payments, G.I. Bill education payments,
certain worker’s compensation, gifts, accident or
life insurance payments, or certain payments re-
ceived by Holocaust survivors; and

» Compensation earned by members of the
armed forces for service in a combat zone (ex-
cluded to the same extent as under federal law).

What Adjustments Must | Make as a
Part-Year Resident?

Part-year residents must adjust income, deduc-
tions and exemptions when completing Form
1-NR/PY. In general, these items are reduced be-
cause all of your income may not be subject to
Massachusetts tax. Your deductions and exemp-
tions are based on the number of days you were a
Massachusetts resident or the amount of income
that is subject to Massachusetts tax.

Income

Lines 5 through 11, 24, 27 and

Schedule D, Line 21

If you earned only a portion of the income you
reported on your U.S. return while you were a
Massachusetts resident, subtract from your U.S.
income the amount earned and received while you
were domiciled in another state or country. How-
ever, you may be required to include all income
derived from Massachusetts sources earned
while you were a nonresident, such as from rental
property or from a trade or business, including
employment, on Schedule R/NR, Resident/Non-
resident Worksheet. Such income now includes
gains from the sale of a business or an interest in
a business, separation, sick or vacation pay, de-
ferred compensation, income from covenants not
to compete, and nonqualified pension income that
federal law allows states to tax.

Deductions

Lines 15 through 19

Most deductions are based on the actual amounts
paid by you associated with the deduction for the
period of time you were in Massachusetts.

The deductions listed below are based on the pro-
ration of the number of days you were a Massa-
chusetts resident. See line 3 on Form 1-NR/PY for
the proration formula.

d Schedule Y, line 6, Archer medical savings ac-
count (MSA) deduction;

D Schedule Y, line 8, health savings account
deduction;
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D Schedule Y, line 9c, charitable contribution
deduction;

D Schedule Y, line 10, student loan interest
deduction;

» Schedule, line 12, undergraduate student loan
interest deduction;

D Schedule, line 15, commuter deduction; and

D Schedule Y, line 18, prepaid tuition or college
savings program deduction and student loan re-
payment assistance deduction.

The deductions listed below are based on the ac-
tual amounts paid or received for the period of
time you were in Massachusetts. For example,
you may only deduct alimony (to the extent al-
lowable as a deduction) paid while you were a
Massachusetts resident. (See Schedule Y, line 3).
Similarly, the deduction for attorney’s fees and
court costs involving certain unlawful discrimi-
nation suits (Schedule Y, line 9) must be directly
related to Massachusetts income as reported on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 12.

» Schedule Y, lines 2 through 4;
» Schedule Y, line 5, moving expenses;

» Schedule, line 7, self-employed health insur-
ance deduction;

D Schedule, line 9, Other Qualified Deductions;

» Schedule, line 13, deductible amount of qual-
ified contributory pension income from another
state or political subdivision;

» Schedule,line 14, claim of right deduction; and
» Schedule, line 17, certain gambling losses.

Exemptions

Lines 4a through 4f

Your total exemptions (line 4g) must be prorated
based upon the ratio of days you were a Massa-
chusetts resident. To adjust your exemptions, use
the formula in line 3 and see line 22 instructions.

Health Care Penalty

Line 39

If you are a part-year resident subject to the
Health Care Penalty for 2023 and are not appeal-
ing the application of the penalty, enter the pen-
alty amount from line 8 of the Health Care Penalty
Worksheet in line 39a for you and/or line 39b for
your spouse. Enter the total of lines 39a and 39b
in line 39, but do not enter less than 0. Be sure
to enclose Schedule HC with your return. Failure
to do so will delay the processing of your return.

If married filing a joint return and both you and
your spouse are subject to the penalty, separate

Health Care Penalty Worksheets must be filled
out to calculate the separate penalty amounts for
you and your spouse, using your married filing
jointly income.

A part-year resident taxpayer who does not have
health insurance that meets the Massachusetts
standard of minimum creditable coverage may be
subject to a Massachusetts penalty.

Earned Income Credit

Line 47

Your earned income credit (line 47) must be pro-
rated based upon the ratio of days you were a
Massachusetts resident. To adjust this credit, use
the formula in line 3 and see line 47 instructions.

Should | Make Estimated Tax Payments in
20247

Every taxpayer (whether a resident or nonresi-
dent) who expects to pay more than $400 in Mas-
sachusetts income taxes on income which is not
covered by Massachusetts withholding must pay
Massachusetts estimated taxes. Estimated tax
payments can be made online by using DOR’s
MassTaxConnect application at mass.gov/dor. See
line 44 instructions for more information.

How Do | File a Decedent’s Return?

A final income tax return must be filed for a tax-
payer who died during the taxable year. It must
be signed and filed by his/her executor, adminis-
trator or surviving spouse for the portion of the
year before the taxpayer’s death. Be sure to fill in
oval 1 if the taxpayer who was listed first on last
year’s income tax return is deceased, or oval 2 if
the taxpayer who was listed second on last year’s
income tax return is deceased. Also, enclose Form
M-1310 with the refund claimant’s name and So-
cial Security number clearly printed.

Ajoint return may be filed by a surviving spouse.
In the case of the death of both spouses, a final
return must be filed by their legal representative.

Any income of $100 or more received for the
decedent for the taxable year after the decedent’s
death, and for succeeding taxable years until the
estate is completed, must be reported each year
on Massachusetts Form 2, Massachusetts Fidu-
ciary Income Tax Return.

If the decedent’s return shows a refund due, and
if the Probate Court has not appointed a legal rep-
resentative and none is contemplated, a Massa-
chusetts Form M-1310, Statement of Claimant to
Refund Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer, must
be enclosed with the return so the refund check
may be made payable to the proper person.

When to File Your
Return

Your 2023 Form 1-NR/PY is due on or before
April 17, 2024.

Automatic Extensions

All taxpayers filing personal income tax returns
are automatically granted a six-month extension
of time to file their tax return as long as at least
80% of the total amount of tax ultimately due on
or before the due date prescribed for payment of
the tax has been paid. See TIR 16-10.

Also, if you are making a payment of $5,000 or
more, you are required to submit your extension
payment electronically. Failure to do so will result
in a penalty. If you are making a payment of less
than $5,000, you also have the option of filing
your extension electronically. You do not need to
file an extension if no payment is due. If there is
a tax due with your extension, payment can be
made through Electronic Funds Withdrawal.

Visit mass.gov/dor to file via the Web.

Form 1-NR/PY Extension Worksheet

1. Enter amount from Form
1-NR/PY, line 41 .........

2. Enter the total of Form 1-NR/PY,
lines 42 through 44 and 47
throughb51 .............

3. Amount due. Subtract line
2 from line 1, not less than 0

Note: Your extension will not be valid if you fail to
pay 80% of your total tax liability through with-
holding, estimated tax payments or with your ex-
tension. Form M-4868 is available at mass.gov/
dor or by calling (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in
Massachusetts (800) 392-6089.

Must I File on a Calendar Year Basis?

No. You may file on a fiscal year basis if you keep
your books and records on that fiscal year basis
and if you receive permission from the Commis-
sioner of Revenue. If you file on a fiscal year basis,
you must file on or before the fifteenth day of the
fourth month after the end of your fiscal year.
Taxpayers filing on a fiscal year basis must com-
plete and file Form 13, Notice of Designation of
Fiscal Year, available at mass.gov/dor or by call-
ing (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts
(800) 392-6089.
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Fiscal Year Filers

Fiscal year filers should file using the tax form for
the calendar year within which the fiscal year be-
gins or the short year falls. If the short year spans
more than one calendar year, the filer should file
using the tax form for the calendar year in which
the short year began. If the current form is not
available at the time the short year filer must
file, the filer should follow the rules explained in
TIR 11-12.

What If | Am Unable to Pay?

If you are unable to pay the full amount of tax that
you owe, you should pay as much of your tax lia-
bility as possible with this return. You will receive
a bill from DOR for the remaining amount of tax
due plus accrued interest and penalty charges. If
the amount of that bill is less than $10,000 and
you still cannot pay it in full, you must apply for-
mally to DOR for a small payment agreement in
order to avoid collection activity. You can apply
for a small payment agreement by visiting Mass-
TaxConnect at Mass.gov/masstaxconnect.

Note: Do not mail your request for a payment
agreement with your tax return. Requests can
be made once a bill is issued through DOR’s
MassTaxConnect application at mass.gov/dor
or by calling DOR at (617) 887-6367 or toll-free
in Massachusetts (800) 392-6089. Setting up a
small payment agreement will allow you to make
monthly payments within a set time period to sat-
isfy your unpaid liability.

Name and Address

Print the full name, address, and Social Security
number of each person filing the return in the
spaces provided. Enter names as they appear on
your federal return.

Social Security Number(s)

Be sure to enter your Social Security number on
your return. Also, enter your Social Security num-
ber on pages 2 through 5 of Form 1-NR/PY and on
page 2 of Schedules B or G, if filed. Failure to show
the correct Social Security number in the space
provided will delay the processing of your return.
If filing jointly, list your numbers in the order they
appear on your federal return. Also, be sure your
employer has listed the correct Social Security
number on your Form W-2. If you are married,
you must list your spouse’s name and Social Se-
curity number even if you are filing a separate
return, except as provided below. See line 1 in-
structions fro married filing a separate return.

To apply for an SSN, you must complete Form
SS-5. Form SS-5 is available online at socialsecu-
rity.gov, from your local Social Security Adminis-
tration (SSA) office, or by calling the SSA at (800)
772-1213. It usually takes about two weeks to re-
ceive an SSN. If you are a nonresident or resident

alien and you do not have and are not eligible for
an SSN, you must apply for an ITIN. For details
on how to do so, see Form W-7 and its instruc-
tions. Form W-7 is available online at irs.gov or by
calling the IRS at (800) 829-1040. It usually takes
about four to six weeks to receive an ITIN.

Note: You must wait until you receive an ITIN or
SSN to file your Massachusetts return.

Filing an Amended Return

Note: When filing an Amended return, the
Amended return oval must be filled in. For ex-
ample, if you are filing an Amended return due to
a Federal amendment, both the Amended return
oval and the Federal amendment oval must be
filled in.

Filing an Amended Return

If you need to change a line item on your re-
turn, complete a new return with the corrected
information and fill in the Amended return oval.
Your amended return must include all schedules
filed with the original return even if there are no
changes to the schedules. Mail your amended re-
turn to the same address used for original returns.
Do not file Form ABT with your amended return.
An amended return can be filed to either increase
or decrease your tax. An amended return should
also be filed to correct a credit amount (such as
withholding) or to dispute a health care penalty.
Generally, an amended return must be filed within
three years of the date that your original return
was filed. Visit mass.gov/dor/amend for more in-
formation about filing an amended return.

Federal Changes

If your amended return includes changes you
have reported on an amended federal return filed
with the IRS for the same tax year or if you are
amending due to changes as a result of a federal
audit, fill in the Federal amendment oval.

If your amended return does not report changes
that result from the filing of a federal amended
return or from a federal audit (for example, if the
amended Massachusetts return is reporting a
rental deduction not claimed on the original re-
turn) fill in only the Amended return oval.

Other Jurisdiction Change

If your amended return includes changes result-
ing from another state or jurisdiction audit or
change, fill in the Other Jurisdiction change oval
and enter date of change in the space provided.

Amended return due to IRS BBA Part-
nership Audit

If your amended return includes changes made
due to an IRS BBA Audit, fill in the Amended re-
turn due to IRS BBA Partnership Audit oval.

Consent to Extend the Time to Act on an
Amended Return treated as Abatement
Application

In certain instances, an amended return show-
ing a reduction of tax may be treated by DOR as
an abatement application. Under such circum-
stances, by filing an amended return, you are giv-
ing your consent for the Commissioner of Reve-
nue to act upon the abatement application after
six months from the date of filing. See TIR 16-
11. You may withdraw such consent at any time
by contacting the DOR in writing. If consent is
withdrawn, any requested reduction in tax will
be deemed denied either at the expiration of six
months from the date of filing or the date consent
is withdrawn, whichever is later.

Filing an Application for Abatement
File an Application for Abatement only to dispute
one of the following:

D Penalties
D Audit assessments
D Responsible person determinations

For the fastest response time, file your dispute on-
line at mass.gov/masstaxconnect. If you cannot
file online, use Form ABT.

Visit mass.gov/dor/amend for additional informa-
tion about filing an amended return, or filing an
application for abatement.

Form 1-NR/PY Frequent Errors
Not entering the information below correctly may
result in an item being adjusted or removed.

» Name - Enter your name as shown on your
government-issued ID with the first, last and mid-
dle in the designated fields for each type.

D Line 4c¢ - You must fill in the bubble for each
spouse over 65 and enter a “1” or “2” in the Total
box accordingly.

D Line 5 — If you are a Massachusetts state,
city, town, or county employee, you must report
the State wages, tips etc. amount from box 16
of Form W-2.

D Line 18 - Enter the total qualified rent paid in
2023 in the box, then divide by 2.

D Line 42 - You must submit all documents that
have Massachusetts withholding, including pass-
through entity or K-1 withholding.

D Lines 43 and 44 — Be sure to differentiate any
overpayment from 2022 as a credit carry forward
on line 43 and do not list it as 2023 estimated tax
payment on line 44.

D Line 48 — Schedule CB must be completed and
submitted with your return.
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D Line 53 — Excess Paid Family Leave withhold-
ing (PFML) is not the amount shown on your
Form W-2. You must use the worksheet for line
53 to see if you qualify and to calculate the excess
amount. Each taxpayer would need to have mul-
tiple W-2’s and to have paid PFML greater than
$509.44 to qualify. Or, have paid on the gross
amount of self-employment income, not the net.

» Schedules B, G, D - Entries should be positive
values unless there is a box to mark to indicate a
negative value.

» Schedule HC — You must complete and sub-
mit Schedule HC showing the FEIN and subscriber
number, member ID or Group number from in-
surance card. Form 1095 is a federal form and
cannot be used to report health care coverage in
Massachusetts.

Voluntary Contribution to State Election
Campaign Fund (part-year residents only)
You, and your spouse if filing jointly, may volun-
tarily contribute $1 each to the state Election Cam-
paign Fund. The purpose of the fund is to provide
limited public financing for campaigns of eligible
candidates for statewide and elective office. This
contribution will not change your tax or reduce
your refund.

Veterans Benefits

Fill in the appropriate oval(s) for you, and/or your
spouse if married filing a joint return, if you are
a veteran who served in the Armed Forces of the
United States in active service as part of Operation
Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi Freedom, Op-
eration Noble Eagle or Operation Sinai Peninsula
and were discharged under honorable conditions
and were domiciled for six months in Massachu-
setts immediately prior to entry into the Armed
Forces. DOR will then forward the name and ad-
dress to the Department of Veterans’ Services
and the adjutant general of the Massachusetts
National Guard to verify eligibility for any benefits
you may be entitled to.

Deceased Taxpayer

Be sure to fill in the appropriate oval if a taxpayer
died during the taxable year. For further informa-
tion, refer to the section How Do | File a Dece-
dent’s Return? in the instructions.

Under Age 18
If you are under age 18 as of January 1, 2024, be
sure to fill in the oval(s).

Name Change

If you legally changed your name since the last
time you filed a Massachusetts tax return, fill in
the oval. Enclose a copy of your Social Security
card or government-issued ID (i.e., driver’s li-

cense, passport, etc.) showing your new name.
Failure to include this documentation could delay
processing of your return.

Noncustodial Parent

Fill in the oval if you are a noncustodial parent. A
noncustodial parent is defined as a person who
has a minor child, but does not live with the child.

Note: If you are the biological parent of a child, but
your parental rights have been terminated, you are
not the noncustodial parent of that child.

Schedule TDS. Inconsistent Filing
Position Penalty

Fill in the oval and enclose Schedule TDS, Tax-
payer Disclosure Statement, if you are disclosing
any inconsistent filing positions. Schedule TDS is
available on our website at mass.gov/dor. The in-
consistent filing position penalty (see TIR 06-5,
section IV) applies to taxpayers that take an incon-
sistent position in reporting income. These tax-
payers must “disclose the inconsistency” when
filing their Massachusetts return. If such inconsis-
tency is not disclosed, the taxpayer will be subject
to a penalty equal to the amount of tax attributable
to the inconsistency. This penalty is in addition to
any other penalties that may apply.

A taxpayer is deemed to have taken an “incon-
sistent position” when the taxpayer pays less tax
in Massachusetts based upon an interpretation
of Massachusetts law that differs from the posi-
tion taken by the taxpayer in another state where
the taxpayer files a return and the governing law
in that other state “is the same in all material re-
spects” as the Massachusetts law. The Com-
missioner may waive or abate the penalty if the
inconsistency or failure to disclose was attribut-
able to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.

Schedule FCI. Foreign Corporation Income
Fill in the oval and enclose Schedule FCI (For-
eign Corporation Income) if you are required to
complete and file Schedule FCI with your return.
All taxpayers with foreign corporation income
(including Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income
(GILT1)) must complete Schedule FCI. Detailed in-
structions for completing Schedule FCI are avail-
able on DOR’s website. See Schedule FCI and
Instructions.

Digital Assets

Fill in the oval if at any time during 2023 you
received (as a reward, award, or payment for
property or services) a digital asset, or sold, ex-
changed, gifted, or otherwise disposed of a digi-
tal asset (or a financial interest in a digital asset).
Digital assets include non-fungible tokens (NFTs)

and virtual currencies, such as cryptocurrencies
and stablecoins.

Residency Status

Fill in the Nonresident oval if you were not a res-
ident of Massachusetts and you received Massa-
chusetts source income. See the section What
is Massachusetts Source Income for Nonres-
idents? for an explanation of Massachusetts
source income.

Fill in the Part-year resident oval if you were a
resident of Massachusetts for less than the full
year and you did not receive Massachusetts
source income while a nonresident.

Fill in the Filing both as a nonresident and part-
year resident oval if both categories apply to you
in the same tax year. See the section Who Must
File. You must also complete and enclose with
your return Schedule R/NR, Resident/Nonresi-
dent Worksheet.

Nonresident Gomposite Return for
Professional Athletic Team Members
Massachusetts allows professional athletic teams
to file a composite return and make estimated tax
payments as an agent on behalf of two or more
qualified electing nonresident team members. El-
igible members of a composite return must meet
the following requirements:

» Mustbe nonresidents for the entire taxable year;

D Must elect to be included in the composite re-
turn by signing a statement;

D Must agree to be subject to Massachusetts tax
jurisdiction; and

D Must waive the right to claim deductions, ex-
emptions and credits allowable under MGL ch
62, §§ 3, 5 and 6. Taxpayers filing a nonresident
composite return should enter 0 on Form 1-NR/
PY, lines 20 (total deductions), 22 (exemption
amount) and lines 33 to 35 (credits).

Each electing nonresident team member must
sign under penalties of perjury a statement af-
firmatively stating such team member’s qualifi-
cations and election to file a composite return.
The composite return is filed on Massachusetts
Form 1-NR/PY along with the applicable sched-
ules and attachments. The total Massachusetts
gross income reported on the composite Form
1-NR/PY must be the sum of all the qualified
electing nonresident members’ Massachusetts
source income.

Be sure to fill in the Nonresident composite re-
turn oval if this category applies to you.

Note: Lines without specific instructions are con-
sidered to be self-explanatory.
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a. Total Federal Income

Enter your total federal income (from U.S. Form
1040, line 9). If married filing separately and living
in the same household, each spouse must com-
bine their income figures from their separate U.S.
returns when completing this section. If you did
not have a requirement to file a U.S. return, you
must enter 0 in this section.

Note: Failure to enter this information will delay
the processing of your return.

b. Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Enter your federal adjusted gross income (from
U.S. Form 1040, line 11 or U.S. Form 1040-NR,
line 11). If married filing separately and living in
the same household, each spouse must combine
their income figures from their separate U.S. re-
turns when completing this section. If you did not
have a requirement to file a U.S. return, you must
enter 0 in this section.

Note: Failure to enter this information will delay
the processing of your return.

Line 1. Filing Status

Note: More than one filing status may apply to
you. If so, you may wish to figure your taxes
based upon more than one filing status to see
which status is to your benefit and select only one.

Single

Fill in the Single oval if you were single as of De-
cember 31, 2023. This status applies to you if, at
the close of the taxable year, you fit into any of the
following categories:

D You were unmarried;

» You were a widow or a widower whose spouse
died before 2023; or

D You were legally separated under a final judg-
ment of the probate court.

You are not single if:

» You have obtained a judgment of divorce which
has not yet become final;

» You have a temporary support order; or

» You and your spouse simply choose to live
apart.

Married Filing Joint Return

Fill in the Married filing joint return oval if you
were legally married as of December 31, 2023,
and you elect to file a joint return. A joint return
is allowed even if only one spouse had income.
Both spouses are responsible for the accuracy of
all information entered on a joint return, and both
must sign. If your spouse died during 2023, you
may still choose to file a joint return.
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Note: A joint Form 1-NR/PY is not allowed unless
each spouse is reporting income for the same res-
ident or nonresident period. For example, John (a
Massachusetts resident) and Jane (a New Hamp-
shire resident) both work in Massachusetts. After
they were married in June 2023, John moved to
New Hampshire to live with Jane. They cannot
file a joint return because their nonresident tax
years are different. (Jane lived in New Hampshire
during the entire year, but John only lived there
for six months.)

Married Filing Separate Return

Fill in the Married filing separate return oval
if you were legally married as of December 31,
2023, but you elect to file separately. Enter your
spouse’s name and Social Security number in the
space provided.

If your spouse is a nonresident alien and does not
have and is not required to have a Social Security
number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identifica-
tion Number (ITIN), fill in the NRA oval.

Note: Only fill in the NRA oval if, on your U.S. 1040,
you entered NRA in the space below the filing sta-
tus checkboxes to indicate that your spouse is a
nonresident alien who does not have and is not re-
quired to have a SSN or ITIN.

Head of Household

Fill in the Head of household oval if you qualify to
file this status federally. This status is for unmar-
ried people who paid over half the cost of keeping
up a home for a qualifying person, such as a child
who lived with you or your dependent parent. Be
sure to include such qualifying person on Sched-
ule DI, Dependent Information. Certain married
people who lived apart from their spouse for the
last six months of 2023 and who meet all of the
other federal requirements may also be able to use
this status. See IRS Publication 501, Exemptions,
Standard Deduction, and Filing Information, for
more information.

Custodial Parent

Fill in the Custodial parent who has released
claim to exemption for child(ren) oval if you
are claiming the head of household filing sta-
tus and you have released your claim to one or
more dependent exemptions on IRS Form 8332,
or participated in a decree or agreement to allow
the noncustodial parent to claim a dependency
exemption.

Lines 2 and 3. Part-Year Resident

Proration Formula

Part-year residents must fill out the proration for-
mula in lines 2 and 3. Enter the dates you were a
Massachusetts resident in the spaces provided.
Then, enter the total days you were a Massachu-

setts resident and divide this number by 365 and
carry this division out to four decimal places. Fail-
ure to do so may delay the processing of your
return. This figure is used to determine the por-
tion of certain deductions, exemptions, and the
earned income credit a part-year resident may be
eligible to claim.

Whole Dollar Method Required

DOR requires that the whole dollar method be used
for entries made on forms or schedules. For exam-
ple, amounts between $1.00 and $1.49 should be
entered as $1.00 and amounts between $1.50 and
$2.00 should be entered as $2.00. However, cal-
culations on worksheets used to reach amounts
shown on the return may be made in either of the
following ways:

» Round amounts before adding them up and
enter the resulting total on the form; or

» Add amounts to the penny, and then round to
the whole dollar for entry on the form.

Either method is acceptable as long as one method
is used consistently throughout the return.

Line 4. Exemptions

Line 4a. Personal Exemptions

Each taxpayer is entitled to claim a personal ex-
emption. The amount of your personal exemption
depends on your filing status in line 1.

D Ifyou are single or married filing a separate re-
turn, enter $4,400 in line 4a.

D If filing as head of household, enter $6,800
in line 4a.

» If married filing a joint return, enter $8,800
in line 4a.

Line 4h. Number of Dependents

You may claim a $1,000 exemption for each of
your dependents if you claimed them on your U.S.
return. Enter in the box in item b the number of
dependents you listed on U.S. Form 1040 or U.S.
Form 1040NR. Do not include yourself or your
spouse. Then, multiply that total by $1,000 and
enter the total amount in line 4b. Be sure to fill out
Schedule DI, Dependent Information, if you are
claiming a dependent exemption(s). Failure to do
so will delay the processing of your return.

Line 4c. Age 65 or Over Before 2024

You are allowed an additional $700 exemption if
you were age 65 or over before January 1, 2024. If
your spouse was age 65 or over and you are filing
a joint return, you may also claim a $700 exemp-
tion for your spouse. Fill in the appropriate oval(s)
and enter the total number of persons age 65 or
over in the small box. Multiply that total by $700
and enter the total in line 4c.
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Note: Only one person (or married couple filing
jointly) may claim the dependent exemption for
any one child or other dependent.

Line 4d. Blindness Exemption

You are allowed an additional $2,200 exemption if
you are legally blind. If your spouse is also legally
blind and you are filing a joint return, you may also
claim a $2,200 exemption for your spouse. Fill in
the appropriate oval(s) and enter the total number
of blindness exemptions in the small box. Then,
multiply that total by $2,200 and enter the total
amount in line 4d.

Legal Definition of Blindness

You are legally blind and qualify for the blindness
exemption if your visual acuity with correction is
20/200 or less in the better eye, or if your periph-
eral field of vision has been contracted to a 10-de-
gree radius or less, regardless of visual acuity.

Line 4e. Medical/Dental Expenses

You may claim an exemption for medical and den-
tal expenses paid during 2023 only if you itemized
these expenses on your U.S. Form 1040, Sched-
ule A. If you are married filing a joint U.S. Form
1040, you must file a joint Massachusetts Form
1-NR/PY to claim this exemption. Enter in line 4e
the amount reported on your U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 4.

Line 41. Adoption Agency Fee

If you paid adoption fees to a licensed adoption
agency during 2023, you are eligible for an exemp-
tion of the total amount of the fees paid during the
year. Fees paid during 2023 to an agency licensed
to place children for adoption on account of the
adoption process of a minor child regardless of
whether an adoption actually took place during
2023 should also be included for this exemption.
Enter this amount in line 4f.

Lines 5 through 11

» Income received by nonresidents is taxed only
when it is from Massachusetts sources. Refer to
the general instructions in this booklet for a defi-
nition of Massachusetts source income. The in-
structions for each of these lines will describe
Massachusetts source income in more detail. For
part-year residents, income received while a res-
ident, whether from sources inside or outside of
Massachusetts, is taxable.

d Your entries must agree with the appropriate
amounts on your copies of Forms W-2 and 1099,
and/or required schedules for lines 8 and 9. Non-
residents, if your actual Massachusetts source
income is not known, see the Nonresident Appor-
tionment Worksheet in line 13 and accompanying
instructions.
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5.0% Income

If filing as both a nonresident and part-year res-
ident, you must complete Schedule R/NR, Resi-
dent/Nonresident Worksheet, before proceeding.

