## Massachusetts Department of Revenue Form M-990T-7004 Massachusetts Income Tax Extension Payment Worksheet and Voucher

This worksheet and voucher may be used by taxpayers filing Form M-990T, Form M-990T-62 or Form 3M. If you are mandated to pay electronically do not use the voucher form below. See TIR 21-9.

#### Worksheet for Tax Due

1	Estimated amount of tax for the taxable year				
2	Advance and/or estimated payments made (if any)				
3	Tax due. Subtract line 2 from line 1				
The	e full amount of tax due reported on line 3 must be paid by or before the original return due date. If there is no tax due on line 3; r	o further action is needed			

for the extension. If there is a tax due on line 3, pay online at mass.gov/masstaxconnect or use the M-990T-7004 voucher.

### **General Information**

#### **Extension Process for Taxpayers That File Form M-990T**

The extension process is now automated so that all taxpayers that file Form M-990T are given an extension of time to file their tax returns if certain payment requirements are met. Such taxpayers must have paid 50% of the total amount of tax ultimately due by the original due date for filing the return. Taxpayers meeting the payment requirements will be given an eight-month extension. See TIR 15-15 for more information.

If at least 50% of the tax due for the taxable year is not paid by the original return due date, the extension is null and void, and penalties and interest for a late return and any late payments will be assessed from the original due date of the return.

# Extension Process for Taxpayers That File Form M-990T-62 or Form 3M

The extension process is automated so that taxpayers that file a Form M-990T-62 or Form 3M are given an extension of time to file their tax returns if certain payment requirements are met. Such taxpayers must have paid 80% of the total amount of tax ultimately due by the original due date for filing the return. Taxpayers meeting these payment requirements will be given a six-month extension. See TIR 16-10 for more information. If at least 80% of the tax due for the taxable year is not paid by the original

return due date, the extension is null and void, and penalties and interest for a late return and any late payments will be assessed from the original due date of the return.

#### **Electronic Filing Requirement**

Form M-990T has an electronic filing requirement for corporations exempt from taxation under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code reporting unrelated business taxable income of \$100,000 or more. Once a corporation filing Form M-990T meets this electronic filing threshold, it is required to follow the e-filing requirements for all future e-filings listed below:

- Return;
- Amended return;
- Abatement request (appeals); and
- Extension payments of \$5,000 or more.

Massachusetts UBIT Extension Payment Voucher					
Payment for period and tab (min/ht/) y V) Cax ypp			URP SES ONLY		
Name of business THIS FORM MUS Type of extension being applied for Automatic eight-month Extension until:	TBE		DELECTRONICALLY		
Mailing address	SEE		-9.		
City/Town	State	Zip	Amount enclosed		
			\$		

DETACH HERE

Pay online at mass.gov/masstaxconnect.

2024 Form M-000T-7004



## When Should the Payment with Form M-990T-7004 Be Submitted?

Any extension payment due must be paid either electronically or by using the M-990T-7004 voucher on or before the 15th day of the fourth month after the close of the taxable year, calendar or fiscal.

#### Will Interest and Penalties Be Due?

An extension of time to file a tax return does not extend the due date for payment of the tax. Interest will be charged on any tax not paid on or before the original due date. Any tax not paid within the extended period is subject to a penalty of 1% per month, up to a maximum of 25%, from the extended due date. If the extension is invalidated for failure to meet the payment requirements then penalties and interest for a late return and late payment will be assessed from the original due date of the return.

#### How Do I Use This Worksheet and Voucher?

Use this worksheet to calculate the tax due that must be paid by or before the original due date of the return. Pay online with MassTaxConnect at mass.gov/masstaxconnect. For further information on electronic filing and payment requirements, see TIR 16-9.

# FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY THIS FORM MUST BE FILED ELECTRONICALLY SEE TIR 21-9.