Line 5. Wages, Salaries, Tips and Other
Employee Compensation

Report in line 5 total state wages from Form(s)
W-2. Enter the amount(s) stated as Massachu-
setts wages.

Note: Part-year residents, income earned while a
Massachusetts resident in another state is subject
to taxation in Massachusetts.

In most cases your total wages will be the same
amount reported on your U.S. 1040, line 1z or
U.S. 1040-NR, line 1z unless:

» You or your spouse earned income from em-
ployment outside Massachusetts (nonresidents
only);

D You were a Massachusetts resident working in
a foreign country (part-year residents only);

» You were a resident of Massachusetts for only
a part of 2023; or

» You were a state or local employee and made
contributions to a Massachusetts state or local
pension plan.

Differences Between Wages for Mass-
achusetts Tax Purposes and Those
Reported on Your U.S. Return

Nonresidents earning a portion of income from
employment outside Massachusetts. Ifa portion
of the wage income reported on your U.S. return
was earned outside Massachusetts, the amount in
line 5 should not include wages earned in another
state or country.

Massachusetts residents working in a foreign
country while a Massachusetts resident. In-
come earned in a foreign country is subject to
taxation in Massachusetts. If you excluded part or
all of the compensation earned in a foreign coun-
try on your U.S. return (under § 911 of the IRC),
you must include any such amount in line 5 for
Massachusetts tax purposes.

Part-year residents of Massachusetts. If you
earned only a portion of the income you reported
on your U.S. return while you were a Massachu-
setts resident, subtract from your U.S. wages the
amount earned and received while you were do-
miciled in another state or country.

State or local employees contributing to pen-
sion plans. If you are a Massachusetts state, city,
town or county employee and contributed to your
pension plan, enter in line 5 the Form W-2 state

wage amount. This amount will be greater than
the U.S. amount because your pension contri-
butions are excluded from your income for U.S.
tax purposes. Gontributions up to $2,000 may be
deducted in line 15a or 15b for Massachusetts
tax purposes.

Line 6. Taxable Pensions and Annuities
Nonresidents. Under Title 4 of the USC § 114,
payments to nonresidents from certain qualified
pension plans are not subject to tax.

Qualified plans include:

D A qualified trust under IRC § 401(a) exempt
from taxation under IRC § 501(a);

» Simplified IRC § 408(k) plans;

» IRC §403(a) annuity plans;

» IRC §403(b) annuity contracts;

» IRC §7701(a) (37) individual retirement plans;

D Eligible deferred compensation plans of state
and local governments and tax exempt organiza-
tions as defined by IRC 457;

d IRC § 414(d) government plans; a trust or
trusts described in IRC § 501(c) (18); and

D Any plan, program or arrangement described
in IRC § 3121(v)(2)(C) or any plan, program, or
arrangement that is in writing, that provides for
retirement payments in recognition of prior ser-
vice to be made to a retired partner, and that is
in effect immediately before retirement begins if
payments are made at least annually and spread
over the actuarial life expectancy of the beneficia-
ries, or if payments are spread over at least a ten
year period.

Such income is also protected from state taxation
if the plans are trusts under IRC § 401(a), but ex-
ceed limits laid down in IRC §§ 401(k), 401(m),
402(g), 403(h), 408(k) or 415 or any other limita-
tion on contributions or benefits which may apply
in the Code.

Retirement or retainer pay of a member or former
member of a uniformed service computed under
10 USC ch 71 (military pensions) received by a
nonresident is also exempt.

Any income from pensions related to a Massachu-
setts trade, business or employment that is not
derived from one of the qualified pension plans
listed above is taxable. Enter in line 6 the portion
of those pensions reported on your U.S. Form
1040, line 5a, that are taxable to Massachusetts
nonresidents.

Part-year residents. Income from most private
pensions or annuity plans is taxable in Massachu-
setts. You must report the taxable pension income
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you received while a resident of Massachusetts.
Certain government pensions, however, are ex-
empt under Massachusetts law. In general, ex-
empt pensions include contributory pensions
from the U.S. government or the Commonwealth
of Massachusetts and its political subdivisions,
and noncontributory military pensions. The fol-
lowing section describes some specific pensions
which are exempt. If your pension is not exempt,
you should generally enter in line 6 the taxable
amount reported on your U.S. Form 1040, line
5b. In some cases, however, Massachusetts law
requires an adjustment to the federal amount.
Distributions from annuity, stock bonus, pen-
sion, profit-sharing or deferred payment plans or
contracts described in §§ 403(b) and 404 of the
IRC must be adjusted to account for your con-
tributions that have been previously taxed. Sub-
tract from such income (as reported on your U.S.
Form 1040, line 5a) the amount of your contribu-
tions which were previously taxed by Massachu-
setts until the total of your taxed contributions is
received. If your pension falls into this category,
enter the adjusted amount in line 6 and explain
briefly (in an enclosed statement) why this amount
is different than the amount reported on your U.S.
return. If you are receiving distributions from an
IRA or Keogh plan, do not report the income here;
instead, see the instructions for Schedule X, line 2.

What Pensions are Exempt?

D Pension income received from a contributory
annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund
of the U.S. government or the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts and its political subdivisions.

D Pension income from other states or their po-
litical subdivisions which do not tax such income
from Massachusetts, or its political subdivisions
must be reported in line 6. However, this income
may be eligible for a deduction on Schedule Y line
13. Refer to the instructions for Schedule Y line 13
to determine eligibility for this deduction.

» Noncontributory pension income or survivor-
ship benefits received from the U.S. uniformed
services (Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force,
Coast Guard, commissioned corps of the Public
Health Service and National Oceanic and Atmo-
spheric Administration) is exempt from taxation
in Massachusetts.

D Massachusetts state court judges who were
appointed on or after January 2, 1975 are partic-
ipants in the Massachusetts contributory retire-
ment system and their pensions are nontaxable.
State court judges who were appointed prior to
January 2, 1975 receive taxable noncontribu-
tory pensions.
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If you retired under MGL ch 32, §§ 56—60 and are
a veteran who began Massachusetts state service
prior to July 1, 1939, all or part of your pension
income may be subject to tax. If you elected to
receive your proceeds from contributions in one
lump-sum distribution, your original contribu-
tions to the retirement system are not taxable.
Noncontributory pension income received after a
lump-sum distribution is fully taxable and should
be reported in line 6.

How do I report lump-sum distributions?

If you were an employee of the U.S., Massachu-
setts or one of its political subdivisions and left
public employment prior to retirement, you are
not required to report as income the lump-sum
distribution of your previously-taxed pension con-
tributions.

Lump-sum distributions of qualified employee
benefit plans in excess of the employee’s contri-
butions which were previously subject to Mas-
sachusetts tax (or not previously excluded from
Massachusetts tax) must be reported in line 6.
Generally, qualified rollovers are not taxable in
Massachusetts to the extent they are not taxable
on your U.S. return. Lump-sum distributions re-
lated to IRA/Keogh distributions should be re-
ported on Schedule X, line 2.

Rollover from a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA
(part-year residents only). Taxpayers are al-
lowed to make partial or complete rollovers from
existing IRAs to Roth IRAs. Any taxable portion of
these rollovers included in federal gross income
received while a resident of Massachusetts is also
included in Massachusetts gross income, except
for amounts previously subject to Massachusetts
personal income tax. See Schedule X, line 2 in-
structions for further details.

Note: Massachusetts does not tax Social Security
income, therefore, you should not report such in-
come on Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 7. Interest from Massachusetts
Banks

Nonresidents. Interest income is only taxable if
it is related to a Massachusetts trade, business,
profession, partnership or S corporation, or to
the ownership of real estate or tangible personal
property located in Massachusetts.

Part-year residents. While a resident of Mas-
sachusetts, interest received from any savings
banks, cooperative banks, national banks, trust
companies, savings and loan associations or
credit unions located in Massachusetts is taxable.

Nonresidents and part-year residents, report in
line 7a such interest taxable by Massachusetts.

To report interest taxable to a nonresident or part-
year resident from banks located in Massachu-
setts, enter in line 7a amounts of interest received
or credited to these deposit accounts (term and
time deposits, including certificates of deposit,
savings accounts, savings shares, and NOW ac-
counts). Combine all accounts at the same bank.
Enclose a statement listing names of all savings
banks, cooperative banks, national banks, trust
companies, savings and loan associations or
credit unions in which you have deposit accounts.
In line 7h, enter the exemption amount ($200 if
married filing a joint return; otherwise enter $100)
and subtract this amount from line 7a. Enter the
resultin line 7, but not less than 0.

Note: This exemption amount does not apply to
your U.S. tax return.

Do not subtract interest forfeited or penalties
charged to you for early savings withdrawal.
You may be allowed to deduct these amounts
on Schedule Y, line 2. All other interest, unless
exempt, should be entered on Massachusetts
Schedule B. The return on an IRA/Keogh is not
taxable until distributed.

Line 8a. Business/Profession Income or
Loss

Enter in line 8a the amount of income or loss
from a business or profession from Massachu-
setts Schedule C, line 37. You must enclose Mas-
sachusetts Schedule C with this return.

Note: Following the Code Update, you may not
deduct an excess business loss (EBL) for tax year
2023. For federal purposes, your EBL, if any, is de-
termined using U.S. Form 461 and is added back
to your income on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1,
line 8p. You must also add back EBL to Massa-
chusetts income. To do so, use Massachusetts
Schedule X, line 6. See instructions for that line
for more information.

Line 8b. Farm Income or Loss

If you operate a farm as an individual or coop-
erative, enter in line 8b the amount of income or
loss from operating a farm from U.S. Schedule F,
Profit or Loss from Farming, line 34. Enclose a
copy of U.S. Schedule F. Complete a pro-forma
U.S. Schedule F to report Massachusetts differ-
ences, such as bonus depreciation.

Line 9. Rental, Royalty, REMIC, Partner-
ship, S Corporation, Trust Income or Loss
Taxpayers with income or loss reported on a
Schedule E must file his or her tax return using
computer-generated forms produced by third-
party software. The tax return may be generated
by the taxpayer or by a tax professional. The tax-
payer is encouraged, but not required, to submit
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the return electronically. Paper forms produced
using the third-party software product will con-
tain a two-dimensional (2D) bar code and will also
be accepted. If the taxpayer hires an income tax
preparer to complete the taxpayer’s taxes, the pre-
parer must follow the Commissioner’s electronic
filing rules. See TIRs 08-22 and 16-9 for more
information.

If you do not have access to a software package
when filing your 2023 income tax return, you may
file your Schedule(s) E on paper. Visit our website
at mass.gov/dor to download a paper copy of the
2023 Schedule(s) E, E-1, E-2, E-3 (and instruc-
tions) to file with your income tax return.

Line 10a. Unemployment Compensation
Nonresidents. Enter in line 10a the portion of your
unemployment compensation reported in U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 7, related to previous
Massachusetts employment. Only unemployment
compensation related to previous Massachusetts
employment is taxable to nonresidents. If you
elected voluntary withholding of Massachusetts
state income taxes on your unemployment com-
pensation, be sure to include the amount of Mas-
sachusetts state income tax withheld as reported
on Form 1099-G on Form 1-NR/PY, line 42b and
enclose Form 1099-G.

Part-year residents. Enter in line 10a the por-
tion of unemployment compensation reported in
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 7, received while
you were a resident of Massachusetts, whether
related to employment inside or outside of Mas-
sachusetts. If you elected voluntary withholding
of Massachusetts state income taxes on your un-
employment compensation, be sure to include the
amount of Massachusetts state income tax with-
held as reported on Form 1099-G on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 42b and enclose Form 1099-G.

If filing as both a part-year resident and nonresi-
dent, refer to Schedule R/NR.

Line 10h. Massachusetts State Lottery
Winnings

Enter in line 10b all winnings from the Massachu-
setts state lottery. Do not enter less than 0. You
may only deduct the price of your winning ticket.
Lottery losses claimed as itemized deductions on
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A are not allowed on
your Massachusetts return.

Line 11. Other Income (from Schedule X)
Taxable alimony received, taxable IRA/Keogh
and Roth IRA Conversion Distributions, Other
Gambling Winnings, Fees, Excess Business
Loss Adjustment, Other 5.0% Income and PFML
taxable distributions
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“Other 5.0% income” includes the items listed
above and must be included on Schedule X. Enter
the total from Schedule X, line 7. Not less than 0.
Be sure to enclose Schedule X with your return.
Enclose an additional statement if more space is
needed. Failure to enclose this schedule will delay
the processing of your return. See Schedule X in-
structions.

Apportionment —
Nonresidents Only

Sometimes your business or employment re-
quires you to work both inside and outside Massa-
chusetts, but you do not know the actual amount
of income you earned from working in Massachu-
setts. In this case, you must apportion your in-
come so that only the correct portion (the amount
attributable to Massachusetts) will be taxed by
Massachusetts. Some nonresidents must use the
Nonresident Apportionment Worksheet in line 13
for this purpose.

Who Cannot Apportion Income?

If you know the actual amount of your Massachu-
setts source income, do not apportion. Report
your income taxable in Massachusetts on your
Massachusetts return.

Examples of nonresidents who cannot appor-
tion include:

» An employee whose actual Massachusetts in-
come is shown on Form W-2;

» An employee whose Form W-2 does not indi-
cate initially his/her actual Massachusetts source
income but whose employer issues a corrected
Form W-2 or other statement which breaks down
this amount. Since your employer is required by
law to withhold Massachusetts tax on your Mas-
sachusetts wages, this breakdown will be easy to
obtain; and

D A self-employed person whose actual Massa-
chusetts source income is known, such as a sur-
geon who comes to Massachusetts to perform a
specific operation for a set fee.

In the few cases when your employer fails to issue
a separate Form W-2 that includes only Massachu-
setts earnings, you may use the Nonresident Ap-
portionment Worksheet to adjust your earnings.

Who Must Use the Nonresident
Apportionment Worksheet?

If your employment or business took you both in-
side and outside Massachusetts and you do not
know the actual amount of income you earned

in Massachusetts, or if you are a self-employed
person or employee who is on an hourly, daily,
weekly, monthly or mileage basis, or whose com-
pensation depends upon sales, at least some
of which take place outside of Massachusetts,
you must use the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet.

Note: If both you and your spouse both qualify to
apportion your income or you have more than one
job that is eligible for apportionment, you must
complete a separate apportionment worksheet for
the income that is eligible to be apportioned.

Who Can Apportion Income But Cannot
Use the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet?

If you do not know the actual amount of income
you earned in Massachusetts from one business
or employment, but you do not fit into any of the
categories listed in the preceding section, you
should not use the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet. See the section on Special Apportion-
ment Methods for your apportionment method.

Examples of nonresidents who must apportion in-
come using one of these special methods include:

D An independent business or professional per-
son whose income does not depend on sales,
days or mileage;

D An entertainer or athlete whose income does
not depend solely on receipts or winnings;

» Ageneral or limited partner in a partnership; and

D Ashareholder of an S corporation with Massa-
chusetts source income.

Apportionment Methods

If you use the Nonresident Apportionment Work-
sheet, fill in the oval for the appropriate basis and
then follow the instructions. If you have more than
one business or employment requiring the use of
the worksheet, complete and enclose one work-
sheet for each business or employment.

Working days basis. This basis should be used by
employees or self-employed persons who qualify
to use the Nonresident Apportionment Worksheet
and who are compensated on an hourly, daily,
weekly or monthly basis. The income of these tax-
payers is to be allocated to Massachusetts in the
proportion that the amount of time spent working
in Massachusetts bears to the total working time.

Mileage hasis. An employee or self-employed
person whose compensation depends on miles
traveled is taxed on that portion of total compen-
sation received in which the miles traveled within
Massachusetts bear to total miles traveled.
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Sales hasis. For an employee or self-employed
person whose compensation depends upon sales
or commissions, taxable income includes that
portion of total compensation received which the
sales made inside Massachusetts bear to total
sales. (For the purposes of making this alloca-
tion, all sales for which the taxpayer takes orders
inside Massachusetts are attributable to this state,
regardless of whether the formal acceptance of
the contract of sale takes place inside or outside
Massachusetts.)

Special Apportionment Methods

If you earned income both inside and outside
Massachusetts from one business or employ-
ment, and your actual Massachusetts income is
not known and you cannot use the Nonresident
Apportionment Worksheet in line 13, use the fol-
lowing appropriate apportionment method.

Self-employed and professional persons. If
you earned income from both inside and outside
Massachusetts and your books do not accurately
reflect your Massachusetts source income, you
must use a three-factor formula to apportion
your Massachusetts income. Instructions for this
method of apportionment are in Massachusetts
Regulation 830 CMR 62.5A.1.

Entertainers and professional athletes. If you
are a nonresident entertainer who performed in
Massachusetts and you were not paid specifically
for the performance in Massachusetts, or if you
are a nonresident professional athlete who took
part in performances, bouts, meets, matches or
games that occurred in Massachusetts and you
were not paid for the specific event played in Mas-
sachusetts, you must use the apportionment for-
mula set forth in Massachusetts Regulation 830
CMR 62.5A.1.

Nonresident partners. If you are a nonresident
general or limited partner, you are taxed on your
distributive share of the income received by the
partnership to the extent that the partnership in-
come is Massachusetts source income, deter-
mined as if the partnership were a nonresident
individual. If you are entitled to apportionment,
the partnership will apportion its income and no-
tify you of your share on a 3K-1.

Nonresident shareholders of an S corporation.
If you are a nonresident shareholder in an S cor-
poration, you are taxed on the distributive share of
income received by the S corporation to the extent
that the S corporation income is Massachusetts
source income. If you qualify for apportionment,
the S corporation will apportion its income and
notify you of your share on an SK-1.
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Line 13. Nonresident
Apportionment Worksheet

Note: Do not use this worksheet if you know the
exact amount of your Massachusetts source in-
come. Use only when income from employment
or business is earned both inside and outside
Massachusetts and the exact Massachusetts
amount is not known.

Line 13a

If your income is measured by working days,
enter the number of days you worked outside
Massachusetts.

Line 13b
Enter the number of days you worked inside Mas-
sachusetts. (If you spent a working day partly
inside and partly outside Massachusetts, treat
the day as having been spent a whole day inside
the state.)

Line 13d

Enter your nonworking days. Your nonworking
days are those days during the year (or during
the period you worked, if your job lasted less than
a year) that you were not required to work, such
as Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, sick days, va-
cation and leave with or without pay. Complete
the remainder of the Nonresident Apportionment
Worksheet as indicated, and enter your Massa-
chusetts income from line 13g in the appropri-
ate line on Form 1-NR/PY. For example, if you are
apportioning your wages, enter the amount from
line 13g in line 5.

Ifyou are using the mileage or sales basis, substi-
tute mileage or sales for working days and com-
plete all items in the worksheet, except line 13d.
Indicate what basis you are using by filling in the
appropriate oval, and enter your Massachusetts
income from line 13g in the appropriate line on
Form 1-NR/PY.

Nonresident
Deduction and
Exemption Ratio

Since nonresidents are only taxed on income
from Massachusetts sources, the deductions
and exemptions allowed to them are limited by
the amount of this income. This happens in two
ways. The deductions in line 15 and Schedule
Y, lines 2, 4, 5, 7, 9 (certain amounts only; see
instructions for Schedule Y, line 9), 13, 14 and
17 must be matched to specific items of income
taxed on Form 1-NR/PY. Other deductions and all

exemptions must be prorated by the ratio of a tax-
payer’s Massachusetts source income to his/her
total income.

Line 14. Nonresident Deduction
and Exemption Ratio

All nonresident taxpayers must complete lines
14a to 14g to arrive at this ratio. The ratio will be
used to determine what amounts, if any, you may
deduct in:

D Schedule Y, line 3, alimony paid deduction;

D Schedule Y, line 6, Archer medical savings ac-
count (MSA) deduction;

» Schedule, line 8, health care accounts deduction;

D Schedule Y, line 9c, charitable contribution
deduction;

» Schedule Y, line 10, student loan interest
deduction;

D Schedule, line 12, undergraduate student loan
interest deduction;

D Schedule, line 15, commuter deduction;

D Schedule Y, line 18, prepaid tuition or college
savings program deduction; and

D Student loan repayment assistance deduction.

Nonresidents should use the line 14g ratio to de-
termine the amount of the deduction for attorney’s
fees and court costs involving certain unlawful
discrimination suits (from Schedule Y, line 9) only
if it is directly related to Massachusetts income as
reported on Form 1-NR/PY, line 12. If it is not di-
rectly related to income reported on Form 1-NR/
PY, you are not allowed any deduction.

If married filing jointly, include in each line the in-
come for both spouses. Enter any loss as 0.

If filing as both a nonresident and a part-year res-
ident, be sure to read the instructions for Sched-
ule R/NR before completing line 14. Also, enter in
line 14a only the portion of Massachusetts source
5.0% income earned as a nonresident.

Nonresidents should also use the line 14g ratio to
prorate exemptions in line 22.

Note: If one or more composite returns are being
filed on your behalf, you may not include amounts
reported on any composite return in calculating
your exemption and deduction ratios.

Line 14a
Enter in line 14a total 5.0% income from line 12.

Note: If filing as both a nonresident and part-year
resident, enter the total of Schedule R/NR, Part 1,
column D, lines 5 through 11.
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Line 14b
Enter in line 14b Massachusetts bank interest
from the smaller of line 7a or line 7b.

Note: If filing as both a nonresident and part-year
resident, enter the smaller of Schedule R/NR, Part
1, column D, line 7 or Form 1-NR/PY, line 7b.

Line 14c

Read the instructions for lines 24, 27 and 28. If
these items apply to you, combine Schedule B,
Part 1, line 7 and Part 2, line 13c (but not less
than 0) and Schedule D, line 13 (but not less than
0), and enter the total in line 14c. To determine if
you need to file Schedule B, refer to the Schedule
B instructions in this booklet.

Note: If filing as both a nonresident and part-year
resident, enter the total of Schedule R/NR, Part
1, column D, lines 24 (interest and dividends),
27 (certain capital gains from Schedule B) and
Schedule D (long-term capital gains and losses,
excluding collectibles).

Line 14e

Enter in line 14e the total income from non-Mas-
sachusetts sources you received during the tax
year covered by this return. This is the additional
income that would have been reported by you if
you had been a Massachusetts resident that you
received from non-Massachusetts sources. This
amount is often not the same as the difference
between your total U.S. income reported in line a
and your Massachusetts source income reported
in line 14d, due to the differences between Mas-
sachusetts and federal tax laws.

Note: Be certain not to include any amounts al-
ready reported in line 14d.

To reconcile the two amounts, the following types
of income included in the U.S. total income (Form
1-NR/PY, line a), but not taxable in Massachusetts
should be subtracted from the U.S. total before
completing line 14e:

» Social Security and Tier | Railroad Retirement
benefits;

D Pensions from contributory retirement plans
of the U.S., or Massachusetts and its political
subdivisions;

d Pension income from the U.S. military;
» U.S. bond interest;
D State tax refunds; and

» Keogh and 403(b) distributions related to con-
tributions previously taxed by Massachusetts.

Income from the following categories which is not
included in U.S. total income (Form 1-NR/PY, line
a) must be added back to calculate the total in-
come that would be reported as Massachusetts
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income had the taxpayer been a Massachusetts
resident in line 14e:

D Bond interest from other states;
D Up to $120,000 in foreign-earned income;

» Contributions to a pension plan by Massachu-
setts state or local employees; and

» Net operating loss carryforward.

Note: If filing as both a nonresident and part-year
resident, see instructions for Schedule R/NR,
Part 1.

Line 14f

Add line 14d and line 14e. If your total income in
line a exceeds the amount reported in line 14f by
more than 10%, you should enclose a statement
explaining the reasons for the difference.

Note: If filing as both a nonresident and part-
year resident, enter Schedule R/NR, Part 1, col-
umn C total.

Line 14g

Divide line 14d by line 14f. Carry this division
out to four decimal places. Failure to do so may
delay the processing of your return. Enter the re-
sult in line 14g. This is your ratio for deductions
and exemptions. It represents the relationship
of your Massachusetts source income to your
total income.

Deductions
Lines 15 through 19

Massachusetts allowable deductions differ from
Itemized deductions on Schedule A of U.S. Form
1040. You may claim only the deductions spec-
ified on Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY, lines 15
through 19 and Schedule Y.

Line 15. Amount Paid to Social Security
(FICA), Medicare, Railroad, U.S.,
Massachusetts Retirement Systems
Nonresidents. If, as a condition of Massachu-
setts business or employment, you have paid into
any of the retirement systems listed above during
2023, you may deduct those contributions attrib-
utable to Massachusetts source income, up to a
maximum of $2,000.

Part-year residents. You may deduct contri-
butions attributable to business or employment
while a Massachusetts resident, up to a maximum
of $2,000.

Enter in lines 15a and 15b the amount you, and
your spouse if filing jointly, paid to Social Secu-
rity (FICA), Medicare or Railroad Retirement and
the U.S. or Massachusetts Retirement Systems

during 2023 as shown on your Form W-2 that is
directly related to income taxable by Massachu-
setts included in line 12, but not more than $2,000
each. Payment amounts may not be combined or
transferred from one spouse to the other. Be sure
to add any amount of Medicare tax withheld as
shown on Form W-2 and any amount of self-em-
ployment tax as reported on your U.S. Form 1040
to the amount of Social Security tax withheld, the
total not to exceed $2,000 per person.

Note: Medicare premiums deducted from your
Social Security or retirement payments are not
deductible.

Payments to an IRA, Keogh, Simplified Employee
Pension plan (SEP) or Savings Incentive Match
Plan for Employees (SIMPLE) Account are not de-
ductible for Massachusetts income tax purposes.

Line 18. Rental Deduction

Nonresidents are allowed a deduction equal to
50% of the rent they pay, up to a maximum of
$4,000, for their principal residence only if it is
located in Massachusetts and is their sole resi-
dence. (Non-Massachusetts rent is never de-
ductible.) Many nonresidents rent a house or
apartment in Massachusetts, but few qualify for
this deduction. This is because the house or apart-
ment rented here is not their principal residence.
Only those nonresidents who rented a house or
apartment in Massachusetts and have no family
home or other dwelling to which they normally
return (or to which they could return in the fu-
ture) in any other state or country, can claim this
deduction. Complete line 18 only if you filled in
the oval below line 18. Enter the total amount
of qualified rent paid by you during 2023 in line
18a. Divide line 18a by 2 and enter the result, or
$4,000 ($2,000 if married filing a separate return)
— whichever is smaller — in line 18. Part-year
residents are entitled to the rental deduction equal
to 50% for the rent they paid during 2023 (up to
a maximum of $4,000 per return) for their princi-
ple residence while a resident of Massachusetts.
Enter the total amount of qualified rent paid by you
during 2023 in line 18a. Divide line 18a by 2 and
enter the result, or $4,000 ($2,000 if married filing
a separate return), whichever is smaller, in line 18.

Note: This deduction does not apply to your U.S.
tax return.

What Qualifies for the Rental Deduction?

The deduction must be for rent you paid to a land-
lord for the rental or lease of your principal resi-
dence in Massachusetts. If two or more persons
jointly rent a unit, each occupant using it as his/
her principal residence is entitled to a deduction
based on the amount of rent that each person
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paid. If the rent is paid by a third party (such as a
parent) who maintains a principal residence else-
where, no 50% rental deduction is allowed for ei-
ther party. A principal residence does not include
any residence for vacation, an apartment for a
person on a temporary assignment or a student
or faculty member who has a principal residence
elsewhere. It also does not include any apartment
or house in Massachusetts of a nonresident who
has a residence in another state or country. Pay-
ment for occupying a hotel, motel or rooming
house is not considered rent unless a rental agree-
ment exists. Nor are payments by a tenant-stock-
holder of a cooperative housing corporation to
the corporation and payments by an owner of a
condominium unit to the condominium associa-
tion considered rent. All separately stated charges
such as utilities, furnishings or parking cannot be
included in rent for purposes of this deduction.
Also, rent does not include any advance payments
(such as security deposit, last month’s rent, etc.)
until actually applied as rent.

How Do I Galculate My Rental Deduction

If | Am Married Filing Separately?

If married taxpayers file separate returns, they are
each entitled to a rental deduction equal to 50%
of the rent each pays, not to exceed $2,000 per
return. However, a married couple filing sepa-
rately may allocate the rent deduction differently,
provided the amount taken by each spouse does
not exceed 50% of the rent actually paid by that
spouse, and provided their combined rental de-
ductions do not exceed $4,000. If this results in
one spouse claiming a deduction in excess of
$2,000, that spouse must enclose with his/her re-
turn a statement signed by the other spouse in-
dicating consent to the allocation. The statement
must contain the name, address and Social Se-
curity number of the consenting spouse and the
amount of rental deduction taken by that spouse.

Line 22. Exemption Amount
Enter amount from Exemption section, line 4, item
ginline 22a.

Nonresidents. Prorate your exemptions using the
ratio of your Massachusetts income to your total
income by multiplying line 22a by line 14g and en-
tering the result in line 22. This amount represents
your prorated exemptions.

Part-year residents. Prorate your total exemp-
tions claimed on Form 1-NR/PY by multiplying
line 22a by line 3 and entering the result in line
22. This amount represents your prorated exemp-
tions as a part-year resident.
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Filing as bhoth nonresident and part-year resi-
dent. Enter the amount from Schedule R/NR, line
22, column e in line 22.

Line 23. 5.0% Income After Exemptions
Subtract line 22 from line 21. Enter the result in
line 23, but not less than 0.

Ifline 22 exceeds line 21 and you received interest
income (other than interest from Massachusetts
banks), dividends or capital gain income, com-
plete the Schedule B, Line 36 and Schedule D,
Line 20 Worksheet, if applicable. All others pro-
ceed to line 24.

Line 24. Interest and Dividend Income
Ifyou have any interest income other than interest
from deposits in banks located in Massachusetts,
dividend income, certain capital gains or losses,
or any adjustments to interest income (other than
interest from Massachusetts banks), you must
complete Schedule B. Be sure to enclose Massa-
chusetts Schedule B. To determine if you need to
file Schedule B, refer to the Schedule B instruc-
tions of this booklet.

Enterin line 24 the amount from Schedule B, line 38.

Tax on 5.0%
Income

Line 26. 5.0% Tax (from Tax Table)
If line 25 is not more than $24,000, find the proper
tax by using the tax tables found in the back of this
booklet. If line 25 is greater than $24,000 multiply
by 0.05 and enter the result in line 26.

Note: Personal income tax forms must provide an
election to voluntarily pay tax at a rate of 5.85% on
taxable income which would otherwise be taxed at
arate of 5.0%. The election to pay tax at the rate of
5.85% does not apply to items of income taxed at
8.5% (short-term capital gains and gains on col-
lectibles). If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate,
multiply line 25 and Schedule D, line 21 by .0585
and fill in the oval.

8.5% and 12%
Income & Tax

Line 27a. 8.5% Income from Gertain
Capital Gains

Enter in line 27a the amount from Schedule B,
line 39. Multiply this amount by 0.085 (8.5%) and
enter the tax in line 27a.

Line 27h. 12% Income from Certain
Capital Gains

Enter in line 27b Capital Gains taxed at 12%. Mul-
tiply this amount by .12 (12%) and enter the tax
in line 27b.

Be sure to enclose Massachusetts Schedule B. To
determine if you need to file Schedule B, refer to
the Schedule B instructions in this booklet.

Tax on Long-Term
Capital Gain

Line 28. Schedule D (Long-Term Capital
Gains and Losses Excluding Collectibles)

Enter in line 28 the amount from Schedule D, line
22, but not less than 0. To determine if you need
to file Schedule D, refer to the Schedule D in-
structions of this booklet.

Schedule B, Line 36 and Schedule D, Line
20 Worksheet. Excess Exemptions from
Interest and Dividend Income, 8.5%
Income and Long-Term Capital Gain Income
(Only if Single, Head of Household, or
Married Filing Jointly)

If your total exemptions in Form 1-NR/PY,
line 22 are more than the amount of your
5.0% income after deductions in Form 1-NR/
PY, line 21, the excess may be applied
against any interest and dividend income and
income taxed at 8.5% and 12%. Any
remaining excess amount may then be ap-
plied against any long-term capital

gain income.

Complete this worksheet only if Form 1-NR/
PY, line 21 is less than Form 1-NR/PY, line 22
and you received interest income (other than
interest from Massachusetts banks),
dividends or capital gain income to determine
if you qualify for the excess exemption.

Enter all losses as 0.

1. Enter amount from Schedule
B, line 35. Not less than

2. Enter amount from Form
1-NR/PY, line22 . ........

3. Enter amount from Form
1-NR/PY, line21 . ........

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If 0 or less,
you do not qualify for this

exemption. Omit remainder
of worksheet. ...........

continue on next page ...
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5. Excess exemptions applied against interest
and dividend income and 8.5% or 12%
income. If line 1 is larger than line 4, enter
line 4 here and in Schedule B, line 36. If

line 4 is equal to or larger than line 1,

enter line 1 here and in
Schedule B, line 36.
Complete lines 6 through 8.

6. Subtract line 5 from line 4.
If 0, omit remainder of
worksheet..............

7. Enter Schedule D, line 19.
NotlessthanO ..........

8. Excess exemptions applied against long-
term capital gain income. If line 7 is larger
than line 6, enter line 6 here and in Schedule
D, line 20. If line 6 is equal to or larger than
line 7, enter line 7 here

and in Schedule D, line 20. .

Excess Exemptions

If excess exemptions were used in calculating
lines 24, 27 or 28 (see Schedule B, line 36 and/
or Schedule D, line 20), be sure to fill in the oval
in line 28.

Line 29. Credit Recapture Amount

If any Brownfields Credit (BC), Economic Oppor-
tunity Area Credit (EOA), Low-Income Housing
Credit (LIH), Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HR) or
Farming and Fisheries (FAF) property is disposed
of or ceases to be in qualified use prior to the end
of its useful life, the difference between the credit
taken and the total credit allowed for actual use
must be added back to your tax on Form 1-NR/
PY. Complete and enclose Schedule CRS, Credit
Recapture Schedule.

Line 30. Additional Tax on Instaliment
Sale

An addition to tax applies for taxpayers who have
deferred the gain, and the tax associated with that
gain, on certain installment sales. This addition to
tax is measured by an interest charge on the tax
that has been deferred.

Include in line 30 an additional tax amount repre-
senting an interest charge on the deferred tax on
gain from certain installment sales with a sales
price over $150,000 if you are not a dealer and the
aggregate face amount of installment obligations
arising during the tax year and outstanding as of
the close of the tax year exceeds $5 million. For
more information see MGL ch 62C, § 32A (a) and
IRC § 453A (a)—(c).

Alsoinclude in the total on line 30 an additional tax
amount representing an interest charge on the de-
ferred gain from the instaliment sale of timeshares
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and residential lots, if the sale meets one of the
following criteria:

D The sale is of a timeshare right for six weeks
or less;

D The sale is for the recreational use of specified
campgrounds;

D The sale is for a residential lot and neither the
dealer nor someone related to the dealer is obli-
gated to make any improvements on the lot.

Note: If you have installment sales occurring be-
tween January 1, 1996 and December 31, 2002,
you must complete and submit Schedule D-IS.
For more information see MGL ch 62C § 32A (b)
and IRC § 453(1)(2)(B).

If you are a partner in a partnership or a share-
holder in an S corporation, the entity is required
to send you the information you need to calculate
the addition to tax under this provision.

To the extent practicable, Massachusetts follows
federal income tax rules in determining the de-
ferred gain from installiment sales subject to the
interest-charge addition to tax. For more informa-
tion visit DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor and In-
ternal Revenue Service Publication 537.

Massachusetts AGI

No Tax Status — Single, Married Filing a
Joint Return or Head of Household Only

If your Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income
(Massachusetts AGI) was $8,000 or less if single,
$14,400 or less plus $1,000 per dependent if head
of household, or $16,400 or less plus $1,000 per
dependent if married filing a joint return, you may
qualify for No Tax Status and are not required to
pay any Massachusetts income taxes.

To see if you may qualify for No Tax Status, com-
plete Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY. See Schedule NTS-
L-NR/PY instructions.

Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income for
No Tax Status and Limited Income Credit
Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income (Mass-
achusetts AGl) is not the same as taxable in-
come. Massachusetts AGI includes the following
sources of income from inside and outside of
Massachusetts:

d Wages, salaries, tips;

D Taxable pensions and annuities;

» Pension income from another state or political
subdivision before any deduction;

D Taxable IRA/Keogh and Roth IRA distributions;
D Fees and unemployment compensation;
d Income or loss from a business or profession;

» Income or loss from partnerships, S corpora-
tions and trusts;

D Rents, royalties and REMIC income;
D Taxable alimony received and other 5.0% income;

D Interest from Massachusetts banks before ex-
emptions; and

d Other interest, dividends, and capital gains.

Line 31. No Tax Status

If you qualify for No Tax Status, fill in the oval
in line 31, enter 0 in line 32 and omit lines 33
through 35. Be sure to enclose Schedule NTS-
L-NR/PY with your return. Also, enter 0 in line 36
and complete Form 1-NR/PY. However, if there is
an amount entered in line 29 for the Credit Recap-
ture Amount and/or line 30 for the Additional tax
on Instaliment Sale, please enter that amount in
line 32a. Add lines 32a and 32b to enter the value
in line 32 and complete line 35.

Note: If married filing separately you do not qual-
ify for No Tax Status or the Limited Income Credit.

Line 32. Total Tax

Line 32a. Income Tax
Add lines 26-30, enter the total in line 32a.

Line 32b. 4% Surtax
Enter in line 32b the amount from line 7 from the
Schedule 4% Surtax.

The 4% surtax applies to Massachusetts residents
on the portion of their annual taxable income ex-
ceeding $1,000,000 and to non-residents on the
portion of their annual taxable income sourced to
Massachusetts that exceeds $1,000,000.

Line 32c. Composite Tax Paid on

Your Behalf

Nonresidents subject to the 4% surtax that have
elected to participate in composite returns may
be eligible to reduce their state income tax by the
amount of income tax paid on their behalf by pass-
through entities as part of composite returns. An
eligible qualified nonresident:

D Has taxable income sourced to Massachusetts
over $1,000,000 and is subject to the additional
4% surtax, and

D Has elected to participate in a composite
return, and

D Had income tax paid on their behalf by pass-
through entities as part of composite returns.

Nonresidents not subject to the additional 4%
surtax are not eligible and should not include any
amount on line 32c. Eligible nonresidents should
determine their share of any income tax reported
and paid on a composite filing on Form MA NRCR,
line 14, and include it on Form 1-NR/PY, line 32c.
Each entity filing a composite return, Form MA
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NRCR, should provide to eligible nonresidents a
statement of the nonresidents’ share of income tax
reported and paid on Form MA NRCR, line 14. El-
igible nonresidents enter the sum of such income
tax amounts on Form 1-NR/PY, line 32c. The credit
on Form 1-NR/PY, line 32c, cannot exceed the
amount of tax reported and paid on your behalf on
Form MA NRCR.

Line 32. Total Tax
Subtract line 32¢ from the total of lines 32a and
32b and enter the result in line 32.

Line 33. Limited Income Credit — Single,
Married Filing a Joint Return or Head of
Household Only

If you do not qualify for No Tax Status, but you
are single and your Massachusetts AGl is between
$8,000 and $14,000, or if you are filing as head
of household and your Massachusetts AGI is be-
tween $14,400 and $25,200 plus $1,750 per de-
pendent, or if you are married filing a joint return
and your Massachusetts AGI is between $16,400
and $28,700 plus $1,750 per dependent, you may
qualify for the Limited Income Credit. This credit
is an alternative tax calculation that can resultin a
significant tax reduction for people whose income
is close to the No Tax Status threshold. Be sure
to complete Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY to see if you
may qualify for this credit. If you qualify for this
credit be sure to enclose Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY
with your return.

Line 34. Taxes Due Any Other State
(part-year residents only)

If any of the income earned while a part-year res-
ident and reported on this return is subject to tax-
ation in another state or jurisdiction and you have
filed a return and paid taxes in the other state or
jurisdiction, complete the following worksheet
and enter the amount of credit in line 34. The
credit is not available for taxes paid to another
state or jurisdiction on Massachusetts source in-
come earned while a nonresident. Do not include
taxes paid to the U.S. government. (This credit
does not apply to city or local taxes.) You are al-
lowed to claim a credit for taxes due to the follow-
ing jurisdictions:

» Other states in the U.S., including payments
made under the Rhode Island Temporary Disabil-
ity Insurance Act (see DOR Directive (DD) 12-1)
and payments related to pass-through entity taxes
(see DD 19-1);

» Any territory or dependency of the U.S. (includ-
ing Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, the Dis-
trict of Columbia); or
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» The Dominion of Canada or any of its provinces
(less any U.S. credit amount allowable from U.S.
Form 1116).

The total credit that you calculate on the work-
sheet is the smaller of the amount of taxes due
to other jurisdictions (net of certain adjustments)
or the portion of your Massachusetts tax due on
your gross income that is taxed in such other ju-
risdictions.

Credit is not given for a property tax due to an-
other jurisdiction on account of capital stock or
property. This does not refer to a tax on gain or
income from the sale of capital stock or property,
as included on Schedule B or Schedule D. Credit
is also not given for any interest and penalties paid
on a tax due to another jurisdiction.

Note: For questions on the Pass-through Entity
Tax credit and its effect on this credit, refer to DOR
Directive 19-1.

For part-year residents that are subject to the 4%
surtax and that paid tax in another jurisdiction,
complete the online Schedule 0JC worksheet(s).

You must complete separate worksheets if you
had 5.0% income and interest income (other than
interest from Massachusetts banks), dividends or
capital gain income taxed by another jurisdiction.
If you use this worksheet to calculate a credit for
interest income (other than interest from Massa-
chusetts banks), dividends or capital gain income,
substitute interest income (other than interest
from Massachusetts banks), dividends or capital
gain income for 5.0% income in line 1 of the work-
sheet. You must also substitute Schedule B, line
7 (interest and dividend income) and Schedule
B, line 13c (taxable 8.5% and 12% capital gains)
or Schedule D, line 13, (gross long-term capital
gains and losses), but not less than 0, for Form
1-NR/PY, line 12 in line 2 of the worksheet, and
the total of Form 1-NR/PY, line 24 multiplied by
0.05 (tax on interest and dividend income) and
Form 1-NR/PY, line 27 (8.5% and 12% tax) or line
28 (tax on long-term capital gains) for Form 1-NR/
PY, line 23 in line 4 of the worksheet.

If completing multiple worksheets, the amount
calculated as an Other Jurisdiction credit on each
worksheet should be combined for the total allow-
able Other Jurisdiction credit. Online worksheets
are available. See https://www.mass.gov/info-de-
tails/learn-about-the-income-tax-paid-to-another-
jurisdiction-credit.

» When using the worksheet to calculate credit for
interest income (other than interest from Massa-
chusetts banks), dividends or capital gain income,
enter in line 1 such income taxed in another ju-

risdiction calculated as if it was earned in Mas-
sachusetts.

D If you choose to pay the optional 5.85% tax
rate, substitute 0.0585 for 0.05 in line 4 of the
worksheet.

Note: Be sure to complete and enclose Schedule
0JC, Income Tax Due to Other Jurisdictions, and
enter the two-letter state or jurisdictional postal
code for each state or jurisdiction for which you
are taking the credit. Taxpayers from a territory or
dependency of the U.S., or the Dominion of Can-
ada or any of its provinces, must enter “FC” as
the postal code.

Form 1-NR/PY, Line 34 Worksheet Taxes
Due Any Other State

Note: Part-year residents only. Do not include
Massachusetts source income earned while a
nonresident.

1. Enter the total 5.0% income included in
Form 1-NR/PY, line 12 on which

you paid taxes to another
jurisdiction .............

2. Enter the total of Form 1-NR/PY, line 12
and the total Massachusetts bank interest or
the interest exemption amount, whichever is
smaller, from Form 1-NR/PY,
line7aorline7b.........

3. Divide line 1 by line 2.
Not greater than “1” .. . . ..

4. Multiply Form 1-NR/PY,
line23by0.05 ..........

5. Enter any Limited Income
Credit from Form 1-NR/PY,

6. Subtract line 5 from line 4

7. Multiply line 6 by line 3. .

8. Enter the amount of tax due to another
jurisdiction on income also reported on this
return before credits and payments. This
includes payments made under the Rhode
Island Temporary Disability Insurance Act, if
applicable. If you are claiming a credit for tax
due to Canada or a Province of Canada, the
amount reported on this line must be
reduced by the amount claimed as a

foreign tax credit on U.S. Form

1040, Schedule 3,

9. Enter the smaller of lines 7 or 8
here and on Form 1-NR/PY,
line34.................
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Line 35. Other Credits (from Schedule CMS)
Enter the total from Schedule CMS, Credit Man-
ager Schedule. Be sure to enclose Schedule CMS
with your return. Failure to do so will delay the
processing of your return or result in the credit
being adjusted or disallowed.

Line 37. Voluntary Contributions

You may contribute any amount to the following
funds. Remember, these amounts are added to
your tax. They increase the amount of your pay-
ment or reduce the amount of your refund.

a. Endangered Wildlife Conservation. The Nat-
ural Heritage and Endangered Species Fund is
administered by the Division of Fisheries and
Wildlife. Contributions are used to protect and
restore rare and endangered wildlife and plants,
and their habitats. This fund has helped restore
and conserve in the Commonwealth populations
of the Bald Eagle, Hessel’s Hairstreak Butterfly, the
Redbelly Turtle and the Plymouth Gentian.

b. Organ Transplant Fund. The Organ Transplant
Fund is administered by the Massachusetts De-
partment of Public Health. All contributions re-
ceived by the Fund assist patients with the costs
of medications without which they might lose
their transplanted organs. For information on how
to become an organ donor, visit the Registry of
Motor Vehicle’s website at mass.gov/rmv.

¢. Massachusetts Public Health HIV and Hep-
atitis Fund. The Massachusetts Public Health
HIV and Hepatitis Fund is administered by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health.
Contributions are used for research, experimen-
tal treatment and education related to Acquired
Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS). Massa-
chusetts residents living with AIDS receive exper-
imental treatment through clinical trials which are
wholly supported with this Fund. The Fund also
educates people with AIDS about treatment op-
tions and how to gain access to medication and
experimental treatment.

d. Massachusetts United States Olympic Fund.
Contributions to this fund are used to assist Mas-
sachusetts residents in paying all or part of any
costs associated with the development, mainte-
nance and operation of the United States Olym-
pic Team participating in the Olympics and the
United States Paralympic Team participating in
the Paralympics.

e. Massachusetts Military Family Relief Fund.
The Massachusetts Military Family Relief Fund
Is administered by the Friends of Massachusetts
National Guard and Reserve Families. Contribu-
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tions to this fund are used to help members of the
Massachusetts National Guard and Massachu-
setts residents who are members of the reserves
of the armed forces of the United States and who
have been called to active duty after the Septem-
ber 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and their families,
to defray the costs of food, housing, utilities, med-
ical services, and other expenses.

f. Homeless Animal Prevention and Care Fund.
The Homeless Animal Prevention and Care Fund
is administered by the Department of Agricultural
Resources. Gontributions will help animals by re-
ducing the number of homeless cats and dogs
by spaying, neutering and vaccinating animals in
shelters and animal control facilities and assisting
families who would not otherwise be able to afford
these services for their pets. The Fund also pro-
vides training to municipal animal control officers
so that they can safely and effectively protect ani-
mals and people in their communities.

Line 38. Massachusetts Use Tax Due On
Internet, Mail Order and Other Out-of-
State Purchases Made in 2023 (part-year
residents only)

If, while a Massachusetts resident, you purchased
taxable tangible personal property out of state,
over the Internet or from a catalog and did not pay
Massachusetts sales tax at purchase, a Massa-
chusetts use tax is due. If an item is exempt from
sales tax (such as food, or clothing that costs
$175 or less), it would be exempt from use tax.

If you paid a sales or use tax to another state or
territory of the United States when purchasing
this item, you are generally entitled to a credit
against the Massachusetts use tax, up to 6.25%.
See TIR 03-01 for more information. No credit is
allowed for a value-added tax (VAT) paid to an-
other country.

The following are some items that are often pur-
chased without paying sales tax. Residents would
then owe use tax based on the purchase price.

D Electronics » Software

» Appliances » Computers

d Furniture » CDsand DVDs
d Jewelry » Video games
D Books D Carpet

d Artwork D Antiques
Example 1

» You purchased several DVDs on the Internet for
$100 and paid no sales tax. Your use tax liability
to Massachusetts on these items is $6.25 ($100 x
.0625 = $6.25).

Example 2

D You purchased a computer for $1,550 from
a seller located outside of Massachusetts and
paid no sales tax. Your use tax liability to Massa-
chusetts on this item is $96.88 ($1,550 x .0625
= $96.88).

Example 3

» Onatrip to Maine in November you purchased
an antique desk for $4,000 and paid Maine sales
tax at the rate of 5.5%. The difference, $30 (.75%
of the purchase price), is due Massachusetts
as use tax.

Taxpayers may choose the safe-harbor option for
purchases of individual items each having a total
sales price of less than $1,000. The safe-harbor
provision makes it easier to comply with the use
tax law by allowing taxpayers to self-report an es-
timated amount of use tax based on the average
amount of online and/or out of state purchases a
taxpayer in their income bracket would likely make
during the year. Taxpayers do not need to keep re-
ceipts with safe-harbor reporting and will not be
assessed additional use tax if audited, even if the
actual amount of use tax due is greater than the
safe-harbor amount reported.

Mass. AGI per return*  Use tax liability

$ 0-$ 25,000 $o0
25,001- 40,000 20
40,001- 60,000 31
60,001- 80,000 44
80,001- 100,000 56

If the Massachusetts AGI per return* is more than
$100,000, multiply by .000625.

*From line 10 of Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY.

Ifyou did not purchase any items with a total sales
price of $1,000 or more, you may enter the “safe
harbor” amount from the table above directly on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 38.

Complete the Form 1-NR/PY, line 38 Worksheet
below to calculate your use tax if you are not re-
porting a safe-harbor amount or if you purchased
any individual items with a sales price of $1,000 or
more. If you did purchase items with a sales price
over $1,000 and you are reporting a safe-harbor
amount, add the amount from the worksheet line
4 to the safe-harbor amount.

continue on next page ...
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Form 1-NR/PY, Line 38 Worksheet. Use Tax
Due on Internet, Mail Order and Other Out-
of-State Purchases (Part-Year

Residents Only)

1. Total of purchases in 2023, made while
a Massachusetts resident,
subject to Massachusetts
usetax.................

2. Use tax. Multiply line 1
by .0625 (6.25%) .. ......

3. Credit for sales/use tax paid to other states
or jurisdictions. Add the amount of any sales/
use tax paid to another state or jurisdiction,
made while a Massachusetts resident, 6.25%
of the sales price, whichever is less,

on each purchase reported
inlinet................

4. Total amount due. Subtract line 3 from
line 2. Not less than 0. Enter here

and on Form 1-NR/PY,
line38.................

Line 39. Health Care Penalty (part-year
residents only)

If you are subject to the Health Care Penalty for
2023 and are not appealing the application of the
penalty, enter the penalty amount from line 8 of
the Health Care Penalty Worksheet in line 39a for
you and/or line 39b for your spouse.

If married filing a joint return and both you and
your spouse are subject to the penalty, separate
Health Care Penalty Worksheets must be filled
out to calculate the separate penalty amounts for
you and your spouse, using your married filing
jointly income.

A taxpayer who does not have health insurance
that meets the Massachusetts standard of min-
imum creditable coverage may be subject to a
Massachusetts penalty.

Enter the total of lines 39a and 39b in line 39, but
not less than 0.

Be sure to enclose Schedule HC with your re-
turn. Failure to do so will delay the processing of
your return.

Line 40. Overpayment from Original
Return (amended return only)

Include the amount listed on line 55 of your orig-
inal return.

Line 42a. Massachusetts Income Tax
Withheld from Form(s) W-2

Add the amounts shown as Massachusetts in-
come tax withheld on your Form(s) W-2. Enter
the total on line 42a. The amount withheld should
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be shown in box 17 of Form W-2. Enclose your
Form(s) W-2 with your return.

Line 42h. Massachusetts Income Tax
Withheld from Form(s) 1099

Include on line 42b any Massachusetts income
tax withheld on your Form(s) 1099-R. The amount
withheld should be shown in box 14. Enclose your
Form(s) 1099-R with your return if Massachu-
setts income tax was withheld.

If you received a Form 1099 showing Massachu-
setts income tax withheld on dividends, taxable or
tax-exempt interest income, unemployment com-
pensation, or other income you received, include
the amount withheld in the total on line 42b. This
should be shown in box 14 of Form 1099.

Note: Include on line 42b any tax withheld that is
shown on Form PWH WA (Performer Withholding).

Line 42¢. Massachusetts Income Tax
Withheld from Other Forms

The amount withheld should be shown in box 15
of Form W-2G. Enclose Form(s) W-2G with your
return if Massachusetts income tax was withheld.

Note: Include on line 42¢ any Massachusetts in-
come tax withheld that is shown on a Massachu-
setts Schedule K-1.

Line 43. 2022 Overpayment Applied to
Your 2023 Estimated Tax

Include the exact amount of any 2022 overpay-
ment you applied to your 2023 estimated taxes.
This amount can be found on your 2022 Massa-
chusetts Form 1-NR/PY, line 56 or Form 1, line 52.
Do not include any 2022 refund in this line.

Line 44. 2023 Massachusetts Estimated
Tax Payments

Ifyou paid Massachusetts estimated income taxes
for 2023, enter in line 44 the total of all Massachu-
setts estimated tax payments, but do not include
the amount entered in line 43. Be sure to include
any last quarter (of 2023) payment made on or
before January 15, 2024.

Every taxpayer (whether a resident or nonres-
ident) who expects to pay more than $400 in
Massachusetts income taxes on income which is
not covered by Massachusetts withholding must
pay Massachusetts estimated taxes. Estimated
tax payments can be made online by using Mass-
TaxConnect by visiting mass.gov/dor or by filing
Form 1-ES.

Income which is not subject to withholding includes:

D Salaries or wages earned in Massachusetts
where the employer is not subject to Massachu-
setts withholding;

» Unemployment compensation (if you did not
elect voluntary Massachusetts withholding);

D Taxable REMIC income;

D Dividends and interest, including interest from
Massachusetts banks;

d Gains from capital assets;

» Income from an individual trade, business or
profession;

» Income from any estate or trust not taxed di-
rectly;

D Lottery or gambling winnings;
» Certain pensions;

D Taxable Keogh or IRA distributions (only if you
elected not to have federal withholding);

D Rental income and royalty income;

D Taxablealimony received (part-year residents only);
» Distributions from SIMPLE accounts;

D lllegal income; and

D Any other income received taxable in Massa-
chusetts from which Massachusetts tax will not
be withheld.

Generally, the first payment must be filed on or be-
fore April 15 of the taxable year. The estimated tax
may be paid in full with the first payment voucher
or in four installments on or before April 15, June
15, September 15 of the current taxable year and
January 15 of the following year.

You may verify estimated tax payments that have
already been made through your MassTaxConnect
account. If you don’t have a MassTaxConnect ac-
count, you can sign up at www.mass.gov/mas-
staxconnect.

You may request your employer to withhold ad-
ditional amounts from your salary on Form M-4,
Massachusetts Employee’s Withholding Exemp-
tion Certificate, to cover the taxes on other in-
come so that you do not have to file and pay
estimated taxes.

If 80% of the tax is not paid throughout the year
through withholding and/or estimated payments,
a penalty may be imposed.

Line 45. Payments Made with Extension

If you filed an Application for Automatic Six-
Month Extension of Time to File Massachusetts
Income Tax Return, Massachusetts Form M-4868,
for 2023 on or before April 17,2024, enter in line
45 the amount you paid with Form M-4868.
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Line 46. Payment with Original Return
(amended return only)

Use this line only if you are amending the original
return. Enter in line 46 the amount of tax you paid
with the original return from line 58, “Tax Due.” If
estimated tax payments were made on the orig-
inal return, they should be reflected on line 44,
as on the original return. Select the appropriate
amended return oval on page 1. Complete the en-
tire return, correct the appropriate line(s) with the
new information and recompute the tax liability.
Complete the entire return, correct the appropri-
ate line(s) with the new information and recom-
pute the tax liability. On an enclosed sheet, explain
the reason for the amendment(s) and identify
the line(s) and amount(s) being changed on the
amended return. Mail the amended return to Mas-
sachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7031,
Boston, MA 02204. If you owe additional tax, mail
the amended return to Massachusetts Department
of Revenue, PO Box 7003, Boston, MA 02204.

Line 47. Earned Income Credit (part-year
residents only)

The Earned Income Credit (EIC) is a tax credit for
certain taxpayers who work and/or have earned
income under $63,398 (maximum amount may
be lower depending on filing status and number
of eligible children). In general, the Massachusetts
earned income credit is equal to 40% of the fed-
eral earned income credit, with the amount ad-
justed downward in some cases if the taxpayer
is a part-year resident. If the credit due the tax-
payer exceeds the amount of the total income tax
payable for the year by the taxpayer, the excess
amount of the credit will be refunded to the tax-
payer without interest. Earned income includes
all the taxable income and wages you get from
working; earned income is obtained by working
for someone who pays you, or from working in
a business that you own or run. In order to qual-
ify for the Massachusetts earned income credit, a
part-year resident must have earned income. You
must enter the number of qualifying children, if
any, in line 47a. Then, enter in line 47b the fed-
eral earned income credit amount from your U.S.
Form 1040, line 27. Multiply this amount by 0.40
(40%) and enter the result in the line provided.
Part-year residents, and taxpayers filing as both a
nonresident and part-year resident, multiply this
amount by line 3. Enter the result in line 47.

If you choose to have the IRS compute your fed-
eral earned income credit, wait until the IRS no-
tifies you of that amount before making an entry
in line 47. If you have not received your earned
income credit amount as computed by the IRS by
April 17,2024, you may file Massachusetts Form
M-4868, Application for Automatic Six-Month Ex-
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tension of Time to File Massachusetts Income Tax
Return. See the Form 1-NR/PY Extension Work-
sheet for information about filing your extension
via the Web. For more information about the fed-
eral earned income tax credit, see IRS Publication
596, available at irs.gov. Be sure to fill out Sched-
ule DI, Dependent Information, if you are claim-
ing this credit for one or more qualifying children/
dependents. Failure to do so will delay the proc-
essing of your return.

Note: If you are considered married for federal
and Massachusetts income tax purposes, you
generally must file a joint return with your spouse
to claim the EIC. However, recent federal legis-
lation has expanded this beginning with tax year
2023. Massachusetts adopts the expansion of
the federal EIC in calculating the Massachusetts
EIC. In addition, even if you don’t qualify under
the newly expanded rules, if you are a victim of
domestic abuse you may file a return as married
filing separately and still claim the EIC in Massa-
chusetts if the following apply to you:

» You are living apart from your spouse at the
time you file your tax return; and

» Youare unable tofile a joint return because you
are a victim of domestic abuse.

If you have a filing status of married filing sep-
arately and you claim the EIC under the Massa-
chusetts exception, you should keep records
demonstrating the existence of domestic abuse.
What constitutes adequate records will vary
depending upon your circumstances. Some
examples of documents that may meet this re-
cord-keeping requirement include (do not enclose
these records with your tax return):

D Protective and/or restraining order;
d Police report;
» Doctor’s report or letter;

D A statement from someone who was aware
of, or who witnessed, the abuse or the results of
the abuse. The statement should be notarized if
possible; or

d» A sworn statement from you attesting to
the abuse.

To claim this exception, you must fill in the oval
on line 47.

To determine if you qualify for the Credit with a
filing status exception as a victim of domestic ab-
use, you should complete the IRS Earned Income
Credit (EIC) worksheet.

Note: You should answer No to question 4 of the
EIC worksheet and when looking up the amount of
the credit in the EIC Table you should use the col-

umn for the filing status “single” and the number
of children you have.

To determine line 47, “Amount from U.S. return”:

» U.S.Form 1040, EIC Worksheet A filers should
use the amount from Worksheet A, line 6.

» U.S. Form 1040, EIC Worksheet B filers should
use the amount from Worksheet B, line 11.

See TIR 17-10 for more information.

Line 48. Senior Circuit Breaker Credit
(part-year residents only)

Certain senior citizens in Massachusetts may be
eligible to claim a refundable credit on their state
income taxes for the real estate taxes paid on the
Massachusetts residential property they own or
rent and which they occupy as their principal resi-
dence. The maximum credit allowed is $2,590 for
the tax year beginning January 1, 2023. If the credit
due the taxpayer exceeds the amount of the total
income tax payable for the year by the taxpayer,
the excess amount of the credit will be refunded to
the taxpayer without interest. To determine if you
qualify for this credit, refer to Schedule CB, Senior
Circuit Breaker Credit and instructions. Schedule
CB is available on DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor
or by calling (617) 887-6367, or toll-free in Mas-
sachusetts (800) 392-6089.

If you qualify for this credit and you are a home-
owner, enter the amount from Schedule CB, Cir-
cuit Breaker Credit, line 17; if you are a renter,
enter the amount from line 21. Be sure to com-
plete and enclose Schedule CB with your return.

Line 50. Child and Family Tax Credit

You may claim a credit of $310 for an individual
who is (1) under the age of 13 and who quali-
fies for exemption as a dependent for federal pur-
poses; (2) a dependent, or the taxpayer’s spouse,
who is physically or mentally incapable of taking
care of himself or herself and principally lives with
the taxpayer; or (3) a dependent who is age 65 or
over or disabled. You may only claim the credit if
you file as single, head of household, or married
filing jointly. You cannot claim this credit if you file
as married filing separately.

Part-year residents. Part-year residents, enter
the number of qualified dependents based on the
above criteria in line 50a and multiply that number
by $310. Enter the result in line 50b. Then multiply
line 50b by line 3 and enter the result in line 50 of
Form 1-NR/PY.

Nonresidents. A taxpayer who is a nonresident for
the entire taxable year is not eligible for this credit.

Line 51. Other Refundable Credits
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Enter in line 51 the amount from Schedule CMS,
Credit Manager Schedule.

Be sure to enclose Schedule CMS with your re-
turn. Failure to do so will delay the processing of
your return.

For more information on Schedule CMS, refer to
the Schedule CMS instructions on page 38.

Line 53. Excess Paid Family Leave
Withholding

Businesses are required to withhold Paid Fam-
ily and Medical Leave (PFML) contributions from
employees and individuals whose payments for
services are reported on U.S. Form 1099-MISC
(1099-MISC workers) up to the annual income
limit set by the Social Security Administration for
the Social Security Program.

Self-employed individuals not otherwise covered
by PFML may opt to participate in the PFML pro-
gram and pay PFML contributions from their net
earnings from their self-employment income,
subject to this same limitation. For the 2023 tax
year, the income limit is set at $160,200 and the
maximum PFML contribution amount for most
individuals is $509.44. For a self employed in-
dividual not subject to PFML withholding who
opts into PFML, the maximum PFML contribution
is $1,009.

A single employer may not withhold, and a
self-employed individual may not contribute,
more than the maximum PFML contribution
amount in a tax year. If a single employer with-
holds more than the maximum yearly PFML con-
tribution amount, the employee should contact
their employer directly regarding a refund. If your
PFML contributions or the amount of PFML con-
tributions withheld on your behalf during the tax
year exceeded the maximum PFML contribution
amount, or you are self-employed and your con-
tributions were made based on your gross earn-
ings and did not take into account your business
expenses, you may have excess PFML contribu-
tions that entitles you to seek a credit on your indi-
vidual tax return, subject to certain requirements.

* W-2 filers: If you worked for two or more Mas-
sachusetts businesses that each remitted PFIML
contributions on your behalf during the 2023
tax year, and the total amount of your combined
Massachusetts W-2 wage income exceeded
$160,200, you should complete the worksheet
below to determine if you have excess PFML
withholding. The PFML law follows the unem-
ployment statute, malegislature.gov/Laws/Gen-
eralLaws/Partl/TitleXXI/Chapter151A/Section,
for determining what counts as wages. If all of
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the wages reported on your W-2s are subject to
PFML withholding, you should use the greater of
Box 3 (Social Security Wages) or Box 5 (Medi-
care Wages) when completing the worksheet. If
a portion of your wages are not subject to PFML
withholding, you should reduce your Box 3 (So-
cial Security Wages) or Box 5 (Medicare Wages)
by any wages that were not subject to PFML with-
holding. To be eligible for a credit the total PFML
contribution amount remitted on your behalf must
exceed $509.44. If only one employer withheld
PFML contributions, and your PFML contributions
exceeded the proper amount due, you must seek
reimbursement from your employer. You are not
eligible to claim a credit on line 53.

* 1099-MISC workers: If you worked for one or
more Massachusetts businesses that remitted
PFML contributions on your behalf based on your
1099-MISC gross earnings during the 2023 tax
year, you should complete the worksheet below
to determine if you have any excess PFML con-
tributions.

« Self-employed individuals that opt in to PFML:
If you are a self-employed individual that has
opted to participate in the PFML program, your
required PFML contributions are based on your
net earnings from self-employment. You may
complete the worksheet below to determine if you
have any excess PFML contributions.

* Joint returns: The maximum PFML contribution
amount applies on an individual basis. If filing a
joint return, figure the amount of excess PFML
withholding separately for each spouse and enter
the combined total.

For more information about the PFML program,
including how PFML contributions are calculated,
see the Department of Family and Medical Leave’s
(DFML) regulation at 458 CMR 2.00, and DFML’s
website at mass.gov/orgs/department-of-fami-
ly-and-medical-leave.

Line 53. Excess Paid Family and Medical
Leave Contributions Worksheet

If you are eligible to claim a credit for excess
PFML contributions, enter in line 53 the amount
of excess PFML contributions as determined
by completing the worksheet below.

1. Enter your income as shown on your
combined Form W-2s. If greater

than $160,200, then enter
$160,200 . .............

2. W-2 PFML contribution
amount. Multiply line 1 by
0.00318................

3. Enter the lesser of your 1099-MISC worker
net income or ($160,200 -
line 1). If you have a loss,
enterQ.................

4. 1099-MISC PFML contribution
amount. Multiply line 3 by
0.00318................

5. Enter the lesser of your self-employed
opt-in net income or ($160,200 - (line 1 +
line 83)). If you have a loss,
enter0.................

6. Self-employed opt-in PEML contribution
amount. Multiply
line 5 by 0.0063 .. .......

7. Total combined PFML contribution
amount. Add lines 2, 4

8. Combine actual amounts of PFML
contributions shown as withheld on Forms
W-2, 1099-MISC and all amounts actually
contributed by a self-employed individual
that opted in (No single employer can
exceed the maximum

PFML contribution
amount) ...............

9. Excess PFML Contributions withheld.
Ifline 8 is equal to or less than line 7,
enter zero in line 9. If line 8 is greater
than line 7, subtract line 7
from line 8 and enter
difference inline9 .. .....

Enter total in line 9 on line 53 of Form 1-NR/PY.

*If filing a joint return add the amounts on
line 9 from each spouse’s worksheet and
enter the total, in whole dollars only, on line
53 of Form 1-NR/PY.

Refund Amount

Line 55. Overpayment

If line 41 is smaller than line 54, subtract line 41
from line 54 and enter the amount in line 55. This
is the amount of your overpayment. If line 41 is
larger than line 54, skip to line 58. If line 41 and
line 54 are equal, enter 0 in line 57.

Line 56. Amount of Overpayment You
Want Applied to Your 2024 Massachusetts
Estimated Taxes

Enter the amount of your 2023 overpayment you
wish to apply to your 2024 Massachusetts esti-
mated taxes. Once an election is made to apply
your overpayment to your 2024 estimated tax, it



2023 Form 1-NR/PY Instructions

cannot be refunded after the due date of the return
or applied to any additional tax you may owe for
2023. The amount entered in this line can only
be claimed as a credit on your 2024 Massachu-
setts return.

Line 57. Refund Amount
Subtract line 56 from line 55. Enter the result in
line 57. This is the amount of your refund.

Note: Your state tax refund may be taxable on your
U.S. tax return if you deducted state income tax
paid as an itemized deduction on U.S. Schedule A.

Direct Deposit

You may elect to have your refund deposited di-
rectly into your savings or checking account.
Check with your financial institution to make sure
that it accepts direct deposit and verify the routing
transit number (RTN) of the issuing financial insti-
tution. If we are unable to honor your request for
a direct deposit, a paper check will be sent to you.

The routing number of your financial institution
is nine digits and begins with 01 through 12 or
21 through 32. The account number can be up to
17 characters (both numbers and letters). Omit
hyphens, spaces and special symbols. Enter the
number from left to right and leave any unused
boxes blank. You must enter the routing number
and the account number in the spaces provided in
line 57 if you are requesting direct deposit. Failure
to do so will result in your request for direct de-
posit being denied.

Tax Due

Line 58. Tax Due

If line 41 is larger than line 54, subtract line 54
from line 41, and enter the result in line 58. This
is the amount of tax you owe with your return. Pay
in full with your return. Go to Mass.gov/masstax-
connect for online payment options. If you need
to mail your payment, make your check or money
order payable to the Commonwealth of Massa-
chusetts and write your Social Security number
on the front of your check or money order in the
lower left corner. Enclose the check with your re-
turn. Be sure to use the light blue mailing label
when mailing your Form 1-NR/PY.

Failure to file or failure to pay the proper amount
of tax when due will result in an increasing amount
of interest and penalties. It is advantageous to file
when your return is due even if you are unable to
make full payment.
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If you owe any interest, penalty or additional
amount for the underpayment of estimated taxes,
add those amounts to the tax you owe when mak-
ing your payment.

What Are Interest and Penalties?

Interest. If you fail to pay the tax when due, in-
terest will be charged. For further information see
TIR 92-6, available at mass.gov/dor.

Penalty for late payment. The penalty for late
payment is 1% of the tax due per month (or frac-
tion thereof), up to a maximum of 25%.

Penalty for failure to file. The penalty for failure
to file a tax return by the due date is 1% of the tax
due per month (or fraction thereof), up to a max-
imum of 25%. If you were required to file a tax
return for income received in any prior year and
you did not file, you must file for that prior year.

Penalty for protested (““had”) payment. If your
payment is not honored by your bank because of
insufficient funds or any other reason, a penalty
may be added of $30 or the amount of the pay-
ment, whichever is less.

Addition for underpayment of estimated tax.
You will generally be subject to this addition to tax
if you did not have withholding and/or estimated
payments equal to 80% of the total tax liability re-
quired to be paid and your 2023 tax due after cred-
its and withholding is greater than $400. The 80%
requirement is reduced to 66.67% for individuals
who receive two-thirds of their income from fish-
ing or farming. If you failed to meet these require-
ments, you must complete and enclose Massa-
chusetts Form M-2210 to calculate the amount
you must add to line 58. You do not have to com-
plete Form M-2210 if the balance due with your
return is $400 or less.

You may not be subject to an underpayment
penalty if you qualify for one of the following
exceptions:

» You are a qualified farmer or fisherman and are
paying the full amount of the tax due on or before
March 1, 2024;

» You were a Massachusetts resident and were
not liable for 2022 taxes (where the taxable year
was 12 months); or

d The sum of your estimated payments and with-
holding equals or exceeds your 2022 tax (where
the taxable year was 12 months and a return
was filed).

If you qualify for one of these exceptions, fill in the
Exception oval under line 58 on Form 1-NR/PY

and enclose Form M-2210 indicating which of the
exceptions applies to your circumstances.

Alimited number of taxpayers may also qualify for
a waiver of the underpayment penalty for one or
more instaliments if:

» The underpayment was because of casualty or
disaster; or

» During 2022 or 2023 you retired after reach-
ing age 62 or became disabled and the underpay-
ment was due to reasonable cause and not will-
ful neglect.

If you think you qualify for one of these waivers,
go to Mass.gov/masstaxconnect and use DOR’s
online application for abatement return or enclose
Form M-2210 and an explanatory statement with
your return and fill in the Exception oval under
line 58. If your waiver is not for all four install-
ments, complete Form M-2210 to calculate the
underpayment penalty for the installments which
are not covered by the waiver. Form M-2210 is
available by visiting mass.gov/dor.

Penalty for failure to report federal change.
If the IRS changes your federal taxable income
for a prior year (generally through audit), file an
amended return within one year of the final fed-
eral determination to avoid this penalty. This pen-
alty is equal to 10% of the additional tax due. If
the change indicates a refund, you must file an
amended return within one year of federal deter-
mination, including acceptance of an amended
federal return by the IRS.

Sign Here

Now that you have completed Form 1-NR/PY, sign
your name at the bottom of page 1. Your spouse
must also sign if this is a joint return. Write the
date you signed the return.

Note: Be sure to include all five pages of Form
1-NR/PY and, if applicable, Schedule HC and all
other schedules.

Enclose with your Form 1-NR/PY, all state copies
of your Forms W-2, W-2G, PWH-WA, 2G, K-1 and
any Forms 1099 which included Massachusetts
withholding. If making a payment, go to mass.
gov/masstaxconnect for online payment options.
If you need to mail your payment, enclose a check
or money order payable to Commonwealth of
Massachusetts and be sure to sign the check and
write your Social Security number on it. Also, be
sure to use the light blue mailing label when mail-
ing your Form 1-NR/PY.
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Paid Preparer Must Sign Your Return

Generally, anyone you pay to prepare your return
must sign it in the space provided at the bottom
of page 5 of the Form 1-NR/PY. Tax return pre-
parers are authorized to sign the return by means
of a rubber stamp, mechanical device, or com-
puter software program, which must include ei-
ther a facsimile or printed name of the preparer.
Preparers are personally responsible for affixing
their signatures to returns. Preparers must also
provide their Social Security Number (SSN) or
Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and
Employer ldentification Number (EIN) in the
spaces provided at the bottom of page 5. The pre-
parer must give you a copy of the return for your
records. Someone who prepares your return but
does not charge you should not sign your return.

Paid Preparer Authorization

If you want to allow DOR to discuss your 2023 tax
return with the paid preparer who signed it, fill in
the Yes oval in the signature area of the return at
the bottom of page 5 of the Form 1-NR/PY. This
authorization applies only to the individual whose
signature appears in the paid preparer section of
your return. It does not apply to the firm, if any,
shown in that section.

If you fill in the Yes oval, you, and your spouse if
filing a joint return, are authorizing DOR to call the
paid preparer to answer any questions that may
arise during the processing of your return. You are
also authorizing the paid preparer to:

» Give DOR any information that is missing from
your return;

» Call DOR for information about the processing
of your return or the status of your refund or pay-
ment(s); and

» Respond to certain DOR notices that you have
shared with the preparer about math errors, off-
sets and return preparation. The notices will not
be sent to the preparer.

You are not authorizing the paid preparer to re-
ceive any refund check, bind you to anything (in-
cluding any additional tax liability), or otherwise
represent you before DOR. If you want to ex-
pand the paid preparer’s authorization, see Form
M-2848, Power of Attorney and Declaration of
Representative.

The authorization cannot be revoked. However,
the authorization will automatically end no later
than the due date (without regard to extensions)
for filing your 2024 tax return. This is April 15,
2025 for most people.
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E-File Opt Out

Income tax return preparers who completed more
than 10 original Massachusetts Forms 1 and
1-NR/PY, including those E-filed, during the pre-
vious calendar year are required to use electronic
means to file all personal income tax returns, un-
less the taxpayer specifically directs on the paper
form that the filing be on paper and signs Form
EFO, Personal Income Tax Declaration of Paper
Filing. Fill in the oval at the bottom of page 5 of
Form 1-NR/PY if you do not want your preparer
to file your return electronically. See TIR 21-9 for
more information.

Mailing

E-filing is the fastest most efficient way to sub-
mit your return and to receive your refund. How-
ever, if you are mailing your return follow these
guidelines:

D If you are expecting a refund or if you have no
tax due, use the white mailing label on the back of
the envelope that came with this booklet. If you do
not have one, mail your original or amended Form
1-NR/PY to Massachusetts Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 7000, Boston, MA 02204-7000. If
using a tax software product, be sure to use the
correct PO box. See the inside front cover for this
information.

d Ifyou have a tax due, use the light blue mailing
label on the back of the envelope that came with
this booklet. If you do not have one, mail your
original or amended Form 1-NR/PY to Massa-
chusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7003,
Boston, MA 02204-7003. If using a tax software
product, be sure to use the correct PO box. See
the inside front cover for this information.

Note: If using a tax software product, be sure to
use the correct PO box. See the inside front cover.

Note: Schedule lines without specific instructions
are considered to be self-explanatory. Be sure to
list on each schedule the name and Social Secu-
rity number that appears first on Form 1-NR/PY.
Do not cut or separate schedules.

Schedule
NTS-L-NR/PY

Massachusetts Adjusted Gross
Income for No Tax Status or
Limited Income Credit

Note: All nonresidents and part-year residents
having income that is not taxable to Massachu-
setts but would be if a full-year resident must
complete line 7 of Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY.

Massachusetts Adjusted Gross Income (Massa-
chusetts AGI) is not the same as taxable income.
Massachusetts AGI includes all:

D Wages, salaries, tips;
D Taxable pensions and annuities;

D Pensionincome from another state or jurisdic-
tion before any deductions;

D Taxable IRA/Keogh and Roth IRA distributions;
D Fees and unemployment compensation;
D Income or loss from a business or profession;

» Income or loss from partnerships, S corpora-
tions and trusts;

D Rents, royalties and REMIC income;
D Taxable alimony received and other 5.0% income;

D Interest from Massachusetts banks before ex-
emption; and

D Interest, dividends, and capital gains.

D The No Tax Status provision applies if your
Massachusetts AGI on Schedule NTS-L-NR/PY
(line 8) is $8,000 or less if single; $14,400 or less
plus $1,000 per dependent if head of household,
or $16,400 or less plus $1,000 per dependent if
married filing a joint return.

Note: If married, you must file a joint return in
order to qualify for No Tax Status. For purposes
of computing No Tax Status all losses must be
entered as 0.

Line 6. Long-Term Gapital Gain Income
If filing Schedule D-IS, Installment Sales, see
the Schedule D-IS instructions for the amount to
enterin line 6. Schedule D-IS and instructions are
available on DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor.

Line 7. Additional Income/Loss While a
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident

Enter in line 7 any income/loss not reported on
Form 1-NR/PY because of your nonresidency or
part-year residency status but would have been
reported on Form 1 if you were a full-year resident.

Note: Nonresidents, do not include any military
compensation received during the taxable year as
non-Massachusetts source income. See TIR 04-6
for more information.

Line 9. Additional Adjustments to Income
While a Nonresident/Part-Year Resident
Enter in line 9 any deductions not originally re-
ported on Schedule Y, lines 2 to 9b and line 10 be-
cause of your nonresidency or part-year residency
status but would have been reported on Schedule
Y if you were a full-year resident.
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Line 10. Massachusetts Adjusted Gross
Income

Subtract line 9 from line 8. If you are single and
the total in line 10 is $8,000 or less, you qualify for
No Tax Status. Fill in the oval in Form 1-NR/PY, line
31, enter 0 in line 32 and omit lines 33 through
35. Also, enter 0 on line 36 and continue on Form
1-NR/PY. However, if there is an amount entered
in line 29, Credit Recapture Amount and/or line
30, Additional Tax on Installment Sales, enter that
amount in line 32 and complete lines 34 and 35.

If you are single but do not qualify for No Tax Sta-
tus and your total in line 10 is $14,000 or less,
go to line 13 to see if you qualify for the Limited
Income Credit. If married filing jointly or head of
household, go to line 11.

Line 11. No Tax Status for Married Filing
Jointly or Head of Household

If married and filing a joint return, multiply the
number of dependents (from Form 1-NR/PY, line
4b) by $1,000 and add $16,400 to that amount. If
head of household, multiply the number of depen-
dents (from Form 1-NR/PY, line 4b) by $1,000 and
add $14,400 to that amount. Enter the result here.
Ifline 10 is less than or equal to line 11, you qual-
ify for No Tax Status. Fill in the oval in Form 1-NR/
PY, line 31, enter 0 in line 32 and omit lines 33
through 35. Also, enter 0 on line 36 and continue
on Form 1-NR/PY. However, if there is an amount
entered in line 29, Credit Recapture Amount and/
or line 30, Additional Tax on Installment Sales,
enter that amount in line 32 and complete lines
34 and 35.

Line 12. Limited Income Credit Threshold
If you do not qualify for No Tax Status and you
are married and filing a joint return, multiply the
number of dependents (from Form 1-NR/PY, line
4b) by $1,750 and add $28,700 to that amount.
If head of household, multiply the number of de-
pendents (from Form 1-NR/PY line 4b) by $1,750
and add $25,200 to that amount. Enter the result
here. If line 10 is less than or equal to line 12,
you may qualify for the Limited Income Credit. Go
to line 13.

Line 17. Limited Income Credit

If line 15 is smaller than line 16, you are not eligi-
ble for this credit. If line 15 is larger than line 16,
subtract line 16 from line 15, and enter the result
here and in line 33 on Form 1-NR/PY.

Note: If married filing a separate return, you do
not qualify for this credit.
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Schedule DI

Dependent Information
Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

You must complete this schedule if you are claim-
ing a dependent exemption(s) on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 4b or taking a credit(s) on Form 1-NR/PY,
lines 47 or 50 (if applicable). Failure to provide
this information will delay the processing of your
return. You must complete the information for
each dependent.

In the spaces provided, enter the name, Social Se-
curity number, date of birth and the relationship
of the dependent to you (son, daughter, mother,
father, etc.). Also, if the dependent is a qualifying
child for the Earned Income credit, fill in the Yes
oval. If you are claiming more than 10 dependents,
enclose a statement listing the name, Social Se-
curity number, date of birth and the relationship
of the dependent to you and if the dependent is
a qualifying child for the Earned Income credit.

Schedule X

Other Income
Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

Line 1. Taxable Alimony Received (part-
year residents only)

Enterin Schedule X, line 1 the amount of taxable al-
imony and separate maintenance received during
the taxable year while you were a Massachusetts
resident. The taxable amount is from U.S. Form
1040, Schedule 1, line 2a, reduced by the amount
received while you were a nonresident.

Line 2. Taxable IRA/Keogh, Qualified
Charitable IRA Distributions and Roth

IRA Conversion Distributions (part-year
residents only)

Complete the Schedule X, Line 2 Worksheet to
calculate the taxable portion of any amount you
received from an Individual Retirement Account
(IRA), Keogh, qualified charitable IRA distribu-
tion or Roth IRA conversion distribution while a
Massachusetts resident, whether derived from
sources inside or outside of Massachusetts.
Since Massachusetts does not allow a deduc-
tion for amounts originally contributed to an IRA
or Keogh, the distributions are not taxable until
the full amount of your contributions which were
previously subject to Massachusetts taxes are
recovered.

Contributions made to Keogh accounts prior to
1975 were deductible when made. Therefore, no
deduction may be taken from a Keogh distribution
for amounts contributed before 1975.

Note: Contributions from a deferred plan, such as
a401(k), that were rolled over into an IRA are not
considered previously taxed contributions and are
fully taxable upon distribution.

Schedule X, Line 2 Worksheet. Taxable IRA/
Keogh Plan, Qualified Charitable IRA
Distributions and Roth IRA Conversion
Distributions

1. Total IRA/Keogh plan distributions,
qualified charitable IRA distributions, Roth
IRA conversion distributions
received during 2023 . . . ..

2. Total contributions
previously taxed by
Massachusetts ..........

3. Total distributions re-
ceived in previous years . . .

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If
line 3 is larger than line 2,

5. Subtract line 4 from line 1 and
enter the result here. Not
lessthanO..............

6. Total qualified charitable IRA
distributions in 2023
includedinline1.........

7. Taxable IRA/Keogh distributions or Roth
IRA conversion distributions. Subtract line 6
from line 5. Enter the result here and on
Schedule X, line 2. Not
lessthanO..............

Note: You must complete separate worksheets if
married filing a joint return and both you and your
spouse received IRA/Keogh Plan, qualified char-
itable IRA distributions, and/or Roth IRA conver-
sion distributions.

Line 3. Other Gambling Winnings

Part-year residents. For the period in which you
were a resident, enter in Schedule X, line 3 all
gambling and sports wagering winnings, whether
from Massachusetts sources or not, as well as
winnings from non-Massachusetts lotteries. Do
not include the price of winning, non-Massachu-
setts lottery tickets.

In addition, for the period in which you were a
nonresident, enter in Schedule X, line 3 all sports
wagering winnings from Massachusetts sources
and all gambling winnings from Massachusetts
sources, including casinos, raffles, races, beano
or other events of chance. Part-year residents do
not need to report sports wagering or gambling
winnings from non-Massachusetts sources re-
ceived while a nonresident. Do not report Mas-
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sachusetts state lottery winnings in Schedule X,
line 3. Instead, report Massachusetts state lottery
winnings in Form 1-NR/PY, line 10b. Do not enter
less than 0.

Nonresidents. Enter in Schedule X, line 3 all
sports wagering winnings from Massachusetts
sources and all gambling winnings from Mas-
sachusetts sources, including casinos, raffles,
races, beano or other events of chance. Do not
report sports wagering or gambling winnings
from non-Massachusetts sources received while
anonresident. Do not report Massachusetts state
lottery winnings in Schedule X, line 3. Instead, re-
port Massachusetts state lottery winnings in Form
1-NR/PY, line 10b. Do not enter less than 0.

Note: For both nonresidents and part-year res-
idents, certain sports wagering and gambling
losses are now deductible under Massachusetts
law. See Schedule Y, line 17 and TIR 15-14 for
more information.

Line 4. Fees and Other 5.0% Income

The following items should be reported on line 4
of Schedule X. Do not enter less than 0. Enclose
additional statements if more space is needed.

D All fee income, such as payments for jury duty,
election worker payments, director’s fees, com-
pensation received as executor or administrator of
an estate, and commission income or tips not re-
ported in line 5 of Form 1-NR/PY is taxable. Also,
report all bartering income not reported on Sched-
ule C (the fair market value of goods or services
received in payment for your services).

» All prizes and awards won by a nonresident in
aquiz program, drawing, beauty contest, etc. held
in Massachusetts (part-year residents, whether
held inside or outside of Massachusetts) are tax-
able at fair market value. Awards and bonuses
received from your employer for performance of
services in Massachusetts (part-year residents,
whether received from sources inside or outside
of Massachusetts) not part of a qualified award
plan are also taxable.

» Other 5.0% income from Massachusetts
sources or received while a part-year resident,
reported on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 9,
and not reported elsewhere in 5.0% Income” sec-
tion on Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY, must be
reported in line 4 of Schedule X.

Note: Do not include U.S. Shareholders IRC §
965(a) inclusion amounts that are included in
the US Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 9 in line 4
of Schedule X. These amounts are included in
Schedule B, see Schedule FCI for additional de-
tails and instructions.
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D Pre-1996 instaliment sales classified as ordi-
nary income for Massachusetts purposes (from
Massachusetts Schedule D, line 10) are taxed as
5.0% income and must be reported on Schedule
X, line 4.

» Embezzled or other income from illegal activ-
ities from Massachusetts sources or received
while a part-year resident is taxable.

d Any benefits paid to you by a union as strike
or lockout benefits to the extent included on U.S.
Form 1040, line 1h.

The following items should not be reported on
your Massachusetts return:

D Any net operating loss reported as a negative
amount on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 8a
cannot be entered on Schedule X. A net operating
loss from a business or profession cannot be car-
ried forward or backward to offset individual in-
come in any other year under Massachusetts law.

D Refunds of U.S. and Massachusetts income
taxes are not considered income under Mas-
sachusetts law. If you received interest on re-
funds, report such interest on Massachusetts
Schedule B.

Line 5. PFML Taxable Distributions
Enterin Schedule X, line 5 all income received from
the Department of Family and Medical Leave. The
amount should be in box 1 of the 1099-G issued to
you by the Commonwealth Of Massachusetts, MA
Department of Family and Medical Leave.

Line 6. Excess Business Loss Adjustment
For tax year 2023, taxpayers must report on
Schedule X, line 6 any excess business loss (EBL)
stated on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 8p.
Generally, EBL is the amount by which the total
deductions attributable to a taxpayer’s trades or
businesses exceed the sum of (i) the taxpayer’s
total gross income and gains attributable to those
trades or businesses and (i) a threshold amount
of $270,000 for single filers and $540,000 for joint
returns. Differences between Massachusetts and
federal income and deductions (e.g., bonus de-
preciation) should be taken into account by ad-
justing the amount reported on Massachusetts
Schedule X, line 6. Explain any difference between
amounts reported on Massachusetts Schedule X,
line 6,and on U.S. Schedule 1, line 8p, using Mas-
sachusetts Schedule TDS. Unlike on federal re-
turns, you may not carry foward disallowed EBL
because those losses are treated, for federal pur-
poses, as net operating losses, which are not al-
lowed as a Massachusetts deduction.

Schedule Y

Other Deductions
Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

Note: Some of the deductions reported on Schedule
Y may be limited because of your nonresidency or
part-year residency status. For more information
see Nonresident Deduction and Exemption Ratio
and Schedule R/NR instructions.

Line 2. Penalty on Early Savings
Withdrawal

If you were charged a penalty because of early
withdrawal of savings, and interest on the savings
that such a penalty relates to is income reported in
line 7a or 24 of this return or on a prior year Mass-
achusetts return, you may deduct the penalty. This
deduction is the same as the amount allowable on
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 18. Enter this
amount in line 2 of Schedule Y.

Line 3. Deductible Alimony Paid

Part-year residents, enter in Schedule Y, line 3
the total deductible alimony and separate main-
tenance paid to your former spouse as reported
on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 19a, reduced
by the amount paid while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents, multiply the amount of alimony
and separate maintenance paid on your U.S. Form
1040, Schedule 1, line 19a, by Form 1-NR/PY,
line 14g to determine the amount you may claim
against Massachusetts income.

Line 4. Amounts Excludible Under MGL

ch 41, § 111F or U.S. Tax Treaty Included
Line 5

Massachusetts allows an exclusion from income
of amounts received by a firefighter or police of-
ficer incapacitated in the line of duty, per MGL
ch 41, § 111F, and an exclusion from income of
amounts received by a qualifying student or a tax-
payer exempt under a U.S. tax treaty.

Enter any excludible amount of income received
while you were a firefighter or police officer inca-
pacitated in the line of duty in line 4 of Schedule Y
that was included in Form 1-NR/PY, line 5, and fill
in the appropriate oval.

If you were a qualifying student or a taxpayer with
income exempt under a U.S. tax treaty, enter any
excludible amount of income received that was
exempt under a U.S. tax treaty in line 4 of Sched-
ule Y that was included in Form 1-NR/PY, line 5,
and fill in the appropriate oval.
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Line 5. Moving Expenses for Members of
the Armed Forces

For tax years 2018 through 2025, for qualifying
members of the Armed Forces, enter in Sched-
ule Y, line 5 the amount of deductible moving
expenses as reported on U.S. Form 1040, Sched-
ule 1, line 14, as adjusted to reflect only those
deductible moving expenses that relate to mov-
ing to or from Massachusetts. Members of the
armed forces can have a Massachusetts moving
expense if they:

D Have Massachusetts income; and

D Due to a military order, have moved to or from
Massachusetts because of a permanent change
of station.

Schedule Y, Line 5 Worksheet. Moving
Expenses for Members of the Armed
Forces Deduction

1. Transportation and storage of household
goods and personal effects
in2023................

2. Travel (including lodging) from
your old home to your new home.
Do not include cost of

meals .................

3. Add lines 1and?2 ... ...

4. Enter the total amount the government
paid you for the expenses listed on lines 1
and 2 that is not included in box 16 of your
Form W-2 (wages). This amount should be
shown in box 12 of your
Form W-2 with code P . . ..

5. If line 4 is more than line 3, you are not
entitled to this deduction. If line 4 is less than
line 3, subtract line 4 from line 3 and enter
the result here and on
Schedule Y, line5 . .......

Line 6. Medical Savings Account
Nonresidents. Multiply the amount of Medical
Savings Account included in U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule 1, line 23, “MSA,” by line 14g and enter
the result in Schedule Y, line 6.

Part-year residents. Multiply the amount of Med-
ical Savings Account included in U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule 1, line 23, “MSA,” by line 3 and enter the
result in Schedule Y, line 6.

Line 7. Self-Employed Health Insurance
Enter in Schedule Y, line 7 the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 17 that is related to
Massachusetts self-employment.
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Note: The amount on Schedule Y, line 7 should be
the same as the amount on U.S. 1040, Schedule
1, line 17. If you elected to claim the federal credit
for health insurance costs and were required to
reduce the U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 17
deduction by the amount of the federal credit, you
may not add the federal credit to the amount on
Schedule Y, line 7.

Line 8. Health Savings Accounts
Nonresidents. Multiply the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 13 by line 14g and
enter the result in Schedule Y, line 8.

Part-year residents. Multiply the amount from
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 13 by line 3 and
enter the result in Schedule Y, line 8.

Line 9. Other Qualified Deductions
You may claim only the following deductions for
Schedule Y, line 9.

D 9a Certain qualified deductions from U.S.
Form 1040. Enter the sum of the amounts re-
ported on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 11
(Educator expenses), line 24a (Jury duty pay), line
24b (Deductible expenses related to income re-
ported on line 81 from the rental of personal prop-
erty engaged in for profit) but only to the extent
it relates to income reported on Massachusetts
Schedule X, line 4, line 24c (nontaxable value of
Olympic and Paralympic medals and the amount
of United States Olympic Committee (USOC) prize
money), line 24d (Reforestation amortization and
expenses), line 24e (Repayment of supplemental
unemployment benefits under the Trade Act of
1974), line 24g (Contributions by certain chap-
lains to § 403(b) plans), line 24h (Attorney fees
and court costs for action involving certain un-
lawful discrimination claims), line 24i (Attorney
fees in connection with federal tax whistleblower
actions that result in awards from the IRS), and
line 24z (Other adjustments), but only to the ex-
tent deductible in Massachusetts.

Do not include amounts reported on U.S. Form
1040, Schedule 1, lines 12 through 23, or
amounts not identified above in line 24; including
but not limited to amounts contributed to § 501(c)
(18) pension plans and IRC § 404 deduction for
contributions on behalf of IRC § 401(c)(1) em-
ployees (sole proprietors and partners). See TIR
02-18 (1)(D) and DD 01-7 for more information.

» 9b Business Expenses of National Guard and
Reserve Members, Performing Artists and Fee-
Based Government Officials; Impairment-related
Work Expenses of Persons with Qualifying Dis-
ahilities. Enter the sum of 1) the amount from U.S
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 12; and 2) certain im-
pairment-related work expenses included on U.S.

Form 1040, Schedule A, line 16. Employees who
are not salespersons who solicit business for an
employer away from the employer’s place of busi-
ness may only reportimpairment-related expenses
from U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A, line 16 that are
“expenses of travel, meals and lodging while away
from home, or expenses of transportation” allowed
under MGL, ch 62, § 2(d)(2).

» 9¢ Charitable Contribution Deduction. Mas-
sachusetts allows a charitable deduction in an
amount equal to the federal charitable deduc-
tion, except that the state deduction does not in-
clude any amounts for contributions of household
goods or used clothing. Taxpayers do not have to
itemize their deductions for federal tax purposes
to claim the Massachusetts deduction.

The Massachusetts deduction may only be used
to reduce Part B adjusted gross income — e.g.
wages — and cannot be used to reduce capital
gain, dividend, or interest income other than in-
terest from Massachusetts banks.

Taxpayers must keep records to substantiate cash
and non-cash charitable contributions to the same
extent as specified in U.S. Form 1040, Schedule
Ainstructions.

If you deduct more than $500 of non-cash con-
tributions, you must complete and attach U.S.
Form 8283.

Part-year residents. Multiply the amount entered
on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A, line 14, excluding
the value of household goods or used clothing, by
the amount on Form 1-NR/PY, line 3, and enter
the result in Schedule Y, line 9c. If you did not
itemize deductions on your U.S. return, multiply
the amount you would have entered on U.S. Form
1040, Schedule A, line 14 (excluding the value
of household goods or used clothing) if you had
itemized by the amount on Form 1-NR/PY, line 3,
and enter the result in Schedule Y, line 9c.

Nonresidents. Multiply the amount entered on
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A, line 14, excluding
the value of household goods or used clothing,
by the amount on Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g, and
enter the result in Schedule Y, line 9c. If you did
not itemize deductions on your U.S. return, mul-
tiply the amount you would have entered on U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule A, line 14 (excluding the
value of household goods or used clothing) if you
had itemized by the amount on Form 1-NR/PY, line
149, and enter the result in Schedule Y, line 9c.

Line 10. Student Loan Interest Deduction
Nonresidents. Multiply the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 21 (not to exceed
$2,500) by line 14g and enter the result in Sched-
ule 'y, line 10.
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Part-year residents. Multiply the amount from
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 21 (not to ex-
ceed $2,500) by line 3 and enter the result in
Schedule Y, line 10. This deduction is only allowed
if not claiming the same expenses in line 12 of
Schedule Y, Undergraduate Student Loan Interest
Deduction.

Line 12. Undergraduate Student Loan
Interest Deduction

A deduction is allowed for interest paid on a qual-
ified undergraduate student loan. To be eligible
for the deduction, the “education debt” must be
a loan that is administered by the financial aid of-
fice of a two-year or four-year college at which
you, or a qualified dependent, were enrolled as
an undergraduate student. Additionally, the loan
must have been secured through a state student
loan program, a federal student loan program, or
a commercial lender, and must have been spent
solely for the purposes of paying tuition and other
expenses directly related to the school enrollment.
Enter the amount of such interest paid in Sched-
ule 'Y, line 12. This deduction is only allowed if not
claiming the same expenses in line 10 of Schedule
Y, Student Loan Interest Deduction.

Nonresidents. Multiply the amount of such inter-
est paid by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the
result in Schedule Y, line 12.

Part-year residents. Multiply the amount of such
interest paid by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3 and enter the
result in Schedule Y, line 12.

Line 13. Deductible Amount of Qualified
Contributory Pension Income from
Another State or Political Subdivision
Included in Form 1-NR/PY, Line 6
Massachusetts allows a deduction for contribu-
tory pension income received from another state
or one of its political subdivisions which does not
tax such income from Massachusetts or its po-
litical subdivisions. For guidelines to determine
which state’s pensions are exempt in Massachu-
setts, see TIR 95-9. Enter any deductible amount
of such income in line 13 of Schedule Y that was
included in Form 1-NR/PY, line 6.

Line 14. Claim of Right Deduction

Taxpayers who have paid Massachusetts personal
income taxes in a prior year on income attributed
to them under a “claim of right” may deduct the
amount of that income from their gross income
if it later develops that they were not in fact enti-
tled to the income, and have repaid the amounts
in question. The deduction is allowed in the year
of repayment, provided that the repayment is not
otherwise deductible in determining Massachu-
setts income taxable under MGL ch 62. Some
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examples in which the claim of right may be ap-
plied for are:

» Stock under claim of ownership. Gains from
sales of stock under a claim of ownership must
be included, regardless of whether the taxpayer
actually owned it;

» Employment contracts. Amounts in settle-
ment of employment contracts must be included
notwithstanding the prospect of eventual repay-
ment to the employer of an amount equivalent to
or greater than the amount received;

» Dividends. Where a taxpayer receives a divi-
dend that must be repaid in a later year (e.g., be-
cause it impaired corporate capital), the dividend
must be included in the year of receipt;

D Corporate notes. Where a taxpayer receives a
distribution with respect to holding of notes, the
income must be included regardless of whether it
could be challenged by senior creditors;

D Mistake in validity of claim. The claim of right
doctrine applies where a taxpayer merely mis-
takes the validity of his claim; or

D Advanced insurance commissions; or

» Repayment of unemployment compensation
and supplemental unemployment henefits in a
subsequent year.

If you are entitled to claim this deduction, enter
the amount claimed in Schedule Y, line 14. For
more information, see TIR 06-4.

Line 15. Commuter Deduction

A deduction is allowed for certain amounts paid by
an individual for tolls paid for through an E-ZPass
account or all MBTA fares, not just weekly or
monthly transit commuter passes, and includes
RTA fares, bikeshare memberships, bike pur-
chases (including e-bikes), bike improvements/
repair/storage, and fares on non-MBTA commuter
boats that are owned, operated or contracted by
a municipality or a public or quasi-public entity,
agency or authority, not including amounts reim-
bursed or otherwise deductible.

In the case of a single person or a married per-
son filing a separate return or as head of house-
hold, this deduction applies only to the portion of
such expended amount that exceeds $150, and
the total amount deducted cannot exceed $750.
Inthe case of a married couple filing a joint return,
this deduction applies only to the portion of such
amount expended by each individual that exceeds
$150, and the total amount deducted cannot ex-
ceed $750 for each individual. Also, one spouse
cannot transfer his or her excess deduction to the
other spouse; separate worksheets must be com-

pleted to calculate the deduction. See TIR 06-14
for additional information.

The deduction is allowed where an individual pur-
chases an MBTA pass for a dependent who is
claimed on that individual’s tax return, provided
the dependent does not also claim the deduction.
However, the total amount deducted cannot ex-
ceed $750 for each individual taxpayer who is fil-
ing areturn. In the case of married taxpayers filing
a joint return, the total amount deducted cannot
exceed $750 per taxpayer; thus, the maximum de-
duction for a joint return is $1,500.

Schedule Y, Line 15 Worksheet.
Commuter Deduction

1. Enter amount paid in 2023 for
tolls through an E-ZPass
account................

2. Enter amount paid in 2023 for
communting costs (Do not include amounts
reimbursed or

otherwise deductible) . . . . .

3. Add lines 1 and 2. If $150 or less, you do
not qualify for this deduction. Omit remainder
of this worksheet. Otherwise,
complete lines 4 through 6 .

4. Enter $150 . ..........

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3

6. Enter the lesser of line 5
or$750................

7. Nonresidents, multiply line 6 by Form
1-NR/PY, line 14g. Enter the result here and
in line 15 on Schedule Y. Part-year residents,
multiply line 6 by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3. Enter
the result here and in line 15
onSchedule’Y...........

Line 17. Certain Gambling Losses
Massachusetts allows a deduction from 5.0%
income for losses from wagering transactions
that were incurred in a calendar year at a Mas-
sachusetts gaming establishment licensed in ac-
cordance with MGL ch 23K or a racing meeting
licensee or simulcasting licensee, only to the ex-
tent of the gains from such transactions. See TIR
15-14 for more information. For tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 2023, this deduction
also includes losses from sports wagers that were
incurred through a Massachusetts sports wager-
ing operator licensed under MGL ch 23N.

A taxpayer may claim a deduction for qualifying
sports wagering and gambling losses incurred in
the calendar year from the above Massachusetts
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sources only if the taxpayer had sports wagering
or gambling winnings in the same calendar year
from any such Massachusetts source. The deduc-
tion allowed for such losses may not exceed the
amount of such winnings included in gross in-
come for the calendar year.

Because Massachusetts does not adopt the de-
ductions under IRC § 165(d), the deduction for
sports wagering and gambling losses set forth in
MGL ch 62, § 3(B)(a)(18) is the only deduction for
such losses allowed a Massachusetts taxpayer,
unless the sports wagering and gambling activ-
ities of the taxpayer constitute a trade or business.

Example 1
For calendar year 2023, taxpayer, a Massachusetts
resident, has:

» Gambling winnings of $500 from Massachu-
setts state lottery;

» Gambling winnings of $800 from a casino li-
censed under MGL ch 23K;

D Gambling winnings of $1200 from a Las Vegas
casino;

D Sports waging winnings of $500 from a sports
wagering operator licensed under MGL ch 23N;

» Sports waging winnings of $600 from a sports
wagering operator in Las Vegas;

D Gambling losses of $1600 from a Las Vegas
casino;

D Gambling losses of $510 from Massachusetts
Lottery scratch tickets;

» Gambling losses of $1000 from a casino li-
censed under MGL ch 23K;

D Sports waging losses of $700 from a sports wa-
gering operator licensed under MGL ch 23N;

D Sports waging losses of $200 from a sports wa-
gering operator in Las Vegas.

For Massachusetts income tax purposes, the tax-
payer must include $500 of their Massachusetts
state lottery winnings on Form 1, line 8b and the
remaining $3,100 of their gambling and sports
wagering winnings on Schedule X, line 3. The tax-
payer may claim a deduction for gambling losses
from casinos licensed under ch 23K and for
sports wagering losses from sports wagering op-
erators licensed under MGL ch 23N but only to the
extent of winnings from casinos licensed under
ch 23K and sports wagering operators licensed
under MGL ch 23N. No deduction is available
for the taxpayer’s gambling and sports wagering
losses from other sources. The taxpayer had win-
nings of $800 and losses of $1,000 from casinos
licensed under ch 23K. The taxpayer had winnings
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of $500 and losses of $700 from sports wagering
operators licensed under MGL ch 23N. Thus, the
taxpayer may claim a deduction of $1300, the ex-
tent of aggregate winnings from qualifying Mas-
sachusetts sources. The remaining $400 of loss
from casinos licensed under ch 23K and sports
wagering operators licensed under MGL ch 23N
may not be deducted. Gambling losses from the
Massachusetts state lottery are not deductible.

Example 2
For calendar year 2023, nonresident taxpayer has:

» Gambling winnings of $500 from Massachu-
setts state lottery,

D Gambling winnings of $800 from a casino li-
censed under MGL ch 23K,

D Gambling winnings of $1200 from a Las
Vegas casino,

D Sports waging winnings of $100 from a sports
wagering operator licensed under MGL ch 23N;

D Sports waging winnings of $600 from a sports
wagering operator in Las Vegas;

D Gambling losses of $1600 from a Las
Vegas casino,

D Gambling losses of $510 from Massachusetts
Lottery scratch tickets, and

D Gambling losses of $1000 from a casino li-
censed under MGL ch 23K;

D Sports waging losses of $900 from a sports wa-
gering operator licensed under MGL ch 23N;

D Sports waging losses of $200 from a sports wa-
gering operator in Las Vegas.

For Massachusetts income tax purposes, the non-
resident taxpayer must include $500 of their Mas-
sachusetts state lottery winnings on Form 1-NR/
PY, line 10b and the $900 of their gambling and
sports wagering winnings from casinos licensed
under MGL ch 23K and sports wagering opera-
tors licensed under MGL ch 23N on Schedule X,
line 3. The nonresident taxpayer does not report
the $1,200 in winnings from the Las Vegas ca-
sino or the $600 in winnings from the Las Vegas
sports wagering operator on the Massachusetts
return. The nonresident taxpayer may claim a de-
duction for losses from casinos licensed under
MGL ch 23K and sports wagering operators li-
censed under MGL ch 23N but only to the extent
of winnings from casinos licensed under MGL
ch 23K and sports wagering operators licensed
under MGL ch 23N. No deduction is available for
the nonresident taxpayer’s gambling and sports
wagering losses from other sources. The nonres-
ident taxpayer had winnings of $800 and losses of
$1,000 from casinos licensed under MGL ch 23K.

The nonresident taxpayer had winnings of $100
and losses of $900 from sports wagering opera-
tors licensed under MGL ch 23N. Thus, the tax-
payer may claim a deduction of $900, the extent
of aggregate winnings from qualifying Massachu-
setts sources. The remaining $1,000 of loss from
casinos licensed under MGL ch 23K and sports
wagering operators licensed under MGL ch 23N
may not be deducted. Gambling losses from the
Massachusetts state lottery are not deductible.

If you are entitled to claim this deduction, enter
the qualified amount in Schedule Y, line 17.

Line 18a. Prepaid Tuition or College
Savings Plan Deduction

A deduction is available for purchases of or con-
tributions made to an account in a pre-paid tuition
program or a college savings program established
by the Commonwealth. The deduction is capped
at $1,000 for a single person, married filing sepa-
rate, or head of household and $2,000 for a mar-
ried couple filing a joint return. The deduction is
subject to recapture in the taxable year or years in
which distributions or refunds are made from the
tuition or college savings account for any reason
other than:

d To pay qualified higher education expenses, as
defined by IRC § 529(e)(3); or

D The beneficiary’s death, disability or receipt of
a scholarship.

Nonresidents. Multiply the allowable amount, not
to exceed the capped amount based on filing sta-
tus, by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the re-
sult in Schedule Y, line 18a.

Part-year residents. Multiply the allowable
amount, not to exceed the capped amount based
on filing status, by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3 and enter
the result in Schedule Y, line 18a.

Enter the allowable amount on Schedule Y, line 18.
For more information, see TIR 16-15.

Line 18h. Student Loan Repayment
Assistance Deduction

A deduction is available for employer-provided
student loan repayment assistance to the extent
not already excluded from federal gross income.
Employer-provided student loan repayment assis-
tance is the employer’s payment of an employ-
ee’s principal or interest on a qualified education
loan, as defined in IRC § 221. Employees enter
on line 18b the amount of such employer-pro-
vided student loan repayment assistance that ex-
ceeds $5,250.
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Schedule B

Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
X in the box to the left. Also, be sure to enclose
with Form 1-NR/PY.

Interest, Dividends and Certain

Capital Gains and Losses
You must file Massachusetts Schedule B if
you had:

D Dividend income;

D Any interest income other than from Massa-
chusetts banks taxed at 5.0%;

D Short-term capital gains or losses;
» Carryover short-term losses from prior years;

» Long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996
installment sales classified as capital gain income
for Massachusetts purposes;

D Gains or losses from the sale, exchange or in-
voluntary conversion of property used in a trade
or business;

» Netlong-term capital gains and losses; or
D Excess exemptions.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is
a collectible within the meaning of IRC § 408(m),
as amended and in effect for the taxable year,
including works of art, rugs, antiques, metals,
gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins,
and any other items treated as collectibles for fed-
eral tax purposes.

» You need not file Massachusetts Schedule B
if all interest income you had was from Massa-
chusetts banks (reportable in Form 1-NR/PY, line
7a), and you have no short-term capital gains or
losses, long-term gains on collectibles and pre-
1996 installment sales, gains or losses from the
sale, exchange or involuntary conversion of prop-
erty used in a trade or business, allowable de-
ductions from your trade or business, carryover
short-term losses from prior years, net long-term
capital gains or losses, or excess exemptions.

» You must complete Massachusetts Schedule B
if your interest or dividend income includes: divi-
dends taxed directly to trusts or estates on a Mas-
sachusetts Fiduciary Return, Form 2; or distribu-
tions that are returns of capital.
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Part 1. Interest and Dividend
Income
Line 1. Total Interest Income

Enter your total interest income from your U.S.
Form 1040, lines 2a and 2b.

Line 2. Total Ordinary Dividends

Enter your total ordinary dividends from your
U.S Schedule B, Part 11, line 6. If you did not file
U.S. Schedule B, enter the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, line 3b.

Line 3. Other Interest and Dividends

Enter the following amounts and their sources
(enclose additional statement if more space is
necessary):

D Interest from obligations of other states and
their political subdivisions (including your share,
if any, from a partnership, an S corporation and
a grantor-type trust or non-Massachusetts trust).
Do notinclude exempt interest already included in
Schedule B, line 1;

D Taxable distributions from Massachusetts S
corporations not reported in Schedule B, line 2.
Distributions in excess of the Massachusetts ac-
cumulated adjustments account are dividends to
the extent of the corporation’s Massachusetts ac-
cumulated earnings and profits. For more infor-
mation, see 830 CMR 62.17A.1;

D Interest and dividends from a partnership,
S corporation, grantor-type trust, or non-Mas-
sachusetts estate or trust from Massachusetts
Schedule E. Generally, portfolio interest and div-
idend income from partnerships and S corpora-
tions should already be included in Schedule B,
line 1 and line 2 amounts;

D Interest from a trade or business that is re-
ported on Massachusetts Schedule C; or

D Interest or dividends from a mutual fund, if
such distributions are not included in Schedule B,
line 1 or line 2. See Schedule B, line 6a.

Lines 5 and 6

Enter only amounts related to income that you
have already included in lines 1, 2, and 3.

Line 5. Total Interest from Massachusetts
Banks

Enter the total interest included in Form 1-NR/PY,
line 7a (prior to the exemption amount being sub-
tracted) only if it has been included in lines 1 or 3
of this schedule.

Line 6a. Other Interest and Dividends to Be
Excluded

Enter the total interest and dividends from the fol-
lowing sources (enclose an additional statement,
if necessary) only if it has been included in lines 1
or 3 of this schedule:

D Interest on U.S. debt obligations. Enter inter-
est received on treasury bills, notes and bonds,
savings bonds or other obligations of the United
States, including its territories or dependencies.
Such interest is tax-exempt in Massachusetts.
For further information concerning exempt obli-
gations of the United States, see TIR 89-8;

D Interestand dividends taxed directly to Massa-
chusetts estates and trusts. Enter the interest and
dividends that are taxed directly to a Massachu-
setts estate or trust (reportable on a Massachu-
setts Fiduciary Return, Form 2);

D Any distribution which is a return of capital in-
cluded in total gross dividends, line 2;

D Any interest or dividends from obligations of
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or its polit-
ical subdivisions held by you;

D Any exempt portion of interest or dividends
from a mutual fund included in lines 1, 2 or 3 of
this schedule. Enter only the exempt portion of in-
terest or dividends derived from obligations of the
U.S. government or the Commonwealth of Massa-
chusetts or its political subdivisions; or

D Any interest on pre-retirement distributions
from state and municipal contributory pension
plans.

Do not enter in line 6a either of the following:

» Dividends from the earnings and profits accu-
mulated prior to January 1, 1971, by any corpo-
rate trust which was not taxed directly by Massa-
chusetts in prior years, even though such an entity
is taxed directly now (obtain from the entity the
taxable status of dividends paid to you); or

» Dividends from any corporate trust which is
not taxed directly by Massachusetts. Such enti-
ties include: those not doing business in Massa-
chusetts; regulated investment companies or real
estate investment trusts (as defined under IRC §§
851 and 856 respectively); or holding companies
(as defined in MGL ch 62, § 8).

Line 6h. Part-Year/Nonresidents only.
Part-year residents. Any amounts included in
lines 1, 2 or 3 which you received while domiciled
in another state or country from sources other
than Massachusetts; or
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Nonresidents. Any amounts included in lines 1, 2
and 3 which you received from sources other than
Massachusetts.

Line 8. Allowable Deductions from Your
Trade or Business

Enter the appropriate amount from Massachu-
setts Schedule C-2 if you qualify for an excess
trade or business deduction. Generally, taxpay-
ers may not use excess 9.0% deductions to offset
other income. However, where the taxpayer files
a Massachusetts Schedule G or Schedule E, Mas-
sachusetts law allows such offsets if the follow-
ing requirements are met: the excess 5.0% deduc-
tions must be adjusted gross income deductions
allowed under MGL ch 62, § 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the ac-
tive conduct of a trade or business or any other in-
come allowed under IRC, § 469(d)(1)(B) to offset
losses from passive activities.

Line 9. Subtotal Interest and Dividend
Income
Subtract line 8 from line 7.

Part 2. Short-Term Capital Gains
and Losses and Long-Term Gains
on Collectibles and Pre-1996

Instaliment Sales

If you do not have short-term capital gains or
losses, long-term capital gains on collectibles,
pre-1996 installment sales, short-term capital
gains or losses from the sale, exchange or invol-
untary conversion of property used in a trade or
business, or Massachusetts short-term losses
from prior year carryover, omit Part 2, lines 10-28
and go to Part 3, line 29.

If there are any differences between U.S. and Mas-
sachusetts amounts reported in lines 10, 11, 12,
16 and 17, be sure to enter the Massachusetts
amount. Possible differences include:

» Short-term capital gains taxed directly to Mas-
sachusetts estates and trusts (reportable on a
Massachusetts Fiduciary Return, Form 2);

» Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation,
the federal basis must be modified according to
Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR
62.17A.1; and

» Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more
information regarding basis adjustment rules,
see TIR 88-7.
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Part-Year/Nonresident filers do not exclude your
transactions not associated with a trade or busi-
ness in Massachusetts from lines 10,12,16 and 17.

See the lines 13b and 19b for these adjustments.

Line 10. Massachusetts Short-Term
Capital Gains

Enter the gross short-term capital gains from U.S.
Schedule D, lines 1 through 5, column h.

Note: If there are any differences between U.S. and
Massachusetts complete the line 10 worksheet.

Schedule B, Line 10 Worksheet

1. Gross short-term capital gains from U.S.
Schedule D, lines 1 through
5 columnh.............

2. U.S. and Massachusetts
differences .............

3. Combine lines 1and 2 . .

4. Capital loss transactions now included
in line 3. Enter here and on line 6 of the
Schedule B, Line 16.
Worksheet. . ............

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3

6. Capital gain transactions from line 4 of the
Schedule B, Line 16
Worksheet. . ............

7. Total Massachusetts short-term
capital gains. Add lines 5 and 6. Enter here
and on Schedule B,
linel0.................

Line 11. Long-Term Capital Gains on
Collectibles and Pre-1996 Installment
Sales

Enter the amount of long-term capital gains on
collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales classi-
fied as capital gain income for Massachusetts pur-
poses, from Massachusetts Schedule D, line 12.

Line 12. Gain on Sale of Business Property
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of gain
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion
of property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less.

Schedule B, Line 12 Worksheet.

1. Gross gain on sale of business property
held for one year or less
from U.S. Form 4797 . . . ..

2. U.S. and Massachusetts
differences .............

3. Combine lines 1and 2 . .

4. Loss transactions now included in
line 3. Enter here and in line 6 of
the Schedule B, Line 17
Worksheet. . ............

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3

6. Gain transaction from line 4
of the Schedule B, Line 17
Worksheet. . ............

7. Total Massachusetts gain on the sale,
exchange or involuntary conversion of
property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less. Add lines 5 and 6. Enter
here and on Schedule B,
line12.................

Line 13h. Part-Year/Nonresidents only.
Part-year residents, enter the amount of gain
transactions included in lines 10 and 12 con-
ducted while you were domiciled in another state
or country that were not associated with a trade
or business in Massachusetts;

Nonresidents, enter the amount of gain transac-
tions included in lines 10 and 12 that were not
associated with a trade or business in Massachu-
setts.

Line 14. Allowahle Deductions from Your
Trade or Business

Enter the appropriate amount from Massachu-
setts Schedule C-2 if you qualify for an excess
trade or business deduction. Generally, taxpay-
ers may not use excess 5.0% deductions to offset
other income. However, where the taxpayer files
a Massachusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Mas-
sachusetts law allows such offsets if the follow-
ing requirements are met: the excess 5.0% deduc-
tions must be adjusted gross income deductions
allowed under MGL Ch 62, § 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the ac-
tive conduct of a trade or business or any other in-
come allowed under IRC, § 469(d)(1)(B) to offset
losses from passive activities.

Line 16. Short-Term Capital Losses

Enter the gross short-term capital losses included
in U.S. Schedule D, lines 1 through 5, column h. If
there are any differences between U.S. and Mas-
sachusetts complete the line 16 worksheet.
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Schedule B, Line 16 Worksheet

1. Gross short-term capital losses from U.S.
Schedule D, lines 1 through
5 columnh.............

2. U.S. and Massachusetts
differences .............

3. Combine lines 1and 2 . .

4. Capital gain transaction now included
in line 3. Enter here and on line 6 of
the Schedule B, Line 10
Worksheet. . ............

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3

6. Capital loss transactions from line 4
of the Schedule B, Line 10
Worksheet. . ............

7. Total Massachusetts Short-term
Capital losses. Add lines 5 and 6. Enter here
and on Schedule B,

Line 17. Loss on Sale of Business Property
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of loss
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion
of property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less. If there are any differences
between U.S. and Massachusetts complete the
line 17 worksheet.

Schedule B, Line 17 Worksheet

1. Gross loss on sale of business property
held for one year or less
from U.S. Form 4797 . . ...

2. U.S. and Massachusetts
differences .............

3. Combine lines 1and 2 . .

4. Gain transactions now included in
line 3. Enter here and in line 6 of
the Schedule B, Line 12
Worksheet. . ............

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3

6. Loss transactions from line 4 of
the Schedule B, Line 12
Worksheet. . ............
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7. Total Massachusetts losses on the sale,
exchange or involuntary conversion of
property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less. Add lines 5 and 6. Enter
here and on Schedule B,
linet7.................

Line 18. Prior Years Short-Term Unused
Losses.

Enter here the amount from your 2022
Massachusetts Schedule B, line 40.

Line 19h. Part-Year/Nonresidents only.

D Part-year residents, enter the amount of loss
transactions included in lines 16 and 17 con-
ducted while you were domiciled in another state
or country that were not associated with a trade
or business in Massachusetts;

D Nonresidents, enter the amount of loss trans-
actions included in lines 16 and 17 that were
not associated with a trade or business in Mas-
sachusetts.

Line 20. Short-term losses applied
against interest and dividends

If you have a loss on line 19¢ you can apply up
to $2,000 of it against interest and dividends re-
ported in line 9. If line 19c is zero or greater, go to
line 24. Ifline 19 cis zero or less, enter the smaller
of line 9 or line 19¢ on line 20 (considered as a
positive amount). Not more than $2,000.

Line 21. Available Short-Term Losses
Combine lines 19¢ and 20. This amount should
be 0 or less. If line 21 is less than 0, go to line
22. If line 21 is 0, omit lines 22 through 28 and
go to Part 3.

If Schedule B, line 21 is a loss and Schedule D, line
13 is a loss, omit line 22, enter the amount from
line 21 inline 23 and line 40, omit lines 24 through
28 and complete Part 3.

Line 22. Short-Term Losses Applied
Against Long-Term Gains

If Schedule B, line 21 is a loss and Schedule D, line
13 is greater than 0, enter the smaller of Schedule
B, line 21 (considered as a positive amount) or
Schedule D, line 13 in Schedule B, line 22 and in
Schedule D, line 14.

Line 24. Short-Term Gains and Long-Term
Gains on Collectibles

Enter the amount from Schedule B, line 19¢c. Not
less than 0. If Schedule D, line 13 is 0 or greater,
omit line 25 and enter the amount from line 24
in line 26. If Schedule D, line 13 is a loss, go to
Schedule B, line 25.

Line 25. Long-Term Losses Applied
Against Short-Term Gains

If Schedule B, line 24 is greater than 0, and Sched-
ule D, line 13 is a loss, enter the smaller of Sched-
ule B, line 24 or Schedule D, line 13 (considered
as a positive amount) in Schedule B, line 25 and
in Schedule D, line 14.

Line 27. Long-Term Gains Deduction

Schedule B, Line 27 Worksheet. Long-Term
Gains Deduction

Complete only if line 26 is greater than 0 and
there is an entry in line 11.

1. Enter amount from
Schedule B, line 11........

2. Enter the total of Schedule
B, lines 10 and 12, minus
line13b................

3. Enter the total losses of
Schedule B, lines 16, 17,
18, and 25, then exclude
line19b................

4. If line 3, considered as a positive amount,
is less than line 2, enter 0. If line 3,
considered as a positive amount, is greater
than line 2, combine lines

5. Combine lines 1and 4 . ..

6. Multiply line 5 by .5 (50%)
7. Enter the amount from
Schedule B, line 26.. . . . ...

8. Enter the smaller of line 6 or
line 7 here and on Schedule
B, line 27. Not less than 0. .

D Ifthere are no losses reported on lines 19¢ plus
line 15 and 25, enter 50% of line 11.

D If the losses reported on lines 19¢ plus line 15
and 25 do not exceed the total amount of gains on
line 13¢ minus line 11, enter 50% of line 11.

D If the losses reported on lines 19¢ plus line 15
and 25 exceed the total amount of gains on line
13c minus line 11 enter 50% of line 11 minus 50%
of the excess loss (total of lines 19¢ plus line 15
and 25 minus the total of Line 13c minus line 11).

Example
D Jack has along-term capital gain on collectibles
of $1,000 entered in line 11 and line 15. He does
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not have any other interest income (other than in-
terest from Massachusetts banks) and dividend
income. Jack also has a short-term capital loss
of $100 entered in line 16 and a prior-year short-
term unused loss of $200 entered in line 18. Jack
enters $350 in line 27: $500 (50% of $1,000) -
$150 (50% of $300) = $350.

Part 3. Adjusted Gross Interest,
Dividends Short-Term Capital
Gains and Long-Term Gains on
Collectibles

Line 31. Subtotal Interest and Dividends

If Schedule D, line 15 is 0 or greater, omit Sched-
ule B, line 32 and enter the amount from Schedule
B, line 31 in Schedule B, line 33. If Schedule D, line
15is aloss, go to Schedule B, line 32.

Line 32. Long-Term Losses Applied
Against Interest and Dividends

If Schedule B, line 31 is a positive amount and
Schedule D, line 15 is a loss, complete the Long-
Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and
Dividends Worksheet for Schedule B, Line 32
and Schedule D, Line 16. When completing the
worksheet, be sure to enter all losses as a pos-
itive amount.

Schedule B, Line 32 and Schedule D, Line
16 Worksheet. Long-Term Capital Losses
Applied Against Interest and Dividends

Complete only if Schedule B, line 31 is a
positive amount and Schedule D, line 15 is
aloss. Enter all losses as positive amounts.

1. Enter amount from
Schedule B, line29. . . ....

2. Enter the lesser of line 1
or$2000 ..............

3. Enter the amount from
Schedule B, line 30. . . . ...

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If 0 or less
omit the remainder of worksheet. Other-
wise, complete lines 5

5. Enter any loss from Schedule D, line 15
as a positive amount.
Otherwise, enter 0. . . . . ...

6. If line 4 is less than or equal to line 5, enter
line 4 here and in Schedule B, line 32 and in
Schedule D, line 16. If line 4 is larger than
line 5, enter line 5 here and in Schedule B,
line 32 and in Schedule

D linet6...............
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Line 36. Excess Exemptions

Enterthe amount fromline 5 of the Schedule B, Line
36 and Schedule D, Line 20 Worksheet on page 16
(only if single, head of household or married filing
ajoint return and Form 1-NR/PY, line 22 is greater
than Form 1-NR/PY, line 21).

Line 39. Total Taxable 8.5% and 12%
Capital Gains

Schedule B, Line 39 Worksheet
Complete only if reporting an amount in
Schedule B, Part 2, line 11. If no entry in
Schedule B, Part 2, line 11, omit this
worksheet and report the amount from
Schedule B, line 39 on Form 1-NR/PY, line
27a, 8.5% Income.

1. Total taxable gains from
Schedule B, line 39. .. .....

2. Long-term gains deductions from
Schedule B, line 27 less the amount on
Schedule B, line 36.

Not less than 0. .........

3. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2.
Enter result here and on Form
1-NR/PY, line 27b,

12% Income . ...........

4. Subtract line 3 from line 1. Enter result
here and on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 27a, 8.5% Income . . . ..

Schedule D

Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
X in the box to the left. Also, be sure to enclose
with Form 1-NR/PY.

Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses
Excluding Collectibles

You must complete Massachusetts Schedule D
if you had long-term gains or losses from the
sale or exchange of capital assets or from similar
transactions which are granted capital gain or loss
treatment on your U.S. return, or if you had capital
gain distributions. If you did not file U.S. Schedule
D but are reporting capital gain distributions on
U.S. Form 1040, line 7, you must complete Mas-
sachusetts Schedule D (see line 6 instructions).
Include gains from all property, wherever located.
Long-term capital gains are gains on the sale or
exchange of capital assets that have been held for
more than one year on the date of the sale or ex-
change. Long-term capital losses are losses on
the sale or exchange of capital assets that have
been held for more than one year on the date of
the sale or exchange.

The law defines capital gain income as gain from
the sale or exchange of a capital asset. The defini-
tion of capital asset includes:

D An asset which is a capital asset under IRC
§1221; or

D Property that is used in a trade or business
within the meaning of IRC § 1231(b) without
regard to the holding period as defined in said
§1231(b).

For a detailed explanation of the law, see DOR’s
Regulation on Capital Gains and Losses at 830
CMR 62.4.1.

Differences

Significant differences between the U.S. and Mas-
sachusetts capital gain provisions are:

d IRC § 1244 losses reported as ordinary losses
on your U.S. return must be reported on Massa-
chusetts Schedule D;

» If you made a federal election under § 311 of
the Tax Relief Act of 1997 to recognize gain on
the deemed sale of a capital asset held on Janu-
ary 1, 2001, Massachusetts does not follow the
federal rules at § 311 for determining the basis
of the asset. See TIR 02-3. If you sold a capital
asset in 2023 for which you made a federal § 311
election, the Massachusetts initial basis will not be
the federal basis. The Massachusetts initial basis
will be determined as of the date the asset was
first acquired;

» Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the
federal basis must be modified according to 830
CMR 62.17A.1; and

» Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more
information regarding basis adjustment rules,
see TIR 88-7.

Net ordinary losses that are itemized deductions
on U.S. Schedule A are not allowable.

Instaliment Sales

If a sale was treated as an installment sale for U.S.
income tax purposes, it may be treated the same
way on your Massachusetts income tax return.
Gains from pre-1996 installment sales are clas-
sified as either capital gains or ordinary income
under the Massachusetts law in effect on the date
the sale or exchange took place.

Gains from pre-1996 installment sales that are
classified as capital gains should be reported as
12% income on Massachusetts Schedule B. If the
asset was held for more than one year when it
was sold, the gain will be eligible for a 50% long-
term deduction. Gains from pre-1996 installment
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sales that are classified as capital gains included
on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 4 should be
reported on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 12
(Long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996
installment sales). The amount of such gain is
then reported on Massachusetts Schedule B, Part
2, line 11.

Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified
as ordinary income and that are included on Mas-
sachusetts Schedule D, line 4 should be reported
on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 10 (Differ-
ences). The amount of such gain classified as or-
dinary income should then be reported on Form
1-NR/PY, line 11 (Other income) and included on
Schedule X, line 4 and identified as 2023 gain
from pre-1996 installment sale.

Note: If you are reporting an installment sale oc-
curring on or after January 1, 2003, report those
gains on Schedule D. If you are reporting capital
gains on installment sales that occurred during
January 1, 1996 through December 31, 2002, do
not file Schedule D. Instead, you must file Sched-
ule D-IS, Installment Sales. Schedule D-IS can be
obtained on DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor.

Effective for sales on or after January 1, 2005, if
you wish to report a sale on your Massachusetts
return as an installment sale and the Massachu-
setts gain is $1 million or greater, you must apply
in writing to DOR’s Installment Sales Unit. See TIR
04-28. The Commissioner of Revenue must ap-
prove your application to report the sale on the
installment basis in Massachusetts before you
file your return, and appropriate security must
be posted. An explanatory statement must be en-
closed with each return for the life of the install-
ment sale. For further information contact the In-
stallment Sales Unit at (617) 887-6950.

Exclusion of Gains from the Sale of
Qualified Small Business (QSB) Stock or
Reduced Capital Gains Tax Rate for Gains
from the Sale of Stock in Certain
Massachusetts-Based Start-Up
Corporations

Massachusetts excludes from gross income
100% of gain on sales or exchanges of qualified
small business (QSB) stock held for more than
5 years to the same extent as allowed under IRC
§ 1202, as amended and in effect on January 1,
2022, so long as the sale or exchange occurred
on or after January 1, 2022. For both federal and
Massachusetts purposes, this exclusion applies
to gain on QSB stock acquired on or after Septem-
ber 27,2010. See TIR 23-5 for more information.

In addition, gains derived from the sale of invest-
ments in small businesses which do not qualify
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for the above exclusion may be eligible for a re-
duced tax rate of 3%. In order to qualify for the 3%
rate, investments must have been made within
five years of the corporation’s date of incorpora-
tion and must be in stock that generally satisfies
the definition of QSB stock under IRC § 1202 (c),
other than the requirement that the stock be stock
of a C corporation. In addition, the stock must be
held for three years or more and the investments
must be in a corporation which:

d Is domiciled in Massachusetts;
D Isincorporated on or after January 1, 2011;

D Has less than $50 million in assets at the time
of investment; and

» Complies with applicable portions of the active
business requirements of § 1202 of the IRC, i.e.,
§§ 1202 (e)(1), (e)(2), (€)(5), and (e)(6).

Note: If you are reporting a sale of stock in a
certain Massachusetts-based start-up corpora-
tion(s), do not file Schedule D. Instead, you must
report that gain(s) on Schedule D-IS, Instaliment
Sales or qualified small business stock gains.
Schedule D-IS can be obtained on DOR’s website
at mass.gov/dor.

Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses, Excluding Collectibles

Line 1. Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses

Enter the gain or loss from U.S. Schedule D, lines
8a and 8b, column h.

Line 2. Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses

Enter the gain or loss from U.S. Schedule D, line
9, column h.

Line 3. Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses

Enter the gain or loss from U.S. Schedule D, line
10, column h.

Line 4. Gain from Sales of Business
Property and Other Long-Term Gains and
Losses

Enter the gain or loss from U.S. Schedule D, line
11, column h.

Line 5. Net Long-Term Gain or Loss from
Partnerships, S Gorporations, Estates and
Trusts

Enter the gain or loss from U.S. Schedule D, line
12, column h.

Line 6. Capital Gain Distributions
If you did not file U.S. Schedule D, enter the cap-
ital gain distributions reported to you by a mu-

tual fund or real estate investment trust from U.S.
Form 1040, line 7.

If you did file a U.S. Schedule D, enter the cap-
ital gain distributions reported to you by a mu-
tual fund or real estate investment trust from U.S.
Schedule D, line 13, column h.

Line 7. Massachusetts Long-Term Capital
Gains and Losses from U.S. Form 4797,
Partll

Enter amounts from U.S. Form 4797, Part Il
treated as capital gains or losses for Massachu-
setts purposes (not included in lines 1 through
6). These include ordinary gains from the sale of
1231 property, recapture amounts under §§ 1245,
1250 and 1255, § 1244 losses and the loss on
the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion of
property used in a trade or business not held for
one year or less.

Line 8. Massachusetts Carryover Losses
from Previous Years

If you have a carryover loss from a prior year,
enter in line 8 the total amount of Massachusetts
carryover losses from your 2022 Massachusetts
Schedule D, line 23.

Line 10a. Massachusetts Adjustments
Enter any differences between the gains or losses
reportable for Massachusetts tax purposes and
the U.S. gains or losses reported in Massa-
chusetts Schedule D, lines 1 through 8. Differ-
ences include:

D Pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordi-
nary income for Massachusetts purposes;

D Long-term capital gains or losses from trans-
actions reported as installment sales for U.S. in-
come tax purposes but not for Massachusetts
(Note: Income and gain transactions should be
reported as positive and loss transactions should
be reported as negative in line 10a.); and

D Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws (Note: Mas-
sachusetts basis adjustment increases should be
reported as negative and Massachusetts basis ad-
justment decreases should be reported as positive
in line 10a).

Line 10h. Part-year/nonresident only.
Enter non-Massachusetts source adjustments.

Nonresidents. Enter in line 10b any long-term
capital gains and losses included on Schedule D,
lines 1 through 8 which are not Massachusetts
source income and thus not taxable to you as a
nonresident. A nonresident’s capital gains and
losses are subject to tax if the gain or loss resulted
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from the sale or exchange of property connected
with a Massachusetts trade or business or from
the ownership of real or tangible personal prop-
erty located in Massachusetts.

Part-year residents. Enter in line 10b any long-
term capital gains or losses included on Schedule
D, lines 1 through 8 that occurred while you were
domiciled in another state or country during the
taxable year.

Line 11. Massachusetts Gapital Gains and
Losses

Exclude/subtract line 10c from line 9 and enter the
resultin line 11.

D Ifline 9is positive and line 10c is positive, sub-
tract line 10c from line 9.

D If line 9 is positive and line 10c is negative, add
line 10c as a positive value to line 9

D If line 9 is negative and line 10c is negative,
subtract line 10c from line 9.

D If line 9 is negative and line 10c is positive, add
line 10c as a negative value to line 9.

Line 12. Long-Term Gains on Collectibles
and Pre-1996 Installment Sales

Enter in line 12 the amount of long-term gains on
collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales clas-
sified as capital gain income for Massachusetts
purposes that are included in line 11.

Long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996 in-
stallment sales classified as capital gain income
for Massachusetts purposes are taxed at the 12%
rate and should be entered on Schedule B, line 11.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is
a collectible within the meaning of IRC § 408(m),
as amended and in effect for the taxable year,
including works of art, rugs, antiques, metals,
gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins,
and any other items treated as collectibles for fed-
eral tax purposes.

Line 13. Subtotal
Subtract line 12 from line 11 and enter the result
inline 13.

If Schedule D, line 13 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 21 is less than 0, omit Schedule D, lines 14
through 16, enter the amount from Schedule D,
line 13 in Schedule D, line 17, omit Schedule D,
lines 18 through 22 and enter the amount from
Schedule D, line 17 in Schedule D, line 23, and
enter 0 on Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

If Schedule D, line 13 is a gain and Schedule B,
line 21 is a loss, go to Schedule D, line 14.

If Schedule D, line 13 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is 0 or greater, go to Schedule D, line 14.

35

If Schedule D, line 13 is a gain, and Schedule B,
line 24 is 0 or greater, omit Schedule D, lines 14
through 16 and enter the amount from Schedule
D, line 13 in Schedule D, line 17.

Line 14. Capital Losses Applied Against
Capital Gains

If Schedule D, line 13 is a positive amount and
Schedule B, line 21 is a loss, enter the smaller of
Schedule D, line 13 or Schedule B, line 21 (con-
sidered as a positive amount) in Schedule D, line
14 and in Schedule B, line 22.

If Schedule D, line 13 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is a positive amount, enter the smaller
of Schedule D, line 13 (considered as a positive
amount) or Schedule B, line 24 in Schedule D, line
14 and in Schedule B, line 25.

Line 15. Subtotal

If line 13 is greater than 0, subtract line 14 from
line 13. If line 13 is less than 0, combine lines
13 and 14.

If Schedule D, line 15 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is 0 or greater and Schedule B, line 31 is a
positive amount, go to Schedule D, line 16.

If Schedule D, line 15 is a loss, and Schedule B,
line 21is 0 or less, omit Schedule D, line 16, enter
the amount from Schedule D, line 15 in Schedule
D, line 17, omit Schedule D, lines 18 through 22
and enter the amount from Schedule D, line 17 in
Schedule D, line 23, and enter 0 on Form 1-NR/
PY, line 28.

Line 16. Long-Term Capital Losses Applied
Against Interest and Dividends

If Schedule D, line 15 is a loss, and Schedule B,
line 24 is 0 or greater and Schedule B, line 31 is
a positive amount, complete the Long-Term Capi-
tal Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends
Worksheet for Schedule B, Line 32 and Schedule
D, Line 16 on page 31.

Line 17. Subtotal

Combine line 15 and line 16. If Schedule D, ling 17
is 0, enter 0 in lines 18 through 21 and omit lines
22 and 23. If Schedule D, line 17 is a loss, omit
lines 18 through 22 and enter the amount from
line 17 in line 23.

Line 18. Allowahle Deductions From Your
Trade or Business

Enter the appropriate amount from Massachu-
setts Schedule C-2 if you qualify for an excess
trade or business deduction. Generally, taxpay-
ers may not use excess 5.0% deductions to offset
other income. However, where the taxpayer files
a Massachusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Mas-
sachusetts law allows such offsets if the follow-

ing requirements are met: the excess 5.0% deduc-
tions must be adjusted gross income deductions
allowed under MGL ch 62, § 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the ac-
tive conduct of a trade or business or any other in-
come allowed under IRC, § 469(d)(1)(B) to offset
losses from passive activities.

Line 20. Excess Exemptions

Enter in line 20 the amount from line 8 of the
Schedule B, Line 36 and Schedule D, Line 20
Worksheet on page 16 (only if single, head of
household or married filing joint return).

Line 22. Tax On Long-Term Capital Gains
Multiply line 21 by 0.05 and enter the result here
and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate,
multiply line 21 by 0.0585 and enter the result
here and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 28.

Schedule C

Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
X in the box to the left. Also, be sure to enclose
with Form 1-NR/PY.

Substituting U.S. Schedule C
U.S. Schedule C is not allowed as a substitute for
Massachusetts Schedule C.

Profit or Loss from Business or Profession
Massachusetts Schedule C is provided to report
income and deductions from each business or
profession operated as a sole proprietorship.

If your business deductions, excluding the Aban-
doned Building Renovation Deduction, exceed
Schedule C income and any other income taxable
at the 5.0% rate, such excess deductions may be
subtracted from the other income that is effec-
tively connected with the active conduct of your
trade or business and any other income allowed
under IRC § 469(d)(1)(B) to offset losses from
passive activities. To compute the excess trade or
business deductions use Massachusetts Sched-
ule C-2. This form is available by visiting mass.
gov/dor, or you may have one mailed to you by
calling (617) 887-6367.

Registration Information

In the space provided, describe the business or
professional activity that provided your principal
source of income reported on line 1. If you owned
more than one business, you must complete a
separate Schedule C for each business. Give the
general field or activity and the type of product
or service.
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Employer Identification Number

You need an Employer Identification number (EIN)
only if you had a Keogh plan, were required to file
an employment, excise, estate, trust, or alcohol,
tobacco and firearms tax return or employ con-
tract labor. If you do not have an EIN, leave the line
blank. Do not enter your Social Security number.

Accounting Method

If you filed a return on the accrual basis last year,
your return for this year must be on the same
basis. If a taxpayer requesting permission to
change an accounting method for Massachusetts
purposes is eligible for an automatic change of
accounting method federally, and has correctly
followed the most recently issued federal revenue
procedure for requesting an automatic change,
then the taxpayer should file his/her annual return
using the new method and write at the top, “Au-
tomatic Change of Accounting Method — filed in
compliance with DD 02-13.” The taxpayer should
enclose a copy of U.S. Form 3115, together with
any required statements. See DD 02-13 for fur-
ther information. See also, TIR 19-6: Impact of
the Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on a Taxpay-
er's Overall Method of Accounting for Massachu-
setts Purposes.

Material Participation

Indicate if you materially participated in the oper-
ation of this business during 2023. If you did not
materially participate and have a loss from this
business, see line 33 for further instructions.

Started or Acquired this Business

Indicate if you started or acquired this business
in 2023. Also, fill in the oval if you are reopening
or restarting this business after temporarily clos-
ing it, and you did not file a 2022 Schedule C for
this business.

Suspended Passive-Activity Loss

Indicate if you have any suspended passive-activ-
ity losses that relate to the schedule being com-
pleted. See TIR 89-2 for further information and
line 36 instructions.

Small Business Energy Exemption

If you are claiming the small business energy ex-
emption from the sales tax on purchases of tax-
able energy or heating fuel during 2023, you must
have five or fewer employees. You must enter the
number of your employees in the space provided.

Statutory Employee

Ifyou received a Form W-2 and the “Statutory em-
ployee” box in item 13 of that form was checked,
report your income and expenses related to that
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income on Schedule C. Enter your statutory em-
ployee income from box 1 of Form W-2 on line 1a
of Schedule C and fill in the oval. Statutory em-
ployees include full-time life insurance agents,
certain agent or commission drivers and travel-
ing salespersons and certain homeworkers. If you
had both self-employment income and statutory
employee income, do not combine these amounts
on asingle Schedule C. In this case, you must file
separate Schedule Cs.

Interest (other than from Massachusetts
banks) and Dividend Income

If you have interest (other than from Massachu-
setts banks) and dividend income reported on
U.S. Schedule C, lines 1 and/or 6, fill in the oval
and enter that amount in the space provided and
in Massachusetts Schedule B, line 3. Do not in-
clude such amounts on Massachusetts Schedule
C, lines 1 and/or 4. If you are not required to file
Schedule B (see Schedule B instructions), enter
this income on Form 1-NR/PY, line 24. Exam-
ples of interest (other than from Massachusetts
banks) and dividend income are interest received
onloans, notes receivable or charge accounts that
you accept in the ordinary course of business,
and dividends on stocks received in payment for
goods and services. Capital gains from the sale
or exchange of assets used in your business are
not reported on Schedule C. Use U.S. Form 4797
and report the amount in Form 1-NR/PY, Sched-
ule B and/or Schedule D. You must also exclude
from Schedule G any income and expenses that
pertain to activities for yourself as distinguished
from those performed for your customers. Such
income must be reported by class of income in
Schedules B and D. Personal expenses are not
deductible.

Line 1a. Gross Receipts or Sales

In the boxes provided, enter gross receipts or
sales from your business. Be sure to include on
this line amounts you received in your trade or
business as shown on Form 1099-MISC, Miscel-
laneous Income. If the nature of your business is
such that you have gross or other income that is
interest (other than from Massachusetts banks)
and dividend income, exclude this income from
lines 1 and 4 on Massachusetts Schedule C and
include it in the space provided and in Schedule
B, line 3.

Note: To determine if you need to file Schedule B,
refer to the Schedule B instructions in this booklet.

Line 4. Other Income

If you received bartering income, you must report
the fair market value of goods or services received
in payment for your goods and services in line 4.
Do not include interest income (other than from
Massachusetts banks) and dividends here.

Line 7. Bad Debts From Sales or Services
Include debts and partial debts from sales or ser-
vices that were included in income and are defi-
nitely known to be worthless. If you later collect a
debt that you deducted as a bad debt, include it as
income in the year collected.

Note: Cash method taxpayers cannot take a bad
debt deduction unless the amount was previously
included in income.

Line 9. Commissions, Fees and Contract
Lahor

Line 9a. Commissions and Fees

Enter the total commissions and fees for the tax
year. Do not include commissions or fees that are
capitalized or deducted elsewhere on your return.

Line 9b. Contract Labor

Enter the total cost of contract labor for the tax
year. Contract labor includes payments to persons
you do not treat as employees (for example, inde-
pendent contractors) for services performed for
your trade or business. Do not include contract
labor deducted elsewhere on your return, such
as contract labor included on line 15, 19, 25, or
Schedule C-1, line 3. Also, do not include salaries
and wages paid to your employees; instead, see
Line 25, later.

Line 11. Depreciation and § 179 Deduction
Massachusetts adopts the current federal § 179
rules for expensing certain depreciable assets.The
maximum § 179 expensing allowance is $1,160,000.

Line 17. Pension and Profit-Sharing Plans
Enter your deduction for contributions to a pen-
sion, profit-sharing or annuity plan, or plans for
the benefit of your employees. If the plan includes
you as a self-employed person, do not include
contributions made as an employer on your be-
half. See DD 08-3 for more information.

Line 22. Travel

Enter your expenses for lodging and transporta-
tion connected with overnight travel for business
while away from your tax home. Generally, your
tax home is your main place of business regard-
less of where you maintain your family home. You
cannot deduct expenses paid or incurred in con-
nection with employment away from home if that
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period of employment exceeds one year. Spouse’s
and other family members’ travel expenses are
generally disallowed as a business deduction.

Do not include expenses for meals and entertain-
ment on this line. Instead, see the instructions for
lines 23a and 23b.

Line 23. Deductible Meals

Your deductible business meal expenses are
a percentage of your actual business meal ex-
penses. Include meals while traveling away from
home for business. Instead of the actual cost of
your meals while traveling away from home, you
may use the standard meal allowance. Business
meal expenses are deductible only if they are:

» Directly related to or associated with the con-
duct of your trade or business;

» Not lavish or extravagant; and

» Incurred while you or your employee is present
at the meal.

Generally, you may deduct only 50% of your busi-
ness meal expenses, including meals incurred
while traveling away from home on business.

Business meals are 100% deductible if:

D The meals are food or beverages provided by
a restaurant and paid or incurred after December
31, 2020, and before January 1, 2023;

D The meals and incidentals are furnished or re-
imbursed to an employee if you properly treat the
expense as wages subject to withholding; and

D The meals and incidentals are provided to a
nonemployee to the extent the expenses are in-
cludible in the gross income of that person and
reported on Form 1099-NEC.

For individuals subject to the Department of
Transportation (DOT) hours of service limits, the
percentage is 80% of business meals consumed
during, orincident to, any period of duty for which
those limits are in effect.

Daycare providers can deduct 100% of the actual
cost of food consumed by daycare recipients.

Providers who qualify as family daycare provid-
ers may use the standard meal and snack rates to
compute their deductible meals and snacks.

Figure how much of your business meal expenses
are subject to limitations, add that amount to your
fully deductible meals amount and enter the result
in line 23 of Massachusetts Schedule C.
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Schedule C, Line 23 Worksheet

1. 100% deductible meals . .

2. 80% deductible meals . . .

3. 50% deductible meals . . .

4. Total deductible meals.
Add lines 1 through 3

Enter here and on

Schedule C, line23. . ......

Line 26. Other Expenses

Ordinary and Necessary Business Expense De-
ductions Available for Licensed Massachu-
setts Marijuana Businesses

Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 280E pro-
hibits marijuana businesses from deducting ex-
penses and claiming tax credits for federal tax
purposes. Effective for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2022, Massachusetts de-
coupled from the IRC section 280E deduction
disallowance with respect to licensed marijuana
businesses only. As a result, for Massachusetts
tax purposes, a licensed Massachusetts mari-
juana business can deduct ordinary and neces-
sary business expenses that would otherwise be
disallowed under IRC section 280E.

These ordinary and necessary trade or business
expenses should be reported on Schedule C, Line
26 “Other expenses.”

Line 30. Abandoned Building Renovation
Deduction

Massachusetts allows businesses to deduct 10%
of the costs incurred in renovating certain build-
ings located in an Economic Opportunity Area
(EOA). The buildings must be designated as aban-
doned by the Economic Assistance Coordinating
Council. The renovation deduction may be taken
in addition to any other deduction for which the
renovation costs may qualify. For more informa-
tion, contact the Massachusetts Office of Busi-
ness Development by calling (617) 973-8600.

In line 30 enter 10% of the costs of renovating a
qualifying abandoned building.

Line 32. Deductible Loss.

If line 31 is a loss do not enter the loss in line
32 until you have applied the at-risk rules and the
passive-activity loss rules. (For the at-risk rules,
see instructions for line 33. For the passive-ac-

tivity loss rules, see instructions for U.S. Form
8582.) The amount on line 32 will be your de-
ductible loss; note that it might be smaller than
the line 31 loss.

Line 33. If You Have a Loss

Fill in the oval in line 33a if all of your investment
is at risk. Enter your loss from line 31 on line 32.
If you did not fill in the oval to this question, com-
plete a pro forma copy of U.S. Form 8582 that
reflects only income being reported on your Mas-
sachusetts return. Enter in Massachusetts Sched-
ule G, line 32 your allowable loss calculated on
Form 8582.

Fill in the oval in line 33D if only some of your in-
vestment is at risk. To determine the amount of
your allowable loss, complete a pro forma copy
of U.S. Form 6198 that reflects only income being
reported on your Massachusetts return. Enter the
amount calculated on U.S. Form 6198 in line 32 If
you did not materially participate in the operation
of this business, your loss is further limited. Use
the amounts calculated on your pro forma U.S.
Form 6198 to complete a pro forma U.S. Form
8582. If your at-risk amount is 0 or less, enter 0
in line 32.

Line 35. Total Profit or Loss.
If line 31 is a profit enter the amount from line 34.
If line 31 is a loss enter the amount from line 32.

Line 36. Allowable Prior-Year Suspended
PAL

If your gross income is more than your expenses
and you do not have prior-year unallowed pas-
sive-activity losses, enter 0 in line 36.

If your gross income is more than your expenses
and you have prior-year unallowed passive-ac-
tivity losses, calculate the amount of Massachu-
setts prior-year unallowed passive-activity losses
claimable for this activity. Use a pro forma ver-
sion of U.S. Form 8582 to calculate the amount
of eligible Massachusetts prior-year unallowed
passive-activity losses (PAL). If you are claiming
prior-year PAL, enter the amount of those allow-
able prior-year suspended PAL you are applying
in line 36.
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Schedule BR/NR

Part 1. Income Adjustments

Column A

Enter the amount of income reported on your fed-
eral return as modified as if it were received by
a full-year Massachusetts resident. Refer to each
specific line instruction for Form 1-NR/PY to de-
termine income that should be added to or sub-
tracted from the federal total.

ColumnB
Enter the amount of income from column A that
you received while a Massachusetts resident.

Column G

Enter the amount of income from column A from
both Massachusetts and non-Massachusetts
sources that you received while a nonresident.

ColumnD

Enter the amount of income from column C from
Massachusetts sources that you received while a
nonresident.

See the instructions for a definition of Massachu-
setts source income.

Refer to each specific line instruction for
Form 1-NR/PY to determine the income from
Massachusetts sources received during your
nonresident period. Also see Form 1-NR/PY, line
13 instruction for those nonresidents eligible to
apportion income.

If you received income from a business/profes-
sion reported on a Schedule C, while a Massachu-
setts resident and from Massachusetts sources
while a nonresident, you must complete a sepa-
rate Massachusetts Schedule C for each period.

Column E

Add column B and column D. This is your total
income received while a Massachusetts resident
and received from Massachusetts sources while
anonresident. Enter the amount from column Ein
each applicable line on Form 1-NR/PY (see sepa-
rate instruction for Schedule D).

Subtract the total of column D from column C and
enter the result in line 14e of Form 1-NR/PY. This
is the additional income that you received from
non-Massachusetts sources that would have
been reported by you if you had been a Massa-
chusetts resident.

Add Form 1-NR/PY lines 5 through 12 and com-
plete Form 1-NR/PY line 14 before completing the
rest of this worksheet.
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Schedule D

Enter in column A the amount from Schedule D,
line 9 combined with Schedule D, line 10c. Enter
in column B the amount of income from column A
that you received while a Massachusetts resident.
Subtract Column B from Column A and enter the
result in column C. Enter the amount of income
from column C from Massachusetts sources that
you received while nonresident. Combined col-
umns B and D and enter the result in column E.
Complete Schedule D as otherwise instructed.

Part 2. Deduction and Exemption
Adjustments

Schedule Y, line 9 is adjusted both in sections A
and B. See Schedule R/NR to determine which
amounts are adjusted in section A and section B.

Section A

Lines 15a and 15h

The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, column D. The column
C total cannot exceed $2,000.

Schedule Y, line 2

The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B or
on a previous Massachusetts return. The amounts
reported in column B must be related to income
reported in Part 1, column D or on a previous
Massachusetts return.

Schedule Y, line 4

The amounts reported in column A must be related
toincome reported in Part 1, line 5, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, line 5, column D.

Schedule Y, line 5

The amounts reported in column A must be related
toincome reported in Part 1, line 5, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, line 5, column D.

Schedule Y, line 7

The amounts reported in column A must be related
toincome reported in Part 1, line 8, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, line 8, column D.

Schedule Y, line 9

The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, column D.

Note: If you are claiming a deduction for attorney’s
fees and court costs involving certain unlawful dis-
crimination suits (Schedule Y, line 9), the part-year
resident portion of the deduction must be directly
related to Massachusetts income as reported on
Form 1-NR/PY, line 12 and should be included on
section A of Schedule R/NR. For the nonresident
portion of the deduction, taxpayers must use sec-
tion B of Schedule R/NR to determine the amount
of the deduction, only if it is directly related to Mas-
sachusetts income as reported on Form 1-NR/PY,
line 12. If it is not directly related to income re-
ported on Form 1-NR/PY, you are not allowed any
deduction for the nonresident period.

Schedule Y, line 13

The amounts reported in column A must be related
toincome reported in Part 1, line 6, column B. The
amounts reported in column B must be related to
income reported in Part 1, line 6, column D.

Schedule Y, line 14

The amounts reported in columns A and B must
be related to income previously reported on Form
1 or Form 1-NR/PY.

Schedule Y, line 17

The amounts reported in column A must be re-
lated to income reported in Part 1, line 11, col-
umn B. The amounts reported in column B must
be related to income reported in Part 1, line
11, column D.

Column G
Add column A and column B and enter the total
in each applicable line of Form 1-NR/PY or
Schedule Y.

Line 22

In column A enter the amount from Form 1-NR/
PY, line 4g. Multiply the column A amount by
Form 1-NR/PY, line 3 and enter the result in col-
umn B. Subtract the amount in column B from
column A and enter the result in column C. Mul-
tiply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line
14g and enter the result in column D. Add column
B and column D and enter the result in column E
and in Form 1-NR/PY, line 22.

Schedule Y, line 3

In column A enter the total deductible alimony
paid to your former spouse as reported on U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 19a. In column B
enter the amount from column A paid while you
were a Massachusetts resident. Subtract the col-
umn B amount from the column A amount and
enter the result in column C. Multiply the column
C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the
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result in column D. Add column B and column D
and enter the total in column E and in Form 1-NR/
PY, Schedule Y, line 3.

Schedule Y, line 6

In column A enter the total medical savings ac-
count deduction included in U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule 1, line 23. Multiply the column A amount
by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3 and enter the result in col-
umn B. Subtract the column B amount from the
column A amount and enter the result in column
C. Multiply the column G amount by Form 1-NR/
PY, line 14g and enter the result in column D. Add
column B and D and enter the total in column E
and in Form 1-NR/PY, Schedule Y, line 6.

Schedule Y, line 8

In column A enter the total health savings account
deduction from U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line
13. Multiply the column A amount by Form 1-NR/
PY, line 3 and enter the result in column B. Sub-
tract the column B amount from the column A
amount and enter the result in column C. Multiply
the column C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g
and enter the result in column D. Add column B
and D and enter the total in column E and in Form
1-NR/PY, Schedule Y, line 8.

Schedule Y, line 9

In column A enter any amount included in U.S.
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 24 for attorney’s
fees and court costs involving certain unlawful
discrimination claims (part-year residents and
nonresidents, see note). Multiply the column A
amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3. Subtract the
column B amount from the column A amount and
enter the result in column C. Multiply the column
C amount by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the
result in column D. Add column B and column D
and enter the total in column E and in Form 1-NR/
PY, Schedule Y, line 9.

Note: If you are claiming a deduction for attor-
ney’s fees and court costs involving certain un-
lawful discrimination suits (Schedule Y, line 9),
the part-year resident portion of the deduction
must be directly related to Massachusetts in-
come as reported on Form 1-NR/PY, line 12 and
should be included on section A of Schedule R/
NR. For the nonresident portion of the deduction,
taxpayers must use section B of Schedule R/NR
to determine the amount of the deduction, only if
it is directly related to Massachusetts income as
reported on Form 1-NR/PY, line 12. If it is not di-
rectly related to income reported on Form 1-NR/
PY, you are not allowed any deduction for the non-
resident period.
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Schedule Y, line 10

In column A enter the total student loan interest
deduction from U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1, line
20. Multiply the column A amount by Form 1-NR/
PY, line 3. Subtract the column B amount from the
column A amount and enter the result in column
C. Multiply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/
PY, line 14g and enter the result in column D. Add
column B and D and enter the total in column E
and in Form 1-NR/PY, Schedule Y, line 10.

Schedule Y, Line 12

In column A enter the amount of interest paid on
an undergraduate student loan(s) (see Schedule
Y, line 12 instructions). Multiply the amount in col-
umn A by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3 and enter the re-
sult in column B. Subtract the amount in column
B from column A and enter the result in column
C. Multiply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/
PY, line 14g and enter the result in column D. Add
column B and column D and enter the result in
column E and in Schedule Y, line 12.

Schedule Y, Line 15

Complete the Schedule Y, Line 15 Worksheet
through item 6 and enter that amount in column
A (see Schedule Y, line 15 instructions). Multiply
the amount in column A by Form 1-NR/PY, line
3 and enter the result in column B. Subtract the
amount in column B from column A and enter the
resultin column C. Multiply the column C amount
by Form 1-NR/PY, line 14g and enter the result in
column D. Add column B and column D and enter
the result in column E and in Schedule Y, line 15.

Schedule Y, Line 18

In column A enter the allowable amount of prepaid
tuition or college savings plan or Student Loan
Repayment Assistiance Deduction (see Schedule
Y, line 18 instructions). Multiply the amount in col-
umn A by Form 1-NR/PY, line 3 and enter the re-
sult in column B. Subtract the amount in column
B from column A and enter the result in column
C. Multiply the column C amount by Form 1-NR/
PY, line 14g and enter the result in column D. Add
column B and column D and enter the result in
column E and in Schedule Y, line 18.

Completing Form 1-NR/PY
After entering the amounts from this worksheet
in the applicable lines of Form 1-NR/PY, complete
Form 1-NR/PY, lines 28 through 55.

Note: In Form 1-NR/PY, line 42, only enter amounts
listed as Massachusetts withholding.

Credit for Taxes Due Any Other State
You may only claim a credit for income taxes paid
to another state or jurisdiction on income received

while a Massachusetts resident that is included in
Schedule R/NR, Part 1, column b. Complete the
Income Taxes Paid to Another Jurisdiction Work-
sheet based on income received during your Mas-
sachusetts resident period only.

Schedule CMS

Be sure to enclose with Form 1-NR/PY.

Credit Manager Schedule

You must complete Schedule CMS to claim most
credits available for use in the current taxable year
(the Child under age 13, Dependent member(s) of
household under 12, Earned Income, Limited In-
come and Gircuit Breaker Tax credits are claimed
directly on the tax return). Credits may be used
to offset a tax due, may be passed or shared with
another person or entity, or, in some cases credits
may be fully or partially refundable.

For each credit claimed on a Schedule CMS, re-
port the amount of the credit available for use
and the amount of credit claimed to reduce tax
for the current taxable year. For pass-through en-
tities, report the amount of credit distributed to
partners/shareholders/beneficiaries in the credit
shared column. Taxpayers also report the amount
of a refundable credit they are using to request
a refund of tax. See the Credit Manager Sched-
ule Instructions for more information on how to
complete the Schedule CMS and claim the credits.

Credits reported on the Schedule CMS are gen-
erally identified either by a certificate number as-
signed by the issuing agency (which may be the
Department of Revenue) or by the tax period end
date in which the credit originated. If a credit has
been assigned a certificate number, the certificate
number must be included on the Schedule CMS.
A taxpayer that does not include an assigned cer-
tificate number on the Schedule CMS will not be
allowed the credit on the tax return and will have
their tax liability adjusted by the Department of
Revenue. Be sure to omit hyphens, spaces, deci-
mals and other special symbols when entering the
certificate number. Also, enter the number from
left to right.

Likewise, a taxpayer that is required to complete
a separate schedule to claim a credit must include
the separate schedule with the taxpayer’s return
filing. Failure to do so may result in the credit
being disallowed.

If, by operation of MGL ch 63, § 32C or another
provision of law, a credit normally identified by tax
period end date is eligible for indefinite carryover,
the credit should be reported as “non-expiring”
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and identification of the tax period of origin is not
necessary.

Overview of Schedule CMS

The following is a brief overview of the Schedule
CMS sections and where certain credits should be
reported. If a taxpayer is using a credit to reduce
a taxpayer’s current year tax liability, whether it
is a non-refundable credit or a refundable credit,
the credit should be reported in Section 1 or 3 of
the Schedule CMS. Only a refundable credit that
the taxpayer is seeking a refund for should be re-
ported in either Section 2 or 4 of the Schedule
CMS. Generally, a credit should only be reported
in one section on the Schedule CMS unless a por-
tion of it is being used to offset a tax and a portion
is being refunded.

Section 1. Non-Refundable Credits

Section 1 is for reporting credits the taxpayer is
using (i) to offset or reduce the taxpayer’s total
tax due (i) to pass to any partner, shareholder or
beneficiary of the taxpayer or (iii) to share with
taxpayer affiliates. The Brownfields Credit, Film
Incentive Credit, or Medical Device Credit should
always be included in Section 1, unless the tax-
payer is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive
Credit. However, a taxpayer that received a credit
on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule from a pass-
through entity or a credit transfer should report
such credit in Section 3 or 4, as applicable.

Section 2. Refundable Credits

Section 2 is for reporting refundable credits the
taxpayer is using to request a refund. The Film
Incentive Credit should always be included in Sec-
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tion 2 to the extent that the taxpayer is requesting
a refund. However, a taxpayer that received a re-
fundable credit on a Massachusetts K-1 from a
pass-through entity or a credit transfer should re-
port such credit in Section 4, to the extent that the
taxpayer is requesting a refund. For each refund-
able credit, report the amount of the credit avail-
able after taking into consideration any amount
of the credits that may have been taken to offset
a tax or shared as reported in Section 1 of this
schedule. Enter the amount by which the available
credit balance is being reduced and the amount to
be treated as a refundable credit, which may be ei-
ther 90% or 100% of the reduction. See TIR 13-6,
Example 3, for an illustration.

Section 3. Non-Refundable Credits
Received from Massachusetts K-1
Schedules

Section 3 is for reporting credits the taxpayer re-
ceived on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule (SK-1,
2K-1 or 3K-1) that the taxpayer is using (i) to
offset or reduce the taxpayer’s total tax due (i)
to pass to any partner, shareholder or beneficiary
of the taxpayer or (iii) to share with taxpayer af-
filiates. The Brownfields Credit, Film Incentive
Credit, or Medical Device Credit should never be
included in Section 3.

Note: You do not report the Brownfields Credit,
Film Incentive Credit, and Medical Device Credit in
this section because these credits are issued new
certificate numbers from the Department of Rev-
enue when they are received from a pass-through
entity or a credit transfer. These credits should al-

ways be reported in Section 1, unless the taxpayer
is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive Credit.

Section 4. Refundable Credits Received
from Massachusetts K-1 Schedules
Section 4 is for reporting credits the taxpayer re-
ceived on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule (SK-1,
2K-1 or 3K-1) and that the taxpayer is using to re-
quest a refund.. The Film Incentive Credit should
never be included in Section 4. For each refund-
able credit, report the amount of the credit avail-
able after taking into consideration any amount
of the credits that may have been used to offset
a tax or shared as reported in Section 3 of this
schedule. Enter the amount by which the available
credit balance is being reduced and the amount to
be treated as a refundable credit, which may be ei-
ther 90% or 100% of the reduction. See TIR 13-6,
Example 3, for an illustration.

Note: You do not report the refundable Film Incen-
tive Credit in this section because these credits are
issued new certificate numbers from the Depart-
ment of Revenue when they are received from a
pass-through entity or a credit transfer. If the tax-
payer is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive
Credit, it should be reported in Section 2.

Credit Tahle

The Credit Table located at the end of these in-
structions lists all of the Massachusetts credit
types with their respective attributes. Credits that
may be available to a taxpayer subject to tax under
MGL ch 62 must be claimed on Schedule CMS.
The taxpayer should refer to this table for guid-
ance when completing Schedule CMS.

Schedule CMS, Example 1
2a. 2b. Period end date 2c. Certificate 2d. Credit available or 2e. Reduction in 2f. Refundable credit
Credit type (mm/dd/yyyy) number certificate balance balance for refund taken (100% or 90%)
\ FLMCRD [ [ 0000000011 \ $10,000 \ $10,000 $9,000
\ CNSLND \ \ 1110000000 \ $ 1,000 \ $ 1,000 $1,000

The total of the amounts shown in column f are shown on the appropriate line of the taxpayer's return.

Schedule CMS, Example 2
1a. 1b. Fill in if 1c. Period end date 1d. Certificate 1e. Credit available or 1f. Credit taken 1g. Credit shared
Credit type non-expiring (mm/dd/yyyy) number certificate balance this year this year
\ SEPTIC | O \ 1231/2023 [ \ 518,000 \ $4,000 [
\ LEAD PAINT | O \ 123112023 \ \ $1,000 \ $1,000 \

The Credit Manager Schedule will now also be used by individual taxpayers for certain credits. In Example 2, the taxpayer is an individual filing a return for the
taxable year ending December 31, 2023 and has an available Septic Credit of $18,000 in the current year. Since this is the first year the taxpayer is claiming the
Septic Credit, the individual taxpayer must also enclose a Schedule SC. The individual should file Part 1 of the Schedule CMS to reflect a claimed credit of
$4,000 (Schedule SC, line 13).




2023 Form 1-NR/PY Instructions 1

Credit Table

a. MGL b. MGL
Credit name Requirements Refundable? Credit type | Chapter Section Chapter Section
Angel Investor Certificate number* No AGLCRD 62 6(t)
Apprenticeship Certificate number Yes, at 100% APPCRD 62 6(v) 63 38HH
Brownfields Certificate number No BRWFLD 62 6(j) 63 38Q
Certified Housing Certificate number No CRTHOU 62 6(q) 63 38BB
Community Investment Certificate number Yes, at 100% CMMINV 62 6M 63 38EE
Conservation Land Certificate number Yes, at 100% CNSLND 62 6(p) 63 38AA
Cranberry Bog Renovation Certificate number Yes, at 100% CRBCRD 62 6(w) 63 38ll
Dairy Farm Certificate number Yes, at 100% DAIFRM 62 6(0) 63 38Z
Disability Employment Period end date Yes DETCRD 62 6(z) 63 384J
Certificate number and
EDIP Schedule EDIP** If authorized, at 100% | EDIPCR 62 6(9) 63 38N
EDIP-Vacant Store Front Certificate number Yes, at 100% VACSTR 62 6(9) 63 38N
Period end date and
EOAC Schedule EOAC** If authorized EOACCR 62 6(g) 63 38N
Period end date and
Farming and Fisheries Schedule FAF** No FRMFSH 62 6(s)
Film Incentive Certificate number If authorized, at 90% FLMCRD 62 6(l) 63 38X
Harbor Maintenance*** Period end date No HRBMNT 63 38P
Historic Rehabilitation Certificate number No HISRHB 62 6J 63 38R
Period end date and
Investment Tax Schedule H** No INVTAX 63 31A
Period end date and
Lead Paint Schedule LP** No LEDPNT 62 6(e)
Period end date and
Life Science (FDA) Schedule RLSC** If authorized, at 90% LFSFDA 62 6(n) 63 31M
Period end date and
Life Science (ITC) Schedule RLSC** If authorized, at 90% LESITC 62 6(m) 63 38U
Period end date and
Life Science (Jobs) Schedule RLSC** If authorized, at 90% LFSJOB 62 6(r) 63 38CC
Period end date and
Life Science (RD) Schedule RLSC** If authorized, at 90% LFSRDC 63 38W
Low-Income Housing Certificate number No LOWINC 62 6l 63 31H

* As of 2023 the method for reporting the Angel Investor credit on Schedule CMS is by certificate number. Prior to 2023 the method of reporting was by
period end date.

** A schedule is required when the credit is generated or awarded in the current year.

*** Eligibility for obtaining the Harbor Maintenance Tax Credit has been repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022. Taxpayers must con-
tinue to report available carryover credits to the extent they are allowed to use them.
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Credit Table

a. MGL b. MGL

Credit name Requirements Refundable? Credit type | Chapter Section Chapter Section
Low-Income Housing Donation | Certificate number No LIHDON 62 6l 63 31H
Medical Device**** Certificate number No MEDDVC 62 612 63 31L
National Guard Employee Certificate number No NGHCRD 62 6(aa) 63 38KK
Offshore Wind Facility Capital
Investment Period end date Yes OSWITC 62 6(cc) 63 38MM
Offshore Wind Jobs Period end date Yes OSWJTC 62 6(bb) 63 38LL
Pass-Through Entity Excise Tax
(Form 63D-ELT) Period end date Yes***** ELTCRD 63D 2

Period end date and
Research Schedule RC** No REARCH 63 38M

Period end date and
Septic Schedule SC** No SEPTIC 62 6(i)

Period end date and
Solar and Wind Energy Schedule EC** No SLRWND 62 6(d)

Period end date and
Vanpool Schedule VP** No VANPOL 63 31E
Veteran's New Hire Tax Certificate number No VETHIR 62 6(u) 63 38GG

** A schedule is required when the credit is generated or awarded in the current year.

**** Eligibility for obtaining the Medical Device Tax Credit has been repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022. Taxpayers must continue
to report available carryover credits to the extent they are allowed to use them.

***** Shareholders, partners, or beneficiaries of an eligible pass-through entity (qualified members) may claim a refundable credit equal to 90% of their
allocable share of PTE Excise paid by such pass-through entity. See MGL ch 63D §§ 1-7; TIR 22-6 Pass-through Entity Excise. See also Elective pass-
through entity excise FAQs.
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Use this table to calculate tax for taxable 5.0% income (line 25) of not more than $24,000.

Line 26 instructions: To find your tax on 5.0% Income (line 26), read down the tax table income column to the line containing the amount you
entered in line 25. Then read across to the TAX column and enter this amount in line 26. If your taxable 5.0% income in line 25 is greater than $24,000,
multiply the amount by .05. Enter the result in line 26.

If your 5.0% income for the tax table is less than $10, your tax is 0. Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate, multiply line 25 and the amount
in Schedule D, line 21 by .0585.

INCOME INCOME INCOME INCOME INCOME INCOME
More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX
than more than — than more than — than more than — than more than — than more than — than more than —
$ 9 $ 50 $ 1 $4,000 $4,050 $201 $8,000 $8,050 $401 $12,000 $12,050 $601 $16,000 $16,050 $801 $20,000 $20,050 $1,001
50 100 4 4,050 4,100 204 8,050 8,100 404 12,050 12,100 604 16,050 16,100 804 20,050 20,100 1,004
100 150 6 4,100 4,150 206 8,100 8,150 406 12,100 12,150 606 16,100 16,150 806 20,100 20,150 1,006
150 200 9 4,150 4,200 209 8,150 8,200 409 12,150 12,200 609 16,150 16,200 809 20,150 20,200 1,009
200 250 11 4,200 4,250 211 8,200 8,250 411 12,200 12,250 611 16,200 16,250 811 20,200 20,250 1,011
250 300 14 4,250 4,300 214 8,250 8,300 414 12,250 12,300 614 16,250 16,300 814 20,250 20,300 1,014
300 350 16 4,300 4,350 216 8,300 8,350 416 12,300 12,350 616 16,300 16,350 816 20,300 20,350 1,016
350 400 19 4,350 4,400 219 8,350 8,400 419 12,350 12,400 619 16,350 16,400 819 20,350 20,400 1,019
400 450 21 4,400 4,450 221 8,400 8,450 421 12,400 12,450 621 16,400 16,450 821 20,400 20,450 1,021
450 500 24 4,450 4,500 224 8,450 8,500 424 12,450 12,500 624 16,450 16,500 824 20,450 20,500 1,024
500 550 26 4,500 4,550 226 8,500 8,550 426 12,500 12,550 626 16,500 16,550 826 20,500 20,550 1,026
550 600 29 4,550 4,600 229 8,550 8,600 429 12,550 12,600 629 16,550 16,600 829 20,550 20,600 1,029
600 650 31 4,600 4,650 231 8,600 8,650 431 12,600 12,650 631 16,600 16,650 831 20,600 20,650 1,031
650 700 34 4,650 4,700 234 8,650 8,700 434 12,650 12,700 634 16,650 16,700 834 20,650 20,700 1,034
700 750 36 4,700 4,750 236 8,700 8,750 436 12,700 12,750 636 16,700 16,750 836 20,700 20,750 1,036
750 800 39 4,750 4,800 239 8,750 8,800 439 12,750 12,800 639 16,750 16,800 839 20,750 20,800 1,039
800 850 41 4,800 4,850 241 8,800 8,850 441 12,800 12,850 641 16,800 16,850 841 20,800 20,850 1,041
850 900 44 4,850 4,900 244 8,850 8,900 444 12,850 12,900 644 16,850 16,900 844 20,850 20,900 1,044
900 950 46 4,900 4,950 246 8,900 8,950 446 12,900 12,950 646 16,900 16,950 846 20,900 20,950 1,046
950 1,000 49 4,950 5,000 249 8,950 9,000 449 12,950 13,000 649 16,950 17,000 849 20,950 21,000 1,049
1,000 1,050 51 5,000 5,050 251 9,000 9,050 451 13,000 13,050 651 17,000 17,050 851 21,000 21,050 1,051
1,050 1,100 54 5,050 5,100 254 9,050 9,100 454 13,0560 13,100 654 17,050 17,100 854 21,060 21,100 1,054
1,100 1,150 56 5,100 5,150 256 9,100 9,150 456 13,100 13,150 656 17,100 17,150 856 21,100 21,150 1,056
1,150 1,200 59 5,150 5,200 259 9,150 9,200 459 13,150 13,200 659 17,150 17,200 859 21,150 21,200 1,059
1,200 1,250 61 5,200 5,250 261 9,200 9,250 461 13,200 13,250 661 17,200 17,250 861 21,200 21,250 1,061
1,250 1,300 64 5,250 5,300 264 9,250 9,300 464 13,250 13,300 664 17,250 17,300 864 21,250 21,300 1,064
1,300 1,350 66 5,300 5,350 266 9,300 9,350 466 13,300 13,350 666 17,300 17,350 866 21,300 21,350 1,066
1,350 1,400 69 5,350 5,400 269 9,350 9,400 469 13,350 13,400 669 17,350 17,400 869 21,350 21,400 1,069
1,400 1,450 71 5,400 5,450 271 9,400 9,450 471 13,400 13,450 671 17,400 17,450 871 21,400 21,450 1,071
1,450 1,500 74 5,450 5,500 274 9,450 9,500 474 13,450 13,500 674 17,450 17,500 874 21,450 21,500 1,074
1,500 1,550 76 5,500 5,550 276 9,500 9,550 476 13,500 13,550 676 17,500 17,550 876 21,500 21,550 1,076
1,550 1,600 79 5,550 5,600 279 9,550 9,600 479 13,550 13,600 679 17,550 17,600 879 21,550 21,600 1,079
1,600 1,650 81 5,600 5,650 281 9,600 9,650 481 13,600 13,650 681 17,600 17,650 881 21,600 21,650 1,081
1,650 1,700 84 5,650 5,700 284 9,650 9,700 484 13,650 13,700 684 17,650 17,700 884 21,650 21,700 1,084
1,700 1,750 86 5,700 5,750 286 9,700 9,750 486 13,700 13,750 686 17,700 17,750 886 21,700 21,750 1,086
1,750 1,800 89 5,750 5,800 289 9,750 9,800 489 13,750 13,800 689 17,750 17,800 889 21,750 21,800 1,089
1,800 1,850 91 5,800 5,850 291 9,800 9,850 491 13,800 13,850 691 17,800 17,850 891 21,800 21,850 1,091
1,850 1,900 94 5,850 5,900 294 9,850 9,900 494 13,850 13,900 694 17,850 17,900 894 21,850 21,900 1,094
1,900 1,950 96 5,900 5,950 296 9,900 9,950 496 13,900 13,950 696 17,900 17,950 896 21,900 21,950 1,096
1,950 2,000 99 5,950 6,000 299 9,950 10,000 499 13,950 14,000 699 17,950 18,000 899 21,950 22,000 1,099
2,000 2,050 101 6,000 6,050 301 10,000 10,050 501 14,000 14,050 701 18,000 18,050 901 22,000 22,050 1,101
2,050 2,100 104 6,050 6,100 304 10,050 10,100 504 14,050 14,100 704 18,0560 18,100 904 22,060 22,100 1,104
2,100 2,150 106 6,100 6,150 306 10,100 10,150 506 14,100 14,150 706 18,100 18,150 906 22,100 22,150 1,106
2,150 2,200 109 6,150 6,200 309 10,150 10,200 509 14,150 14,200 709 18,150 18,200 909 22,150 22,200 1,109
2,200 2,250 111 6,200 6,250 311 10,200 10,250 511 14,200 14,250 71 18,200 18,250 911 22,200 22,250 1,111
2,250 2,300 114 6,250 6,300 314 10,250 10,300 514 14,250 14,300 714 18,250 18,300 914 22,250 22,300 1,114
2,300 2,350 116 6,300 6,350 316 10,300 10,350 516 14,300 14,350 716 18,300 18,350 916 22,300 22,350 1,116
2,350 2,400 119 6,350 6,400 319 10,350 10,400 519 14,350 14,400 719 18,350 18,400 919 22,350 22,400 1,119
2,400 2,450 121 6,400 6,450 321 10,400 10,450 521 14,400 14,450 721 18,400 18,450 921 22,400 22,450 1,121
2,450 2,500 124 6,450 6,500 324 10,450 10,500 524 14,450 14,500 724 18,450 18,500 924 22,450 22,500 1,124
2,500 2,550 126 6,500 6,550 326 10,500 10,550 526 14,500 14,550 726 18,500 18,550 926 22,500 22,550 1,126
2,550 2,600 129 6,550 6,600 329 10,550 10,600 529 14,550 14,600 729 18,550 18,600 929 22,550 22,600 1,129
2,600 2,650 131 6,600 6,650 331 10,600 10,650 531 14,600 14,650 731 18,600 18,650 931 22,600 22,650 1,131
2,650 2,700 134 6,650 6,700 334 10,650 10,700 534 14,650 14,700 734 18,650 18,700 934 22,650 22,700 1,134
2,700 2,750 136 6,700 6,750 336 10,700 10,750 536 14,700 14,750 736 18,700 18,750 936 22,700 22,750 1,136
2,750 2,800 139 6,750 6,800 339 10,750 10,800 539 14,750 14,800 739 18,750 18,800 939 22,750 22,800 1,139
2,800 2,850 141 6,800 6,850 341 10,800 10,850 541 14,800 14,850 741 18,800 18,850 941 22,800 22,850 1,141
2,850 2,900 144 6,850 6,900 344 10,850 10,900 544 14,850 14,900 744 18,850 18,900 944 22,850 22,900 1,144
2,900 2,950 146 6,900 6,950 346 10,900 10,950 546 14,900 14,950 746 18,900 18,950 946 22,900 22,950 1,146
2,950 3,000 149 6,950 7,000 349 10,950 11,000 549 14,950 15,000 749 18,950 19,000 949 22,950 23,000 1,149
3,000 3,050 151 7,000 7,050 351 11,000 11,050 551 15,000 15,050 751 19,000 19,050 951 23,000 23,0560 1,151
3,050 3,100 154 7,050 7,100 354 11,050 11,100 554 15,050 15,100 754 19,050 19,100 954 23,050 23,100 1,154
3,100 3,150 156 7,100 7,150 356 11,100 11,150 556 15,100 15,150 756 19,100 19,150 956 23,100 23,150 1,156
3,150 3,200 159 7,150 7,200 359 11,150 11,200 559 15,150 15,200 759 19,150 19,200 959 23,150 23,200 1,159
3,200 3,250 161 7,200 7,250 361 11,200 11,250 561 15,200 15,250 761 19,200 19,250 961 23,200 23,250 1,161
3,250 3,300 164 7,250 7,300 364 11,250 11,300 564 15,250 15,300 764 19,250 19,300 964 23,250 23,300 1,164
3,300 3,350 166 7,300 7,350 366 11,300 11,350 566 15,300 15,350 766 19,300 19,350 966 23,300 23,350 1,166
3,350 3,400 169 7,350 7,400 369 11,350 11,400 569 15,350 15,400 769 19,350 19,400 969 23,350 23,400 1,169
3,400 3,450 171 7,400 7,450 371 11,400 11,450 571 15,400 15,450 771 19,400 19,450 971 23,400 23,450 1,171
3,450 3,500 174 7,450 7,500 374 11,450 11,500 574 15,450 15,500 774 19,450 19,500 974 23,450 23,500 1,174
3,500 3,550 176 7,500 7,550 376 11,500 11,550 576 15,500 15,550 776 19,500 19,550 976 23,500 23,550 1,176
3,550 3,600 179 7,550 7,600 379 11,550 11,600 579 15,550 15,600 779 19,5650 19,600 979 23,550 23,600 1,179
3,600 3,650 181 7,600 7,650 381 11,600 11,650 581 15,600 15,650 781 19,600 19,650 981 23,600 23,650 1,181
3,650 3,700 184 7,650 7,700 384 11,650 11,700 584 15,650 15,700 784 19,650 19,700 984 23,650 23,700 1,184
3,700 3,750 186 7,700 7,750 386 11,700 11,750 586 15,700 15,750 786 19,700 19,750 986 23,700 23,750 1,186
3,750 3,800 189 7,750 7,800 389 11,750 11,800 589 15,750 15,800 789 19,750 19,800 989 23,750 23,800 1,189
3,800 3,850 191 7,800 7,850 391 11,800 11,850 591 15,800 15,850 791 19,800 19,850 991 23,800 23,850 1,191
3,850 3,900 194 7,850 7,900 394 11,850 11,900 594 15,850 15,900 794 19,850 19,900 994 23,850 23,900 1,194
3,900 3,950 196 7,900 7,950 396 11,900 11,950 596 15,900 15,950 796 19,900 19,950 996 23,900 23,950 1,196
3,950 4,000 199 7,950 8,000 399 11,950 12,000 599 15,950 16,000 799 19,950 20,000 999 23,950 24,000 1,199




Department of Revenue Resources

Where to find help

DOR'’s website at mass.gov/dor is a valuable resource for tax information 24 hours a day. Thousands of taxpayers use DOR’s website for prompt
answers to their general tax questions. Taxpayers can also check the status of their refunds, make estimated tax payments and review their esti-
mated tax payment histories through the MassTaxConnect section of our website.

Where to get forms and publications

% Most Massachusetts tax forms and publications are available via the DOR website. The address for the Department’s
) website is mass.gov/dor.

@3 To obtain Massachusetts forms and publications by phone, call DOR’s main information lines at (617) 887-6367 or
2 [ | toll-free in Massachusetts at (800) 392-6089.

During the income tax filing season, you can pick up Massachusetts personal income tax forms at most local libraries.
Forms may also be available at local IRS district offices. Note: Call in advance to check on availability.

To obtain federal tax information and forms via the Internet, go to irs.gov or call the IRS toll-free at (800) 829-3676.

For help in one of the following specific areas
D Certificates of Good Standing: (617) 887-6400
D Installment Sales: (617) 887-6950

D Requests for reasonable accommodation, including this publication in an alternative format, can be sent to the Office of Diversity and Equal
Opportunity, PO Box 9557, Boston, MA 02114-9557, call (617) 626-3410 or email motenkoa@dor.state.ma.us.

D Requests for this publication in an alternative format, such as large print, can be sent to the Problem Resolution Office at (617) 626-3833.
Requests for other reasonable accommaodations for individuals with disabilities can be directed to the Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity by
phone at (617) 626-3410 or email at motenkoa@dor.state.ma.us.

To report allegations of suspected misconduct or impropriety involving DOR employees, call the Office of Ethics and Employee Responsibility’s
Integrity Hotline at (800) 568-0085 or write to PO Box 9567, Boston, MA 02114-9567.

mass.gov/efile
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A Special Message from Revenue Commissioner Geoffrey E. Snyder

| hope you find this Form 1-NR/PY booklet helpful in preparing your taxes. When you are ready to file, please consider electronic filing
rather than using the paper form. There are benefits to e-filing your tax return. Last year, almost 95% of Massachusetts taxpayers e-filed
their return.

» Refunds can be issued three times faster than filing on paper.

» Processing is much faster.

» Automatic corrections help you file a more accurate return.

» Security features are in place to protect e-filed tax returns.

» If you need to make a payment, you can set up an electronic payment and choose the date. You will save time and a trip to the post office.
There are free filing options available for qualifying taxpayers. Please take a look at the opportunities at mass.gov/efile.

Rather than using the paper form this tax season, consider all your choices, including the services of a tax preparer, or filing on your
own with approved tax preparation software. | hope that e-filing is your first choice.

Sincerely,

Commissioner Geoffrey E. Snyder
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